Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

150e fine !!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    OP, you have my sympathies, that's annoying.

I too received a fine of €150 for my dog fouling someone's garden while I had him out for a walk.
    I was going to fight it but the complainant had a dossier with time dated video of the dog doing the deed & me whistling at him to follow on.
    I agreed with the council to pay €20 a month, I paid the first month then "forgot" about further payments.
    Hasn't been a word about 8 months later.

So you let your dog crap on other peoples gardens, then just walk away when you get caught! There's a word for people like you. Wonder did they have young kids....

That's 10 times worse than the OP. hope they catch up with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

local authority

Tell them you want proof, as in a video/photograph, deny to the hilt you were even in the area....

And if they cant waste time and resources chasing it, you may just get away with it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Get the right judge you could do a lot more for that fine.....you could really treat yourself...

Some bloke got fined 15,000 for sexually assaulting a 17 yr old with previous.

You should not have parked they rake money in like this. But still this country should be publically humiliated to the world.

Sorry OP it is excessive.

Well, it seems a lot.
    Then again, in Germany you can get points on your license for parking in the wrong spot, so with that in mind you got off lightly.

You're all lying if ya've never been left in a car while a parent, sibling or friend runs in somewhere for a minute. Love to see the look on their faces if they came back to a ticket like that and ya told them they deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

Just so people know i realise i cant park there its just that 150 euro is nuts, 50 ok fair enough but 150 is madness,

Maybe its 150 to stop people from doing it, as it is a fine after all. You said 50 would be ok which makes me think you would risk it again if it was a €50 fine. Would you risk it again now knowing its €150.

Anyway it is clearly your mothers fault so just hit her up for the cash.

• Registered Users Posts: 602 ✭✭✭omega666

Yawns wrote: »
    If it came to court and a member of AGS gave his word that he saw the OP's vehicle parked on double yellow lines, then the judge would accept it. Simple as.

If it was contested surely some bit of evidence would be required

Otherwise a garda could just claim a person they have a grudge against committed any offence, no need for evidence for any crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

You're all lying if ya've never been left in a car while a parent, sibling or friend runs in somewhere for a minute. Love to see the look on their faces if they came back to a ticket like that and ya told them they deserve it.

Not while they're parked illegally, no.
    It may come as a huge surprise to a lot of people here, but in most countries getting a fine for parking incorrectly isn't a game of chance, it's pretty much a certainty. And people do learn and park legally.
    Amazing concept, I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Ooh I'm always at it. Never caught though. Plenty of self righteous types here.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Mikros

Story makes no sense - there are no fixed charge fines for parking set at €150. Parking on double yellow lines is a €40 fine.

What is written on the notice you received?

http://www.transport.ie/upload/general/7424-1.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Sure don't you know the governments broke? Were clearly not paying enough in taxes and charges and USC's and they've another month to wait before they can ramp it up again. The poor banks are struggling awful.

Think of it as giving to a needy charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Seem most people think i deserve 150 euro fine ,
    I still think its extremly harsh, i also convineced the ticket guy would have seen me exit and enter the car it was about 30 to 40 seconds i was gone maybe less,
    I know i did worng but come on 150 euro,
    Surely people can see why i parked there, i orginaly just stopped to let my mother go in but she can barley get out of the car without help so i ran in for her, I think its extremly harsh,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

steve9859 wrote: »
    So you let your dog crap on other peoples gardens, then just walk away when you get caught! There's a word for people like you. Wonder did they have young kids....

That's 10 times worse than the OP. hope they catch up with you

Yes, there's me then there's Hitler, then that's the list done.
    Dial down the horror there Helen Lovejoy.

Dog did poop behind the wall where I didn't see him.
    I carry a reel of fouling bags on his lead handle aswell.

Mikrous
    That exactly what i thought and i rang them and there saying its 150, your about the 5th person that has said it should be 40euro ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

As far as I know, some Garda cars have little cameras on them designed for checking tax but also if illegally parked.
    The car does not even stop, just snaps a pic and on it goes.

