Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

77 days for murdering a baby

• 13-10-2012 1:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭

Well we seem to have another thread here condemning a long sentence for a 'small' crime.

How about we look at the other end of the unjust American justice system as it pertains to children?

https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-snc6/c78.0.403.403/p403x403/183265_419702598088063_1885451111_n.jpg

http://www.facebook.com/BabyAlissaCriesForJustice.org
    Alissa B Guernsey November 2, 2007 – March 28, 2009

Alissa was fatally beaten by her caregiver, Christy Shaffer. The justice system did not value Alissa’s short life enough to properly punish the person who took her final breath. It is also believed that Christy's father, Kerry Sprunger, had "connections" because of the position he held in LaGrange, which assured that Christy would never pay for her crime.

16 month old baby Alissa was murdered.

In November of 2008, Alissa's father, Michael Guernsey, was tragically killed in a car accident. Kelli Sprunger, Alissa's mother was beside herself with grief and unable to care for her children. Christy Shaffer offered to take Alissa and her 2 siblings in until Kelli got back on her feet. During that time Kelli (admittedly) returned to her drug use and failed to keep in contact with caseworkers. After that, Alissa and her siblings were made wards of the state in Steuben County, Indiana and were placed in the home of Matt and Christy Shaffer, who were not trained foster parents, but relatives of the family.
    Alissa was a normal, happy, healthy baby when she left her mother’s home.

It was in January of 2009 that Alissa began losing her hair and random bruises were appearing all over her body. Shaffer had taken Alissa to doctors to try and find some type diagnoses stating that Alissa "bruised easily" and that her hair was "falling out". Alissa had been to specialists in Elkhart and Riley's Children Hospital. None of which could ever find anything "medically" wrong with her after multiple rounds of blood testing.

During this time Christy Shaffer kept Alissa's mother from visiting with her, but not with her other 2 children who were also in Christy's care.

March 28, 2009 Alissa B Guernsy was murdered. The autopsy report declared her death a HOMICIDE, due to blunt force trauma to the head. According to the post mortem exam, her hair had not fallen out - it was ripped out! Alissa endured months of beatings which resulted in stitches to the head, multiple deep mouth lacerations, a broken elbow (for which she was not given her pain medication) and multiple bruising about her head and body before she was finally beaten to death. These injuries were new and old.

Christy wanted people to believe that Alissa had Fetal Alcohol Syndrome or was born a meth/crack addicted baby and that was the reason she was "clumsy and always bruised" – that is wrong! According to the doctor and tox screen reports from when she was born, Alissa was perfectly healthy. You can clearly see the before and after pictures of Alissa, she was perfectly happy and healthy with her mother, and turned in to a different baby with Christy Shaffer.

Christy Shaffer never had to take responsibility for the blunt force trauma. In June 2009, Prosecutor Jeff Wible convened a Grand Jury after being presented with the Medical Examiners report, the Indiana State Police report, and all eveidence pointing to HOMICIDE due to blunt force trauma. The Grand Jury indicted Shaffer for Neglect of a Dependent, Class B Felony AND Neglect of a Dependent, Class C Felony. (neither charge results in the death of the child!) It is believed that Jeff Wible purposely did not push for any murder charge (or even so much as Neglect of a dependent Class A which results in death) This is believed to be because of the MULTIPLE conflicts of interest involving relationships between himself and Kerry Sprunger (the defendants father) and Alissa's Pediatrician, Dr, John Egli, (who missed every single opportunity to save Alissa's life) Jeff Wible sat on the same board of directors of the LaGrange County Community Foundation with Dr. Egli for years. Kerry Sprunger was a regular member and donated undisclosed amouts of money and assets to this foundation.

Shaffer accepted a Plea Agreement by pleading guilty to Neglect of a Dependent, Class B Felony in February 2011.

In late May 2011, Shaffer was sentenced to 10 years in the Department of Corrections, 6 years suspended.

At sentencing, LaGrange Circuit Court Judge J. Scott VanDerbeck offered Christy shaffer information that she could come back in 60 to 90 days for a possible modification of her sentence. Judge VanDerbeck modified Shaffer’s sentence in August 2011. Shaffer was released after serving 77 days.

Where is Alssa's justice?

Shaffer only spent 77 days in prison and was released with time served and 6 months home detention with 3 yrs probation. Baby Alissa was tortured, beaten and lost her life.

