Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How often do you wash your dog?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

I spoke to my vet she says I can wash him every week once I make sure his skin isn't having a bad reaction he's a little ball of fluff and very low to the ground so he gets drowned even walking in grass let alone when he explores mucky fields and puddles of muck. He's eating hills puppy mini a completely dry diet with lil tiny bits if chicken as a training treat

I'm a little confused now so... how come your dog smells so bad within a week of washing? My sense of smell is not the best, but even with muck, water, and general rooting around, I can't really understand how a dog could smell unacceptably bad after just a week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭lisa_celtic

It could be me, iv never had a house dog before so I am been care fully not to become people who's house stinks of dogs so want to keep chewbacca as clean and fresh as possible. Maybe I should let him go a bit longer il try and see how I get on

Ps: the mucky field has a horse and sheep so the dunk needs to be washed ASAP to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Seen a few people mention using johnsons shampoo on their dog, and other ild human shampoo.

Human skin PH is between normally 5 and 6 (give or take a point or two), dog skin PH is usually between 6 and 7 (again give or take a bit) so even baby shampoo will not be as mild for your dog as you imagine. Sometimes when a dog smells even though they are being washed frequently, it can be because their natural PH has been disturbed by the use of human products which then allows bacteria to take hold and cause smells.

Harley rarely needs a bath because he swims, and he comes out smelling fresh and natural. Maybe twice a year, if he rolls in something or coming up to Christmas when the whole house gets the "christmas clean". His bed is changed twice a week.

Phoe doesn't swim and he's not as fastidious as Harley, he's been known to take a pee on the patio and a few mins later will lie down in the same spot :rolleyes:. He's a bit of a smell bag to be honest, likes to roll in things, delights in stamping through muddy puddles and dipping his belly into them, he's just a mucky little pup. So he gets a bath whenever he needs it. Sometimes we get by with two months, but others times it has to be done every week. Depending on what he gets up to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Whispered wrote: »
    Seen a few people mention using johnsons shampoo on their dog, and other ild human shampoo.

Human skin PH is between normally 5 and 6 (give or take a point or two), dog skin PH is usually between 6 and 7 (again give or take a bit) so even baby shampoo will not be as mild for your dog as you imagine. Sometimes when a dog smells even though they are being washed frequently, it can be because their natural PH has been disturbed by the use of human products which then allows bacteria to take hold and cause smells.

This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ddad

My fella, an 11 month old collie cross hasn't had a bath in the last six months and I'm slways getting complimented on the shine on his coat and he doesn't smell "doggy". The smell of my neighbours dog'd knock you over. I feed him burns and I spend 30 minutes every saturday grooming him in the garage( which consists of me spitting hair and cursing at the dog to sit still, still have a laugh at the feckin eejit). When he comes in mucky I keep him in his crate until he dries off a bit and then give him a brush out to knock the dirt out of his coat before he gets free reign in the house.

I will say this though, he is really fastidious about grooming himself and he'll spend ages licking and cleaning his legs and paws after a good mucky walk. I can't see myself bathing him unless he nees it after rolliing in something but he hasn't much of an inclination for that.

I give him a tin of sardines or mackerel about once a week and feed him a bit of raw as well. I'd say what they eat helps a lot. Oh, he almost completely black so that helps a lot with the appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I don't normally wash them very often. They swim in fresh water a lot which keeps them clean so other than that they just have a wash if they have gotten in something nasty. However at the moment they are getting washed more often. I had them groomed and tightly clipped a few months ago as I'm pregnant and have pelvic dysfunction and I needed to keep the hairs down as vacuuming is one of the worst things you can do with spd. They are due another groom and clip next Saturday as I'm due in 11 days and I don't see myself to vacuuming a lot in the first few weeks with a newborn. But they had a quick wash today as well in case I give birth a few days early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Got her groomed yday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭paultf

I have 3 cocker spaniels and all going well I normally wash them every 3 months.

But one of them loves rolling in poo when off lead. Even though I get her to wear a coat I still might have to wash her once a week.

So I was wondering can anyone suggest a good shampoo?

I am looking to get a container - 4/5 litre - concentrated so I can dilute for better value.

I was looking at Wahl on ccpdogs: http://www.ccpdogs.ie/category/74/wahl

Wahl 'Dirty Beastie' shampoo is good value but I am not sure if it would be good for frequent washes.

So then I thought Wahl 'Tea Tree' shampoo for sensitive skin - would that be better for frequent washes?

Anyone use Wahl or maybe suggest another shampoo?

I use Tropiclean which is available from Christies. I use either the OxyMed or the Tea Tree which seems to be discontinued. But the Aloe one is good too. Although expensive to buy, it actually works out very cheap as the shampoo's dilutable. The OxyMed's excellent for frequent washing.

I find it excellent for my dog who suffers from allergies, and wouldn't use anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭paultf

I use Tropiclean which is available from Christies. I use either the OxyMed or the Tea Tree which seems to be discontinued.

When you were using Tropiclean Tea Tree, was that OK for frequent washing?

Tea Tree type shampoos I think are for sensitive skins, did you find that they could clean a very dirty dog (i.e. fox poo!) and leave a good smell?

I have been looking at some of the more highly concentrated ones - the ones that are supposed to be very good for cleaning very dirty dogs, thick coats, etc.

When I google them there are some negative comments from groomers. Some along the line that even when they diluted the shampoo properly, dogs were getting hotspots, etc.

Others say they have no problems.

On Christies they say that the 'Double K Grimeinator' is one of the best sellers in the States. On the Double K website they have a page on how to dilute concentrated shampoo: http://www.doublekindustries.com/grooming_tips.php

They say things like: diluted shampoo should be discarded after 24 hours; the mixing bottle should be cleaned with very hot water or sterilised before use; contamination of the shampoo mix - bacteria - dogs can have a reaction, etc.

Does anyone have experience of these highly concentrated shampoos? Maybe I am reading too much into it?

Well, I wash mine every 2-3 weeks. He has known allergies, but since using the Tropiclean, I've managed to get a handle on it. I only started using the Tea Tree as Christies sent that rather than the OxyMed by mistake and I couldn't be bothered to send the gallon bottle back. Like I say, I've had absolutely no problems since using it.

Dog smells great with it, but not as nice as the OxyMed which has a lovely coconut smell. I then spray him with 'The Stuff' and blow dry him. He looks lovely, smells even better and the coat's in great nick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 TrishAlmighty

paultf wrote: »
    Does anyone have experience of these highly concentrated shampoos? Maybe I am reading too much into it?

Definitely be careful with these shampoos, the best thing to do is dilute as needed, and dilute as directed. It will look a lot watery than you expect so dont be tempted to use it neat for a stronger smell.

Some people like to see lots of bubbles and suds when washing their dog but this isnt necessary, And rinse thoroughly!! So many dogs end up with hotspots and other skin problems simply because shampoo isnt rinsed properly and it dries into the skin.