Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Black woman set on fire by KKK

• 23-10-2012 12:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭

Holy Crap!!
    Twenty-year-old Sharmeka Moffitt (pictured) was reportedly set on fire by men as she walked on a park trail on Sunday night, according to KLTV.

Moffitt was reportedly walking in Civitan Park in Winnsboro, La., when she was allegedly attacked by three men who were wearing “white hoodies.” While authorities have resisted calling the incident a “hate crime,” they say that Moffitt’s car was spray painted with a number of racial slurs, which were not specified at press time.

http://newsone.com/2065117/sharmeka-moffitt-louisiana/

White hoodies is a bit ambiguous, but fcking animals!
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 961 ✭✭✭TEMPLAR KNIGHT

'Merica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Fucking hell.

I don't believe in the death penalty by any means, but some people don't deserve oxygen.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

MadsL wrote: »
    Holy Crap!!

http://newsone.com/2065117/sharmeka-moffitt-louisiana/

White hoodies is a bit ambiguous, but fcking animals!
    but not ambiguous enough for them to refer to the three as KKK?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Damn hoodies, giving the Klan a bad name

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

That's heinous. See if someone set them on fire and see how they'd like it.

KKkitty wrote: »
    ROFL

KK Kitty?

wtf????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

'Merica

L'merick :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭slarkin123

Thats shocking. I really can't understand what would be in someone's mind that would cause them to inflict such a horror on anybody.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

^^^^^^^ Dangerous username round these parts :eek:

RUN FFS, HIDE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

M'drid :rolleyes:

am i doing this right?

ArtSmart wrote: »
    ROFL

KK Kitty?

wtf????
    It wasn't me I swear. I was drinking my milk at the time after demolishing a bowl of whiskas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Black woman set on fire by KKK ?

FYP

It really says a lot about you that you automatically assume that these people are Caucasian members of the KKK when they could just have easily been a bunch of racist Latinos with matching white hoodies. Shame on you.....shaaaaaaammmeee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I wonder if she's related to Declan Moffitt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

brummytom wrote: »
    Fucking hell.

I don't believe in the death penalty by any means, but some people don't deserve oxygen.
    indeed,oxygen thievery shoud be a criminal offence,itd hopefuly clean up the keyboard wariors on the net.
    Dangerous username round these parts
    KKKity?
    perhaps the user has a tic or stammer and he was trying to calling himself kitty?
    he coud be a fan of the felines.

ROFL

KK Kitty?

wtf????

Talk about the worst time to have a stutter.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Scruffles wrote: »
    indeed,oxygen thievery shoud be a criminal offence,itd hopefuly clean up the keyboard wariors on the net.

KKKity?
    perhaps the user has a tic or stammer and he was trying to calling himself kitty?
    he coud be a fan of the felines.
    I'm a lady. I'm a fan of felines of the Kilkenny variety :)

slarkin123 wrote: »
    Thats shocking. I really can't understand what would be in someone's mind that would cause them to inflict such a horror on anybody.
    nothing about the source article encourages me to believe any part of this 'story'.

it might be true, but thus far, it's as true as green skinned Aliens landing in Dublin.

edit: LOL. I dont think i read an article with so many uses of 'allegedly' 'reported' 'speculated' etc before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

It could have been anyone, and done for any number of reasons.
    I don't see how it's being considered a kkk crime when they were wearing white hoodies.
    Sure the other day I was wearing a white hoody.
    Granted, I didn't happen to set anyone on fire!

I'm a lady. I'm a fan of felines of the Kilkenny variety :)
    Phew.

But man, what a coincidence!

Phew.

But man, what a coincidence!
    Now and again I like to throw the cat among the pigeons.

It really says a lot about you that you automatically assume that these people are Caucasian members of the KKK when they could just have easily been a bunch of racist Latinos with matching white hoodies. Shame on you.....shaaaaaaammmeee

I was quoting the link headline, I missed the question mark. Happy to have a mod insert the question mark.

On the other hand you just dissed 300 million people with your unoriginal 'Merica nonsense. Typical AH knee-jerk reaction. Not funny and completely pointless.
    automatically assume that these people are Caucasian members of the KKK

http://www.shreveporttimes.com/article/20121022/NEWS01/121022003/UPDATED-Authorities-confirm-KKK-drawn-on-burn-victim-s-vehicle-?odyssey=tab%7Cmostpopular%7Ctext%7CFRONTPAGE

Writing KKK on the cars is a bit of a giveaway no?

