Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rip off 'gaming' pc's on adverts

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭spix

ED E wrote: »
    Not always true, though I cant explain here. But there are methods that can never be disarmed by any kind of update.

the buyer could update the motherboard bios then get a surprise when windows starts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

spix wrote: »
    the buyer could update the motherboard bios then get a surprise when windows starts

I don't understand what problems this would cause for the cracked windows loader that even Microsoft can't patch to eliminate.

Is this guy legit?

http://www.adverts.ie/desktops/windows-7-64-bit-intel-core-i3-2120-s1155-3-3ghz-5gt-s-hd2000-igp-850mhz-3m/1577015

Did he really spend so much to put win 7 ultimate on a low end system?

He keeps saying it's legit but I don't believe it.

tuxy wrote: »
    I don't understand what problems this would cause for the cracked windows loader that even Microsoft can't patch to eliminate.

Is this guy legit?

http://www.adverts.ie/desktops/windows-7-64-bit-intel-core-i3-2120-s1155-3-3ghz-5gt-s-hd2000-igp-850mhz-3m/1577015

Doubt it, any seller with common sense would only use home premium if it was legit.

No illegal software but wtf is this fella at?

http://www.adverts.ie/desktops/gaming-pc-lightening-fast-amd-duel-core-3-oghz-1-tb-h-drive-8gb/2211885

It's this from Ebay
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/VIBOX-GA-FAST-AMD-DUAL-CORE-3-0GHz-DESKTOP-GAMING-PC-/220793777947?pt=UK_Computing_DesktopPCs&hash=item336855af1b#ht_4150wt_1397

Trying to make a profit reselling ebay crap.
    I hate to think of anyone buying this stuff who want to get into pc gaming :(

http://www.adverts.ie/desktops/gaming-pc-lightening-fast-amd-duel-core-3-oghz-1-tb-h-drive-8gb/2211885

It's this from Ebay
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/VIBOX-WARRIOR-FX-NEW-AMD-4170-4-4GHz-8GB-RAM-1TB-ATI-RADEON-HD-6450-GAMING-PC-/190649360590?pt=UK_Computing_DesktopPCs&hash=item2c639660ce#ht_2528wt_1397

He makes small profits reselling ebay crap?
    Why would anyone do that.

That's where all the sellers listed in this thread get their awesome overpriced windows 7 ultimate computers.

I see, I actully figured some of these conmen went to the effort of putting the hardware together themselves :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭aN.Droid

Just put my system up at a highball figure as lets face it I will be low balled to heck on adverts, so don't flame me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

As per section 18 of the Windows 7 EULA they are not allowed to install it on another machine without uninstalling it on the previous machine; http://download.microsoft.com/Documents/UseTerms/Windows_7%20Ultimate_English_6d4624d7-f664-455e-9a08-433223886d7e.pdf and thus they are engaged in piracy.
    I see his other machine that he's selling
    http://www.adverts.ie/desktops/3-0ghz-8gb-ram-500gb-gaming-pc-very-fast-dual-core-desktop-pc-computer/2377935
    is pretty much from the same shop as the other one
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Vibox-3-0GHz-8GB-RAM-500GB-Gaming-PC-Very-Fast-Dual-Core-Desktop-PC-Computer-/200809736256?pt=UK_Computing_DesktopPCs&hash=item2ec1316840

I dislike that he's reselling ebay stuff, but at least he's not trying to pass off a pirate OS as legit software...

=-=

Also reported PaulD1987's negative feedback. Will see if that gets removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭uncle_sam_ie

He's put it back up with no OS or games. http://www.adverts.ie/desktops/amd-fx4130-gtx-650-gaming-pc-4gb-ram-no-o-s-no-hdd/2408300

Well, good luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭IrishMetalhead

no hdd either, see how many offers he gets now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

Is this guy legit?

I have Win7 Ultimate on mine,mate works in HP gets a few free keys a year,could be one answer.

