Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your favourite and least fav accents from anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭touts

Best: Love the sound of a girl with an Australian accent. Think the girl who sometimes does the Movies & Booze on Newstalk. Close second would be a girl with the soft South African accent.

Worst: Man with that high pitched male Dublin city accent. Makes you instinctively put your hand on your wallet and your back to a wall. Close second would be the Limerick version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Donegal *swoon*

Moore Street salt of da earth, makes my skin crawl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

mike65 wrote: »
    Gorey - its basically Norn Iron gone wrong (yes its that bad)
    i like the gorey accent,but hate the cockney and the english public school type

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭TheTwiz

When people say Northside & Southside accents what are they talking about? Do people from Clontarf, Sutton, Glasnevin, Griffith Ave, Raheny, Howth & Malahide north of the Liffey sound like their fellow Dubliners from Dolphins Barn, Rialto, Crumlin, Ballybrack, Tallaght & Ballyfermot south of the Liffey?

Generally people who say "northside accent" are actually from outside the county and don't have a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Love love love the Scottish accent.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

the icelandic accent when they're speaking english - sweet jesus it's hypnotic!I could listen to it all day.If you want an idea listen to Bjork giving an interview.The worst then is the D4 accent,or it's less well off cousin the C4 accent which comes from the posher parts of Cork. As a man from the Hollyhill/Knocknaheey side of Cork this sounds like nails been dragged across a chalkboard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

love the northern accent and the soft galway accent ie. seoige sisters

hate the monaghan accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

I dislike the D.4 accent., "Fionn has a brill job in Markashing"

and Marianne Finnucane ("it has to be said"):rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,722 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

favourite
    softer Cork / kerry / limerick / northern irish / scottish and scouse

dislike
    Australian, Wexford, certain galway and roscommon accents as well as
    the very strong / harsh
    Cork / kerry / limerick / northern irish / scottish and scouse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

TheTwiz wrote: »
    When people say Northside & Southside accents what are they talking about? Do people from Clontarf, Sutton, Glasnevin, Griffith Ave, Raheny, Howth & Malahide north of the Liffey sound like their fellow Dubliners from Dolphins Barn, Rialto, Crumlin, Ballybrack, Tallaght & Ballyfermot south of the Liffey?
    There's so much diversity and variations in the Dublin accent for one city .

I'm not to fussy on the Birmingham , Bradford ,Burnley and all the other similar (woolyback) type accents from Lancashire but most other English accents are ok by me .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,257 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Worst is the Newcastle accent. Was just there for a stag party and we had no idea what people were saying to us.

Latchy wrote: »
    There's so much diversity and variations in the Dublin accent for one city .

I'm not to fussy on the Birmingham , Bradford ,Burnley and all the other similar (woolyback) type accents from Lancashire but most other English accents are ok by me .
    only burnley in that group is in lancashire, and whats with the woolyback paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

County Derry accent is easy to listen to, but the Derry city accent gives me a headache.

getz wrote: »
    only burnley in that group is in lancashire, and whats with the woolyback paddy
    A wollyback is a term of reference to describe people who come from places like St Helens ,Widnes ,Warrington and Runcorn ..just as somebody is referd to as cultchie ( from the Irish countryside) Scouse (Liverpool) Manc ( Manchester) Brummy ( Birmingham) Cockney ( London ) ...and so on

paddy ?

Latchy wrote: »
    A wollyback is a term of reference to describe people who come from places like St Helens ,Widnes ,Warrington and Runcorn ..just as somebody is referd to as cultchie ( from the Irish countryside) Scouse (Liverpool) Manc ( Manchester) Brummy ( Birmingham) Cockney ( London ) ...and so on

paddy ?
    never came across that name and i am from manchester, but being from irish stock with a irish name, paddy was often used to me when they dident know my christian name [and i have a manc accent]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Tallinstown, just outside Ardee in Louth.
    Jesus its an awful drone.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Best-East Donegal
    Worst-West Donegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Generally people who say "northside accent" are actually from outside the county and don't have a clue.

this has been my argument for years, i know people from belcamp that speak better than people from blackrock and people from coolock that are upper middle class and people from terenure that are scumbags
    its not where you live its how you live

• Registered Users Posts: 12,926 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Favourites: French, Welsh

Least favourites: Scouse, Cockney, Geordie, North Dublin skanger accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

No, it really is where you live. This is crooked wink-wink nod-nod nepotistic Ireland remember?

