Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Homemade sanitizer

Options
  • 04-10-2012 4:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭

Wonder do you use anything instead of 'proper' sanitizer? Like bleach or a cheaper supermarket product?
    I'm only starting out and keep coming up short on small items and dont want to pay a fiver for delivery for small things like this.
    Thanks a lot!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I hear that mixing bleach, vinegar and water is good.

I might give it a try on my next brew when cleaning the fermenting vessel.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I do the bleach, vinegar and water thing. Works a treat. 69c for 1.5L of thin bleach in Supervalu.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭redser7

Brilliant, thanks both. How much of each would you use Khannie?
    Lidl do 1 litre red malt vinegar for 30 odd cents :) I presume red is ok. It's 5% acidity.

• Registered Users Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

redser7 wrote: »
    Brilliant, thanks both. How much of each would you use Khannie?
    Lidl do 1 litre red malt vinegar for 30 odd cents :) I presume red is ok. It's 5% acidity.

I have images of myself standing over the fermenter shaking a bottle of vinegar counting the drops as they go in! Does the lidl one have a dropper in the neck?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

the bottle is just under 500mls in lidl for about 39cent. It works fine. Supervalu or Tesco for the thin bleach at 65cent.

It's mixed at a ratio of 30mls bleach, 20 liters water, 30 mls vinegar. Or you can add vinegar, water, bleach. DO NOT MIX THE BLEACH AND VINEGAR FIRST.