Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Library Bar

• 14-10-2012 1:42am
    Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭

I hear that there is a new pub open in town called the Library. Anyone know where it is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭Louche Lad

It's mentioned in the Limerick Businesses Opening thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=81187440

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,278 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's the old Cornmarket Bar across from the road from the Office Bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

I was in there friday night. The crowd was very similar to the crowd there when it was the cornmarket..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

It was packed Friday night,its the office lads and just moved all the staff and music over the road,heard it cleaned out the new Orchard bar interesting to see how they will all fuill

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

ian87 wrote: »
    The crowd was very similar to the crowd there when it was the cornmarket..

I take it that's not a good thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭betonit

ridiculous name for a bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

betonit wrote: »
    ridiculous name for a bar

I think it's a GREAT name for a bar :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

bigpink wrote: »
    It was packed Friday night,its the office lads and just moved all the staff and music over the road,heard it cleaned out the new Orchard bar interesting to see how they will all fuill

I heard there was a good crowd in the Orchard both Friday and Saturday night.

We were in both friday night
    In the Library 1st and it was packed so we left to try the Orchard cause its a late bar and it was empty band were just near the end

• Registered Users Posts: 16 justbmad

The library? most of the crowd goin in there prob never read a book in their lives...

If anything the Orchard should have been called the Library!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

justbmad wrote: »
    The library? most of the crowd goin in there prob never read a book in their lives...

Well, I've never been in a girl called Nancy, but I still like to drink there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    Well, I've never been in a girl called Nancy, but I still like to drink there
    Ya but you're a nancy boy, right?

What would the library and the orchard hold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

I think it's a GREAT name for a bar :D:D

Ofc you! (Yes I still remember that from the beers! :P)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 168 ✭✭Alpish

bigpink wrote: »
    What would the library and the orchard hold?

Books and Apples respectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭bennyl10

is it 21's/20's or 18's? :)

Deffo not 18s id say 20s

• Registered Users Posts: 2 DJRyan

Beware of The door security, no service with a smile here...

DJRyan wrote: »

Ah theyre far from the worst in town..do the job pretty well i always think.

Never had any issues with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

DJRyan wrote: »

Ah jaysus. The door man didn't smile at you.

Get over yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

What do you want, a big smacker on the lips? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

Looks like someones been reading this page!! Limerick City against Corrupt Bouncers https://www.facebook.com/pages/Limerick-City-against-Corrupt-Bouncers/508411395939696?fref=ts

One post about bouncers, all the rest about water charges..

Most bouncers in the city are tough, because they have to be 99% of the time, if youre in a decent state and are of age, you're fine.

To say "they're corrupt" is simply patberic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

If the knuckledraggers posting on that facebook page are getting stopped by bouncers in Limerick all I can say is thank christ for that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

If the knuckledraggers posting on that facebook page are getting stopped by bouncers in Limerick all I can say is thank christ for that :D

They seem to be more worried about there water meters and cowboy builders than bouncers for some reason on that page. :confused::D

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

Ah if you go back a bit it was once solely anti bouncer!
    I hear the guy who runs it is no angel by any stretch of the imagination...

Ah if you go back a bit it was once solely anti bouncer!
    I hear the guy who runs it is no angel by any stretch of the imagination...

He's boycotting town on Saturday night by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭buyer95

The Library has actually undergone a rebirth, with students making it their home on a Thursday, and to a lesser extent Tuesday nights. The closing of Angel Lane created a gap in the market, and while UL student mainly frequent Icon, it has become very popular amongst Mary I 2nd years and also many 1st years. Makes a big change from last year, when it wouldnt even stay open late as no one went in. I think it's a bit crap as nightclubs/late bars go, it is very narrow imo, but at the same time I've had great craic in there as it has been the spot all my friends have been going to this year.