Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Your favourite and least fav accents from anywhere?

• 08-10-2012 11:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭

Fav= Soft Irish accent Dublin ...soft southside not too warped though..it is my own:o is that vain? But Irish(most of them) accents are lyrical and soft to me i love them.

Least fav.....hmm anything harsh and punchy...I will think...about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Best: Knocknaheeney "C'mere to me boi!" accent
    Worst: D4 / Californian IT head accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

Northern accent is if course the best. (Tho I'm from the north and I like the southern accent) :confused:

Was this poll not done before??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Fav: Scouse/Dublin

Dislike: Mullingeaar/ Louth

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

I don't like chicks turning 'so' into a 'saaauww..' for an opportunistic pout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

I can't stand South African accents. Very hard to listen to. Not sure of a favorite, maybe Southern US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,133 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

girl2 wrote: »
    Northern accent is if course the best. (Tho I'm from the north and I like the southern accent) :confused:

Only three million times, or possibly more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Favourite: Donegal or Suburbs of Cork City - not too knacker, not too cultchie

Least favourite: South Dublin and rough north Dublin. Some of north Dublin is actually grand but the most part of it is terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Gorey - its basically Norn Iron gone wrong (yes its that bad)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭supernova84

Fav UK accent preferably London

Hate Cork and northern accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

eth0 wrote: »
    Best: Knocknaheeney "C'mere to me boi!" accent
    Worst: D4 / Californian IT head accent

I like the cork accent.

I have issues with the classifying of D4 or southside accents...mine is the D4 accent BEFORE it became Americanised..it is unblemished and pure soft south Dublin..pure Irish..:) Ok maybe it goes a little 'bad D4 ' :osometimes:o

Oooh you know the rubberbandits on th Republic of telly? ..i like their accents in thir skits lol:-)

To be honest a strain of the D4 accent is countrywide now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Best - any of the northern irish accents, new zealand, south african accent

Worst - dublin!!
    And its everywhere, even the ad makers seem to think we all want to hear a dub accent 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Favourites are Liverpool and the Welsh.
    Can't stand the D4 accent on men or women.
    "pass my Dubes Fintan or we'll miss the focking dorsh like"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

girl2 wrote: »

Dunno...but am interested to renew the debate:-)

Are we only allowed to talk about a topic once?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭dttq

Cavan and Navan accents are very, very sexy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Ladies with an Australian accent or Norn Iron accent are fan-fcukin-tastic.

It's not just their accent, it's the little phrases they say that wouldn't work in another accent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I love a country accent on a man, its just so sexy. Especially Offaly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Least favourite is the Liverpool accent. They sound like they have learning difficulties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Favourite Scottish, least favourite Limerick especially on the train.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

I like the cork accent.

I have issues with the classifying of D4 or southside accents...mine is the D4 accent BEFORE it became Americanised..it is unblemished and pure soft south Dublin..pure Irish..:) Ok maybe it goes a little 'bad D4 ' :osometimes:o

Oooh you know the rubberbandits on th Republic of telly? ..i like their accents in thir skits lol:-)

To be honest a strain of the D4 accent is countrywide now.

Ok,ok we get it, ur loaded, well done:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Least favourite is the Liverpool accent. They sound like they have learning difficulties.
    Take that back. The women all sound like wetsers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

mauzo wrote: »
    I love a country accent on a man, its just so sexy. Especially Offaly!

Brian Cowen then? Durty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

TheComeUp wrote: »
    Favourite: Donegal or Suburbs of Cork City - not too knacker, not too cultchie

Least favourite: South Dublin and rough north Dublin. Some of north Dublin is actually grand but the most part of it is terrible.

most of south dublin has a rough dublin accent too.

on topic:

like: cork douglas accent
    hate: posh american accent found north and south in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

The worst is Louth/ South Monaghan. Specifically Ardee and Carrickmacross.
    The Dublin accent is crap as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The Dublin accent is crap as well.
    Thats a sweeping statement, there are heaps of Dublin dialects, South side, Inner city, Northside, D4, etc. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

Thats a sweeping statement, there are heaps of Dublin dialects, South side, Inner city, Northside, D4, etc. :)

They're all bad.

Sorry dude, but I'm with Pete on this one :D

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

I used to love the Norn Irish accent, but then I started going out with a Derry woman and now I can't stand it.

I'm still with her too. Wish she'd shut the f*ck up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Russian accent has to be the best

http://t.qkme.me/3qsko1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Youssef Chippo

Hate: Dublin, Cork and Scouse.

Like: Geordie, Bristol, Kilkenny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Jesus everyone hates the Dublin accent!!! :o

The 'Oill bladin' boorst ya' Dublin accent isn't bad though

You always get a load of culchies in these threads with chips on their shoulders about Dublin. Sniping at their betters is all they have really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Best: Galway City
    Worst: Drogheda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Best: Slightly, but not excessively, posh English accent.
    Worst: The Dublin accent of people inclined to say, "I done".

Felexicon wrote: »
    Take that back. The women all sound like wetsers.

From dribbling on themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Youssef Chippo

eth0 wrote: »
    The 'Oill bladin' boorst ya' Dublin accent isn't bad though
    Ahh leeeve ihh ouu

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

The Sith Ifrican akshant is greeat. Probably de bezt.

An' Ja' Jhameecan too.

Ant newcastle too, tit be honest...proper bo.

Oh Juan final word, the CoLOMbian accent in English, Jesh? Jew know what I talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Worst - Drogheda and Welsh
    Best - I love the scouse accent & Navan.... Ok joking about Navan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

Love the athlone accent, knew a fella from Athlone and he had a sexy accent.
    Hate the Ozzie accent, its so nasal and pitchy.

emzolita wrote: »
    Hate the Ozzie accent, its so nasal and pitchy.

G'day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I like the Dublin accent so long as its not the Lotty Ryan type accent or the real skanger accent. When they speak clearly and pronounce their words fully its a nice accent.

Don't like nasally Dub accent or the D4 accent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 581 ✭✭✭phoenix999

I got contracted to work with an employer based in West Cork. Had to work alongside two New Zealand girls. Every time they talked the high pitched ending of sentences made everything sound like a question. Was near suicidal after two days. The local West Cork lilt was like a tonic after a days work.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Seen a YouTube video with a female chef from Nee Zuland. She looked lum with pututoes and frish munt. Very annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Icarus Wings

Please...form an orderly queue! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭DonLimon

Dislike anything English unless its very very soft.

Love the Derry accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Favourite, Australian for sure rrraaaaawwwrrr

Least favourite, Newfoundland, where I live now. Gonna murder a housemate soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Whichever type of Kildare accent Christy Moore has FTW.

Least favourite is the Belfast accent, I find it impossible to decipher over the phone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,903 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Fav: A slight Aussie twang, not the "Throw a shrimp on the baaaabie and bring me another VB, Sheila" sort, is fantastic.

Hate: Cork. Painful to listen to for any period of time, especially on women :mad:

Not a fan of the Kiwi or hardcore Nordi ones either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Wen ze seeguells folleau ze trawleur... eet iz becuese zey think sardeens will be threun into ze see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I hate New Jersey and most New York accents.

I strongly prefer the dulcet tone of the midwestern American accent. :cool: