Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Facebook hate pages why???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

I had cause to report someone for abuse recently on Facebook and was disappointed, yet not surprised, at their shoddy and inefficient response.

Look the chief of Melbourne's police literally had to beg Facebook to shut down hate pages about Adrian Bayley, they simply don't give a **** tbh. So until they start giving a ****, pathetic trolls like the ones who created that page (I didn't look at the page and I really don't want to) will continue posting unfunny crap like that.

There's a massive difference between black humour and being an out-and-out dick.

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭KeepTheFaith

Maybe I've watched too many "hacker" films but are there not people out there capable of tracing this scumbag's IP address and posting their information on the internet and then see if the troll still finds all this so humorous?

It's all good and well saying that this person is entitled to their particular type of humor but we are equally entitled to believe that someone who would create a page like this in the wake of such an awful tragedy deserves some sort of consequences to befall him/her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

If they see it, in fairness, it would be their own stupidity. One look at the title would suggest it contains content they won't wanna see.
    Same goes for everyone else.

The title is enough to cause a lot of hurt and is probably the most offensive part of it.

Maybe I've watched too many "hacker" films but are there not people out there capable of tracing this scumbag's IP address and posting their information on the internet and then see if the troll still finds all this so humorous?

It's all good and well saying that this person is entitled to their particular type of humor but we are equally entitled to believe that someone who would create a page like this in the wake of such an awful tragedy deserves some sort of consequences to befall him/her.

I think someone did this recently with one of "dead baby" joke pages. They made a meme of raping a dead baby and they were outed and basically called a kiddie-fiddler. Not too hot on the details but your man totally shot himself in the foot by using his real name. Some of these lads aren't too bright :rolleyes:

Yes but you're missing the point. Facebook allow it. You can't "do" anything about it.

OKay fair enough. I see what you're saying. Obviously they're aware of it's existence there in the Facebook headquarters and have decided not to take action. I'm not feigning innocence here but I genuinely wasn't aware that these types of pages were allowed. I tend not to venture beyond my own page and those of friends and family. This does actually raise an interesting question about Facebook and it's purpose (profit obviously) and genuinely has made me think can I remain a member of it if this is what it allows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Roisy7 wrote: »
    I think someone did this recently with one of "dead baby" joke pages. They made a meme of raping a dead baby and they were outed and basically called a kiddie-fiddler. Not too hot on the details but your man totally shot himself in the foot by using his real name. Some of these lads aren't too bright :rolleyes:

You mean your man that got ratted out because the person that did through a hissy fit that they didn't get what they wanted?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80109381&postcount=40

That was my feelings on it and it still stands.
    Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    OKay fair enough. I see what you're saying. Obviously they're aware of it's existence there in the Facebook headquarters and have decided not to take action. I'm not feigning innocence here but I genuinely wasn't aware that these types of pages were allowed. I tend not to venture beyond my own page and those of friends and family. This does actually raise an interesting question about Facebook and it's purpose (profit obviously) and genuinely has made me think can I remain a member of it if this is what it allows.

Alright then, sorry about that. I thought you actually did know that pages like that are "allowed". Far as I know unless it's direct abuse towards someone on the site, it won't be removed. I think it actually needs to be reported by said person. So if I said Eve is a cow, unless you reported it (or I tagged you) then I think it would be allowed stay. Again, not too sure with that one but I do know there are bunches of pages that Facebook allow to stay.

Of course you can stay a member; think of it like this "there are thousands on there, some are utter and complete attention seeking idiots so ignore them and you'll be grand".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

I laughed at one thing on that page. The rest was just bad. Not because of the subject matter, just because the jokes were shit. If it offends you, don't look at it.

How can you laugh at anything on that page ? :mad:

Poor girl, I pity her poor mother, sister, brother, husband, father etc. seeing that and knowing that Facebook don't have the decency or respect to take it down. Can they not just think for a second and have some ****ing respect for a fellow human being and their families' emotions for once instead of trying to get people onto their sick page just for the sake of numbers.

Facebook can go to ****ing hell. I've lost so much respect for them.