It could be fake of course,but its not impossible that its legit.

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    I have Win7 Ultimate on mine,mate works in HP gets a few free keys a year,could be one answer.

It could be fake of course,but its not impossible that its legit.

Yes but, If he did get a free key why not just come out and say it. Instead he avoids the question about the key by saying the OS comes installed and activated.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,127 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

It's this from Ebay
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/VIBOX-GA-FAST-AMD-DUAL-CORE-3-0GHz-DESKTOP-GAMING-PC-/220793777947?pt=UK_Computing_DesktopPCs&hash=item336855af1b#ht_4150wt_1397

"for the serious gamer"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

Is this guy legit?

I hate that HappyPC guy, he is one of the worst offenders. Overcharges to hell on them, he used to sell them with the latest Adobe Suite fully installed, along with any game you want free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

i dont mind people selling for expensive prices (once it isnt anything dodgy) as thats their business, but it does seem a little odd to me because i find it impossible to sell anything on there even at decent prices. are people actually buying that stuff?

As so as you list something as second hand you can get some rubbish offers.

These sellers get people interested by claiming they are good gaming PCs, brand new for a decent price.

I'm just surprised at the lack of poor feedback when someone tries to play something like BF3 on their new gaming PC.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

I fear that most of the people who buy these "epic gaming PCs" are looking for an epic gaming PC hardcore enough to handle heavy-duty titles like Farmville, Mafia Wars, Grepolis, Minecraft and *gasp* The Sims!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

He's put it back up with no OS or games. http://www.adverts.ie/desktops/amd-fx4130-gtx-650-gaming-pc-4gb-ram-no-o-s-no-hdd/2408300

Well, good luck to him.
    You see, if he came out and said
    Due to Pc's Being shipped to me pre configured with O.S i was not obliged to sell them
    And admitted that he got it with the OS installed, it may have been a legit OEM version of Windows, but instead he skipped around that.

I note the lack of the HDD, so I'm thinking that he may gotten the OEM Windows license with the HDD, but he still skirted around the issue which leads me to believe that he got one OEM license, and is installing it on all the machines he buys.

the_syco wrote: »
    You see, if he came out and said

And admitted that he got it with the OS installed, it may have been a legit OEM version of Windows, but instead he skipped around that.

I note the lack of the HDD, so I'm thinking that he may gotten the OEM Windows license with the HDD, but he still skirted around the issue which leads me to believe that he got one OEM license, and is installing it on all the machines he buys.

There's no way he got that pc with windows ultimate installed, all lies. He'd also have at least a COA and maybe the CD as proof which I'm sure he'd have mentioned. The pc he is selling is on ebay for under 500e (with HDD) but no windows. There may be one with windows for a bit more but its always home premium not ultimate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

Barely playable framerates on Lowest settings... These computers are as much gaming Pc's as my phone is a professional camera....

Gives Pc gaming a bad rep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

tumblr_lycbhwrzbE1r3zoifo1_500.gif

http://www.adverts.ie/desktops/brand-new-gaming-pc/2330545
    I bought it 2 weeks ago and now i dont want it.
    Im tired of playing games so its just taking up space in my room....

Lies, he bought it to rip people off, like the **** load of other 'gaming pcs' he has.
    WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE EDITION X64 BIT

Took lots of pictures to show u whats inside and how it looks so there wont be any confusions and the best part of this pc is that they puted the best radeon 6570 1gb graphics card there is!!!!!!!!!!!

will try to get BLACK OPS 2
    NEED FOR SPEED MOST WANTED 2
    FIFA 13
    EURO TRUCK SIMULATOR 2
    BORDERLANDS 2
    and more!!!!!

Feel sorry for that guy who offered 500e if he buys it and actually expects to be able to play games with it. That pc is worth no more than 300.

