Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Is "like" an Irish thing AND an American thing?

• 24-10-2012 12:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

I could be wrong but I think using "like" as a comma or a word to finish off sentences is both an Irish thing and also an American thing.

I know their or certain people that use it in an American fashion, e.g. "and he was all, like, 'yore ma' and stuff".

But isn't there a more Irish way of using it also e.g., "so what's the craic like"? An Californian would say, "so what's the, like, craic?" (If they use the word "craic").

So when did this Irish type use begin or is it all just an Americanism?

I reckon the D4/Americanised accent originates from the popularity of Friends.

What say you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,640 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Tis neither bai..tis a Caaark thing like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

It's just a fucking annoying thing, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I'm like whatever

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

It defintely pre-dates "Friends". Myself and my geek pals were using it in the early 80s - from reading the adventures of DR and Quinch from Mr Alan Moore, curtesy of 2000AD, like.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Some Americans say 'like', some say that they 'don't like' like, it's probably a like for like thing 'like', if you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

.......and an Australian thing, and an English thing, and a Kiwi thing, and a Canadian thing.......

al28283 wrote: »
    .......and an Australian thing, and an English thing, and a Kiwi thing, and a Canadian thing.......

OMG, it's so like, y'know, a language thing and it's all over the place and yet, sooo many people are, like, pissed about it, innit :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

It depends on the person!

I never use it tbh like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Tis an old English word my good friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

"Like you know,what........ever"" *cool kids stare back at Lisa*

"Like you know, What ever!" *Lisa is accepted in by the cool kids"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

The first time I ever noticed anyone saying it on the reg, was definitely Shaggy from Scooby Doo when I was a kid in the 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

This thread will mos def get annoying with the word "like" being over emphasised :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

It's an American thing the Irish stole.

PrettyBoy wrote: »

Dunno, am sure it was a scouse thing, like. Did you never watch our Terry in Brookside, la?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

I thought the Irish put 'like' after the adjective and the Americans before.

That's, like, bullshit!

That's bullshit like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The whole D4 accent is a contrived affectation from private schooled kids who want to sound American.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

old hippy wrote: »
    It defintely pre-dates "Friends". Myself and my geek pals were using it in the early 80s - from reading the adventures of DR and Quinch from Mr Alan Moore, curtesy of 2000AD, like.:)

Old Hippy is old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

Can't we just say that it's a thing then?

Change thread title to "Is 'Like' a thing?"
    In fact your answer would then be no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,640 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

a Canadian thing.......

Hey guy, whats this all aboot like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

Blay wrote: »
    Hey guy, whats this all aboot like?

Eh?

• Funglegunk wrote: »
    I thought the Irish put 'like' after the adjective and the Americans before.

That's, like, bullshit!

That's bullshit like!

Exactly. I think of 'like' after the adjective as an Irish/culchie thing - before the adjective is more American/D4.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

You're all c*nts. Except the people who gave constructive or funny replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Welcome to 1982 OP.

Welcome to 12:50, Rented Mule ;)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=81401690&postcount=13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭maninasia

How 'bout ya like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

It's loike omg sooo Ross O'Carroll-Kelly loike. Points of Hoino and 20 marlboro loights, loike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

PrettyBoy wrote: »

Not quite true. It's a Cork thing, that made it to America, via Cobh survivors of the Titanic, became Americanised, and is being fed back to us via shite American TV shows. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

That doesn't really answer the f*cking question does it?

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

And she was, like....Oh. My God!
    And then I was, like......Oh. MY God!

And then they were, like.....OH MY GOD!

:mad:

Old Hippy is old.

Clue is in the moniker, like :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

You're all c*nts. Except the people who gave constructive or funny replies.

Best post of the day.
    BLJ
    'Belly Laugh Job'