Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Photowalks

• 12-10-2012 9:53am
    Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭

This is more of a non-event. But should be in here because it is about a type of event - You with me? :P

For the last 2 years I have organised a photowalk a month for the month's from Oct - March. These were night (7 - 10) photowalks around Dublin City.

Unfortunately due to a new project/business I am doing I will not have the time or head space to organise any until Jan at least.

Now I call on people who have attended over the years or anybody who now thinks 'Hey this is a great idea' to please take up the mantle and keep it going.

These photowalks are easy to organise, photographers on here are well able to luck after themselves. I simply said, 'I'm going from here to here, via here. Who wants to join me?'

I have routes from over the last years if you want, or you can search on boards here - mine have a month in the discussion title. If you want my info/routes/pointers then email my @yahoo.com email will_leon1115

Thanks for reading!
    SinisterDexter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

Big hand for Will as he exits stage left.

Now then now then (in the words of somebody everybody would really rather forget)... I'm happy to take the torch and run with it, for a bit anyhoo, if folk are interested in some autumnal/winter evening walks. (based in Dublin).
    Probably do one for the end of this month at some point. If you're interested reply below. I don't really do yer twitters and faceshíts and that sort, so feel free to put word out there if you so desire. More anon...

Right - Wednesday 24th Oct at 7:30pm. Route as per below. Taking in the Sam Beckett bridge, Grand Canal dock, a ramble along the canal a bit, the Pepper Canister church, Merrion square, and the seat of governance -

Start at A finish at B(ish). About 2.3Km in total. Come one, come all, the smell of the crowd, the roar of the greasepaint, the dizzing highs, the desperate lows, don't matter how experienced you are or what equipment you have - come along.
    7B30D7B35F1D4633922FB6E4168BD24B-0000314448-0003042051-00800L-E30B82199CE841F4BFCE5E168D6F010A.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Phil Taz

Ah Dex sorry to hear you have to step down, but big thanks to trooney for kicking this off, roll on the 24th I'll be there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Thanks for making sure these didn't get dropped SinisterDexter - I really need to get out more with my camera, will do my best to be there on the 24th :) I'll try drag jjdubya with me :)

Cheers trooney!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭xia

Thanks for keeping them going. Both of you ;)
    I might not have been on all of them, and won't be able to make the 24th but there's hope for the next one :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

A stroll along the canal sounds lovely. I'm in.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Adrian.Sadlier

Good on ya trooney for taking up the mantle. I would love to be there on the 24th, Weather and work permitting.

Just a word of warning, the security guys around the Bord Gais theatre can be a bit of a pain for togs - especially a group with tripods. The whole area is actually private property so they do have the legal right to object to photographers taking pictures.

I never took much notice of them but ...

That bridge will be crossed if/when we come to it

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

trooney wrote: »
    Right - Wednesday 24th Oct at 7:30pm. Route as per below. Taking in the Sam Beckett bridge, Grand Canal dock, a ramble along the canal a bit

Bolands????? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

Well done Will, some great Dublin walkabouts. Looking forward to many more strolls around Dublin this winter season with Trooney. Hope to make the 24th. There is always a very nice group on these walks.

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭Nebezpeci Mys

I'm in too. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Jonnykitedude

Bolands????? :D

In before me:D

Im away from this Thursday so ill catch the next one.

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭jonnybangbang

Count me in. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭SinisterDexter

Good job Trooney on taking this up. And thank you too those with thanks.

Weather is not looking too bad for tomorrow night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭dacogawa

Would love to come along (haven't been on one of these yet) but I have a football match tomorrow evening, hopefully I'll make the next one. Have a great walk everyone!

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭okmqaz42

Great stuff, see you all later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭xia

No pictures up yet?? Are yiz all still in the pub? ;)

Just getting back home now. Don't think we made it for a pint in the end. Nice walk all the same. Bit of a run-in with a security robot in Grand Canal Dock who approached all gung-ho telling us to get off the property with our cameras, but I think we got the better of him in the end. 25 minute discussion with him had him agreeing that the idea of us needing a permit was ridiculous and he agreed to leave us be. Photos to follow. Thanks all for coming along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Just getting back home now. Don't think we made it for a pint in the end. Nice walk all the same. Bit of a run-in with a security robot in Grand Canal Dock who approached all gun-ho telling us to get off the property with our cameras, but I think we got the better of him in the end. 25 minute discussion with him had him agreeing that the idea of us needing a permit was ridiculous and he agreed to leave us be. Photos to follow. Thanks all for coming along.

Lovely meeting you tonight Trooney - an absolute gentleman!
    Fair play for continuing to stand your ground with the robot - It took some doing but we got there! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

69EA4165269C42E8BE28980B691899ED-0000332267-0003056109-00800L-AC1BEB3E5F59426BAEC23D129AC4E420.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Phil Taz

Thanks trooney and a pleasure to meet you. Looking forward to the next one :D

684F26FD44D34235AD73A53217FCA929-0000346812-0003056151-00800L-4610017F0C5E43EA8567C11535C59965.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭leche solara

Only seeing this now. Sorry I missed it. Ah well there's always next month.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Leftyflip wrote: »
    Trooney - an absolute gentleman!
    Fair play for continuing to stand your ground with the robot - It took some doing but we got there! lol

Sorry I couldn't make it last night and would have liked to see trooney in action. No rent-a-cop was ever going to get the better of him :D

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭SinisterDexter

Just getting back home now. Don't think we made it for a pint in the end.
    - So, 2 pubs the next time!

Great job Tony! Would have loved to have seen the exchange with the rent a cop.... especially if it was anything like the one BuzzLightYear and others had at Trinity!

Few from last night

23C57459370442A1AF3C354BC9DBFAFC-0000314448-0003056347-00800L-82D4BDDED6F64CEC8FA1A8693E1FE060.jpg

AD7DEEFAE8C043E088C981E6D9AFA765-0000314448-0003056338-00800L-73BF7EDB49F64DB2A92337BAF1247DED.jpg

70E89E9C78584BB2B1D1AFBF21D10A78-0000314448-0003056333-00800L-F09A6105169B41FDB224BB83E9960BF5.jpg

D37C5BB09B884198A5E0B09CE398401B-0000314448-0003056332-00800L-522AD8C5BC284196AFFF1679BE8A2E21.jpg

look ma i'm on the internet.....Thanks Trooney I had a great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

Completely slipped my mind.... very sorry to have missed this walk. Maybe my mind is slipping :D

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭Nebezpeci Mys

A few of mine from the night...

Rising
    92AFE9BBC6E34574A49A9D65F8D3373C-0000317518-0003058993-00800L-50C260C56EDF4633809839BE2A2112E6.jpg

Armageddon on the Way
    A3A6A373D30F403F8E8953CBD2C068D4-0000317518-0003058989-00800L-B02084970FC642B7B39D618C1FAE5D23.jpg

Hi. I'm Chucky. Wanna Play?
    4E5D7DB5C40F4A86889431B30694AC8A-0000317518-0003058986-00800L-00D9F2E345B44984AE5DBECB16568E3F.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 39 maxie

Sorry I missed the walk. Hope to make the next one.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Can't believe I missed this one!
    Fair play trooney, I look forward to this months walk.

I finally developed the roll I shot that night, the stick man here is @trooneys handy work.

8155315867_60b628e5ef_z.jpg
    Stick it to the Man by Aware of the Void, on Flickr

• Registered Users Posts: 39 maxie

Anything organised for this month???

maxie wrote: »
    Anything organised for this month???

Here ya go...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=81729731#post81729731