Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Inconsequential Things That Cause You Much Consternation

• 24-10-2012 10:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭

AKA Little Things That Piss You Off No End.

• Duck Face
    • CAPS LOCK
    • Small cutlery
    • Unread emails
    • Business buzz words
    • The sound of flip-flops
    • People who read out loud
    • [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]ATM Machine or PIN Number [/FONT]
    • Volume control set at odd numbers
    • 2day; B4, etc. English not Bingo please
    • People who don't close doors completely
    • Old women who smell like they had a bath in their perfume
    • People who talk on the phone with it 4 inches from their face
    • [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Cashiers who gives you change with the coins on top of the notes[/FONT]
    • Thread titles on boards that do not have a capital letter in every word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Thread titles that capitalise every word.

Why MCMLXXV, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

People that call an ATM a Pass Machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

The volume control on odd numbers wrecks my OH's head for some reason, this is why when I have the remote I stick it on 21.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

People who are unable to close a door
    Dirty fingernails
    Text speak
    The constant premier league updates on the news, (i don't care)
    Warm cans of beer
    People giving out about the weather, (put on a coat, or move to Spain)
    Guinness farts
    Young lads with tracksuit tucked into white socks
    Constant complaining about "de gubberment"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

This is basically just a rehash of 'those little things' in ranting and raving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

People who take ages at the ATM. People who walk very slowly or stop completely at pedestrian infrastructure bottlenecks (doorways, after stepping off escalators, narrow streets).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

MCMLXXV wrote: »

• Duck Face
    • CAPS LOCK
    • Small cutlery
    • Unread emails
    • Business buzz words
    • [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Cashiers who gives you change with the coins on top of the notes[/FONT]

The sloping asymmetry of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

Yer all easily annoyed is what I say.

Aw I love the consistent ascending length of your bullet points. Very pretty.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

people not indicating on roundabouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

People who derail a good conversation by mentioning something not the least bit relevant to the topic. Hence entire conversation ruined by a pr*ck who didnt have the attention span to keep up.

By that same token, people with no inner monologue, they have to blurt out anything that pops into their head. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

People who walk too slowly. Especially the ones who can inexplicably take up an entire footpath by veering or swaying from side-to-side, in perfect sync with your efforts to get past them, forcing you to step out into traffic to overtake.

FatherLen wrote: »
    people not indicating on roundabouts.

But that could have consequence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

People who don't know about the Ranting & Raving forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

Incorrect pronunciation.

People who smell.

Making tea to discover there's no milk.

Taxis that take ages.

When someone texts/rings you, and you ring them as soon as you get the message/missed call and they dont answer.

Little Britain.

Bad dressers (fat people who are spilling out everywhere) Dress for your shape!!!

People my age who call me Pet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Micra drivers

girl2 wrote: »
    Yer all easily annoyed is what I say.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

People not stacking the dishwasher in a logical way. It's like tetris, but with dishes.

Yamanoto wrote: »

^^^^ that stupid smilie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

People who say 'English, not Bingo' when bingo doesn't have letters. B4 would be battleships, or a map or something. 2Day would be German battleships, but not bingo.

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭msbrobe

Incorrect pronunciation.

When someone texts/rings you, and you ring them as soon as you get the message/missed call and they dont answer.

^^^^^This:(

When my driver doesnt open my door for me, especially when my hands are full with my ivory cane and my platinum-plated briefcase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

The mass consternation that silly inconsequential things seem to precipitate.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

People sticking their hands or feet out of car windows. No idea why it annoys me so much.

I used to do that, my folks would always tell me i'd lose my hand if i kept it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

People who stand in front of stairs
    Hm

GET OUT OF THE ****ING WAY! YOU KNOBJOCKEY!!!!!

LizT wrote: »
    ^^^^ that stupid smilie.

Now with added Grrrr :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭deisebibo

Being in a queue, and someone behind you invading your personal space, practically "wearing" your clothes, FREAKS ME OUT

Yamanoto wrote: »

Now with added Grrrr :mad:

Wasn't a dig at you btw, just couldn't remember how to do that smilie on mobile :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

