Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Nexus 7 - Android 4.1.2 is available

• 09-10-2012 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭

Google is pushing OTA updates for it at the moment, anyone inpatient can visit the xda forms and download and apply the update themselves.

One of the features of the update is the ability to rotate the home screen.

Regards,
    John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭bogman

Simple update direct from Google, installed with Rom manager, a breeze to install

Your device needs to be a completely stock Nexus 7 running Android 4.1.1, build JRO03D.

Mine was restored some time back due to not been happy with most of the rom's id tried

http://www.androidcentral.com/how-manually-update-your-nexus-7-android-412

Forget the full manual update process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jonski

Being fairly new to Android can I check a term with ye ... "completely stock " does unlocked and rooted mean it is not completely stock ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

jonski wrote: »
    Being fairly new to Android can I check a term with ye ... "completely stock " does unlocked and rooted mean it is not completely stock ?
    From the second post in the xda link in the OP
    My Nexus 7 (stock, unlocked, rooted) just updated. Did not lose Root.

Stock ROM I'd imagine is all.

No sign of it OTA for me last night. Maybe later

kaimera wrote: »
    From the second post in the xda link in the OP

Stock ROM I'd imagine is all.

No sign of it OTA for me last night. Maybe later

Thanks , I kinda figured but wanted to make sure . No sign of it yet here either .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭pedatron

What's new in it? Just stock launcher rotation is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭corkie

pedatron wrote: »
    What's new in it? Just stock launcher rotation is it?
    The only noticeable change is homescreen rotation the rest is bug fixes see a list of changes here http://www.funkyandroid.com/aosp-JRO03R-JZO54K.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

You can also now extend notifications with just 1 finger instead of 2!

Still no sign of the update for me , did anyone in Ireland get it OTA or did ye do it manually ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭wheresmybeaver

Still no sign of the update for me , did anyone in Ireland get it OTA or did ye do it manually ?

Yeah I started getting notifications an hour or two ago OTA, just installing it now. Originally a German Nexus 7 - 16GB. Hope it doesn't feck up root or anything.

I wonder if it originally coming from Germany is a factor , maybe serial numbers were allocated to different regions and it is pushed out OTA to those regions at different times .

I also wonder if I am talking out through my arse .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭wheresmybeaver

I also wonder if I am talking out through my arse .

While I wouldn't rule that out 100%, I'd say it is indeed the serial numbers that dictate who gets what and when.

Did it manually myself!
    Took all of 5 mins as I have Rom Manager installed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

marcbrophy wrote: »

Did it manually myself!
    Took all of 5 mins as I have Rom Manager installed.
    Any noticeable difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

The MCR will be updated in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭allen175

i was trying to manually install it for ages, going through different guides, unlocked my bootloader and installed clockwork and turned on the nexus and the update was there, its updating now.

Patsy fyre wrote: »
    Any noticeable difference?

Well for me 4.1.1 was pretty unstable, slowing down after about an hours use.
    4.1.2 is very smooth.
    Only real noticeable differences for users would be the landscape mode on the home screen and the extendible notifications can now be extended with 1 finger instead of 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Got the update yesterday afternoon. Nova Launcher doesn't rotate the screen so may need to wait for an update so gone back to stock launcher.

Still no sign of it here :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Q&A

Rooted and on stock and got notification of update last night. Haven't installed it yet. I presume this isn't an issue but I'll ask anyway. Does it wipe the memory?

No real rush updating as I've tested the build prop to rotate screen anyway

I have the clockwork recovery mod installed , I wonder would this be the difference ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,558 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Update was pushed to mine last night.
    Don't notice any real difference post installation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

lads,
    I've rooted with stock Rom and the past day I keep getting the notification to update to 4.1.2 every few mins when I awake the device.

If I update, will I lose my root or what?

I want to update but I've all my apps and settings configured the way I like.

lads,
    I've rooted with stock Rom and the past day I keep getting the notification to update to 4.1.2 every few mins when I awake the device.

Install rootkeeper before updating! Your apps and settings will still be there after update.