I still think its extremly harsh, i also convineced the ticket guy would have seen me exit and enter the car it was about 30 to 40 seconds i was gone maybe less,
    Surely people can see why i parked there, i orginaly just stopped to let my mother go in but she can barley get out of the car without help so i ran in for her, I think its extremly harsh,

I suspect that may well have been the case. The fine might have been lower if they had seen you actually helping your mother get out of the car. But what they did see was you stopping where you shouldn't have and run off on business unknown.

Since youre mother was fine sitting in the car, what prevented you from parking up legally to get back to the doctors, as she wasn't going to walk anywhere with you anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I just got a 150euro fine in the door for parking on double yellow lines !!!!!!
    Last week i was drove my mother to the local GP, stuck the Hazard lights on,left her in the car jumped out ran in collected her gloves she left there and ran back out into the car and drove off,
    Now i get this fine in the door for been parked on the double yellow lines, they never put anything on my window or anything,
    150 is a crazy amount for literally 1 minute !!!!!!!!!
    Rant over,
    In fairness, if you did use the magic blinky lights, the fine is like totally unfair. I use mine to park on roundabouts and stuff.

Your making this up. There is no €150 fine issued by local authorities for a parking offence. What were you actually fined for?

MIkros
    Fines says parked on double yellow lines and has the address
    I thought 40euro myself,
    Ill get a picture of the fine after work and post it here,
    Say's 150 euro on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

You put the "park wherever the hell I want" lights on and you STILL got a fine? oh noooo! :rolleyes:

serves you right IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭noddyone2

I just got a 150euro fine in the door for parking on double yellow lines !!!!!!
    Last week i was drove my mother to the local GP, stuck the Hazard lights on,left her in the car jumped out ran in collected her gloves she left there and ran back out into the car and drove off,
    Now i get this fine in the door for been parked on the double yellow lines, they never put anything on my window or anything,
    150 is a crazy amount for literally 1 minute !!!!!!!!!
    Rant over,
    Does using 'hazard lights' make it ok? Hard way to learn.

Shenshen wrote: »
    I suspect that may well have been the case. The fine might have been lower if they had seen you actually helping your mother get out of the car. But what they did see was you stopping where you shouldn't have and run off on business unknown.

Since youre mother was fine sitting in the car, what prevented you from parking up legally to get back to the doctors, as she wasn't going to walk anywhere with you anyway?

I intended for her to go in but when i seen her having trouble i said sit yourself down and i'll run in plus the car park was full up. the Gp is in a housing estate and no other car park for a gud 10 minute walk,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

MIkros
    Fines says parked on double yellow lines and has the address
    I thought 40euro myself,
    Ill get a picture of the fine after work and post it here,
    Say's 150 euro on it

I'd be interested in seeing that. Seems very high for a local authority - the most I've heard is €80.

Local Authority was Dublin City council

Mikros wrote: »
    I'd be interested in seeing that. Seems very high for a local authority - the most I've heard is €80.

I hope so, i'll print off the price list from transport .ie and ring them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,710 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Sounds like they tagged the household charge on the end of it :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

I hope so, i'll print off the price list from transport .ie and ring them

Ask them: "Do you do like a pawrking loyalty card" ?

Shenshen wrote: »
    Not while they're parked illegally, no.

Really? Never been in someones car and they hop to the atm or drop a letter in a post box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jem123 wrote: »
    150 euro is a ridiculous fine for this "offence". I would definitely contest it

On what grounds? The offence was commited and thats obviously the fne amount set out in the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

Serious crowd of wankerz on AH today OP but then again what's new. Fine is very excessive and as long as you are not parking up for a long period or causing an obstruction to traffic then AGS or the parking warden should have used a bit of cop on and gave you the 30-40 secs it took to run in and grab the gloves. You unfortunately ran into a prick on the day just like you ran into a bunch of pricks on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

Sounds like you're paying an increased fine for not paying the original one possibly?

thats what i thought cause of the price, but the offence is dated as the 2/10 which is onlyjust over 2 weeks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I dont obey the speed limit all the time. If I'm caught I wont whinge about it like a baby. People face consequences for their actions, whats the world coming to, eh? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

