Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Pass the Solpadeine on the left hand side!

• 22-10-2012 9:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 42

Solpadeine - The Cold Hard Truth!
    Do you regularly take Solpadeine for mild headaches? If you do then you’re a heroin addict, pure and simple. Those heroin junkies you see on the streets aren’t much worse than you are. In some ways they could be better off. At least they know they’re ****ed

http://rulehibernia.com/2010/08/codeine-addiction-the-horrible-truth/

Seriously though that Solpadeine is some good Sh*t! But have you ever tried to buy some lately, the pharmacist makes you feel like a junkie, you have to fill out a questionaire! You're like "Please, I just need some... " she's like "The 12 pack? , "Eh, no the 48pack please love" oh and has to be the soluble to get that quick hit!
    So AHers, anyone else have a fondness for the Big S ,its street name;) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

This is so 2 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

A headache? What's wrong with an ibuprofen?

• Registered Users Posts: 42 jfallon

This is so 2 years ago.

Are you sure, it is 2012 right? Time to lay off that Codeine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

brummytom wrote: »

Apple moving into the pharmaceutical market now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

It doesn't even work on me! Nurofen plus, now that's some good shit!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I buy it in the UK whenever I'm there.

3 packs in Bristol Airport last week for less than a tenner.

Should keep me going for a couple of weeks.

And no - I ain't a fúckin heroin junkie.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭CavanCrew

Stupid thread, lots of people addicted to codeine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

It's the only thing that I can take that works for headaches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Sudafed is where it's at these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

You obviously haven't tried Solpadeine Max then?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Or two of them.

CavanCrew wrote: »
    Stupid thread, lots of people addicted to codeine.

Can you get Coedine in Cavan? I heard they were giving it out free at the Rally for poor Seanie!

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

I don't see the point in becoming addicted to these legal drugs, if you're going to end up a junkie, at least do some illegal drugs, live life a little ;)

jfallon wrote: »
    Can you get Coedine in Cavan? I heard they were giving it out free at the Rally for poor Seanie!

Ah Heyor... LEAVE IT OU

Melion wrote: »
    It's the only thing that I can take that works for headaches.

Try taking it with some Difene, Good Times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bob50

Love my fix of solpadeine i take 3 /4 daily i dont always take it for a headache, im just addicted to the codeine in them

some Chemists give you the third degree like what kind of pain you have. have you tried panadol etc and when they give them they always say take them for 3 days max

Havent had to fill out forms to get them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

Personally dont like codeine, has a nasty histamine reaction itchiness to it.

Fentanyl is a much cleaner opiate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

spankysue wrote: »
    I don't see the point in becoming addicted to these legal drugs, if you're going to end up a junkie, at least do some illegal drugs, live life a little ;)

Why not both? have the toast done on both sides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Hate the stuff (codeine).

Was on it for six weeks with spirit crushing back pain in the form of a herniated spinal disc.

Horrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Soluable solpadeine followed by a shot of Tullamore dew, nice.
    Fentanyl, meh.
    Pethadene nerve block is the bees knees:)

Pharmacies have a form that you can have your doctor stamp, if you use soluable solpadeine regularly and don't want the third degree, the big boxes are available on prescription

Hate the stuff (codeine).

Was on it for six weeks with spirit crushing back pain in the form of a herniated spinal disc.

Horrible.

...tear the bowels out of ye?

Nodin wrote: »
    ...tear the bowels out of ye?

That and the weird living in a different dimension to everyone else thing.

I guess I associate it with pain too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

anhedonia wrote: »
    Personally dont like codeine, has a nasty histamine reaction itchiness to it.

Fentanyl is a much cleaner opiate.

Fentan. Fentan... Fentaaaaaan... Fentaaaaaaaaaaaaaan... Fentan.... Oh Jesus CHRIST!!! FENTAAAAAAAAAAAN!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Solpadol is where it's at. You won't poop for days but the days fly by in a blur so it's all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭flutered

A headache? What's wrong with an ibuprofen

compared to the bigS they are malteesers.

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

Why not both? have the toast done on both sides.

I like your way of thinking :) Or even better, mix them together, I wouldn't say it's ever hurt anyone. If you're nervous about doing all those drugs together, sure have an aul drink to relax yourself, you'll be grand.... only famous people die from drinking and mixing drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Oh I love solpadeine. I get migraines the odd time. But there was a time I was getting them weekly and the pharmacist had the cheek to tell me I was getting headaches from the solpadeine. Eh no, I dont get headaches, I get migraines and I felt like getting sick on his counter. Its the only thing that knocks me out quickly which I need with a migraine.

hardCopy wrote: »
    Solpadol is where it's at. You won't poop for days but the days fly by in a blur so it's all good.

That was the stuff I was on. Weird shit.

They're strong buggers allright. Tylex is stronger, but ye'll be too busy crapping to notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Yeah, eventually

You all sound like junkies.

They're strong buggers allright. Tylex is stronger, but ye'll be too busy crapping to notice.

Tylex is the business :)
    Every month I need Tylex and Difene to survive for a few days.

Tylex is the business :)
    Every month I need Tylex and Difene to survive for a few days.

...think I was on Difene (or something that sounds like it) when they put the plate in me head.

I tend to stay clear of the stuff after a week where I took it constantly after a minor surgery on my elbow, realised after the first week I was taking it cause I wanted to and not cause I was in pain anymore.

But I'm allergic to Ponstan so when the need arises, not much other than Solphadine or Nuerofen Plus for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Nurofen plus is the only job. I have fecked up my back once or twice and it's the only over the counter stuff that has any effect. I may try some difene though. Not the first time I have heard good things about it.

Remmy wrote: »
    Nurofen plus is the only job. I have fecked up my back once or twice and it's the only over the counter stuff that has any effect. I may try some difene though. Not the first time I have heard good things about it.

Not OTC AFAIK.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

jfallon wrote: »
    Try taking it with some Difene, Good Times!

Throw in some lucozade tablets and a cap of calpol and yer flyin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

Got addicated to those rubex vit C tablets..man was that a rough comedown..I used Kalms to help the comedown but got addicated to them as well...Luckly I found skittles where a good substitute and now Im down to 3-4 a day.. my life is a rollercoaster.These products are Legal in name only!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Kinda makes you realise just how ridiculously addictive opiates are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭weemcd

Really don't like painkillers and don't like taking them often, these sound a bit too moreish and I've an addictive personality at times so I'll stay well clear, stick to the green for my self medication:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Say dah agin an' il stab ya in de gouchh, awlrite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I read that the dosage in the stuff here (8mg or so?) is too weak to be a very effective pain killer but more than strong enough to be addictive. Not sure how true that is as I can't remember the source.

I always have a box to hand for bad days. I have a prescription for other drugs but they sometimes stop working for a bit so I end up necking anything with codeine in it to bridge the gap. It's really weak and for me it's a lot of paracetamol which I shouldn't be taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Sorcha16

The casual attitude to substance abuse on this thread is shocking. Just because you aren't shoving a needle through your arm doesn't mean you don't have a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Sorcha16 wrote: »
    The casual attitude to substance abuse on this thread is shocking. Just because you aren't shoving a needle through your arm doesn't mean you don't have a problem

How do you stand on alcohol as such a substance?

kowloon wrote: »

Like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Bollix!Took two Solphadine an hour ago for an earache and its actually gettin worse!

Try mixing it with some horse tranquelisers and cough medicine, that'll get ya going!

http://tinyurl.com/8cwzjvt

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Sorcha16

kowloon wrote: »

I don't particularly believe in abusing that either