Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United v Braga | 19:45 | TV3 & ITV

• 23-10-2012 1:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭

BadgeManchester_United.pngf2m5a162ebpg8.pngQAskl.png

UEFA Champions League
    Tuesday 23rd October
    Old Trafford
    Kick Off: 19:45 BST

vXDYQ.png

TEAM NEWS

Manchester United: Rio Ferdinand and Patrice Evra will be rested for Manchester United's Champions League clash against Braga on Tuesday ahead of the Premier League match against Chelsea, manager Alex Ferguson said on Monday. Ferguson said he had resolved his dispute with Ferdinand who he accused of embarrassing him on Saturday after the defender failed to wear a t-shirt in support of an anti-racism campaign. Nemanja Vidić remains sidelined with a knee injury, but Ashley Young is back from knee injury.

Braga:
    Besides a collection of technically gifted and experienced midfielders in the shape of Hugo Viana, Ruben Micael and Alan, Peseiro will rely on the services of lanky striker Eder, already the club's top scorer in the league. Douglão, Djamal and Paulo César have all stayed in Portugal due to injury. Ismaily and Ruben Amorim faced fitness tests in Monday's training session, while Alan is a doubt after only recently returning from injury.

My prediction, 3-1 United!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Home win to send United into the second round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

De Geee
    ----Raf----Woot----JE----But
    --Nani---Fletch---Ando---Young
    Welbeck---Pea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

3-0 United

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

We're not very good against sides that have a 'B' in their name in Europe lately: Benfica, Basle, Barcelona, Bilbao.

All the same I'd expect no less than a 2-0. Anderson and Nani to score.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

I'd guess that the team will be:

De Gea
    Rafael Evans Wooton Buttner
    Fletcher Cleverly Anderson Giggs
    Kagawa
    Hernandez

Its Fergie though so who knows!

I aint even go try guess the team tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

Just no fecking injuries is all I ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Well done TV3....Probably the least interesting of the 3 ties involving British teams, unless for United fans of course. Chelsea away in Ukraine or Celtic in Barca are both more interesting to neutrals than United at home to a smallish Portuguese club IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Well done TV3....Probably the least interesting of the 3 ties involving British teams, unless for United fans of course. Chelsea away in Ukraine or Celtic in Barca are both more interesting to neutrals than United at home to a smallish Portuguese club IMO.

So bleedin what, United will bring in more viewers, so it doesn't matter what the "neutrals" want to see, it's all about the $$, and United will definitely bring in more dollar than either Chelsea or Celtic would.

You have the internet, watch whatever match you want there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

tumblr_lmeozbM3J11qa79d2.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I doubt TV3 are reading this thread.

Might be best to voice your concerns here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

@henrywinter: Michael Carrick at centre-back for #mufc tonight

Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

OFFICIAL

de Gea

Rafael
    Carrick
    Evans
    Buttner

Cleverley
    Fletcher
    Kagawa

Rooney
    Hernandez
    van Persie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

United -1 5/4 me thinks with that line up

@MarkSulliTV: #MUFC v Braga: De Gea, Rafael, Evans, Carrick, Buttner, Fletcher, Cleverley, Kagawa, Rooney, Hernandez, RVP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

United team vs Braga: De Gea, Rafael, Carrick, Evans, Buttner, Fletcher, Cleverley, Kagawa, Rooney, Hernandez, van Persie #mufc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    OFFICIAL

de Gea

Rafael
    Carrick
    Evans
    Buttner

Cleverley
    Fletcher
    Kagawa

Rooney
    Hernandez
    van Persie

thats suprising but very happy with that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Vertigo100 wrote: »
    @henrywinter: Michael Carrick at centre-back for #mufc tonight

Jesus wept.

Hardly a shock .

Disappointed no Anderson though

Wooton not even on the bench.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Very surprised to see both Rooney and Van Persie. Taking every opportunity to 'gel' I suppose.
    Looking forward to it now.

Subs:-

Johnstone, Ferdinand, Anderson, Giggs, Nani, Young & Welbeck.

Wonder if Wooton picked up an injury.

Really can't make out how they will even line out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

I doubt TV3 are reading this thread.

Might be best to voice your concerns here.

Dear TV3,

I love all your great, high quality programming. I love all your well adored staff such as Mark Cagney and Alan Cantwell. I loved your groundbreaking documentary series "The Truth About Travellers" and, yet, tonight I'm being forced to watch Manchester United Vs Braga amongst all your other great shows. Why is this the case? I and many other people on the interwebz think that you should lose the advertisement revenue and not display the game of Crapchester United.

PS Can you give me any numbers for those lovely traveller girls?

Thanks,
    theoneeyedman

No Lindegaard on the bench? Is he injured?

Great experience for young Sam Johnstone in any case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Lovely work on the match thread presentation OP!

Should be a straightforward win here. We'll probably be crap for the first half hour though like usual.

3-0 or 3-1 to united

Des wrote: »
    So bleedin what, United will bring in more viewers, so it doesn't matter what the "neutrals" want to see, it's all about the $$, and United will definitely bring in more dollar than either Chelsea or Celtic would.

Since ITV is an option for plenty I would've thought Barcelona and Celtic would've brought in more viewers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Really can't make out how they will even line out!

Diamond midfield formation with Rooney at the head and Fletcher at the base. Chica and rvp up top.

Rob Dawson ‏@RobDawsonMEN
    Anders Lindegaard out for a week with a hand injury, according to United.

Diamond midfield formation with Rooney at the head and Fletcher at the base. Chica and rvp up top.

Can see us more like this in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Can see us more like this in Europe.

team is too attack minded for it to work imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Since ITV is an option for plenty I would've thought Barcelona and Celtic would've brought in more viewers.
    Well TV3 don't send over outside broadcast teams. They use UTV's feed so their hands are tied with regards game selection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Did I just hear that Mick McCarthy and Brian Kerr are doing the commentary? Oh my

Surprisingly strong line up, Fergie definitely not taking any chances!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Good strong attack minded team,ITV lads on about the lack of width, surely Rafael and Buttner will both supply that when Utd have the ball,hopefully this game can be put to bed early and RVP and Rooney can be taken off and rested,great to see Chico starting as well I hope he gets himself a goal.

team is too attack minded for it to work imo

Depends on opposition and selection. But it wont be last time we see this in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Nice attacking line up for United. Im actually looking forward to this now.

Depends on opposition and selection. But it wont be last time we see this in Europe.

i thought your comment was one implying this will be the default which i think would be madness

lol, ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

fuk off

What is with us?!

The obsessives are coming!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

How surprising was that?

This is ridiculous. All the ****ing time