I must say I love the Sath Effrican eccent, its very exact. Edinburgh Scots is nice to listen to as well. Dutch accent always makes me smile as well, it cant help being cheerful or something. A good cockney swearing session cant be beaten either (Bricktop). I like Mayo and Kerry accents from here. As a Dub our own strong accents either make me think Im about to be mugged or of Joe Duffy keening at the injustice of it all

Least favourites are, Derry, Cork skanger, (actually Cork yacht club type as well now that I think of it), Waterford, Carlow, Offaly, Navan, Geordie, Cajun, Kiwi and Canadian (damaged aussie and american no matter what anyone says)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Suas11 wrote: »
    Favourites: French, Welsh

Least favourites: Scouse, Cockney, Geordie, North Dublin skanger accent

the same 'North Dublin skanger' accent that is found all over the southside?

getz wrote: »
    never came across that name and i am from manchester, but being from irish stock with a irish name, paddy was often used to me when they dident know my christian name [and i have a manc accent]
    Yep ...have occasionally in the past been refered as that to when they didn't know my first name name and the scottish guy I worked ( who had a very heavy accent) was refered to as jock
    this has been my argument for years, i know people from belcamp that speak better than people from blackrock and people from coolock that are upper middle class and people from terenure that are scumbags
    its not where you live its how you live
    I think there has always been a perception of sorts that depending on where you live = what type of person you are when some of the biggest scumbags live in so called '' posh /affulent '' areas .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,320 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Spot on. I think the "D4" accent isn't too common in Ringsend either.
    You can summerise them as a fake posh southside accent, and a dublin scummer accent. Sherriff Street scummer accent is pretty much the same as a Dolphins Barn scummer accent imho.
    Not a fan of either, but I'd actually prefer the fake posh accent to the dublin scummer accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,280 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Favourite: Scottish Highlands or middle class Edinburgh

Worst: Cork City Centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Momento Mori

Best: Northern Ireland and Liverpool.
    Worst: Dublin (all) and Australian.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

All forms of Dublin accents are horrible. and Louth.

Most other accents sound great coming from a hot female

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭preddy

Fav = South African - alla District 9
    Worst= Belfast

• Registered Users Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

best = any Nordic woman trying to talk my y fronts off.

worst = I am inclined to say any accent from out side the pale, due to all the usual anti dublin b/**** on AH - but i would not, that would be very childish indeed , so i will have to go for a German speaking either english or german :(

dat dos me bleedin head in - da now wat i meen bud :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,082 ✭✭✭BadGirl

Fave: Belfast, Cork
    Worst: Indian (for me, its work related maybe)

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭mr bungle.

worst~ the kilkenny accent is very drawn out and monotonous.the waterford city accent is a strange one.
    likes~Scottish and cockney

iDave wrote: »
    All forms of Dublin accents are horrible. and Louth.

Most other accents sound great coming from a hot female

two things i have to ask

1 if you hate the Dublin accent so much - why in gods name do you live/work there ? surely you would rather live ANYWHERE but Dublin ? does not compute

2 so if a incredibly HOT Dublin woman was speaking to you , do you drop your hatred of the Dublin accent ? would you not go out with a woman with a Dublin accent due to your dislike of the accent ?

you see, the statement you made about the Dublin accent does not make sense,
    seeing you work/live in Dublin and i presume you would have no problem with a woman having the Dublin accent - so by process of elimination its just the blokes with the accent you dislike ?

Would you like to make yourself comfortable on the couch and tell me about it? ;)

You really need to calm down dj, the thread is a bit o craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

Worst - Your man on crimecall with the lips like a fish... where ever he is from./D4 loike

Best - Scottish - Edinburgh

Im one to talk coming from cork city:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭RADIUS

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Worst is the Newcastle accent. Was just there for a stag party and we had no idea what people were saying to us.

That's because you were all locked.

i say that goodness we all have a accent, it gives us a tribal identity,there was nothing worse that BBC artificial one or that mid-atlantic crap the DJs did in the 60s 70s and 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

I love Northern Irish accents on girls. Also like Scouse and london accents.

I can not abide Dublin D4 accents though, I do like normal dublin accents but silly bints with D4/westbrit crossed with Jersey shore accents do my head in, its mostly because the girl/boy talking like that is an airhead though...

I do like the normal Dublin accent though :-p

the Waterford accent is no great shakes either though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Mugatuu

I'm gonna be biased and say I love the Kilkenny accent! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

RADIUS wrote: »
    I agree 100%

I am from Belcamp myself, as are a lot of my friends. Every one of us would be considered well spoken with neutral accents. I have also met plenty of total Skangers from supposedly posh towns.

Some of the most well to do family's I know are from the likes of Ayrfield, Balgriffin and Kilbarrack.

Throughout my school years I would frequently get asked by people if I was from Malahide. They were baffled when I said I was from the same area as they were.

"Come eeyor! are you from Malahide?"
    " No, I'm from Belcamp"
    "So warraya talking like dat for?"
    " Like what?"
    "Like your from Malahide"
    "....sigh...."

That whiney nasally knackbag accent is just as contrived as the D4,
    seems to have gotten steadily worse over the last 10 years.

Fav accents - regular dub accent, Yorkshire, Bristol, Caribbean
    Least fav - D4, aussie, Offally

That whiney nasally knackbag accent is just as contrived as the D4,
    seems to have gotten steadily worse over the last 10 years.