I had to comment, I don't care about my adverts reputation but I can't stand seeing someone who doesn't know better buying that expecting to get something good, especially at a ridiculous price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

In his description he states it's a 1gb card but in the specs he has it marked as 2gb or more. Is it dual cards or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Check out his other ad. He doesn't even know what a modular PSU is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

I've mine up for 1100 trying to lure someone to buy it! Worth around 450 euro. If there stupid enough to buy it thats their fault!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

facepalmbear_2.jpg

MagicSean wrote: »
    In his description he states it's a 1gb card but in the specs he has it marked as 2gb or more. Is it dual cards or something?

http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20120411021927AA7g4wa

I had to comment, I don't care about my adverts reputation but I can't stand seeing someone who doesn't know better buying that expecting to get something good, especially at a ridiculous price.

Did you PM the buyer to say he was getting ripped off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Looking at some of the pc's being sold on adverts makes you wonder do people research what they buy at all. I cant even spend £30 on headphones without researching the crap out of them

and the mark-up sellers are making on them, to think i felt it would be a bit c*ntish to sell my 2500K/6970CF rig for a €1000
    the best part of this pc is that they puted the best radeon 6570 1gb graphics card there is!!!!!!!!!!!

is he 4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭MRTULES

areyawell wrote: »
    I've mine up for 1100 trying to lure someone to buy it! Worth around 450 euro. If there stupid enough to buy it thats their fault!

`Kind of goes against the whole point of this thread?

I'm selling a similar, but better pc for 450. http://www.adverts.ie/towers/gaming-pc/2408230

Good luck selling that for 1,100 ;) This is his ad btw http://www.adverts.ie/desktops/gaming-pc/2395750

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

spix wrote: »
    I'm selling a similar, but better pc for 450. http://www.adverts.ie/towers/gaming-pc/2408230

Good luck selling that for 1,100 ;) This is his ad btw http://www.adverts.ie/desktops/gaming-pc/2395750

What's sad is that people on this forum in good faith actually helped him out to build that PC he's hoping to rip people off with:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=81884939
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=81919688
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=78879546

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

What's sad is that people on this forum in good faith actually helped him out to build that PC he's hoping to rip people off with:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=81884939
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=81919688
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=78879546

I'm using that PC at the moment and have it at that ridiculous price just to see. I know that no-one is going to buy it for that price. I just want to see if someone would actually pay for it.

I really just put it up for the laugh and if I was serious about the sale I would have put it up for 500 euro. I'm not building PC's and trying to profit on Adverts at any way. Its my machine which I use for gaming and college work and put careful time into the parts selected for it as shown by the above forums. I just wanted to see if someone was foolish enough to buy because I have a friend who got burned by getting a gaming PC off custom PC for 800 euro and its piece of junk. He never told me he was getting one.

I just put it up for the craic really and thats why I posted it here, I thought by posting here ye would have thought I was been sarcastic, maybe not :o

I'm using that PC at the moment and have it at that ridiculous price just to see. I know that no-one is going to buy it for that price. I just want to see if someone would actually pay for it.

I really just put it up for the laugh and if I was serious about the sale I would have put it up for 500 euro. I'm not building PC's and trying to profit on Adverts at any way. Its my machine which I use for gaming and college work and put careful time into the parts selected for it as shown by the above forums. I just wanted to see if someone was foolish enough to buy because I have a friend who got burned by getting a gaming PC off custom PC for 800 euro and its piece of junk. He never told me he was getting one.

I just put it up for the craic really and thats why I posted it here, I thought by posting here ye would have thought I was been sarcastic, maybe not :o

So... you're not evil? :)

Did you PM the buyer to say he was getting ripped off?

You can't PM people unless you or they leave an offer on one of yours/their ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Someone already PM buyer to warn them? They have a boards account.

http://www.adverts.ie/desktops/brand-new-gaming-pc/2330545#comment_11631208

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

ADVERTS IS MY BEST WEBSITE SO
    ANYONE THAT WILL MAKE ME MAD BY COMMENTING ON THIS ADD WILL STRAIGHT AWAY GET A NEGATIVE FEEDBACK!!!