People who wear them croc yokes on their feet.
    Running out of fags.
    Having a full box of fags and not having a lighter.
    Losing money.
    Rainy days
    Crap music
    Nakers who smoke silk cut silver or purple.
    Nackers who act like their African american gangsters.
    Nackers in general.
    The government.
    The Moon walk.
    All the hype of that fella jumping from space. (Like jaysus, get over it!)
    When I stay in the shower for too long and my hands go wrinkly.
    Bad drivers.
    Halloween. (The most pointless thing ever!)
    Blown bulbs.
    Sour milk.
    Voting
    People who call me and the let it ring for a second, hoping I will call them back.
    Call me's.
    Stupid MEMEs
    Paper cuts.
    Cats.
    Rats.
    Stupid looking hats.
    The sound of a hoover.
    The sound of someone chewing loud.
    When I have tooth paste/yoghurt on my jeans and people look at me like if its jizz.
    Flowers.
    Maths.
    Welcome mats.
    Hippy's.
    The RTE News. (unless there is a hot woman on it.)
    The RTE Weather. (Unless there is a hot woman on it.)
    Ear to the ground
    Nationwide.
    Fat wimman, who think their sexy.
    Argos.
    Signs.
    Potholes.
    Mustard.
    Red sauce.
    Mass.
    Them covers that go on a mattress, that makes the bed look like its wearing a skirt.
    IKEA.
    Internet explorer.
    Apples.
    Tomatoes.
    Bananas.
    The people who spend their life on FACEBOOK, just looking for news.
    People talking to themselves.
    People who walk slow.
    People who beg for fags.
    Double glazed windows.

That's all I can think of the top of my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

people who facebook on friends pages stuff that you would send in a txt or if you have no credit private message just to let everyone else know they're going out that night drinking or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

When people don't put things in their right place.
    That's how things get lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

deisebibo wrote: »
    Being in a queue, and someone behind you invading your personal space, practically "wearing" your clothes, FREAKS ME OUT

yeah, I hate those "Space Invaders" too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Better that than the smell lurking underneath!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 558 ✭✭✭OurLadyofKnock

British soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭DeltaWhite

Tactless people
    Harvey Norman
    People being late
    Creepy pervy old men
    Insufficient funds message
    People who cant make a decent cup of tea
    Flip flop wearers that also wear socks?? Why? WHY?
    Those people that fundraise for Charities in town and hound/harrass you
    Really common girls that have faces like slapped @rses - be happy in life
    That Bible Basher fella that's usually near the GPO in town - he's a crackpot
    People who walk too slow - if you cant keep up with my pins get the f*ck outta the way :D

Ps.. had to keep in line with the symmetry (little bit of an OCD victim so I like when stuff looks symmetrical)

Tv and radio ads - all of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Badly folded newspapers get on my tits in a big way

British soccer.

You know, I could never really picture you playing soccer. You seem to be more of a badminton fanatic. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

DeltaWhite wrote: »
    Tactless people
    Harvey Norman
    People being late
    Creepy pervy old men
    People who walk too slow - if you cant keep up with my pins get the f*ck outta the way :D

Ps.. had to keep in line with the symmetry (little bit of an OCD victim so I like when stuff looks symmetrical)

FYP.

Funglegunk wrote: »
    FYP.

Haha thank you looks even better :D

DeltaWhite wrote: »
    Tactless people
    Harvey Norman
    People being late
    Creepy pervy old men

Not to be an ass, but there's nothing symmetrical about your post.

I'm completely with op on the symmetry thing.
    I LOVE symmetry.
    Everything must be symmetrical.
    If it's not, I feel twitchy and have to put it right.

Funglegunk wrote: »
    FYP.

Now we're talking.

• Duck Face
    • CAPS LOCK
    • Small cutlery
    • Unread emails
    • Business buzz words
    Not to be an ass, but there's nothing symmetrical about your post.

Refer to how OP looks.. symmetrical is the wrong word! My bad :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

"Unexpected item in bagging area"

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭SEANoftheDEAD

The Moon walk.
    Voting
    Flowers.
    Welcome mats.
    Signs.

Everything else I can understand but these I can't get my head around...

The Moon walk. - It looks so stupid, your moving back, but it looks like you moving forward.

Voting - Such bother for nothing.

Flowers. - Ugly smelly things. :mad:
    Welcome mats. - What is the point!?
    Signs. - Nothing can tell me what to do. ie. don't walk on the grass, I will if I wish! :mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭SEANoftheDEAD

The Moon walk. - It looks so stupid, your moving back, but it looks like you moving forward.

Voting - Such bother for nothing.

Flowers. - Ugly smelly things. :mad:
    Welcome mats. - What is the point!?
    Signs. - Nothing can tell me what to do. ie. don't walk on the grass, I will if I wish! :mad::mad:

You know what, now I don't like signs!!!!! I'm gonna find one later that say's don't walk on the grass and I'm gonna do it!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Have noticed people mentioning those that cannot/will not close a door properly.

This is a real phenomenon. I live in an apartment so when someone calls i buzz them in, leave the door ajar and go into the sitting room. The amount of people i have had to ask to go back out and shut the door is unreal. A lot of people walk out the front door without closing it too :confused:

Anyways as i suffer from a highly delicate door fetish i love going back out and ramming a finger in the lock as i push it out.