Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Game Cup, Cannes, France March 1st - 3rd 2013

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭Naphiel

It sounds like a standard Marvel match to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Speed Boat

"I had it! Then I dropped the combo got air thrown and lost!" - UMVC3

Who defeated our legendary team in the 3v3?

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭Nevflinn

Naphiel wrote: »
    It sounds like a standard Marvel match to me.

Well duh, but it happened to our guy.
    You are obliged to be irrationally proud about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

So...how bout that Alioune fella...

🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Bento Sento

Hard luck in the Marvel 5v5 lads. I was in the stream chat trying my best to give you guys support. Better luck in AE.

P.S Alioune is a dick

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭Nevflinn

I knew Alioune would be trouble for us, so I'm actually kinda impressed you guys held out like you did. Good effort, guys; Lee and DarkTalent came especially close.

But Nutrient. You know I love you, man, but...Haggar? Against Magneto? And Morrigan?

Haggar?

Really??

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭ladnopoka

wheres team ireland 5v5

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭Goody2shoes15

ladnopoka wrote: »
    wheres team ireland 5v5

We were on the non-stream mai stage setup, the vids are around somewhere but not sure of details. Oh, the score was 5-2 to them. Jun and Fergus pulled out some amazing stuff, and AJ and Doyler managed to take a round each too.

Did I mention we were playing Team Japan.....

Yeah, that was hype.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

Who did ye take games off?

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Kanped

Any other updates? Singles performances? Drunken antics?

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭Goody2shoes15

Ok, i'll give as comprehensive an update as I can manage now, its our night off drinking in preparation for the alcofest that is Sunday night in Cannes.

We arrived wednesday, got in a good round of warm-up drinking which ended in them threatening to call the police, so good start. Thursday the Brits land, turns out Chrome Alchemist and half the British Marvel scene are in the next room to our marvel room, so lots of drunk casuals and socialising with them.

Friday: SF 3v3 team, Aaron beat first guy on opposing team, then a Balrog wiped them clean out. Marvel 3v3s Nutrient, Lee and Doyler won first match, then they got Deiminion's team, Lee bodied the first player and then Deiminion himself came on, Lee got incredibly close to beating him but just didn't quite close it out, they went out then. Paul DT and Neill lost first round, not sure who to but you can check the brackets for that.

Friday Night: Good SF casuals with a few of the guys from Scandinavia, Marvel guys got an invite to the main marvel room for money matches. Lee beat Brit's Clutch, Whiteblack, kaisatron were there, good bit of socialising apparently, Irish guys got on well with everyone, Whiteblack in particular. They also drank everyone else who was drinking under the table

Saturday: Marvel 5v5 delayed by half an hour but eventually all british and irish players turn up. Ireland OCVed by Alouine, brits beat Dutch and an incredibly hype final between UK and France happens, French win 5-4, brilliant match. SF 5v5 has been covered in above post. We got a lot of pats on the back for that performance. Marvel Solos, only people who made decent progress were DT and Lee, Lee put in losers by Mago, 3-2, another brilliantly hype match. Beats clutch again but then comes up against UK's Shuffle. All in all great performance. DT was put in losers by Deiminion, 3-1, wnet out at the same point in losers as Lee, think they were losers quarters possibly.

Thats all the results I know of myself, I know a few others were in the smaller tournaments so they'll update you themselves at a later point. Overall, a brilliant day for team ireland, SF 5v5 being my personal highlight. The adrenaline from just watching that match was unbeliveable. As I have said, some of us are taking the night off drinking to get in some sleep instead, some of the lads over playing SF but i think that's about all that's happening. Tomorrow TeamIreland are gonna body every Japanese player in sight, win about a grand in money matches and drink the entire hotel under the table. Good Holiday in all.

I'm so proud of him.

BEcGioJCcAASAFN.png:large

• Registered Users Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Good **** Fergus.

How many entrants for TTT2?

Good **** Fergus.

How many entrants for TTT2?

Not entirely sure. 30 something I think.
    He got himself on the secondary stream though. Them French commentators sure get hype.

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭ladnopoka

Fergus the beast

• Registered Users Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Really hope the entire streams get archived or uploaded to youtube.

Been working all weekend and pretty much missed it all.

Really hope the entire streams get archived or uploaded to youtube.

Been working all weekend and pretty much missed it all.

The archives from the main stage are being uploaded to WGE's youtube channel.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭1man3letters

well done fergus :D

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

Congrats Fergus :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

Low tier team ftw

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Ixayek_usurper

Well done fergus!
    Any big scalps?

Glad the legend that is malekith got the gold.
    Dunno how that 'jin the best' guy placed so highly.
    I've played him a lot on xbl, and tbh, he not on the same level as fergus at all!

• Registered Users Posts: 899 ✭✭✭BigStupidGuy

This is great well done man I'm happy for the community/Fergus/Irish Tekken :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

I was playing the jin guy in casuals and he seemed good to me. Then malekith came over and started watching and I was like "aaaaaaaa". He said I had a nice asuka for the time I spent with the game. Said I needed to work on movement and match ups but on the right track. Then we played and I almost took a game off him in our short set :D. He was really sound.

That lee/lili was really good. He sent me to losers, completely knew the asuka and lings match up.

I need to learn kuni matchup. Got owned on stream by low strings D:

That rikimaru guy was sick with lings. Took a few setups off him. Malekith and rikimaru gf was so hype to watch. All my chars in one match.

Fergus_ wrote: »
    I need to learn kuni matchup. Got owned on stream by low strings D:

• Registered Users Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Jun_DP101

Was an amazing trip, lots of fun and laughter. I'm really proud of how well the team performed vs japan and in ae in general. Also congrats fergus on top 8 hehe

• Registered Users Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ayjayirl

GGs to all. Awesome trip. I'm checking my liver into a recovery hospital.

We were told that our 5v5 would be up on the site below. Its not up as of yet though - Mad hype
    http://vsftv.com/site/wgc2013/

Fergus - Top 8. Gdlk!

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Doyler01

Akuma Lk tatsu to fireball ftw

• Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Lythero

i'm tired.

gonna practise jump medium, medium, jump medium, heavy for another few months now, k.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭UberPrinny_Baal

Great trip all!

Shoutouts to the room 201 crew, Ma Nolan's, our boy Sean, alcohol, public urination, hype, porridge, chairs, dropped combos, dropped fightsticks, Harley Quinn, Ed running in circles, Bubble Bobble, Bullets on keychains and alcohol.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Nutrient

I learned a lot from this trip;

If you're close to beating Alioune with 1 team during casuals, probably best not to pick other team that practically has worst mu's in game

Also, the tiers, they will be whored