Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Garda to be spared assault conviction

• 11-10-2012 11:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/1011/1224325147471.html

Michael Crowley (27), who is from Blarney, Co Cork, but is attached to Crumlin Garda station in Dublin, had pleaded guilty in June to assaulting colleagues and former housemates Anne Marie Hennessy and Gillian McNulty, during an off-duty incident on February 15th, 2011.

The case had been adjourned for an assessment to be carried out on whether he has any alcohol or anger-management problems.

Yesterday at Dublin District Court, Judge Bridget Reilly said the reports showed that Crowley had expressed remorse and now has awareness and insight into his behaviour.

“It has been a very harsh lesson in life which has certainly stopped him in his tracks,” she said.

She held that he would be given the benefit of the Probation Offenders Act if he donates €1,000 to the Pieta House suicide awareness centre, within four weeks.

The case was adjourned until November 7th for finalisation, when he will be spared a criminal record if the money has been paid to the charity.

During the hearing on June 18th last, Insp Mel Smyth had said Crowley had been returning to his rented home in Lucan in Dublin, with a friend after a night out, and both were intoxicated.

“Initially they seemed to be getting on well, they started mess fighting which turned a bit serious,” Insp Smyth had told the court.

It started to get noisy and the women came out to see what was happening.

Crowley became aggressive as Garda Hennessy took up position between him and the other man, “to prevent a serious altercation taking place”.

Crowley pushed her to the ground, and Garda McNulty then stepped in.

“He grabbed her by the neck and throat area with one hand and by the hair with his right hand,” Insp Smyth had also told the court.

A witness went inside to dial 999 and the situation calmed down when other gardaí arrived.

Insp Smyth had agreed with defence solicitor Dara Robinson that Crowley had no prior criminal convictions and was a probationer garda.

He also agreed that Crowley came from a respectable family and before joining the force had attained a certificate in mechanical engineering.

Garda Hennessy, who was knocked to the ground, sustained no injuries, and Garda McNulty “suffered a loss of breath” after the attack.

Mr Robinson had said earlier that there had never been any previous incidents when he shared a house with the two women and Crowley could give no explanation as to why he turned on them.

The following day, he packed his bags and moved out, the defence lawyer had also said.

The court has heard that a witness who had socialised with him previously had never seen him act like that.

Mr Robinson had said the case could have consequences for Crowley’s future in An Garda Síochána.

No conviction is fair in the circumstances but as a probationer Garda he should be shown the door and shouldn't be allowed to become a Garda officer.Putting your hands on a woman in such a situation is disgraceful in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

He was only practicing for when he becomes a fully fledged Garda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Fine example right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

He should not be allowed continue in the guards. If he has anger / alcohol problems then a less demanding job would suit him better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

jonsnow wrote: »

the case could have consequences for Crowley’s future in An Garda Síochána.[/I]

..............he'll go straight to the top ;)

Seriously tho, despicable behavior tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

He also agreed that Crowley came from a respectable family and before joining the force had attained a certificate in mechanical engineering.
    Oh go **** yourself judge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

That always makes my blood boil. How does coming from a respectable family have anything to do with a defendant's trial? You should be judged and sentenced on your own actions, not the reputation of others.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

He should not be allowed continue in the guards. If he has anger / alcohol problems then a less demanding job would suit him better.

What are you talking about? This lad is obviously Superintendent material.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

He also agreed that Crowley came from a respectable family

In other words Mum does readings at mass, Dad is in the same golf club as the judge: +50 Leniency Points for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭coleria

AAhhh f**k Mc Nulty, there ya go givin a F**k when it's not your turn to give a f**k..

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

Aren't they supposed to lead by example? What kind of an example does this set, and what hope does law enforcement have in any area where this man works?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

It would be interesting to see what sentence that judge has handed down when some unemployed gobsh1te from a sink estate has appeared before him charged with a comparable violent offence ...?:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    It would be interesting to see what sentence that judge has handed down when some unemployed gobsh1te from a sink estate has appeared before him charged with a comparable violent offence ...?:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Ah your honour, that one slip up was only an accident. Damo is normally a good lad, he just got drunk and kicked your man in the face.
    Fair enough, Damo, you're free to go if you're promise to behave yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

before joining the force had attained a certificate in mechanical engineering.
    QUOTE]

WTF has a Cert in Mech Eng. to do with anything?

Am I reading it right, that the man attack a bean garda after she tried to break up the fight?
    Because if so, it seems more that the judge is giving the go ahead to beat up gardaí if your family is rich enough.

Probably to show he's a decent kid going to college as opposed to being in trouble numerous times.

Still, pile of bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Let's not go nuts here. It was an assault, but there were no injuries, so I wouldn't say it was particularly violent or vicious.

However the two Gardai involved obviously felt it was enough to warrant pushing on with the charges.

The proper procedure when any Garda is found guilty of any offence (including penalty points or no TV licence) would be an automatic suspension and an independent review board who could make recommendations as to whether the person was fit to continue as a Garda. At the very least it would remove the "he could lose his job" problem from the judges who could then pass judgement based on normal factors.

Assuming that the guy is otherwise known to be decent and doesn't lose the head, and presuming that he doesn't drink on the job, then it's not completely ridiculous to suggest that he could be fine for certain Garda work after attending counselling or other psychiatric services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

seamus wrote: »
    Let's not go nuts here.
    A policeman assaults two women.....
    yea, sure it's grand, ffs :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

grabbing a woman person by the neck should never be done by anyone no matter who the fcuk they think they are!!
    FYP, and I agree.

