Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Household Charge Mega-Thread [Part 3] *Poll Reset*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

donalg1 wrote: »
    Wow so Ghandee now has the ability to talk for close to 1,000,000 people!!

Funny how two people I know havent paid the HHC have told me they will be paying it then since Wednesday and one other paid it on Thursday, so of the 3 people I surveyed 100% will be paying. But clearly you have spoken to them too and they have given you a different answer since you are able to speak for them. :rolleyes:

Surveyed? :pac:
    They were probably afraid you would register them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Lads you're dragging this out to high hell. No, obviously a PAYE worker won't get audited or wouldn't have anything to fear from an audit. By the nature of the system they couldn't be audited, unless they were selling their services to their employer every day and printing them a receipt?! The nearest most will come is when they get their P21 balancing statement.

When this comes up with an underpayment of PAYE tax, it results in that amount being reduced from your tax credits for the next year, or few years depending on the size of the underpayment.

The collection of the household charge will be exactly the same. It's 130 to pay by May 2013, and 200 reduced from tax credits after that.

I wouldn't count on it taking Revenue very long to "hunt you down" as some put it either. For overpaid, useless civil servants with fat cat pensions who do nothing all day, they're worryingly efficient.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Ghandee wrote: »
    What taxes can a paye worker fiddle though

Well, off the top of my head, there's several allowances that you can claim that are subject to self-declaration.

So you could be overclaiming medical expenses. Or overclaiming on tax relief for service charges. Or been claiming the tax credit for union fees when you weren't a member of a union.

There's certainly more scope for tax evasion if you're self employed, but it's not like it's impossible to engage in it as a PAYE worker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Funny how two people I know havent paid the HHC have told me they will be paying it then since Wednesday and one other paid it on Thursday, so of the 3 people I surveyed 100% will be paying.

Civil servants jawing around the water cooler again.
    Back to work with ye, and stop wasting my legitimate taxes.

Well, off the top of my head, there's several allowances that you can claim that are subject to self-declaration.

So you could be overclaiming medical expenses. Or overclaiming on tax relief for service charges. Or been claiming the tax credit for union fees when you weren't a member of a union.
    Yea, an audit on bin charges tax relief. Best get a sackful of rubbish ready just in case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

robbie7730 wrote: »
    Yes I forgot, you can always have sky or the broadband cancelled, to pay for them. Or sell the violin.

Exactly but since my motor tax isnt due for a long time I can put a little aside each week until it is due so I wouldnt have any reason to worry about my motor tax increasing by €27 as really its only an increase of €13.50 for me.

A little aside each week...

I think that is more a suggestion from you as to what the low earners struggling to get by can do, rather than what you have to do.

A little aside each week...

I think that is more a suggestion from you as to what the low earners struggling to get by can do, rather than what you have to do.

How do you know what I earn Robbie?

You see what I do is I get my monthly income and put that in say Column A and then I get what I know my bills will be that month and put them in Column B. I then take the total of Column B and subtract that from Column A leaving me with my disposable income for the month. Now with other expenses such as motor tax, house insurance, bins and whatever else I know they are due in March, or April or September or whenever so I can add these to my monthly budget aswell as they are somewhat predictable expenses. That way I get figure X at the end of each month, X being what I have left (usually X is pretty small).

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Buford Tannen

Wow so Ghandee now has the ability to talk for close to 1,000,000 people!!

Funny how two people I know havent paid the HHC have told me they will be paying it then since Wednesday and one other paid it on Thursday, so of the 3 people I surveyed 100% will be paying. But clearly you have spoken to them too and they have given you a different answer since you are able to speak for them. :rolleyes:

Would that be hiding in their garden with longs lens or more of a stop them in the street chugger type survey?
    Is your friend and his new dog 2 of these 3 people?:D

Would that be hiding in their garden with longs lens or more of a stop them in the street chugger type survey?
    Is your friend and his new dog 2 of these 3 people?:D

Ah no its just people I happen to know family and friends.

At least you know some. Others in here said they dont happen to associate with anyone who didnt pay if I remember right.

Well I would imagine we all know of a few people that havent paid the HHC yet.

Indeed. Anyway, have a good day:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Well saying as up to half of those eligible to pay it did not, its more or less a certainty.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭Hijpo

How do you know what I earn Robbie?

You see what I do is I get my monthly income and put that in say Column A and then I get what I know my bills will be that month and put them in Column B. I then take the total of Column B and subtract that from Column A leaving me with my disposable income for the month. Now with other expenses such as motor tax, house insurance, bins and whatever else I know they are due in March, or April or September or whenever so I can add these to my monthly budget aswell as they are somewhat predictable expenses. That way I get figure X at the end of each month, X being what I have left (usually X is pretty small).

