Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

199 different nationalities now in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

You think this is USA? France?? massive continents in emselves almost

Ha ha! France is not almost a continent in itself. You need a serious lesson in Geography son.
    Its your opinion, but it is legally wrong and that is what is called a FACT!

That's the first time I've ever seen someone use FACT! in a manner that's entirely correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Clareboy you do know that many of those nationalities are the spouses of Irish citizens,perfectly entitled to be here and contributing to the country with there culture and positive attitudes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Clareboy wrote: »
    Oh yes, the Irish have immigrated in the past but now they have to leave because the most of the jobs have been given to the non-Irish. We did not have that situation in the 80s or in the 50s.

I take it maths isn't your strongest point. But here's a thought: take the total population of Ireland, subtract the number of foreigners and those unemployed and it's fairly obvious that 'most' of the jobs are not given to the non-Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Slurryface wrote: »
    The number of foreign nationals living in Ireland jumped 30% between 2006 and 2011, official figures have revealed today.

Total numbers increased by 124,624 over the five years to April 2011.

The Central Statistics Office also revealed that 544,357 non-Irish nationals were living in Ireland at the time of the census in April of last year, from 199 different nations.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/number-of-foreign-nationals-living-in-ireland-up-30-in-last-five-years-569329.html

Wow, haven't we really become a melting pot!:)

There is only something like 207 in the UN if we get people from the rest we can have the UN here

Gotta catch 'em all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Not only are they eating our swans, they're eating our mushrooms.:eek:

I was down the forest yesterday and came across a couple of Poles picking what I have always called "aul poison mushrooms". One of the Poles told me the yellow ones were called peepers nick or something and that they were delicious. I said: "Enjoy" and mentally added "at least once".:)

I bet one of the countries missing from the list is the Vatican State, what with its small population and low birth rate and all ...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,844 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Ellis Dee wrote: »

I was down the forest yesterday and came across a couple of Poles picking what I have always called "aul poison mushrooms". One of the Poles told me the yellow ones were called peepers nick or something and that they were delicious. I said: "Enjoy" and mentally added "at least once".:)

I bet one of the countries missing from the list is the Vatican State, what with its small population and low birth rate and all ...:D

We had one in the papal nuncio but we kicked him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

not yet wrote: »
    And there my friend is the problem, too many people are to willing to jump on a comment and play the racism card.

its a general theme on boards and in society that if you slag off anybody that is not the same as you, then you're racist.

its quite sad actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,844 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

its a general theme on boards and in society that if you slag off anybody that is not the same as you, then you're racist.

its quite sad actually.

Yes your right slagging off people for being different to you is quite sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

we have even given up picking blackberries. fair play to them for picking mushrooms.

its quite sad actually.

People should be allowed slag anyone.

However I would point out that they 'defending the Aryan race' and talk of 'purity' on this thread are most definitely the sort of conversations that pillow-wearing yokels in America would partake in regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

notnumber wrote: »
    I hear Im a (borderline) racist now..fecking greeks.
    I meant we are getting pissed on by the economic situation we find ourselves in and I thought it was a rather typical AH joke.
    It was pretty obvious! :confused:

Pretty obvious to normal folk can be blindingly hard to find for some more mentally-challenged folk.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 steel header

Yes your right slagging off people for being different to you is quite sad

We had an Australian in our town when I was home last spring. He was just passing through on his holidays. He was wearing a pair of shorts and runners with no socks!!! If this wasn't bad enough he also had on one of those baseball caps. Shook the town up something awful. Their still talking about the harmless Aussie egit that was in Joe's last April.

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭EdanHewittt

Do studies show they have integrated yet?

Or is the coveted "melting pot" more like a tossed salad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Do studies show they have integrated yet?

Some are, some aren't.
    Or is the coveted "melting pot" more like a tossed salad?

...and scrambled eggs? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I'll just say one thing...Your not Irish unless your grandparents are Irish..A piece of paper received at a event in Cork or Dublin to mark you being part of "the new Irish" does not count. That is my personal opinion.. and i am entitled to that, you do not have to agree...that's why it's called my opinion

An opinion based on bollocks, however, is often referred to by another name.
    I'd say more but i like AH and don't want a ban :pac:

Sure we know that. Ye just usually hang around threads like this and thank the posts of those racists who at least say what they mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I'm an immigrant.

I personally think Ireland would be a better place with more strict policies limiting immigration, even though it would mean that I wouldn't be able to live and work here.

Just my honest opinion.

UCDVet wrote: »
    I'm an immigrant.

I personally think Ireland would be a better place with more strict policies limiting immigration, even though it would mean that I wouldn't be able to live and work here.

