Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Here we go again...rescued another dog

• 13-10-2012 1:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭

I'm only a couple of months in my new place and have already ended up with one of the neighbour's dogs...
    Since me and the OH moved, we have noticed a guy walking a beautiful brindle dog around. Being us, we have made a point to stop and talk to the dog. Turns out that he is 6 and a half months old. The owner reckons he is a presa canario, but I'm skeptical. He doesn't look like the pictures I've seen of them. He may be some sort of mastiff cross or maybe a pitty crossed with something bigger. He has a big square head and is a very big boy already. He is underweight though, so has quite a bit of growing and filling out to do.
    The guy got a new Rottweiler puppy recently (at only 6 weeks :().
    Anyway that was the beginning of the end for the other dog. Two nights ago, the OH was putting out some bins and the guy was out on the road with the dogs. He said that he wanted rid of the 6 month old...things haven't been the same since the new pup, he's lost his bond with him, he has started to destroy the place etc. He asked if we would take the dog. The OH and I had a chat and decided that we had to help somehow.
    When we went back yesterday - in the daylight - we saw the full extent of the situation, and the guy filled us in a bit more.
    The dog was in a kennel in a tiny yard - the guy's place is a tiny duplex. The yard was filthy, with piles of poo and puddles of piss. We were told that he hadn't been walked in about a week, and was never allowed inside because the guy can't/won't engage with him anymore...he's so annoyed with his behaviour. The poor dog has a thin coat, so really feels the cold. The owner told us he had some other people lined up to take the dog...one a guy he meets at a homeless meal centre who lives in a flat, while another guy who he doesn't really know offered him €100 for the dog. This was of concern...being the type that he is, he could easily fall into the wrong hands (worse than what he had even). He said they seemed like good homes - although I'm not sure of his idea of a good home - but that he would be happier if we took him. He said he has ordered a skip bag to get everything out of the yard, so it seems that the dog was out of there one way or another this weeked.
    So, I have a massive, possibly RB puppy, in the house who is a complete and utter baby. I don't know what we're going to do with him...again we had no plans for a third dog...especially such a big boy. My contact who helped me with the last boy won't be able to help, as there are enough of his type in the UK. Besides, I wouldn't want him going there for fear he may catch the attention of some overzealous dog warden. We'll have to play it by ear and see how we get on, but he won't be going anywhere just yet anyway (unless someone personally known to us can offer him a super home). I'm under no illusions...it was hard enough to get the little terrier sorted, and this dog is a completely different kettle of fish.
    Anyway, I've a couple of questions...
    1. Neutering? I don't know if I should get him neutered straight away or wait a while...I was up at the vets and the nurse said he would be fine to be done now. I said I had heard that it's better to wait with larger breeds. She said most people get them done at around 6 or 7 months. He isn't cocking his leg yet. The owner said he would try to hump everything, but I haven't seen any of that behaviour.
    2. Behaviour: This morning we saw what the owner was talking about...he had opened the door of the room he was in, gotten into the kitchen and destroyed a few plates, pulled other stuff out, ripped up stuff. I think that I may be looking at a combination of puppyness and maybe some separation anxiety issues. I have noticed that he does whine a bit if left in a room by himself. What is the best way to deal with each of these issues? It's a long time since I've had such a young dog, and haven't had one so big at that age.
    3. Exercise: What would be an appropriate level for him at this age? BTW, he weighs 27kg (bear in mind that he is underweight)

I'm sure I'll think of plenty more questions to ask, as I get to know this boy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

With regards to neutering, if he's not cocking the leg or humping anything, not showing signs of male to male aggression, or anything like that, I'd wait until you get his weight up and start working on the other issues. It is better for larger breeds to get most of the growth in first, and if he's under weight might not be reaching full potential growth wise.

My fella has separation anxiety, he has settled as he gets older (4 now) but the big calmer for him was another dog as company, not much help to you sorry.