We do that, iv done up a spread sheet actually, works pretty well. It says my household has 73.96 a month left. But alas we earn a combined income of around 46k a year so there will be no exemption for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

Post budget-on various Internet forums/facebook threads I see a lot of angry people-it seems to me people want some form of action-just putting forward a suggestion to discuss-besides taking to the streets and marching-what if someone were to set up a facebook page to organise for a certain date for everyone with withdraw all their funds and savings from the banks/credit unions etc to organise a run on financial institutions in Ireland-please discuss what do you people think of a protest of this kind ?

lugha wrote: »
    This also goes to the matter of affordability, which as Ghandee has pointed out, is something of a side issue. Someone with a couple of kids will likely be hit harder with the child benefit reductions that they will with a property tax but I doubt we will be seeing ~ 30,000 posts on such an "immoral attack on the family". And even more so that property tax (where there is at least some correlation between income and house value) these changes are in no way progressive.
    I mention affordability because there is a very wide spectrum covered by “can’t afford”. The scenario you mention above would certainly be towards one end of it.

thats waffle, i asked how much will taxes and charges go up so that you struggle and have to cancle your sky subscription.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,218 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Am Chile wrote: »
    Post budget-on various Internet forums/facebook threads I see a lot of angry people-it seems to me people want some form of action-just putting forward a suggestion to discuss-besides taking to the streets and marching-what if someone were to set up a facebook page to organise for a certain date for everyone with withdraw all their funds and savings from the banks/credit unions etc to organise a run on financial institutions in Ireland-please discuss what do you people think of a protest of this kind ?

Ridiculous. You have to notify the banks a few days in advance to withdraw large amounts of cash. There are a lot of different types of savings accounts and sometimes people can't access all their savings at certain times. And what would people do with it then? What exactly would be the intended outcome of this??

I certainly won't be taking part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

MadYaker wrote: »
    Ridiculous. You have to notify the banks a few days in advance to withdraw large amounts of cash. There are a lot of different types of savings accounts and sometimes people can't access all their savings at certain times. And what would people do with it then? What exactly would be the intended outcome of this??

Poverty stricken people would have 'large amounts of cash' to withdraw?

MadYaker wrote: »

I certainly won't be taking part.

Much like that time you didn't vote either :confused:

hes able to save!! GET HIM!!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I found a completely legit loophole for the Property Tax. You are exempt if your home is a "mobile home, vehicle or a vessel". I'm getting a caravan.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,024 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Hijpo wrote: »
    thats waffle, i asked how much will taxes and charges go up so that you struggle and have to cancle your sky subscription.

Cancel your Sky anyway. It's a waste of money. Just my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,933 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Some of those recommendations are interesting enough, such as

The rate of interest that should apply to late payments of LPT is the rate that is applied to unpaid tax generally.

Interest and penalties in respect of evasion of LPT should count for consideration for publication in the same way as any other tax or duty evaded.

jaysus that will really worry Lowry and Wallace :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭moonlighting

I found a completely legit loophole for the Property Tax. You are exempt if your home is a "mobile home, vehicle or a vessel". I'm getting a caravan.
    does that include the larger ones that are placed on blocks. i.e. no wheels

Cancel your Sky anyway. It's a waste of money. Just my opinion.

And pay 160 quid for 3 channels where 70% of the shows are repeats?

If you cant afford your taxes then:
    1. Stay in and dont socialise
    2. Get rid of your TV
    3. Get rid of your internet
    4. Sell your laptop
    5. Get rid of your pets
    6. Stop smoking

Repeat after me: Live to work, to pay your taxes

Yep, they never got caught, did they?

• Registered Users Posts: 51,933 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Alas, there isn't my answer. Unless you can demonstrate how going after the bankers alone will close a deficit of 13 billion?

Alternatives to a property tax have been put forward. A comprehensive alternative to deal with the crisis we are in and that does not involve austere measures has not been put forward..... yet! (Maybe you would like to have a go? :) )

So you can take the Childrens Allowance and Carers Allowance away overnight BUT you have to give over a years notice if you want to cap rich peoples pensions.

You just couldn't make this up.
    They are really looking after their friends are our Government.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Am Chile wrote: »
    for everyone with withdraw all their funds and savings from the banks/credit unions etc to organise a run on financial institutions in Ireland-please discuss what do you people think of a protest of this kind ?
    Most people would lose some or all of their savings. Even sensibly run banks would not be able to cope if all depositors demanded their money back at once.

What do you think such a protest would achieve?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

So you can take the Childrens Allowance and Carers Allowance away overnight BUT you have to give over a years notice if you want to cap rich peoples pensions.

You just couldn't make this up.
    They are really looking after their friends are our Government.
    So do you think if they did cap these large pensions that would solve our problems and we could undo all the austerity measures and bid adieu to property tax?

it would be a step in the right direction nationaly.
    Not just capped, but cut substantially and capped at that.