Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

170 new ve-hicles for de Gards.

• 15-10-2012 8:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭

"This is a substantial investment in Garda transport, particularly at a time of severe budgetary constraints," he said.

Fears were highlighted in one instance in Donegal when a woman whose house had been burgled collected a garda from a local station after reporting the crime because he did not have a patrol car to call out

I'm livid. They'll be banjoed in a few months anyway I reckon. Why not just get a collection of used cars at that rate? Would they not save money by buying some three or four year old cars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Sure it takes over 24 veh-icles to stop people cutting turf, not sure how many would be required for a more serious crime

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

squod wrote: »
    I'm livid. They'll be banjoed in a few months anyway I reckon. Why not just get a collection of used cars at that rate? Would they not save money by buying some three or four year old cars?

it would be mad money to integrate garda systems into old cars.Old cars also have histories and milage on the clock.A garda car is driving constantly almost and needs constant servicing from day one.

I'd rather my gardaí have a new car which helped them do their jobs efficiently, than have a garda car breaking down on the way to an incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I'm all for cutting spending but I'll side with the Garda on this one. They need to have good cars, they drive a lot and some of the people they deal with can afford high end cars, it's no good having them chasing behind in a 2005 Ford Focus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

we could have gotten 170 thousand cars with the money that's been paid to unsecured bondholders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭Wompa1

we could have gotten 170 thousand cars with the money that's been paid to unsecured bondholders.

What's this about bondholders? Who paid them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

should have got them a load of them indian cars that go for 3 grand a pop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Theyll never catch me sure ive a honda civic with a 1.4l engine;)

Why would we need so many? That just sounds like wasting money to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

New vehicles are needed. The old ones had huge mileage on them, reportedly.

Now, can I ask AGS -- pretty please -- NOT to park those taxpayer funded vehicles on the taxpayer funded footpaths? Or in disabled parking spaces.

Thanks.

FionnK86 wrote: »

Fcuk your honda civic I've a horse outside:D

well i have a golf tdi with german plates for aerodynamics,blow your civic out of the water,must see first will buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

**** your honda civic, they've got a horse outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

also, will the old cars be sold off at the auction in clare? the money raised could help pay for the new cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Don't see the problem tbh =/

I'd sooner hear about the money being spent on this stuff than on the likes of election & referendum campaigns etc. How much is going to be spent on the upcoming one?

From the looks of this thread it should be horses the Gardai are investing in :D

also, will the old cars be sold off at the auction in clare? the money raised could help pay for the new cars

i'd imagine they'd be scrapped for security reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Boombastic wrote: »
    Fcuk your honda civic I've a horse outside:D

Haha luv it:) Was waiting for that,thanks:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

They should revert back to Ford Escorts, and instead of sirens they should just play the theme from The Bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Has this been approved in the Reichstag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Fair enough OP. Lets put our peace officers in used death traps. Its actually what they deserve, isn't it?

Maybe you should do a ride along in one of the current patrol cars, a 300,000km one perhaps. Vomit, piss, and blood lining the interior. Dents, replacement parts, 3rd gearbox. The list goes on. And you'd replace this with another ****ebox.

Has this been approved in the Reichstag?

A decision made by the Blueshirts, so why not? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

pmcmahon wrote: »
    i'd imagine they'd be scrapped for security reasons.
    They're usually sold on afaik. Strip the electronics etc. Remember a story from a few years back about a drunk driver being arrested after joy riding around in an ex-Garda (might have been PSNI?) car on Harcourt St. Had a hardon for AGS but had failed entry.

Edit. Ex PSNI. He was a TDs son :D
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/td-tells-of-his-anger-after-son-arrested-in-highspeed-chase-1765355.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Maybe if they owned them they would not let them end up in that condition

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭talla10

Why would we need so many? That just sounds like wasting money to me

Eh to police the entire country???!!

talla10 wrote: »
    Eh to police the entire country???!!

170 thousand vehicles for a force of 14,000 approx? It seems excessive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

They should invest in some decent lightweight push bikes while they are at it so they can catch up with all these rogue cyclists on their fixies. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Fair enough, the existing fleet is in bits apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

donvito99 wrote: »
    Fair enough OP. Lets put our peace officers in used death traps. Its actually what they deserve, isn't it?

Maybe you should do a ride along in one of the current patrol cars, a 300,000km one perhaps. Vomit, piss, and blood lining the interior. Dents, replacement parts, 3rd gearbox. The list goes on. And you'd replace this with another ****ebox.

Taking an argument to extremes, that always works.

In all seriousness, the Gards have been calling for suitable jammers for ages now. ''Fit for purpose'' I believe the term they use is. Whether that's a '02 5 series or new poxy Toyota seems to be irrelevant.

The American Gards (or police) are getting new AWD V8 specially adapted jam jars. Ours won't even be junkie proof.

http://www.ford.com/fordpoliceinterceptor/#/features/officerprotection

Seems to me that taxis have regulations than Garda cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Maybe if they owned them they would not let them end up in that condition

It's not through mistreatment on a guards part the current fleet is fecked, it's probably more to do with the fact they are on the road every day, have had people drive into them, away from them or got sick, pissed or ****e in them.