I would make sure he is tired at night, as a tired dog will just sleep. chew toys and filled kongs (freeze for extra long lasting) can help keep mind busy.

Also its a big shock for a dog being moved, and if he has shown problems (probably through neglect of previous owner by sound of it) it can take a while to break habits.
    Best of luck, hope he settles quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭lorebringer

Neutering: Personally, I would wait a few weeks/months to get him done. If he is not humping you are probably fine to wait. You didn't say if he needs vaccinations, chipping etc. but if he does get all this stuff out of the way, let him settle a bit and then get him done. If you get him neutered now, you may scare the living bejesus out of him (unless it is needed for behavioural reasons!)!

Behaviour: Start as you mean to go on. If needed, buy a sturdy baby gate or lock the door so he cannot escape from his room at night. Tire him out - play, a walk etc. half an hour before bed and then a bit of quiet time before you put him into bed for the night (the last thing you want to do is get him all riled up and then put him to bed). Start training NOW - correct jumping, climbing on counters etc. so that eventually you will be able to leave him roam (if you want to!) without fear of him tearing stuff apart. Puppies do chew so get him some safe thing to chew on (Knogs etc.). Separation anxiety in a dog this young that has come from a not so good home is totally normal - it is very likely that he will grow out of it once he realises that he is safe and in a good place so this may need time to settle.

Walking: 5 minutes per month of age - so at 6/7 months he needs 30 - 35 minutes total of walking per day. As he will be a bigger breed, you need to be aware of joint issues and over walking him at this age can lead to problems down the line. Play and training are great ways to tire him out too!

On the weight issue - invest in a good quality food until he gets to his desired weight. If you want, you could just start him on adult food now (personally, I switch around the 6 month mark) and he will still get to his "normal" weight, or a good puppy food would be ok too! You can add some carbs to get him to gain weight also - rice, potatoes and such - plus they wolf it down :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

I don't have any further advice to add, I think the previous posts have covered it, just wanted to say kudos to you and your partner for taking in this dog, the previous owner sounds like a bit of a twat to say the least, hope you don't end up with his Rottie pup in 6 months time when he gets bored with that one!!

Good luck with it all, I bet once he's settled in and got some decent grub inside him a lot of the destructivness will stop, just give him some time, poor thing must be terribly confused and unsettled.

More people in the country like you please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭mosi

Thanks for the replies!
    He is a lot more settled today, and has just been lazing around as opposed to pacing. He really is such a cuddle monster, he craves affection.
    Last night we put him in the spare bedroom. There is nothing in there that he can destroy, and we have a baby gate on the stairs if we get out. Now, I also slept in the spare room, and there wasn't a peep out of him. He wasn't on the bed btw, but in his own bed on the floor. I figured that if he gets comfortable in a space, he will come round to spending periods of time by himself with toys etc. I would like to get him sleeping by himself and will try the tips given here.
    I'm inclined to hold off on the neutering for now, there is no need for him to be done yet.
    I feed my two Arden Grange and he is on that as well at the moment, so hopefully in time he will fill out.
    As I said before, I don't know what the long term plan is as there have been no plans for a third dog...the way we get involved in these situations we would be overrun with dogs if we kept them all! Besides, as was pointed out, I may need to make room for the Rottie in a few months time. We'll set about getting him on his feet first, and then see what happens. We'll be ultra careful anyway, that's for sure. Unbelieveably, I have already had some family members tell me that I should lose this dog straight away as he will kill us all :rolleyes:. I guess I should get start getting used to RB prejudice now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

I too have not much more advice to add then has already been offered, but my god you are sooooooo good to do this. I followed your last thread re: the little fella with the older/ill owner and now you're at it again!!!

Fair play to you both altogether - that dog is so lucky and I know you'll get him back on his feet and set up with an excellent home for life, just like you did before. Good luck and highest praise for your kindness and compassion!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

This is so cute ! I am loving this thread ! Would you be able to post a picture of him? He sounds hilarious !