Sorry for the rant and the bad language mods ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,329 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I laughed at one thing on that page. The rest was just bad. Not because of the subject matter, just because the jokes were shit. If it offends you, don't look at it.

i think I laughed at the same one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I laughed at one thing on that page. The rest was just bad. Not because of the subject matter, just because the jokes were sh[SIZE="2"]i[/SIZE]t. If it offends you, don't look at it.

How can you laugh at anything on that page ? :mad:

Poor girl, I pity her poor mother, sister, brother, husband, father etc. seeing that and knowing that Facebook don't have the decency or respect to take it down. Can they not just think for a second and have some ****ing respect for a fellow human being and their families' emotions for once instead of trying to get people onto their sick page just for the sake of numbers.

Facebook can go to ****ing hell. I've lost so much respect for them.

Sorry for the rant and the bad language mods ;)

It was one of those things where I knew I wasn't supposed to laugh which made it impossible not to laugh. It wasn't even funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Grayson wrote: »
    I laughed at one thing on that page. The rest was just bad. Not because of the subject matter, just because the jokes were sh[SIZE="2"]i[/SIZE]t. If it offends you, don't look at it.

i think I laughed at the same one.

The jack and Jill one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

If it offends you, don't look at it

If it offends me don't look at it ???

So, by your logic, it's OK to refer to travellers as Kn*****s, African people as Ni****s, disabled people as s*****c etc, so long as no one hears it?

People are inevitably going to click on this link and some will copy cat the statuses and post them on their own page. Families of Poor Jill won't be able to fully avoid this.

Would you like a page like this about your own daughter?

If anyone made a page like this about my sister .............. :mad:

You mean your man that got ratted out because the person that did through a hissy fit that they didn't get what they wanted?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80109381&postcount=40

That was my feelings on it and it still stands.

Ahh yes, I knew I'd seen it here somewhere. Don't agree with the person ratting them out but the person had some personal responsibility here. Look they tell you time and again to be careful with what you post, you're only ever a google away, and if he used his real name he might well have come to the college's/future employer's attention anyway.

Someone once said "comedy=tragedy+distance" and it's very much a case-by-case thing. I've a pretty dark sense of humour but I can't see anything funny in the Jill Meagher case and nor would I want to. You might disagree with me but I have to wonder at the people who make light of everything, how uncomfortable are they with pain and darkness that they can't absorb it and feel empathy for a dark and terrible experience.

Alright then, sorry about that. I thought you actually did know that pages like that are "allowed". Far as I know unless it's direct abuse towards someone on the site, it won't be removed. I think it actually needs to be reported by said person. So if I said Eve is a cow, unless you reported it (or I tagged you) then I think it would be allowed stay. Again, not too sure with that one but I do know there are bunches of pages that Facebook allow to stay.

Of course you can stay a member; think of it like this "there are thousands on there, some are utter and complete attention seeking idiots so ignore them and you'll be grand".

Did you just call me a cow? :mad:

:) A question though: why do they have this report function if it's totally useless? Seems like they're pretending to give a fook but in reality, don't. Why am I even surprised?

Watcha gonna do, report me? The mods don't care :P
    But yeah it's there for really offensive stuff; like child porn for example. Or if I was (I'm in my 20s) start trying to chat to a 14 year old.
    Or things like that.

The thing is that having pages that are set up (not accounts) like the one in the OP are fine since it really is more of a "club" and you don't need to join. If it's stuff on your own wall, you're expected to remove it.

So unless it's really outrageous stuff or else a tirade of abuse against a user on Facebook (or something pretty much illegal everywhere), it'll be accepted.

Basically I reported someone abusing a page (it wasn't me personally, it was a page I'm admin of thankfully) they sent me an email saying there were looking into it and they'd be in touch. Heard nothing back until they sent me an email a week later with a link to a survey asking me "to tell us how we did". I was unsurprisingly unkind about their service.

It's lip-service essentially. I would hate to be a teenager being bullied given their level of "service".

Ahh yes, I knew I'd seen it here somewhere. Don't agree with the person ratting them out but the person had some personal responsibility here. Look they tell you time and again to be careful with what you post, you're only ever a google away, and if he used his real name he might well have come to the college's/future employer's attention anyway.