But it doesn't change the fact that there were no injuries arising out of the assault. A jail sentence for losing the head would be completely over the top. You'd get a suspended sentence for breaking someone's nose, if you got a sentence at all.

I call Horses*it

grabbing a woman by the neck should never be done by anyone no matter who the fcuk they think they are!!

This "man" should be imprisoned

Eh, each to their own. I don't have an issue hitting a woman if she deserves it, same as with a man. If they're doing something like trying to deck me, expect something back.

But no, you're right, nobody should be grabbed by throat in an assault like that. Especially (assuming the story is accurate) when the garda was trying to put herself in the way to keep them apart.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,271 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Skid wrote: »
    That always makes my blood boil. How does coming from a respectable family have anything to do with a defendant's trial? You shoud be judged and sentenced on your own actions, not the reputation of others.

If anything, coming 'from a respectable family' means behaving like a thug should be punished more harshly as it's not as if you came from a family where violence was everyday.

I would have hoped Garda selection procedures would have weeded out people likely to do what he did.

spurious wrote: »
    If anything, coming 'from a respectable family' means behaving like a thug should be punished more harshly as it's not as if you came from a family where violence was everyday.

I would have hoped Garda selection procedures would have weeded out people likely to do what he did.

What that means is that "we can't really believe that he did something bad because his family are so nice to us".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

It wasn't the judge who agreed with that. It was the Inspector Garda giving evidence in the trial. The Inspector was agreeing with the defence solicitor.

Regardless, I think the reference to what sort of family somebody comes from should be banned from court proceedings. It has no relevance whatsoever. Scumbags have always come from all classes in society.

kraggy wrote: »
    It wasn't the judge who agreed with that. It was the Inspector Garda giving evidence in the trial. The Inspector was agreeing with the defence solicitor.

Regardless, I think the reference to what sort of family somebody comes from should be banned from court proceedings. It has no relevance whatsoever. Scumbags have always come from all classes in society.

I thought it was that it was accepted as a point of defense. That's why I got pissed. It's fine if anyone says he comes from a good family. It's not fine to use as defense for an assault though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Am I reading it right, that the man attack a bean garda after she tried to break up the fight?

What's a bean garda? Is it a female garden where you grow beans?

It's the term for a female garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Do they ever go to Gaol?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

seamus wrote: »
    Let's not go nuts here. It was an assault, but there were no injuries, so I wouldn't say it was particularly violent or vicious.

However the two Gardai involved obviously felt it was enough to warrant pushing on with the charges.

Do you actually press charges in Ireland?

I've been told you just make a statement on the incident and DPP decide whether to take it further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭ceegee

Because if so, it seems more that the judge is giving the go ahead to beat up gardaí if your family is rich enough.

Probably to show he's a decent kid going to college as opposed to being in trouble numerous times.

Still, pile of bollocks.

None of the people involved were acting in their capacity as gardai. So no, it doesn't give the go ahead to beat up gardai

ceegee wrote: »
    None of the people involved were acting in their capacity as gardai. So no, it doesn't give the go ahead to beat up gardai

Seems like he did actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

He should be earmarked for promotion ............ like Robocop (of Dame St fame).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Yep. Theres been no threads on here about scumbags getting off for assault or worse crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

I call Horses*it
    'it' isnt a very nice name for a horse; whats wrong with misty/beauty/shergar/mr plod?
    grabbing a woman by the neck should never be done by anyone no matter who the fcuk they think they are!!

This "man" should be imprisoned
    unfortunately that woud never happen due to his job,they need to be getting rid of coppers like him whose behavior can explode in certain conditions,not enabling them!

Scruffles wrote: »
    unfortunately that woud never happen due to his job,they need to be getting rid of coppers like him whose behavior can explode in certain conditions,not enabling them!

Stop being so negative!
    He was drinking and normally isn't like that. Sure doesn't he come from a good family and he went to college! :rolleyes:

Must have just been a lapse in judgement; maybe he was suffering from flashbacks to his days fighting local thugs to defend the family home or whatever bollocks excuse the judge excepted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

AHHHHHHHH the joys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

spurious wrote: »

Ludicrous. It shouldn't have a bearing at all. Having an out of character moment can happen to anyone. Never happened to me but I'm not going to get up on the high horse over anybody who makes one mistake. The lack of previous is the most important factor here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

The garda selection system in Ireland is ridiculous, anybody can become a garda!! People who inforce the law should be put through tougher selection and mental pressure. how is a "man" like this to tell,testify against and punish other people he thinks are not abiding by the law?

Tell that to the other 18,000 who applied and failed to get in out of 19,500 when I applied and joined? What a load of ****e

Ludicrous. It shouldn't have a bearing at all. Having an out of character moment can happen to anyone. Never happened to me but I'm not going to get up on the high horse over anybody who makes one mistake. The lack of previous is the most important factor here.

Come on, fighting one person (fair enough, seemed like both fellas were equally at fault so no blame on either side) and then afterwards deciding to push one more down and then grabbing another by their throat is a lot more than "an out of character moment".

His outta character moment was him fighting; him assaulting two more people is a bit of a stretch.

Unless he's planning on giving up the drink, he shouldn't be allowed into the gardaí ranks.