Just my honest opinion.

So you think we should withdraw from the EU free movement zone?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Is Vatican considered an actual nationality? I doubt there are any native Vaticans, most are priests and cardinals from around the world. The head of state is a German. And I doubt too many women live there so birth rate must be close to zero.

Nodin wrote: »
    So you think we should withdraw from the EU free movement zone?

I might be misunderstanding your question. I thought the EU free movement zone just afforded EU members the ability to freely travel for up to 3 months with a valid passport?

I'm all for that. Tourists should be welcome to explore Ireland and experience the Irish culture. I think it's great.

But I don't think it's in the best interest of the Irish people to allow foreigners to come in and establish residency and certainly not to work here. I'll admit I don't know the ins-and-outs what being an EU member does for Ireland; but I certainly think immigrants from outside of the EU do not benefit the Irish people.

There are Irish people who can do my job. And they'd do it just as good as me, but they'd re-invest in Ireland. They'd spend their money or save it in an Irish bank (who'd invest it), Ireland would be wealthier for it and the economy would be more strong.

Me? I'm just saving every penny I can for a few years, regularly converting it back to the currency of my original country. Then I'll move and take everything I can with me.

Maybe I'm wrong - but it doesn't seem right, IMHO. Maybe during the boom - but now? When there are unemployed people here who need it....it seems wrong. So many immigrants are willing to work longer/harder for less because even that amount is amazing compared to their other alternatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

iDave wrote: »
    Is Vatican considered an actual nationality? I doubt there are any native Vaticans, most are priests and cardinals from around the world. The head of state is a German. And I doubt too many women live there so birth rate must be close to zero.

Yes, its an official independent country with overseas consulates etc and issues passports etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Cool Mo D

I might be misunderstanding your question. I thought the EU free movement zone just afforded EU members the ability to freely travel for up to 3 months with a valid passport?

No, it allows you to live and work in any other EU country you like (plus Switzerland and Norway) with the same conditions as citizens.

I'm an immigrant.

Just my honest opinion.

Do you not think Ireland has enough policies and government interference in every aspect of ones life. What an immigrant decides to do with his money is his business and his alone. Their taxed to death as it is.

Immigrants aren't taxed any more heavily than natives - unless you count the application.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I'll just say one thing...Your not Irish unless your grandparents are Irish..A piece of paper received at a event in Cork or Dublin to mark you being part of "the new Irish" does not count. That is my personal opinion.. and i am entitled to that, you do not have to agree...that's why it's called my opinion :)

So you think somone whose father and mother, and they themselves, have never set foot in Ireland are more Irish than someone either born here, or who worked and paid taxes here?

Someone who contributed hundreds of thousands of euros to the Irish economy is less Irish than someone who would struggle to find it on a map.

Forgive me if I cancel my subscription to your newsletter.

Most Czechs or Poles consider the Irish utterly nuts for not gathering the delicious mushrooms growing freely in the forests. They also wonder why those bland white ones are they only things in the supermarkets. In the Czech republic you are sworn to secrecy if someone brings you mushroom picking with them as good spots for mushrooms are handed down through generations like hierlooms.

Trust me, those Poles know a hell of a lot more about mushrooms than you do

You should have asked for some mushrooms, in the pan with them and scrambled eggs. Yum!

Right! What % of the average working stiff weekly is taken in tax. 40/45 that's almost half their income going to the state. You think they should pay more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Time for the musical interlude..

I might be misunderstanding your question. I thought the EU free movement zone just afforded EU members the ability to freely travel for up to 3 months with a valid passport?.

Theres rather more to it than that, or did you think all those poles were here illegally?
    http://europa.eu/legislation_summaries/justice_freedom_security/free_movement_of_persons_asylum_immigration/l33152_en.htm
    but I certainly think immigrants from outside of the EU do not benefit the Irish people..

There are very few immigrants from outside the EU in Ireland, comparitively speaking. However, you might explain your remark a bit more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

I really don't want to jump on the band wagon here, I would just like to point out that since the 1550's a lot of Irish (not all) people are actually Brown skinned and Browned eyed, this is due to the Spanish Armada, (on the west coast) and due to pirates and trading with Spain and Portugal on the East Coast. Take a look at families from fishing villages and you can see this.

I have traced my family back to 1800 and I'm fully Irish, but I look like and have being confused for a Spainard, India and Arab. So I think you missed turning off that tap by about 500 years.

My own opinion is I welcome the diversity, and love socialise and experiencing the different cultures.

Pretty sure thats a load of bull, the majority of sailors who washed up on the shores were killed immediately, the survivors went home, any who did stay wouldn't of been able to influence the gene pool to any great extent.