Someone once said "comedy=tragedy+distance" and it's very much a case-by-case thing. I've a pretty dark sense of humour but I can't see anything funny in the Jill Meagher case and nor would I want to. You might disagree with me but I have to wonder at the people who make light of everything, how uncomfortable are they with pain and darkness that they can't absorb it and feel empathy for a dark and terrible experience.

But here's the thing, it was a page set up. Granted, he should have been a bit more careful but if people honestly do think of him as saying he really wants to go out and rape a baby then it says more about them than his jokes do about himself.

Humour is subjective and there's always a scenario where X is funny. Regardless of it's making a WW2 joke or if it's make light of a bombing that took place two hours ago and killed a million kids; someone will make a joke and find it funny.

But again as I said, the issue with those pages is that they're basically little clubs that you can avoid completely (unless you have idiots on your friends list that post on your wall).

Oh and about the page you're an admin of? You're expected to remove stuff yourself. Facebook's policy is very, very lax and reactive instead of proactive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

People are inevitably going to click on this link and some will copy cat the statuses and post them on their own page. Families of Poor Jill won't be able to fully avoid this.

How many people will stumble across that?

If the link is not posted a lot less people will see it, by linking to it its giving it more attention IMO which is what the person who created it wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

People often trot out the line "humour is subjective". This type of thing isn't 'humour' though. It's there purely for shock value and attention seeking.

And I do think people like this should be punished. I don't necessarily mean with a custodial sentence, but the families of the victims should sue them. If a magazine or newspaper published something similar they would most likely be taken to court and sued for libel, so why doesn't the same thing happen when it's on the internet?

Meh. People like to get up in arms when it suits them. Irish girl killed? Cant say anything. Little girl? Same. Disabled son of Jordan and herself being made fun of on national television? Sure **** her, shes a tart. Jade Goody? **** her, shes a ****.
    6 million people being murdered by the Nazis seem far game too.

But again as I said, the issue with those pages is that they're basically little clubs that you can avoid completely (unless you have idiots on your friends list that post on your wall).

While that's true, the issue with the Jill Meagher one is it will get to her family's attention sooner or later. I know a joke is a joke, but there's a bit of a difference between laughing at WW2 (which is still a sensitive topic for some) and laughing at the really recent murder of a young woman.

My issue with it is this: Jill Meagher was an ordinary young woman. Her family were unwillingly thrust into the media spotlight for a horrible reason. As such, they are not a) celebrities or b) a large group of people able to take care of themselves. They are an ordinary Irish family and what happened to their daughter could happen to any of us. So while yes, make a meme of whatever politician or celeb, I don't see how it's fair or funny to do it to an ordinary family who are really suffering.

Take the WW2 example. It's over 70 years since it started. The sheer scale of death is too much for the human mind to grasp, therefore it's not and indivualised and personalised tragedy for us. There was something comical about Hitler and the Nazis. It's been referenced so much in TV and film. So yes, it's ripe for the picking.

But a small family mourning the rape and murder of their child?

There's something really nasty about that level of democratisation imo.

While that's true, the issue with the Jill Meagher one is it will get to her family's attention sooner or later. I know a joke is a joke, but there's a bit of a difference between laughing at WW2 (which is still a sensitive topic for some) and laughing at the really recent murder of a young woman.

My issue with it is this: Jill Meagher was an ordinary young woman. Her family were unwillingly thrust into the media spotlight for a horrible reason. As such, they are not a) celebrities or b) a large group of people able to take care of themselves. They are an ordinary Irish family and what happened to their daughter could happen to any of us. So while yes, make a meme of whatever politician or celeb, I don't see how it's fair or funny to do it to an ordinary family who are really suffering.

Okay, see all that that I quoted? There's about a 99% chance that the idiots who started the page(s) don't care.
    Do you know why? It's not because they're funny. TBH, you could make jokes about anyone and they'll still be laughed at. Most people would be much more likely to laugh at a joke about Hitler being murdered than a joke about someone like Jill.