Still haven't got this update.
    Even though it won't make any difference to this device I'm annoyed that I haven't got it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

[Quote. =corkie;81214668]
    lads,

Install rootkeeper before updating! Your apps and settings will still be there after update.[/Quote]

Do I have to do a nandroid backup before or what?

If you want to run a backup but there is no need all the update is doing is patching some system files! Rember after you installed rootkeeper make sure you also run it before applying the update!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Sideways Android with a triangle hanging out of its stomach.. is that.. good?

Probably not. The update was pushed to my Nexus 7 today, it rebooted and did the upright Android with the crystal thingummy, then sideways Android with triangle of Doom..

Tablet booted up again and still shows 4.1.1.

Running a stock Google image, Rooted\Unlocked (bog standard Wugfresh Rooting kit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Just upgraded mine from 4.1.1 to 4.1.2 about an hour ago.

Got it in HMV on Grafton Street a few weeks ago.

Had to do the trick mentioned earlier:
    1. Settings->Apps->All->Google Framework Service->Force Stop and Then Clear Data
    2. Settings->About Tablet->System Updates->Check Now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,949 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭h57xiucj2z946q

Still haven't got this update.
    Even though it won't make any difference to this device I'm annoyed that I haven't got it yet.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebeve

Rooted and unlocked ,updated today screen is constantly freezing since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 cantthinkof1

No sign of the update for me :-{
    What networks are those whom have got it on? Or does it matter? I am on VF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

I'm on Wifi :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭bluferbl

I lost root after the update but wasn't a big deal to root again with Wugs NRT (doesn't need a wipe to reroot).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭leche solara

They are not network dependent as they have no SIM card. The update is issued by Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

Slydice wrote: »
    Just upgraded mine from 4.1.1 to 4.1.2 about an hour ago.

Got it in HMV on Grafton Street a few weeks ago.

Had to do the trick mentioned earlier:
    1. Settings->Apps->All->Google Framework Service->Force Stop and Then Clear Data
    2. Settings->About Tablet->System Updates->Check Now
    I did this last night and it worked a treat.

Thanks Slydice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭kc56

Mine arrived OTA last night.

Have patience, this is a roll-out so it can take several days for your turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Pushed to me twice now.. installed, reboot. Still at 4.1.1. I dread having to reinstall some of the larger apps.

Bog standard Google Rom with a Wugs Root and unlock.

Just got the ota update.
    Not noticing any visible differences so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Q&A

Amalgam wrote: »
    Pushed to me twice now.. installed, reboot. Still at 4.1.1. I dread having to reinstall some of the larger apps.

Bog standard Google Rom with a Wugs Root and unlock.

Did you mod your build prop or install ICS browser? sounds like it tried installing but failed.. bit of tweaking when rooted will cause the update to fail when it gets pushed.
    Just got the ota update.
    Not noticing any visible differences so far.

Haha turn it sideways on the homescreen you might see something different then :p

Turned it sideways and it's not going into landscape mode, is this because I'm using nova launcher prime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Technophobe

Got mine too last night..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Mine seems to be a little bit slower now when I open the magnetic cover. It came straight on before but is taking a couple of seconds now. Also the apps on the home screen don't load sometimes when in landscape.

Do u need to do something/change a setting to get it to go to landscape?
    Have turned mine a couple of times now and it hasnt switched....
    I have a cover over it...

Make sure you don't have the locked turned on, pull down the notification window and unlock it if its locked!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Is screen rotation locked? You can unlock it on the notifications panel.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

buh, I clearly wasn't on the last page of the thread when I posted my last comment. Apologies.

dregin wrote: »
    Is screen rotation locked? You can unlock it on the notifications panel.

Cheers, that was it...:D

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Ian1986

HI Guys wondering if anyone else has seen this. I updated my nexus 7 last week without unrooting etc using the app that was available and all went according to plan. Around the same time I got a virus on my flash drive and had to format it after getting rid of the virus. I know have my stuff back on the flash drive but when I connect it to my nexus 7 and open astro it shows the one folder on the flash drive but that it is empty. Connect it back to my PC and everything is there? Any suggestions?