Serious crowd of wankerz on AH today OP but then again what's new. Fine is very excessive and as long as you are not parking up for a long period or causing an obstruction to traffic then AGS or the parking warden should have used a bit of cop on and gave you the 30-40 secs it took to run in and grab the gloves. You unfortunately ran into a prick on the day just like you ran into a bunch of pricks on this thread.

you seem unusually furious.... George...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

regarding replies to OP that he deserves all that's coming to him, this thread is relevant.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056695812

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

omega666 wrote: »
    If it was contested surely some bit of evidence would be required

Otherwise a garda could just claim a person they have a grudge against committed any offence, no need for evidence for any crime.

For minor offences the guards word on oath would suffice over another person's word. If the OP had evidence it would override the guards word etc. If a guard had a grudge against someone, that person could report them to the ombudsman who won't take those kinds of things lightly. If there was history of a particular guard doing this to one individual then that guard's word would probable be in doubt.

As a once of minor traffic offence, the guards word in a court of law would be enough if he did indeed witness the event.

As the OP says it was a local council so could be a traffic warden and a bit weird it's €150 and no notice on car at all...

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

yes...absolutely bang on... anyone that thinks that people shouldn't be allowed to park on double yellow lines is a hypocrite...

ahh feck it...lets add any law to that shall we.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭blue note

Yawns wrote: »

Erm I think the alternative is to park in a parking spot...

There are a few spaces on the road, none were free. There were no other spaces within walking distance for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Don't post in this thread again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

thats what i thought cause of the price, but the offence is dated as the 2/10 which is onlyjust over 2 weeks,

Is your insurance, car tax and nct up to date?
    Maybe you got a fine for that too.

Some of the fines I've seen are for €90 and €60... so that would make €150.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Fines should be doubled if the hazard lights are put on, because then the offender knows they are acting the bollix but is going 'oh teehee I know I really shouldn't be doing this but it's just for a minute, honest'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Keno 92 wrote: »
    They better be some amazing fucking gloves.

/thread

Everyone seems to think ishould not have stopped fair enough ,im sure no one here has ever done anything wrong before,
    But do you think it warents the 150 euro fine ?
    As i said id understand 40euro but 150 euro is it that bad a crime ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

I think parking on double yellows outside a GP's deserves a €150 fine. Maybe it's so high because of where you were parked and the fact you could have potentially caused an obstruction to an emergency vehicle.

I would agree too high if you were parked outside a shop, but not the GP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

It is indeed a high fine. I'm just glad that someone actually has gotten fined for idiot parking as I see it every day and it's so fecking annoying. I see people who park on corners and practically on roundabouts, where they say they'll just be a minute and slap on hazards. I don't care what reason you think is good enough to park on double yellows or anywhere you're not supposed to. If you do it and get caught then tough. While it might be expensive, most people won't care. It's double yellows for a reason.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭Jumpaddict

blue note wrote: »
    There are a few spaces on the road, none were free. There were no other spaces within walking distance for her.

Were you there?

Everyone seems to think ishould not have stopped fair enough ,im sure no one here has ever done anything wrong before,
    But do you think it warents the 150 euro fine ?
    As i said id understand 40euro but 150 euro is it that bad a crime ?

The moral of the story is, will you park on double yellow lines again? Hopefully not - The system works;)

Whispered wrote: »
    I think parking on double yellows outside a GP's deserves a €150 fine. Maybe it's so high because of where you were parked and the fact you could have potentially caused an obstruction to an emergency vehicle.

I would agree too high if you were parked outside a shop, but not the GP.

Do u really think that,
    I was o ly there so my mother wouldn't have to walk,and remember she was only there in the first place because she is not in good health,
    ok i did wrong but come on surely u understand why i parked there,

Jumpaddict wrote: »
    Were you there?

The moral of the story is, will you park on double yellow lines again? Hopefully not - The system works;)

I did mention that, the car park was full and no other car park for a could 10 minute walk,