Ive also been confused for a Spaniard but im 100% Irish as well, Ive always been told the real ancient Irish people had dark hair and the vikings brought in all the gingers and blondes...

I'm all for that. Tourists should be welcome to explore Ireland and experience the Irish culture. I think it's great.

But I don't think it's in the best interest of the Irish people to allow foreigners to come in and establish residency and certainly not to work here. I'll admit I don't know the ins-and-outs what being an EU member does for Ireland; but I certainly think immigrants from outside of the EU do not benefit the Irish people.

There are Irish people who can do my job. And they'd do it just as good as me, but they'd re-invest in Ireland. They'd spend their money or save it in an Irish bank (who'd invest it), Ireland would be wealthier for it and the economy would be more strong.

Me? I'm just saving every penny I can for a few years, regularly converting it back to the currency of my original country. Then I'll move and take everything I can with me.

Maybe I'm wrong - but it doesn't seem right, IMHO. Maybe during the boom - but now? When there are unemployed people here who need it....it seems wrong. So many immigrants are willing to work longer/harder for less because even that amount is amazing compared to their other alternatives.

If you're an immigrant, why don't you know how the free movement thing works....?

He sure don't talk like an immigrant.

...talks like a WUM who hasn't thought it through, tbh.

If you're an immigrant, why don't you know how the free movement thing works....?

Whiff of Aussie/Kiwi about him :D :pac:

Because I'm not from the EU.

I'm an immigrant here in NY. I work for a big company with hundreds of employee's. Their from everywhere, Russians, Italian, Hasidic Jews.

I have never heard one say America would be a better place if we were all kept out and maybe we should give all our earnings to the government.

Because I'm not from the EU.

That's nice.

Would you care to answer the rest of my questions?

I'm an immigrant here in NY. I work for a big company with hundreds of employee's. Their from everywhere, Russians, Italian, Hasidic Jews.

I have never heard one say America would be a better place if we were all kept out and maybe we should give all our earnings to the government.

Possibly because you are that far away from the Mexican border, trust me that sentiment gets thrown around plenty in Arizona. Not agreeing, just noting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

MadsL wrote: »

Trust me, those Poles know a hell of a lot more about mushrooms than you do

Clearly in this case, they didn't.

iDave wrote: »

Now that you mention it, what are people from the Vatican called?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Now that you mention it, what are people from the Vatican called?

Oh man, that's almost too easy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I'm actually surprised that they're aren't more Brazilians living here. I've met and made friends with so many of them over the last few years that I actually thought that their numbers would be in double figures by now.

I also thought that the number of Poles living here would have rapidly decreased since 2006 because of the recession. I couldn't have been more wrong :)

I also find it fascinating that there are over 36,683 Lithuanian's living here, that's a massive number for a country with a population of less the 3 million inhabitants. Then again it can't be too great there if they officially have the highest suicide rate in the world :( Stunning looking women though!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

El Weirdo wrote: »
    They really aren't racist comments.

These aren't the droids you're looking for

I'll just say one thing...Your not Irish unless your grandparents are Irish..A piece of paper received at a event in Cork or Dublin to mark you being part of "the new Irish" does not count. That is my personal opinion.. and i am entitled to that, you do not have to agree...that's why it's called my opinion :)

My passport says I'm Irish, I was born and lived there for 29 years before moving on. I say I'm Irish. All my family and friends say I'm Irish. Even my American mother says I'm Irish but my grandparents - 2 Americans, 1 Irish, 1 Northern Irish would mean (under your, er, logic) that I'm not Irish?

Now I remember why I moved away :rolleyes:

not at all I'm defending the Aryan race; if people know me and they'll know all I ever wanted was a balance in this world. Beyond my own island, and beyond my own lifetime but i wouldnt go looking to enforce one...

just retain one.

Didn't the aryans originally come from India? Why not defend the human race, rather than these aryans? Surely that's more in the interests of balance?

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

I don't even know hippy but what I do know is that they're essentially the same dark global majority I am, bar my oirish eyes... I've bn called paki n all sorts from a distance, can only imagine if that were to genuinely increase here i'd be mortified? so I'm defending those guys too but most of all; Ireland.

Besides I think 199 is as diverse as one can get; my mission is accomplished time to turn the tap off!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

i wonder how many posters actually read through the census document in the link?

I'll tell you though hippy when some cold, stoic 7ft Russian ganster cum cake shop security man won't let you buy one, claiming it's closed early come back to me

What are you on about?

I've already determined you're a bit simple nodin, don't compound it.

/my experience is written in text.