Well, this situation has just gotten a whole lot weirder...the Rottie pup is here with us now.
    We had just been in town with the big boy, arranging a visit to a potential home (it would be an AMAZING home if the person is interested). We were walking up our road when I spotted the pup outside the guy's place...by herself, in the rain, in the dark (he has no front garden or anything, so she was on the street)! She's only about 8 weeks old by now.
    We knocked on his door, rang him...no reply. His next door neighbour spotted us and said he reckoned the guy was in. Anyway, there was no way the pup could be left on the street so we brought her home.
    Further attempts to contact him have been fruitless...although we would be extremely concerned about her going back there...tbh, I think that there may be a drug or drink problem. He and his mate that that I saw when we picked up the big boy reminded me of Adam and Paul somehow. Obviously, we can't just say nothing (the neighbours saw us anyway). He will have to have a very stern talking to over his ability to keep dogs. I really don't want to send this pup back to him...he might insist though, at which point I'll have to consider calling the DSPCA (which is difficult as he only lives down the road and it would be blindingly obvious who called them). I'll have to use all my powers of persuasion.The OH saw him last night and the yard still hasn't been cleaned. Poor little thing seems to have a skin condition as well. The guy seems to have no real affection for his dogs...he said to the OH that he was wondering if he should keep the big boy instead and get rid of the little one. However, he then went on a tangent about maybe breeding the rottie later!
    I can't quite believe I have four dogs in the house right now! I really don't know how this will all pan out...my head is a little bit all over the place with it all! I seem to have a knack for getting involved in the most complicated situations.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 griffon15

mosi wrote: »
    Well, this situation has just gotten a whole lot weirder...the Rottie pup is here with us now.
    We had just been in town with the big boy, arranging a visit to a potential home (it would be an AMAZING home if the person is interested). We were walking up our road when I spotted the pup outside the guy's place...by herself, in the rain, in the dark (he has no front garden or anything, so she was on the street)! She's only about 8 weeks old by now.
    We knocked on his door, rang him...no reply. His next door neighbour spotted us and said he reckoned the guy was in. Anyway, there was no way the pup could be left on the street so we brought her home.
    Further attempts to contact him have been fruitless...although we would be extremely concerned about her going back there...tbh, I think that there may be a drug or drink problem. He and his mate that that I saw when we picked up the big boy reminded me of Adam and Paul somehow. Obviously, we can't just say nothing (the neighbours saw us anyway). He will have to have a very stern talking to over his ability to keep dogs. I really don't want to send this pup back to him...he might insist though, at which point I'll have to consider calling the DSPCA (which is difficult as he only lives down the road and it would be blindingly obvious who called them). I'll have to use all my powers of persuasion.The OH saw him last night and the yard still hasn't been cleaned. Poor little thing seems to have a skin condition as well. The guy seems to have no real affection for his dogs...he said to the OH that he was wondering if he should keep the big boy instead and get rid of the little one. However, he then went on a tangent about maybe breeding the rottie later!
    I can't quite believe I have four dogs in the house right now! I really don't know how this will all pan out...my head is a little bit all over the place with it all! I seem to have a knack for getting involved in the most complicated situations.

Wow I have been following this and remember your last thread. I think what u are doing is great and wish there was more like you.
    Please do not return either of these dogs. I know legally you might I don't know I just hope you don't have to. It sounds an awful environment. Please keep us posted and some pics if u can. Good luck

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Wow! Fair play, not many would do what you have done. Any chance of a photo of the Presa?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭LucyBliss

mosi, I'm sorry that I'm not in a position to help out by offering to take one of the dogs - I have three myself and I know that that's my limit in terms of affordability and a household that isn't in chaos - and I know that it's easy to turn out platitudes when you're looking for something more practical (that is absolutely not a dig at anybody, more annoyance with myself for only having words instead of something practical).