Fav accents - regular dub accent, Yorkshire, Bristol, Caribbean
    Least fav - D4, aussie, Offally
    YORKSHIRE do you know that when driving north on the A1 when it reaches the yorkshire border it becomes the Aup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

eth0 wrote: »
    G'day

You lilal rippah! ;)

You really need to calm down dj, the thread is a bit o craic

easy tiger , was in jest - think you should take some of your own advice

reason i ask is becasue another poster eluded to the same question i asked
    she stated she could not live in OZ or Kiwiland becasue she dislikes the accent so much - as you have also pointed out

and i would agree - i could not live in OZ due to the accent , it would kill me within a week to listen to it

and seeing you make the statement that the accent is horrible, along with your location saying exiled in Dublin ( lucky you ), i simply asked if its so horrible, why live there ?

so trust me , very very calm - now calmly please, if you can - answer the bleeding question :D

dj jarvis wrote: »
    easy tiger , was in jest - think you should take some of your own advice

reason i ask is becasue another poster eluded to the same question i asked
    she stated she could not live in OZ or Kiwiland becasue she dislikes the accent so much - as you have also pointed out

and i would agree - i could not live in OZ due to the accent , it would kill me within a week to listen to it

and seeing you make the statement that the accent is horrible, along with your location saying exiled in Dublin ( lucky you ), i simply asked if its so horrible, why live there ?

so trust me , very very calm - now calmly please, if you can - answer the bleeding question :D

Ok dj seen as you’ve asked nicely. I don’t find any of the Dublin accents particularly pleasing, be it the so called D4 ‘Dort speak’ or the more working class associated ‘Whats da staaaaarrry bud’ accent. No real reason for not liking them I just don’t find them pleasing to the ear. Thankfully however I am level headed enough and emotionally stable not to let such trivial matters in life get to me, meaning I can quite happily work/live/socialise in our nations capital. I only feel the need to bring it up when asked…say for example on an anonymous online message board. I hope that clears the matter for you. Feel free to diss my Meath accent, I wont come down on you like a ton of bricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

fave: gentle lilt of a French accent, sounds amazing on women

worst: Donegal, hands down, its horrible.

Ok dj seen as you’ve asked nicely. I don’t find any of the Dublin accents particularly pleasing, be it the so called D4 ‘Dort speak’ or the more working class associated ‘Whats da staaaaarrry bud’ accent. No real reason for not liking them I just don’t find them pleasing to the ear. Thankfully however I am level headed enough and emotionally stable not to let such trivial matters in life get to me, meaning I can quite happily work/live/socialise in our nations capital. I only feel the need to bring it up when asked…say for example on an anonymous online message board. I hope that clears the matter for you. Feel free to diss my Meath accent, I wont come down on you like a ton of bricks.

LOL - really lad calm down :( , it was a fair question , and no i wont slag your meath accent , i dont mind it at all !!

a little advice - the smiley icon normally indicates that someone is being jovial and messing about , as i was in my question to you , so maybe in future you wont think someone is coming down on you like a ton of bricks, and are instead trying to engage you in light banter !!

and anyway you still have not answered the really important question ;)
    if you were out on a night, and hooked up with a stunner with a personality to match, but had a gob from the sewers of Dublin , would you walk away just based on the accent ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Er, which one, exactly? Like Ireland, there are loads of regional Scots accents.

Posh or rough Glaswegian? Edinburgh? Aberdeen? Highlander? There's a world of difference between a broad Glaswegian and Highlander, for instance.

There are far too many generalisations on here to be honest - accents from Belfast sound completely different to those from north Antrim, Fermanagh or Derry, so it's silly to just say 'Norn Iron'.

I like an educated Dublin accent on a woman. Harsh Belfast cheese grater and Derry accents are awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I likes, Chinese, Russian, Indian.

I don't likes, binga bong,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Any accent that ends a sentence with an inflection that makes someone sound like there asking a question when they are not.

"Yesterday I was on the bus?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

Favourite: The south/west Limerick, north Cork (my local) accent... A bit Kerry-like but not as country. Lovely! Galway. Donegal and Derry but not Belfast. A neutral Dublin accent, one that is between the "bleedin' Dublin" and "roysh Fintan" ones. SCOTTISH *drool*. The southern states of America as well.... Could listen to Bill Clinton read the phonebook! London. Get a Londoner to say banana ;)

Least favourite: Aussie (especially Perth). Cork can be so headwrecking to listen to. South African, specifically white South African. And anywhere from the midlands, usually so harsh and flat, thinking of the likes of Kilkenny and so on.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

I like an educated Dublin accent on a woman. Harsh Belfast cheese grater and Derry accents are awful.

Which Derry accent, country or city? Ya big fecking hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

Roisy7 wrote: »
    Favourite: The south/west Limerick, north Cork (my local) accent... A bit Kerry-like but not as country. Lovely! Galway. Donegal and Derry but not Belfast. A neutral Dublin accent, one that is between the "bleedin' Dublin" and "roysh Fintan" ones. SCOTTISH *drool*. The southern states of America as well.... Could listen to Bill Clinton read the phonebook! London. Get a Londoner to say banana ;)

Least favourite: Aussie (especially Perth). Cork can be so headwrecking to listen to. South African, specifically white South African. And anywhere from the midlands, usually so harsh and flat, thinking of the likes of Kilkenny and so on.

KK isn't in the midlands