Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Your favourite and least fav accents from anywhere?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Damathon111

Favourite: An articulate Irish accent from Dublin and the surrounding counties and an articulate Australian womans' accent.

Least Favourite: Loud inner-city Dublin accent, thick culchie accent, loud and obnoxious Australian accent (Steve Irwin), loud English accent (Jade Goody).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Which Derry accent, country or city? Ya big fecking hypocrite.

Derry city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Favourite is Dublin, Donegal, Northern Ireland
    Least favourite is most other country accents to be honest. Especially Mayo and Cavan

As for further abroad, gotta love a Scottish accent on a guy (not on women though!) or South American or Spanish accent on women :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

KK isn't in the midlands

Midlands/south east then... But definitely Kilkenny :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Best - Generic Dublin area, North West of England, Edinburgh

Worst - Estuary English ( utterly bland), Australian & NZ, South African, Donegal, Skanger Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Hate the aussie accent, drives me mental. posh southside dublin makes my skin crawl.

Like the plain dublin accent. I like the welsh too, wouldnt want it mind but i just like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

df1985 wrote: »
    Hate the aussie accent, drives me mental. posh southside dublin makes my skin crawl.

Like the plain dublin accent. I like the welsh too, wouldnt want it mind but i just like it!

does a posh northside accent make your skin crawl as well? the type of accent you hear in places like clontarf, raheny, killester, malahide, portmarnock, castlenock, glasnevin ect...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

mike65 wrote: »
    Gorey - its basically Norn Iron gone wrong (yes its that bad)

I actually get told that a lot :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

I actually get told that a lot :eek:

arklow is worse. like walking into a branch of sainsburys and people are fighting over a bottle of whiskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Favourite -- The Cavan accent, had a great 3 years at the Fleadh and lovely people who are not stingy at all. Even got free pints in the pub every night.
    Also like the N. Monaghan accent and the Tyrone one.

Least favourite -- Belfast. Very noisy. There only has to be two of them in the pub for the roaring to begin so that they can be heard all over the shop. Waw waw waw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭RGM

Least favorite: Anything that is just too far over the top. All things in moderation. If English is your first language and I can't understand you, I don't like your accent.

Favorite: There was this blonde I met in Galway City...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Least favourite -- Belfast. Very noisy. There only has to be two of them in the pub for the roaring to begin so that they can be heard all over the shop. Waw waw waw.

I laughed... so, so true!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ilyana

Worst - Really strong D4, Cork, Australia and New Zealand, Offaly/general midlands.

I pick up accents awfully easily; during the week I sound like a D4, and at the weekends at home I have an English/Offaly hybrid accent :o

Best - Sheffield, South Africa, Derry, Spanish, very soft D4, Hugh Grant-brand English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Owing to some charmingly direct women who made me say rude things so they could hear them in an Irish accent, and a barmaid who liked my beard so much she asked if she could run her fingers through it, I still love Welsh and Scottish accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Favourite accent - Donegal
    Least favourite - Westmeath (sorry)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Love: The West Clare accent (lovely and soft) but maybe I'm biased because I'm from Clare :p also the Connemara accent when they're speaking English and of course the northern Irish accent! :D

Hate: Cork accent on women just sounds so bad! Surprisingly sounds better on the men. Also loathe that really whiny Limerick city accent, hate it with a passion!

• Registered Users Posts: 12 DaenyB

Favourites - Boston, Dutch and South African
    Least favourite- Dublin nasally scumbag and Dundalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

DaenyB wrote: »
    Favourites - Boston, Dutch and South African
    Least favourite- Dublin nasally scumbag and Dundalk

What?
    I have a really refined and very posh accent ....... Hi.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I actually like the regular Dublin accent. It's very rich. Could listen to it all day.
    The Cork accent is melodic to me.
    Brooklyn accent sounds badass.

Aussie, D4 and Drogheda accents are horrible on the ears.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Forgot to say that the innit London jafaican accent is the worst accent known to man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Any accent that ends a sentence with an inflection that makes someone sound like there asking a question when they are not.

"Yesterday I was on the bus?"
    The worst version of that is the irish person that spend a year in australia and comes back talking like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Cienciano wrote: »
    The worst version of that is the irish person that spend a year in australia and comes back talking like that.

Yea

Feck it if they came back talking like crocodile dundee i wouldnt mind but feck this sh1te

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

iDave wrote: »
    Ok dj seen as you’ve asked nicely. I don’t find any of the Dublin accents particularly pleasing, be it the so called D4 ‘Dort speak’ or the more working class associated ‘Whats da staaaaarrry bud’ accent. No real reason for not liking them I just don’t find them pleasing to the ear. Thankfully however I am level headed enough and emotionally stable not to let such trivial matters in life get to me, meaning I can quite happily work/live/socialise in our nations capital. I only feel the need to bring it up when asked…say for example on an anonymous online message board. I hope that clears the matter for you. Feel free to diss my Meath accent, I wont come down on you like a ton of bricks.

Ah. This is what DJ does. he goes all postal at even the most tiny negative comment on Dublin. Gets personal and condescending and then throws in the old 'Jaysas bud I was only messin' wee man can ya not chillax like".
    All hail DJ. Dub Defender!!!.

Anyway I dislike the Brummy accent.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Mensch Maschine

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    Best - any of the northern irish accents, new zealand, south african accent

Worst - dublin!!
    And its everywhere, even the ad makers seem to think we all want to hear a dub accent 24/7

Hmmm...yes, it's because they think they WANT you to hear that accent... or.. it might jsut be that about 90% of production companies are based in Dublin. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

True. But there are plenty of people in Dublin without harsh Dublin accents to do a few ads though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

iDave wrote: »
    Ok dj seen as you’ve asked nicely. I don’t find any of the Dublin accents particularly pleasing, be it the so called D4 ‘Dort speak’ or the more working class associated ‘Whats da staaaaarrry bud’ accent. No real reason for not liking them I just don’t find them pleasing to the ear. Thankfully however I am level headed enough and emotionally stable not to let such trivial matters in life get to me, meaning I can quite happily work/live/socialise in our nations capital. I only feel the need to bring it up when asked…say for example on an anonymous online message board. I hope that clears the matter for you. Feel free to diss my Meath accent, I wont come down on you like a ton of bricks.

I seriously think that the MODs need a sticky warning at the beginning of these threads to the effect that anyone with a chip on their shoulder, a persecution complex or a more than usual sense of paranoia should avoid the thread.
    This should also be addressed to those who just look to be offended for sh..its and giggles.
    Anyway. A Lady with a soft Donegal accent or a Scottish accent totally floats my boat.
    I dont like South African, Belfast, Traveller, Longford /Midlands or the cliched North Side Dublin accent.
    Now i know that the Dublin one will get me into trouble...we need that sticky!;)