Having said all that, I have to say fair play to you for taking on the dogs and being concerned enough to do that. You have a big heart and while it's not easy taking on the extra two, even if just for a short while, you are making a huge difference to these dogs lives, and I know that some say we should all be making more effort to help other humans and never mind the animals so much. But to me, if you can't spare the time to help a defenceless dog, you're not going to care so much about another human.

I hope that things work out and yes, please do keep us posted on how it goes.

• Registered Users Posts: 375 ✭✭KingIsabella

Whereabouts are ya?

• Registered Users Posts: 8 farreJ

Think you need to report him to DSPCA mosi. I know it's an awkward situation but people like that just continue to neglect dogs until someone intervenes :(

jeez mosi, I was kidding about the rottie!!

I think you need to speak to this guy and then speak to the DSPCA, do you think that even if there's a chance you get to keep the rottie as well, that he will just get another pup/dog, which will then end up with you and the cycle will continue? He needs to stop this behaviour altogether.

As for breeding from the Rottie......oh christ.

Well, still no sign of the owner...whatever happens, he's not getting the dogs back.
    Big boy is 8kg underweight, and has some socialisation issues (nothing major yet but needs to be nipped in the bud...thankfully I know a great behaviourist who should be able to help). He is a bit too barky with visitors. While it is instinctual for him to be protective, he has to learn when it is not appropriate to bark. He also suffers from separation anxiety. He is a big baby with us, but has to learn that our friends are his friends.
    The baby girl is also underweight, has a skin infection and a lice infestation.
    It's just sickening that morons like him can pick up dogs like that...and that scumbags are breeding them without proper care or consideration. I'm still in two minds about calling the DSPCA. The level of neglect would warrant it. However, I think that they require dogs to be in possession of the owner before they can visit. I guess I can ask them and see what they say. At least there is a veterinary record of the dogs' condition now. I agree that something should be done...this character should not be able to get dogs like this.
    Obviously, four dogs is a bit mad for us right now. I'm exhausted by it all. The big boy may need to stick around a while as we assess him further and deal with his issues. He may have to end up staying unless a very dog savvy, responsible home comes up. The last thing he needs is to keep getting passed from pillar to post at his age. Three dogs isn't ideal but I'll have to just see how things go with him. The little one will need to be rehomed once her treatment is finished. I may have something lined up for her, so we'll see how we go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭aodhan2

Just had to say fair play. I would love to mind one short term but at the moment our malinois and child and renovations are takin up alot ! Im going to follow this thread until it's resolved . Would love a picture perhaps !? Please don't let that bloke get near those dogs . Btw where abouts are you ?

We're based in Dublin.
    We have a few possibilities to investigate regarding a home for the little one this weekend, so will see how we go.
    As for the big boy, we will see how we get on with the little one first. TBH, we are considering whether it is practical to keep him or not. He is quite the charmer so we would be tempted. Also, three will probably seem like a doddle after four! Whatever we do, we'll be sensible about it. If only, the idiot owner had been.
    Anyway, a few of you have asked, so here are some pics of the terrible two :)
    522904_10152175371845507_1881290133_n.jpg
    60202_10152175373870507_715568432_n.jpg
    285026_10152162513535507_554898490_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭LucyBliss

Oh my God! Look at those adorable creatures. I'd have their faces kissed off, given half the chance.

Seriously, mosi, you're a star for taking them in.

oh bloody hell, that is one handsome dog and as for the pup.....irresistable!!

Please keep us updated on these two mosi and kudos again to you and yours.

The puppy went to her new home yesterday :D A family that I know decided they would like to have her, after thinking about it for a few days. Her new home is halfway up a mountain with someone at home all the time, another rescue dog for a pal, rescued horses, chickens etc. Such a difference from her previous "home". I wouldn't mind living there myself!