I think we ticked him off a little :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

His/her level of English is atrocious and has been in every one of the listings - are we looking at a young person who is morally underdeveloped or is it a Nigerian scammer? I would hardly credit the person behind them as being an evil genius.

@areyawell If you're selling at a high price then so be it. You can say that you value the labour costs at €400 or if someone hits the trigger without checking out - But you've blatantly lied in saying that it costs €900 or €1100.
    You'd want to have a legal copy of photoshop on there to justify that kind of boost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

tumblr_lhgjim2jYx1qbiuveo1_400.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Moon54

Wow, there's no way that can be called a Ultra High Spec Gaming/Editing PC!!
    The hard drive is 4 years old, the graphics card is 4 year-old tech (great card in it's day) but 256MB RAM (omg) , CPU is good but 4 year-old tech too.
    Crazy.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

NTMK wrote: »
    Looking at some of the pc's being sold on adverts makes you wonder do people research what they buy at all. I cant even spend £30 on headphones without researching the crap out of them

They don't. That's why most of the components I have up are going for about 20% more than they're worth. People's standard response on Adverts if they see something is to immediately offer ~60% of the asking price, and go from there, regardless of whether the asking price is perfectly reasonable or not.

I've offered the asking price on quite a few things in the past, because they were priced as pretty much exactly what they're worth, but a lot of the guys will try to wrench every last bit then can from a deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭deejer

Serephucus wrote: »
    They don't. That's why most of the components I have up are going for about 20% more than they're worth. People's standard response on Adverts if they see something is to immediately offer ~60% of the asking price, and go from there, regardless of whether the asking price is perfectly reasonable or not.

I've offered the asking price on quite a few things in the past, because they were priced as pretty much exactly what they're worth, but a lot of the guys will try to wrench every last bit then can from a deal.

I was thinking that when I saw your prices and that was where I was going with my offer :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭shane547

People actually pay these prices? I try and put everything up fairly priced and I still get lowballed to ****/offers trade for hamster...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

Yeah right, only for the craic and you definitely wouldn't sell it if somebody was stupid enough to bid on it. You should be banned from adverts for being a complete dick.

One of adverts rules is against profiteering. Does this also apply to shops ? Ive seen a load of shops with ridiculous prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

Korvanica wrote: »
    One of adverts rules is against profiteering. Does this also apply to shops ? Ive seen a load of shops with ridiculous prices.

wouldnt make much sense if it did apply to shops. its a bit of a redundant rule in general now anyway, people should be able to charge what they want and let the buyer beware, as long as theres no false advertising or dodgy goods being sold, of course

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

The problem is that bricks-and-mortar (and larger internet) shops have to abide by that funny ol' Trade Descriptions thingy. Too many lies, exaggerated prices and ANY pirated software results in angry civil servants and gardai descending on them - angry customers quickly become the least of their problems.

In comparison, Adverts' lack of self-regulation is letting small-time scammers get away with murder conning less knowledgeable customers, and there is no shining knight in armour (or a garda uniform) to save them. Given Microsoft's track record in regard to dealing with issues involving flogging pirated keys or even just fraudulently portrayed MS products for fun and profit I am extremely disturbed by Adverts' behaviour in this matter - if they're not more careful they could end up netting Boards.ie the world's first Darwin Award for website suicide-by-cop :eek:

The issue at the end of it all is Adverts' lack of enforcement, but its an issue we need to bring up with Adverts and Boards staff members (and quite urgently, given its severity). All the angst and righteous indignation in this thread isn't doing that much to solve that. So with a heavy heart I fear this thread needs to be closed... but the fight needs to go on, and the arguments posed in this thread (not to mention the monitoring of Adverts) need to be continued in more suitable locations. Adverts needs to wake up and smell the burnt flesh.