Christy Shaffer served only 77 Days for the torture and murder of an innocent and defenseless 16 month old baby girl. Alissa was given no mercy, no justice, but we can give her a voice!

DON'T FORGET TO LIKE AND SHARE HER PAGE TO HELP BE ALISSA'S VOICE!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭TheBoss!

"99 Years for..", "77 Days for.." wait, shouldn't there have been a thread: "88 Months for.." first?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

TheBoss! wrote: »
    "99 Years for..", "77 Days for.." wait, shouldn't there have been a thread: "88 Months for.." first?

You seem to find child abuse and murder amusing.

Sick.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Christy Shaffer should have been tied to a gurney and had a lethal dose of Potassium Chloride injected into her arm, and it should have been public for everyone to see.

I'm sorry but I just can't take the abuse of young children, I'm usually against the DP but I would condone it in certain circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Before anyone calls for the death penalty, I'd like to point out that the posted article is one persons opinion and interpretation of some of the available evidence, and that there's another side to the story.

We don't know what exaggerations or omissions have been made, or how the evidence was interpreted by the court.

Sounds awful from that perspective, but its not the only perspective.

If all true and accurate, a terrible injustice was done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I'm sorry but I just can't take the abuse of young children, I'm usually against the DP but I would condone it in certain circumstances.

I don't think anyone should be sentenced to the DP on the basis of a Facebook page though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I really hope that bitch gets a good hiding.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,421 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Link is broken - has some sort of sign up/ log in page.
    What's up with that?
    Can only special people see page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭policarp

Sick.

This is After Hours, and a certain amount of cynicism is allowed.
    Child abuse should never be acceptable, but look at some of the comments on the Jimmy Saville thread and see if the "Jim will fix it for you" story. . .will fix it for you.?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 581 ✭✭✭phoenix999

What a beautiful child she was. The mind boggles how any person could harm a hair on her little head.

F1ngers wrote: »
    What's up with that?

If you are special enough to have a facebook account you can see it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Wtf is happening to the legal systems?

Completely disgraceful and illogical. That was prolonged child abuse and then murder, but only 77 days because "her short life wasn't valued enough"?

It would be a disgraceful ruling if it had been an adult that was murdered never mind a child in care.
    Makes me a bit annoyed tbh.

policarp wrote: »
    This is After Hours, and a certain amount of cynicism is allowed.
    Child abuse should never be acceptable, but look at some of the comments on the Jimmy Saville thread and see if the "Jim will fix it for you" story. . .will fix it for you.?

hmmm, a certain amount.... if it were your child or a child you cared for would you still condone that 'certain amount of cynicism'?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 581 ✭✭✭phoenix999

F1ngers wrote: »
    What's up with that?

You can read the story on the US media:

http://www.southbendtribune.com/news/sbt-was-judge-too-lenient-toward-woman-in-babys-death-20121011,0,5075430,full.story

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,421 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

If you are special enough to have a facebook account you can see it

I must be extra special so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Heartbreaking. Poor little baby...:(

I'll never understand the mindset of people who treat children like punchbags. How can they live with themselves?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭TheBoss!

Sick.

My 'joke' (not my best) was to do with number succession and thread titles, had zero to do with child abuse.

TheBoss! wrote: »
    My 'joke' (not my best) was to do with number succession and thread titles, had zero to do with child abuse.

And in a way that's what is so appalling. 77 days for murder in one state vs. 99 years for abuse (despicable though it was) simply does not add up.

You're right though, it wasn't your best joke, some things just aren't funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭iffy_2007

Can't even read the rest of it after reading as far as the injuries the poor child received. The DP in cases of torture & abuse particularly of children is a too nice of sentence for the evil bastards. They should have to endure exactly what they put their victims through everyday for the rest of their lives. I have such little faith in the human race after the events of the last few weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

This is way too close to home to be honest, really got to me reading that.

77 days, absolutely disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

And in a way that's what is so appalling. 77 days for murder in one state vs. 99 years for abuse (despicable though it was) simply does not add up.

But they're two different states with two different legal systems, not to mention two different cases with two different levels of evidence (one having witnesses, a murder weapon and a confession, the other having none of those things). Obviously it's not going to add up. Apples, oranges, etc..