The OH and myself went out to visit the puppy today and she is doing great. Her new owners are totally in love with her :D She has a lovely warm bed, gets on great with their other dog and is putting on weight! She has proven to be a good mouser, and has loads of space to play around in.
    The big boy is here for the time being. He needs to put on weight and build his confidence before he can go anywhere. We'll see how we get on. I'm not sure if we can do three but, if we could, we would consider maybe keeping him.

Sometimes my faith in human nature is restored....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Just want to say fair play to you, it's not easy taking on the responsibity of one dog nevermind two! They are both fab dogs, would love to see what they will look like when they are fully grown, especially the boy! Has the original owner ever come looking for them?

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Just want to say fair play to you, it's not easy taking on the responsibity of one dog nevermind two! They are both fab dogs, would love to see what they will look like when they are fully grown, especially the boy! Has the original owner ever come looking for them?

No, the owner has never come near us. It's really odd, because I'm pretty certain he was in the night we found the pup outside. When we tried to call him then (only have his number because he handed the big boy over to us voluntarily), he even seemed to pick up and hang up straight away. I can only think that he was out of it. Even if he didn't think we had the pup, I would have thought he might contact us anyway if he was worried, even to ask if we had seen her. I guess that's a bit much to expect though, all things considered.
    I called the DSPCA and, as I thought, they can't do anything as the dogs are no longer in his custody. Still, I have a name to contact in there about him if I see him with another dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

No, the owner has never come near us. It's really odd, because I'm pretty certain he was in the night we found the pup outside. When we tried to call him then (only have his number because he handed the big boy over to us voluntarily), he even seemed to pick up and hang up straight away. I can only think that he was out of it. Even if he didn't think we had the pup, I would have thought he might contact us anyway if he was worried, even to ask if we had seen her. I guess that's a bit much to expect though, all things considered.
    I called the DSPCA and, as I thought, they can't do anything as the dogs are no longer in his custody. Still, I have a name to contact in there about him if I see him with another dog.

Wow, atleast he didn't give ye any bother, looking for them back etc. it's good that the DSPCA are somewhat in the loop now, as seeing as he got two puppies in the space of a few months he will more than likely pick up another one and in fairness he doesn't sound like he an look after himself nevermind an innocent dog.

Well done anyways, there a plenty of people who would have turned a blind eye because it is an awful lot to take on two dogs. Best of luck with everything and be sure to keep us updated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Fair play to you Mosi, it was the right thing to do. Great to hear the girl is now in a loving home. Your boy looks a lot like my friend's dog, who is a boxer/lab cross; i'm sure you'll find him a good place too, either with you or with other caring folks.

Had the big boy at the vet yesterday...he's put on 4kg :D He's to go back in 3 weeks time to see where he is weight wise.
    He is stil nervy around doorway situations with people, but is getting better. He is barking much less at visitors as he learns they mean nice treats! He's great on his walks, and loves meeting people and other dogs when out in the park. He gets on grand with my two...my grumpy terrier boy even plays with him. He also has a bit of a lapdog complex...he sometimes tries to climb up and sit on my lap, forgetting his size
    The previous owner has not come near us at all. We saw his next door neighbour (the one who we saw when we found the little pup), and he hasn't said anything to him about the pup...he was a bit disgusted with the situation himself.
    The little one is doing great, and we hope to pay her a visit in the next few days...I can't wait to see how big she is getting.
    Interesting to see Boxer/Lab suggested...a few people have said this, and it could be a viable mix. Others reckon mastiff/lab. I have had all variety of mixes and breeds suggested though, from Great Dane to Cane Corso. I'm pretty inclined to discount Danes, Corsos and Presas though...there are very few of those breeds around, and they go for a lot of money. I was told that some people use the term presa canario in a designer dog sort of way to describe different mastiff/bully mixes (despite there being an actual breed of that name).
    Would love to hear some more suggestions of what might be in the mix!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Had the big boy at the vet yesterday...he's put on 4kg :D He's to go back in 3 weeks time to see where he is weight wise.
    He is stil nervy around doorway situations with people, but is getting better. He is barking much less at visitors as he learns they mean nice treats! He's great on his walks, and loves meeting people and other dogs when out in the park. He gets on grand with my two...my grumpy terrier boy even plays with him. He also has a bit of a lapdog complex...he sometimes tries to climb up and sit on my lap, forgetting his size
    The previous owner has not come near us at all. We saw his next door neighbour (the one who we saw when we found the little pup), and he hasn't said anything to him about the pup...he was a bit disgusted with the situation himself.
    The little one is doing great, and we hope to pay her a visit in the next few days...I can't wait to see how big she is getting.
    Interesting to see Boxer/Lab suggested...a few people have said this, and it could be a viable mix. Others reckon mastiff/lab. I have had all variety of mixes and breeds suggested though, from Great Dane to Cane Corso. I'm pretty inclined to discount Danes, Corsos and Presas though...there are very few of those breeds around, and they go for a lot of money. I was told that some people use the term presa canario in a designer dog sort of way to describe different mastiff/bully mixes (despite there being an actual breed of that name).
    Would love to hear some more suggestions of what might be in the mix!

