Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hurricane Sandy Threatens To Slam Northeast U.S. Monday-Tuesday 29th-30th

• Registered Users Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

Up to 12 feet with high tide combined with surge according to some experts. Hurricane movement is now about 18mph, they expect it to make landfall around 8 now, not 7.

Is that Irish time or EST?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    Is that Irish time or EST?

EST, sorry. Between midnight and 1am here.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

EST, sorry. Between midnight and 1am here.

Cheers! Guess I'll have to wait till morning to see the aftermath of this Frankenstorm

• Registered Users Posts: 845 ✭✭✭tylercollins

Late night ahead then to follow this... might go catch a few hours sleep :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

G0SpJl.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Spindle

thomasj wrote: »
    On its way!

[Img][/img]

That is from a thunder cell n 2011.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Supposed to be high tide there at 8pm (NY time). Could be horrific..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭jo06555

Supposed to be high tide there at 8pm (NY time). Could be horrific..
    How horrific?? Flooding or tsunami type waves??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭thomasj

Spindle wrote: »

That is from a thunder cell n 2011.

Cheers! I only saw it posted on twitter, its already showing as a picture on one of the news sites.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭rc28

From another forum - this is Ocean City NJ: http://twitpic.com/b8jccr

Not even near high tide there yet, New Jersey will be very badly hit by this.

jo06555 wrote: »

As I said earlier in the thread, I'm not very weather savvy and am open to correction but I believe it will result in worse flooding than what was first anticipated.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

jo06555 wrote: »

Flooding. Seriously bad flooding. I reckon something they've never seen before. That's if the forecast is anything to go by anyway

On another note, marginal (but ruled out!) post tornado activity possible.
    ...SYNOPSIS...
    VISIBLE SATELLITE IMAGERY OVER THE WRN N ATLANTIC SUGGESTS THAT
    HURRICANE SANDY IS MAKING A TURN FROM THE NNW TO THE NW. BANDS OF
    STRATOCUMULUS COILING AROUND THE SRN SEMICIRCLE OF SANDY/S OUTER
    CIRCULATION INDICATE THE BAROCLINIC FORCING BEING IMPARTED TO THIS
    SYSTEM...THOUGH THE MAINTENANCE OF DEEP CONVECTIVE BURSTS NEAR ITS
    INCREASINGLY SECLUDED WARM CORE CONTINUES TO FOSTER TROPICAL
    CHARACTERISTICS.

AS A FUJIWHARA INTERACTION TAKES PLACE BETWEEN THE MID-LEVEL
    CIRCULATION ACCOMPANYING SANDY AND A VORT MAX OVER THE
    CAROLINAS...SANDY WILL TRACK MORE WWD THROUGH TONIGHT TO THE SOUTH
    OF AN ANTICYCLONIC BLOCK OVER THE CANADIAN MARITIMES...WHILE
    EVOLVING INTO A LARGE AND POWERFUL POST-TROPICAL CYCLONE. THE CENTER
    OF THIS SYSTEM IS FORECAST TO MAKE LANDFALL NEAR OR JUST SOUTH OF
    THE SRN NJ COAST THIS EVENING OR TONIGHT AND REACH THE PA-MD BORDER
    BY EARLY TUESDAY. PLEASE REFERENCE PRODUCTS/ADVISORIES ISSUED BY THE
    NATIONAL HURRICANE CENTER FOR ADDITIONAL DETAILS ON SANDY. ISOLATED
    THUNDERSTORMS...AND AN ASSOCIATED MARGINAL SVR WIND/TORNADO
    THREAT...WILL BE POSSIBLE ACROSS PARTS OF SRN NEW ENGLAND LATE
    TONIGHT INTO EARLY TUESDAY.