My car is showing its age and it would have have the mileage put up on it compared to a gardai car, I would hate to see it doubled.

About time tbh!

170 new overpriced piles of sh1te vs some older more well suited ve-hicles?

Will they have cup holders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

Taking an argument to extremes, that always works.

In all seriousness, the Gards have been calling for suitable jammers for ages now. ''Fit for purpose'' I believe the term they use is. Whether that's a '02 5 series or new poxy Toyota seems to be irrelevant.

The American Gards (or police) are getting new AWD V8 specially adapted jam jars. Ours won't even be junkie proof.

http://www.ford.com/fordpoliceinterceptor/#/features/officerprotection

Seems to me that taxis have regulations than Garda cars.

i wouldnt be too sure about that...i was talking to a member of traffic core and what he was telling me that it was between skoda and bmw for the new fleet...so the boys in blue could be cruising around in new 5 series bmw's because apparently they came in at the same price as the skodas

What types are car are they getting?

Would like to see a few powerful cars such as Lancer Evo being used by the traffic corp as chase cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Long overdue,have heard of a good few stations that had to convert unmarked cars into marked patrol cars due to no replacements being made available to them when previous cars reached the end of their lifespans.

Toyota or Ford would be my bet on the new fleet manufacturers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

I really hope they will not be getting any more Avensis? They look nice driving around but they couldn't keep up with a micra.

some new volvos would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

pmcmahon wrote: »
    A garda car is driving constantly almost and needs constant servicing from day one.

More like permanently parked, with a hand holding a speed gun out the window catching the serious criminals.

What types are car are they getting?

Would like to see a few powerful cars such as Lancer Evo being used by the traffic corp as chase cars.

Having had one I can confirm there is good stable cup holders in the Lancer

Brilliant, thats one of the main things the new car needs :) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I doubt anyone is going to buy an old Garda car for more than the price of a couple of new tyres.

More like permanently parked, with a hand holding a speed gun out the window catching the serious criminals.

Proper order.

There are many forms of criminality, but for the sake of a little perspective here are some statistics concerning fatalities in Ireland (death being a serious and irreversible consequence of any human behaviour of interest):

Number of homicides per 100,000 population: 1.6

Number of road fatalities per 100,000 population: 7.8

Number of homicides in 2011: 44

Number of road deaths in 2011: 185 (lowest since records began)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Should get them cars like Fred Flintstone had, imagine that chasing you down the M50!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

i wouldnt be too sure about that...i was talking to a member of traffic core and what he was telling me that it was between skoda and bmw for the new fleet...so the boys in blue could be cruising around in new 5 series bmw's because apparently they came in at the same price as the skodas

I heard that someone within the department of justice decided that it would give off the wrong image for gardaí to be driving new bmws during a recession, even if they were purpose built and cheaper. I'd well believe it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,241 ✭✭✭sdanseo

The Gardaí are in desperate need of more cars, because ones that hit 300,000km are automatically withdrawn as they're deemed to be unsafe. For the last 2 years, they weren't being replaced, except for a tranche of around 100 Toyota Avensis yokes which look good but are apparently rubbish to drive.

There was reports of Gardaí being unable to cover rural areas without cars.

I know one Guard who's been on leave after being attacked because he was sent to patrol a dodgy area alone on foot while the local Super apparently dropped his mates home in the unmarked car.

Please God they'll buy sensibly this time. No better time to be bulk-buying squad cars than in a recession, at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    There are many forms of criminality..

Oh there are many forms of criminality alright, it's just a pity so much focus is put on one area. But then again, I suppose it's a nice little earner.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Buford Tannen

Had a hardon for AGS but had failed entry.

There is an e in ages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

should have got them a load of them indian cars that go for 3 grand a pop
    tuk tuks?:pac:
    coud put a cage around them to stop the cons from jumping out the sides and itd also act as a rollcage if they flip over.
    stick some off road tires on it and they coud go off road as well to chase after the little shts who go off road,they coud also stick a light weight PA system on the tuk tuk that can play a endless loop of vicious barking dogs so cons think theyre being chased by dogs and sht themselves begging for mercy,though negative side to this is some old granny coud be out walking her dog and upon hearing this canine outcry they woud be down the street in a shot-with granny in tow.
    or they coud use the sound of guns firing,just a thought-who needs expensive copper cars which only end up being sold on the cheap in auctions anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Do they need all those new vehicles? My Chinese takeaway does deliveries.

Oh there are many forms of criminality alright, it's just a pity so much focus is put on one area. But then again, I suppose it's a nice little earner.

They have to pay for the new cars somehow! ;)

Seriously though, how much do you think they "earned" during the recent Operation Slow Down, which was supposedly a major escalation of the speed camera operation?

They got feck all off me anyways.