So you're applying logic and reason. Trolls don't care. It's not that they're necessarily believing the stuff they say. It's the fact that they know they're annoying people is what drives them.

Oh and about the page you're an admin of? You're expected to remove stuff yourself. Facebook's policy is very, very lax and reactive instead of proactive.

We did remove his stuff and told him a nice way to feck off but he kept posting. It was more to get him to leave us alone and put the frighteners on him rather than any emotional distress on our part. I'm rather unimpressed with Facebook's policies :)

Okay, see all that that I quoted? There's about a 99% chance that the idiots who started the page(s) don't care.
    Do you know why? It's not because they're funny. TBH, you could make jokes about anyone and they'll still be laughed at. Most people would be much more likely to laugh at a joke about Hitler being murdered than a joke about someone like Jill.

So you're applying logic and reason. Trolls don't care. It's not that they're necessarily believing the stuff they say. It's the fact that they know they're annoying people is what drives them.

Oh I realise that and I would never reply to them. I just kinda hope something nasty befalls their family someday, as it does to most families.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

That page currently has 3,475 likes. It's highly likely that a number of those 3,475 people will one day suffer the loss of a loved one through violence. When that happens they'll be disgusted with themselves for ever finding this funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

That page currently has 3,475 likes. It's highly likely that a number of those 3,475 people will one day suffer the loss of a loved one through violence. When that happens they'll be disgusted with themselves for ever finding this funny.

I doubt they'll even remember Jill Meagher or the page tbh.

Well as you know, I reported the page and this is the response I got. Is this a real person writing to me or is it the standard automated response?

Thanks for your recent report of a potential violation on Facebook. After reviewing your report, we were not able to confirm that the specific page you reported violates Facebook's Statement of Rights and Responsibilities.

Learn more about what we do and don't allow by reviewing the Facebook Community Standards: https://www.facebook.com/communitystandards.

Thanks,
    Viki

Give us feedback to let us know how we are doing: https://www.facebook.com/survey/take.php?survey_id=242477152482072&cid=210943979037027

Well as you know, I reported the page and this is the response I got. Is this a real person writing to me or is it the standard automated response?

It's an automated response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I think Facebook have a responsibility to review complaints and act accordingly. I'm surprised they haven't deleted it and the dead baby jokes pages. They are very unsympathetic towards the general public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

If they see it, in fairness, it would be their own stupidity. One look at the title would suggest it contains content they won't wanna see.
    Same goes for everyone else.

Far easier said than done. If someone had an offensive page set up about you/your family do you think you could just move on without taking a look? Of course it's the logical thing to do but you would have to be incredibly disciplines to do so. Or perhaps used to it happening like celebrities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

This is a very emotive topic to me, and frankly still an open wound. However, as much as I hate the pathetic people who open these pages, I'm taking a very simple 'avoid it at all costs' approach. The Internet will always be full of stuff like that, most of it chronically unfunny often offensive.

Best thing I can think of is to let it fade into obscurity, and starve these people of the attention they so desperately seem to need.

And yes, I appreciate the irony of posting on this in order to decry it.

And yes, if I met someone who set that page up, it would be the single worst day of their life. Which makes me a hypocrite. You know what, I'd be ok with being a hypocrite removing their toe nails. Sue me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I bet you don't like Frankie Boyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

lukesmom wrote: »
    I think Facebook have a responsibility to review complaints and act accordingly. I'm surprised they haven't deleted it and the dead baby jokes pages. They are very unsympathetic towards the general public.

I haven't "liked" any of these pages, but i've no problem with them being there, because i just don't look at them

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

lukesmom wrote: »

Couldn't agree more! angers me seeing these pages, but what angers me just as much is the "Like if you wish Cancer didn't exist" pages or pages along those lines! People fishing for likes

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

I'm guessing the page is probably administrated by some dumb 13 year old. As for everyone liking it, I just don't understand it. I remember when James Nolan went missing in Poland, people were posting messages of support on the Journal and the amount of dislikes was astounding. I don't understand whats going on with people. Still, if somebody tracks down whoever's running that page, they'll be in line for a beating.