ELSEWHERE...A FEW NON-SEVERE STORMS CANNOT BE RULED OUT ACROSS PARTS
    OF THE NRN INTERMOUNTAIN WEST THIS AFTERNOON IN ASSOCIATION WITH A
    DISTURBANCE EMBEDDED WITHIN MODERATE WLY FLOW ALOFT AMIDST A PLUME
    OF PACIFIC MOISTURE.

As I said earlier in the thread, I'm not very weather savvy and am open to correction but I believe it will result in worse flooding than what was first anticipated.

No it was pretty much expected, just that it looks to be going towards the higher end of the scale now.

Sandy is doing everything she can to max her impact even down to combing with high tide. It is almost like she is reading the time tables.......

This is one for the snow bunnies
    Hurricane Central@twc_hurricane
    7" of snow (!) reported near Gatlinburg, TN on Mount Le Conte. #Sandy #tnwx

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Steady snow inland across eg West Virginia as the cold airmass coming from Canada meets this.

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Betty-ireland

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Steady snow inland across eg West Virginia as the cold airmass coming from Canada meets this.
    Just spoke to my dad in West Virginia, it's been raining since yesterday morning and started snowing about 10 mins ago with him. His first 'proper' storm since he moved there, he's as nervous as feck. As are we :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

rc28 wrote: »
    From another forum - this is Ocean City NJ: http://twitpic.com/b8jccr

Not even near high tide there yet, New Jersey will be very badly hit by this.

Is that genuine? It all looks very calm. Not a wave in sight.

Also, the amount of people down for a gawk on the NY harbour Webcam is ridiculous!

• Registered Users Posts: 48,247 ✭✭✭✭km79

Just spoke to my dad in West Virginia, it's been raining since yesterday morning and started snowing about 10 mins ago with him. His first 'proper' storm since he moved there, he's as nervous as feck. As are we :(
    Are ye originally from America ? Sorry of that is too personal a question just wondering :)

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Betty-ireland

km79 wrote: »
    Are ye originally from America ? Sorry of that is too personal a question just wondering :)
    Nope, my father moved there 2 years ago.

Just saw this on twitter.

3 USMC Honor Guards stand guarding the tomboy the unknown soldier.

If legit, that's serious dedication to a fallen soldier.

http://twitter.com/OMGFacts/status/262955515401863168/photo/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Got the following from storm2k- not sure of its accuracy.

"From Tri-State Weather:

Breaking Weather News: Aircraft reconnaissance aircraft currently flying into Hurricane Sandy is reporting rapid pressure drops which means rapid intensification is occurring. They are indicating 99mph sustained winds at the surface of the storm, which would make this a strong Category 2 hurricane. The storm would need sustained wind speeds of just 110mph to be a Category 3 hurricane on the Saffir-Simpson scale."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭uncle_sam_ie

I don't know if this was link yet but, you can get the Weather channel here live. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXMU2qwCVag&feature=g-sptl&cid=inp-hs-san

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

3 USMC Honor Guards stand guarding the tomboy the unknown soldier. [/url]

They are soldiers, they do what they are told, maybe someone should ring their co and get them to stand down?

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭dardevle

gbee wrote: »
    They are soldiers, they do what they are told, maybe someone should ring their co and get them to stand down?
    it has been continuously guarded for over 60 years!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 MMFF

jamo2oo9 wrote: »

Cheers! Guess I'll have to wait till morning to see the aftermath of this Frankenstorm
    Sick voyeuristic puppy ain't ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

70mph wind gust being reported in New Jersey

Just saw this on twitter.

3 USMC Honor Guards stand guarding the tomboy the unknown soldier.

If legit, that's serious dedication to a fallen soldier.

http://twitter.com/OMGFacts/status/262955515401863168/photo/1

Bubble burst. Old picture that happened to go viral.

Still an extremely impressive and noble gesture. Hats off to those guys regardless.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭Saganist

Anyone elses live youtube stream gone down ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Wolfe_IRE

yep. may be ad break though

EDIT: back again

I'm not having luck trying to post some good pics :(

2/2 on old virals