Hi Mosi, I've been around Presa pups before and to be honest it does look the exact same as I've seen. They aren't as rare as you maybe think and even now they aren't that expensive to buy unregistered. 100% defo not a Corsa or Dane. Could also be Am Bull mix. Best bet would be to take the photo to a Presa or Bandog forum and people there could guide you.

Great job BTW!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭jjjade

Love this story, we hear so many horror stories and this is such a good ending to a horrible start. Fair play to you and you OH for caring and trying to look out for these defenseless animals.

even though you didn't keep the puppy, you made sure it got a great home and you still follow up by visiting the puppy.

through the story you werent sure to keep the big dog as you currently have others, but you cared enough to build confidence, pay vet bills and worry like his mammy, it is such a great thing :)

so, did you keep the big dog :)

jjjade wrote: »
    Love this story, we hear so many horror stories and this is such a good ending to a horrible start. Fair play to you and you OH for caring and trying to look out for these defenseless animals.

even though you didn't keep the puppy, you made sure it got a great home and you still follow up by visiting the puppy.

through the story you werent sure to keep the big dog as you currently have others, but you cared enough to build confidence, pay vet bills and worry like his mammy, it is such a great thing :)

so, did you keep the big dog :)

Cheers, it was one of those things that had to be done. I am getting to the point where I'm scared to walk out the door though...in case I come across another situation.
    It's cool, the puppy lives not too far from my family so I try to fit in a visit whenever I'm out that way. As for the big boy...he is still here.
    We're still not sure about the long term, mainly due to financial constraints. There's other practical issues as well (I've to go away with college next summer, leaving the OH with the dogs), so we'll have to see. It will of course get harder to let him go, the longer he is here. We will see where we're at in the spring...if he is to be rehomed, I would rather have him neutered first, but from advice on here, and from my vet, I don't want to neuter him until he is a bit older. I'm terrible, I always turn into a fussy Irish Mammy when it comes to the dogs :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Bid08

fair play to you mosi with taking them dogs in
    I have 3 rescure dogs myself, I mess and say the 3rd was a 'mistake' we never intended on getting 3 but someone had tied him up where the OH works so we took him not really knowing what we planned, we had intially thought to keep him for a few days while we look for a new home but we just didnt bother then and now he wouldnt be going anywhere. 3 is very hard work but I love them all and wouldnt part with them.
    as for the nuetering I would hold off until you have to, we hav 3 boys and only have 1 nuetered and thats only cos when we brought the 3rd dog home he kept going to attack him so we thought netering would sort him out but nope it didnt, he jus needed time to get to know him now they are inseperable, if the 3rd dog is off with my OH he walks around the hse keenan looking for him, he was always nervous (we have him from a young pup) and the neutering hasnt helped it.