Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

POLL - Should Helmet Threads Be Banned? - Warning: May Not Contain Poll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Question.....

When about to go for a ride has anyone (lads anyway) been told their helmet was too big?

I've never had that problem - usually the sight of my helmet before I ride brings on gales of laughter.

I remember as a young lad going for a ride and finding my helmet was quite itchy afterwards, necessitating a trip to the doctor. He told me to be careful where I went riding and to remember to protect my helmet as well as my head.

I'm married now, and still like the odd ride - so does my wife*, but do you think I can get her to touch my helmet?

*thank God she doesn't post here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Jawgap wrote: »
    I'm married now, and still like the odd ride - so does my wife*, but do you think I can get her to touch my helmet?

Yes. With a bean (an tí) hammer. Bit of a mixed blessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,567 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

If the government ban helmets I'd be happy for Boards to ban helmet threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

This thread is a farce, how can one possibly take any thread like this seriously without the
    'Read mod warning in post one'
    Intro....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,889 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

The CTC forum has a sub-forum for helmet threads.

/dev/null is a suitably science-y name for such a sub-forum, I think.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,379 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

tomasrojo wrote: »
    The CTC forum has a sub-forum for helmet threads.

/dev/null is a suitably science-y name for such a sub-forum, I think.
    not every one has unix

copy *.* \nul

Since Germany is in charge now should we have a poll on Helmut Kohl ?

Remember folks - Always wear a helmet

285669_515287538483586_1645296788_n.jpg

^^^^^ There is no evidence to suggest that a helmet would do Felix any good.......do you honestly think that if you fell off your bike from 39,000m and achieved a speed of 1,342 km/h on the way down that a helmet would protect you, if you landed on your head?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

do you honestly think that if you fell off your bike from 39,000m and achieved a speed of 1,342 km/h on the way down that a helmet would protect you, if you landed on your head?
    Where's the evidence to back up your assertion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

It might save a lot of tidying up if the chute didn't open

Beasty wrote: »
    Where's the evidence to back up your assertion?

I once fell from 40,000m without a helmet on the Clontarf cycle track and just grazed an eye-lash - I wasn't wearing a helmet, but my hi-viz saved me:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭buffalo

The Irish Times had an Innovation supplement yesterday. Final page was a story apparently about infrastructure, but it was accompanied by a picture of a Luas, and a row of children in hi-viz and hard hats (bonus points to anyone who can find it online!).

Helmets and hi-viz soon to be mandatory on the Luas... you heard it here first!

Since Germany is in charge now should we have a poll on Helmut Kohl ?

Controversial.....

Last time he came up in a thread.....

.....it didn't end well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

I've been unfortunate enough to have been knocked/fallen off my bike on a number of occasions. Almost every time I've hit my head off the ground - at this stage wearing helmets have saved me from some nasty injuries on at least 5 occasions.

So yeah, make them manditory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭buffalo

antoobrien wrote: »
    I've been unfortunate enough to have been knocked/fallen off my bike on a number of occasions. Almost every time I've hit my head off the ground - at this stage wearing helmets have saved me from some nasty injuries on at least 5 occasions.

Can we just make them mandatory for you? :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,379 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

^^^^^ There is no evidence to suggest that a helmet would do Felix any good.......do you honestly think that if you fell off your bike from 39,000m and achieved a speed of 1,342 km/h on the way down that a helmet would protect you, if you landed on your head?
    Of course it would.

You don't seriously think they'd recommend helmets that didn't provide significant protection from the most common cause of cyclist death ?

Judging by the recent EU peace prize you could argue that he saved millions of lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Crippens1

antoobrien wrote: »

I think stabilisers (and emotional stabiliser threads) should be compulsory !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭M1XR

I know this is in the wrong thread but CRC are doing a 50% of sale on Helmet Threads.
    I just used the discount code TROLLOLOLO2012 and it worked

Instead of focusing on helmets we should look at stuff that has been proven to work for motorists

We should be using Air Bags - http://www.hovding.com/en/how

And bicycles with crumple zones - http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1015/inventor-says-cardboard-bike-can-change-the-world.html

and of course - http://www.ashburtonguardian.co.nz/news/ashburton-news/3802-bike-seat-belts-made-compulsory.html
    "Far too many people are injured when they become separated from their bicycles.
    "Seat belts will fix that," Mr Bikeman said.
    Converting a standard bike will cost $60, although subsidies will be available to anyone displaying a semblance of common sense.
    Mr Bikeman is aware of opposition to the move, but said it was no different when cycle helmets became compulsory.
    "And look, no one complains now. And obviously not everyone has to wear a seatbelt.
    "Posties will be exempt, and so will cyclists with broken legs."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Let's cut out the middle men (Pat McQuaid/UCI, Gay Byrne/RSA, the entire helmet industry, etc.) and go straight to the source. Let's talk to Death of Cyclists and tell him in no uncertain terms that he's not welcome. So following a fall from the bike, just say No! Or, more bluntly, just say "Will ya ever feck off ya grim bollix ya!". Behind Death's malevolant expression lurks a genial personality, I'm sure he'd take it well*. That should fend off certain death without the need to wear and call upon the seemingly magical properties of a hole-filled lump of polystyrene.

* Terms and conditons apply. Life expectancy can go down as well as up - Death can be a right pr1ck when he wants to be, helmet or no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭ugsparky

I didn't get where I am today by discussing the POLL - Should Helmet Threads Be Banned? - Warning : May Not Contain Poll
    Logged in as ugsparky
    Title: clear.gif
    thread theme ... but I'll just add this - I wear a helmet with a light on it. I think it looks fetching and most importantly ... I have a full and vibrant coat head of hair - and I know Australian miners ... I'm just saying is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Lets get back on topic here people - threads extolling the virtues of helmets are a waste of time and cyber space as indeed are those supporting the non use of helmets. Sarcastic posts aside (including my original one), I can't believe that this thread ran as far as it did!

We need a new thread about something like the correct beam strength, length, span & direction of lights or about pedalling science. They could be interesting :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭ugsparky

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    Lets get back on topic here people - threads extolling the virtues of helmets are a waste of time and cyber space as indeed are those supporting the non use of helmets. Sarcastic posts aside (including my original one), I can't believe that this thread ran as far as it did!

We need a new thread about something like the correct beam strength, length, span & direction of lights or about pedalling science. They could be interesting :rolleyes:

Yeah ... like that's gonna save your head when you come down or someone lands on you from 30,000 ft ... unless of course your talking about beam strength from lamps on helmutts ... then I'm 100% with you on this one