Where did I assume anything? What's all this shame crap?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

20 years of age my hoop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

M'drid :rolleyes:

am i doing this right?

I think you are.

K'erry.
    white hoodies

White hoodies or white hoods? The difference does matter.

Now and again I like to throw the cat among the pigeons.
    Hmmm.

pushing it now, you are

syklops wrote: »

for sure.

no bloody pockets in hoods.

I was quoting the link headline, I missed the question mark. Happy to have a mod insert the question mark.

On the other hand you just dissed 300 million people with your unoriginal 'Merica nonsense. Typical AH knee-jerk reaction. Not funny and completely pointless.

It's funny because its true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

It could have been anyone, and done for any number of reasons.
    I don't see how it's being considered a kkk crime when they were wearing white hoodies.
    Sure the other day I was wearing a white hoody.
    Granted, I didn't happen to set anyone on fire!

In fact if I was an Argentinian hit-man called Alberto Sanchez and I wanted to camouflage who killed my target would I not just put on a white a sheet and do the hit?

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Thomas20

And yet you have never thought to make a thread when a white person gets murdered/ beat up by POC's of course

It's funny because its true
    I'd tend to agree with you. The KKK possibly has members in other countries but the Americans always like to go one better. Everything is on a much bigger scale in the US.

In fact if I was an Argentinian hit-man called Alberto Sanchez and I wanted to camouflage who killed my target would I not just put on a white a sheet and do the hit?
    Yes. Yes you would.

*cough*

I'd tend to agree with you. The KKK possibly has members in other countries but the Americans always like to go one better. Everything is on a much bigger scale in the US.

True that homey

Homey? Is that what the cool kids are saying down the Midlands these days?

True that homey
    Just keepin' it real homey.

Homey? Is that what the cool kids are saying down the Midlands these days?
    yes. it's short for 'homeless'.

Guessing neither of you have ever set foot in the US, UL maybe but not US.

Your in the US?

Christ man, start reading the up market news papers/ news sites.

Else you'll be in a state of perpetual high anxiety. (and not the fun movie kind)

I've been in the US of A. United States of Awesomeness :D

Incorrect, assumptions fail you again....my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

yes. it's short for 'homeless'.

:eek: Is it?!
    God I'm thick!

Incorrect, assumptions fail you again....my friend.

I see they would't keep ya then. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

This paragraph sounds ridiculous.
    While the race of the men has not been officially confirmed, initial reports speculated that Moffitt was set on fire by the Ku Klux Klan, because she was wearing a President Barack Obama shirt. Monday afternoon, various media reports dispelled the Obama T-shirt rumor, but have not recanted that the men did indeed have white hoodies on during the attack.
    So she was attacked by the Ku Klux Klan because she was wearing a Barack Obama t-shirt and not because she was black?

The whole story sounds ridiculous really. When did the Ku Klux Klan swap their robes for hoodies?

It's terrible that this happened but it may well have just been a random attack by a bunch of scumbags. Journalists seem to think that bringing racism into something makes it more shocking, as if someone being set on fire isn't bad enough in itself.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Thomas20 wrote: »
    And yet you have never thought to make a thread when a white person gets murdered/ beat up by POC's of course

O'Connell's a tough player but I don't think he's ever actually murdered anyone.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

O'Connell's a tough player but I don't think he's ever actually murdered anyone.

D'ya think he'll be the kind to leave witnesses?

Seemingly there's a chance that she actually set herself on fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Yep, that's what they're saying at the moment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

That's what I thought from the start.There's been a few of these hoax racist attacks where it turns out the alleged victim set it up.There was a black girl in France in the 80's who claimed a bunch of skinheads forcibly shaved her head.A wheelchair bound girl in Germany who had a swastika carved into her forehead by skins and more recently a South American woman in Switzerland who said she was attacked by racists.It turned out in all cases that they'd made it up.God only knows why,probably mental issues or attention seeking.

:eek: Is it?!
    God I'm thick!
    Well that narrows you to the midlands alright.
    But do you live 'under the stars' as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

I think you are.

K'erry.

K'rry K'tona! You drop the vowel.

White hoodie = skanger/scobe

White hood = Caucasian gangsta