Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Favourite Irish sayings or euphemisms

• 21-10-2012 12:29pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭

Mine is 'Hon ya boyo'

Also dont mind he didnt have an arse in his trousers when i knew him or that'll soften his cough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Feck off

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

Jaysus!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

1. Ge dat into ya Jacynthia
    2. Gerrit oudiya Claudia
    3. Bejayziz, grand day isn't it
    4. Ya bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Ride me sideways

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Ya can beat the wife but you can't beat the craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

You didn't lick that off the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

"Get your bollox outta my face!" was another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

He's a real character = he's an alcoholic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭Shane732

Ahhh here, leave it out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭emo72

Yup d yard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Hello,

I would like to preface this by saying that this is not a joke and all joke replies will be deleted. If however, you want to make some extra cash and perhaps have a background in theatre then this is for you.

What is required?

I'm looking for somebody to sit in my room at night and watch over me as I sleep. Recently I have had a lot of trouble sleeping and I think it would be comforting if I knew somebody was there.

I'd also like it if you were to wear a small owl costume as you do so. I have always found great comfort in the idea that owls are the natural lookouts of our world and so it would really help. I'd be prepared to pay you up to 40 euro if you were to wear the costume and maybe 35 euro if you don't want the costume but will stick a feather or two to your forehead.

The shift times will vary and I'm really looking for a rotating roster of one or two permanent 'staff'. I was thinking that the ideal candidate would be able to cover 3 nights between the hours of 11pm - 6 am.

I will provide you one museli bar if you get hungry but no dinner breaks. I'd prefer if you didn't face me when you ate the bar as I would find that very off putting even if i'm already asleep. You can of course use my bathroom. But only two hours after I fall asleep to ensure that I won't suddenly wake up to find the room empty.

Please no time wasters,

Tom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

"I will in me arse"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

It's so deep, take it easy.

And.

Sure what harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

1. Ge dat into ya Jacynthia
    2. Gerrit oudiya Claudia
    3. Bejayziz, grand day isn't it
    4. Ya bollix

Get it into ya Cynthia...my mum always says that.

Also something about not liking it a lot but you'll like it?? Can't think of it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Happy days (mostly used in political circles)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Be grand sure !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Wreck eh like Rebecca.
    Own eh like fiona.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The 18 posters before me are all begrudgers!
    emo72 wrote: »
    Yup d yard.

Yup d yard da smell of bengy off ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

How's your father:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

C'mere

Dowtcha Biy (is this only heard in Cork?)

Janó (from 'do you know')

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

soft day

Buy me something nice....

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭beaver111

stand back mary, i dont know how big this gets:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

aye... dead on ! (Probably just a northern thing)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Hello,

I would like to preface this by saying that this is not a joke and all joke replies will be deleted. If however, you want to make some extra cash and perhaps have a background in theatre then this is for you.

What is required?

I'm looking for somebody to sit in my room at night and watch over me as I sleep. Recently I have had a lot of trouble sleeping and I think it would be comforting if I knew somebody was there.

I'd also like it if you were to wear a small owl costume as you do so. I have always found great comfort in the idea that owls are the natural lookouts of our world and so it would really help. I'd be prepared to pay you up to 40 euro if you were to wear the costume and maybe 35 euro if you don't want the costume but will stick a feather or two to your forehead.

The shift times will vary and I'm really looking for a rotating roster of one or two permanent 'staff'. I was thinking that the ideal candidate would be able to cover 3 nights between the hours of 11pm - 6 am.

I will provide you one museli bar if you get hungry but no dinner breaks. I'd prefer if you didn't face me when you ate the bar as I would find that very off putting even if i'm already asleep. You can of course use my bathroom. But only two hours after I fall asleep to ensure that I won't suddenly wake up to find the room empty.

Please no time wasters,

Tom.
    What part of Ireland are you from?????

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭Captain Pillowcase

De bang off yer wan

C'mere I want ye (or the youngs wans and youn'fella... Heha young wan/youn'fella will ye shift me mate (aka the donkey kids)

Ah deadly

He's/She's is bang on or Thats bang out of order

Or best ever, (heard being roared over the balcony of flats in Dublin) Jacinta, yer dinners poured

And of course, I'm grand, It's grand, It's all grand, It's a grand day, Everythings grand, Thats a grand cuppa tae, He's a grand lad (and on n' on n' on..........)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

For someone who's pregnant and doesn't know who the father is:

"If you eat a plate of beans you don't know which one made ya fart"

or

"If you fall in a patch of nettles you don't know which one stung ya"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,329 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

ya fecking f@ggot (I heard an old woman down the country say that. She didn't even know that word could refer to someone sexual orientation)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,566 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

ask me swiss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Hello,

What is required?

Please no time wasters,

Tom.

God, if i'd a euro for everytime ive heard that old chestnut.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

mauzo wrote: »
    Get it into ya Cynthia...my mum always says that.

Also something about not liking it a lot but you'll like it?? Can't think of it now

I thought it was "Horse it into ya, Cynthia"

"Wouldn't last pissing time" (in relation to an item of inferior quality)

"Wouldn't give ya d'oul shtame off his pish" or "wouldn't piss on you if you're on fire" (in relation to a friend of inferior quality)

"Wouldn't let you down in a crisis", "Salt of the earth lad"

"Them are they". Loads more but I'd be here forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

"Sure feck it anyway" before doing something stupid

Apparently the new one among the kids is "YOLO"

Which makes me think..

katt-williams-yolo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

"Yano that yoke?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Grand cake Nora.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,566 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

God, if i'd a euro for everytime ive heard that old chestnut.:)

don't you mean that owl chestnut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Skerries wrote: »
    don't you mean that owl chestnut

Haha that pun was a hoot. :pac:

.....I'll get me coat.

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭Pea 9

The cut a ya!
    What, are ya at?
    Sound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Light Switch

Your wan.
    Yanoo what I mean.
    Whiisst will ya.

Bring in the messages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

GET IN THE CHOPPA!

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Alt J

"I will now in a minute" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Pleasant 'maternalisms' of olde......

'I'll put that smirk on the other side of yer face'

'C'mere to me and I'll give ya something to smile about.'

'Jaysus, they'd make a tinker out of ya' (with reference to kids)

Scarred, I am. Scarred. :D

Where are you going? Up the walls.

My mum used to say, I'll pull out your arm and give you a smack with the soggy end...

Could be just her though

I'm in rag order
    In a heap, hoop, jock, state, in bits, in ribbons..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Hangin' together
    in a Bojangle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

"sure it'll be grand" *

* It's going to go tit's up, and you'll be out of pocket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

The Quare wan'.

I hear ould fellas refer to some women as the quare wan'.

What actually constitutes a quare wan?
    -Is she a lesbo?
    -Is she a slut?
    -Is she crazy in the coconut?
    -Is she all of the above?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,464 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Get outta me light.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Nickcaved

I like how you all say

What's the story? to ask about someones day...it's nice

I also like how a catholic country uses God to express anger or excitement like Holy Mother of God...Christ on a bike...or simply Holy F*ck!!

My flatmates is always saying this:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,464 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Hows your mother?