Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LOI: League of Ireland Fixtures (Week 33), Oct 26, 2012

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

The off-season approaches..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Should be a handy three points for the champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

dfx- wrote: »
    The off-season approaches..

:( It's a love hate situation! A break for LoI plus saving money but missing the matches and the pints!

UCD away, not too far away, but not too close, does the job nicely! Not hopeful tbh, supposedly the exodus has begun already! :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Least we go to the last game with something to play for. Doubt we will finish 2nd but must get something to ensure 3rd.

Possible Rovers could catch us, Cork played very well vs us in Richmond this season kinda hoping they not arsed morrow night :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

but missing the matches and the pints!

Pints without going to watch the Reds just don't taste as good. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Pints without going to watch the Reds just don't taste as good. :(

The pints in Tolka are muck. ;)

evad_lhorg wrote: »
    They're just trying to blend into their surroundings.

evad_lhorg wrote: »

New Manager involved now, they're tasting better already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Hard to know what Dundalk should do for tomorrow evenings game against Bray. Play a strong team, try and win and get some confidence going for Tuesday nights playoff games or play a weakened team get stuffed again and keep all our big names fresh for playoffs.

Few of our best players haven't played in a couple of weeks either so manager has to decide whether to give them some game time or wrap them up in cotton wool.

Have a feeling he'll play a relatively strong team but keep Griffin, Foran and Mountney on the bench with a view to giving them twenty minutes at the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Sad to see such a memorable season end :( hopefully we'll do the job tomorrow and Pats will do us a favour ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

New Manager involved now, they're tasting better already.

Bar was practically drank dry the night of the Cork match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Where do Shels lads drink before games?

Kennedys pub has seen some of my cash down the years particular after final game last season. Twas a great lock up so twas.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Win would see us get at least 6th. Lowest we can finish is 8th. Great considering our exceptions at the start of the season.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Win would see us get at least 6th. Lowest we can finish is 8th. Great considering our exceptions at the start of the season.

We could be 2nd 3rd or 4th :confused:

We'll be 1st. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

dreamers75 wrote: »
    We could be 2nd 3rd or 4th :confused:

He supports Bohs...

Ebbs wrote: »
    He supports Bohs...

really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

AgileMyth wrote: »
    We'll be 1st. :D
    We'll be in europe with you :D

In the mickey mouse competition obviously :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

dan1895 wrote: »
    The beer was grand on that night, sure - but he did have to get the kegs from another pub.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Mushy, gimme a shout if you're heading to Belfield tomorrow. I'll be heading straight from work so I may be slightly late.

Thoroughly enjoyed my first season of LOI live games.

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    We'll be in europe with you :D

In the mickey mouse competition obviously :D
    Delighted ye will be.

Love Drogheda supporters. Always in good form up here, always welcoming when we're down there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Kennedys pub has seen some of my cash down the years particular after final game last season. Twas a great lock up so twas.

If I'm having pints pre match usually have a few in Fagan's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,500 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Mushy, gimme a shout if you're heading to Belfield tomorrow. I'll be heading straight from work so I may be slightly late.

Thoroughly enjoyed my first season of LOI live games.

Yeah I'm definitely heading in, send me a text cost my phone is acting the bollix!

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭sheao

Least we go to the last game with something to play for. Doubt we will finish 2nd but must get something to ensure 3rd.

Possible Rovers could catch us, Cork played very well vs us in Richmond this season kinda hoping they not arsed morrow night :pac:

Id hope they are'nt like that tonight, because if we win we can still make the Setanta Cup.

Buzzing for tonight, always like final day of the season games in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Round two.. fight!

Second leg of the playoff tonight vs Waterford.
    Really need to score first and score early to have any hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Do Pats sell student tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Paz-CCFC wrote: »

yup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭kksaints

Paz-CCFC wrote: »

Yeah €10.

dan1895 wrote: »

A combo of Germans there from 6, and the meeting on from 5 doens't go well, said Jons pockets were full though!

Depends, few different spots that fans go to.
    Round two.. fight!

Second leg of the playoff tonight vs Waterford.
    Really need to score first and score early to have any hope.

Many from Longford be making the trip down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

A combo of Germans there from 6, and the meeting on from 5 doens't go well, said Jons pockets were full though!

Depends, few different spots that fans go to.

Many from Longford be making the trip down?

Should hopefully be around 150+ Two buses apparently and a lot driving.

Hoping to get down myself if I can escape work and escape Dublin before 4pm, roadworks on the M9 as well which wont help.

Should hopefully be around 150+ Two buses apparently and a lot driving.

Hoping to get down myself if I can escape work and escape Dublin before 4pm, roadworks on the M9 as well which wont help.

Good to hear.

Seen Mark Salmon not too long ago in his Longford gear, must be running a bit late to get down there.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,379 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Going to be a long night tonight.. :D

Looking forward to the guard of honour as much as anything else.

Hopefully Pigg gets and misses a penalty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Tonight is one night I'm definitely thick that my brothers won't let me go to Sligo games with them :p Even though the game isn't going the way I'd want right now haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,500 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Stephen Kenny in UCD tonight

Meh...Least we finish ahead of Bohs and Shels:o

It's the best finish in your history ;)

Bit rich coming from the club you support:D

Only paying a compliment - you seemed to think it was a bad year finishing mid-table. :eek: :D

The club I support had probably the most remarkable achievement in our 49 years in the LOI, considering our budget its a better achievement than winning the league in 2007.

Only paying a compliment - you seemed to think it was a bad year finishing mid-table. :eek: :D

The club I support had probably the most remarkable achievement in our 49 years in the LOI, considering our budget its a better achievement than winning the league in 2007.

Ya to me Cooke is manager of the year. Really felt you would struggle this season.

Impressive way to finish the season in Dalymount too.

****ing aertel

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/desktopxhtml/236-2.html

P W D L F A Pts
    Sligo Rvrs 30 17 10 3 53 23 61
    Drogheda U 30 17 6 7 51 36 57
    St. Patrick's Athletic 30 15 10 5 44 22 55
    Shamrock R 30 14 10 6 56 37 52
    Derry City 30 11 6 13 36 36 39
    Cork City 30 8 12 10 38 36 36
    Bohemian 30 9 9 12 35 38 36
    Shelbourne 30 9 8 13 35 43 35
    UCD 30 8 7 15 32 48 31
    Bray Wndrs 30 5 10 15 33 54 25
    Dundalk 30 4 8 18 23 63 20

Deserved to beat Cork tonight we were up for it but they defended well or we didnt attack more...

Happy enough in general with our season, came 1 place ahead of where i thought we would finish.

Looking back at our formulative games and thinking "if we won those we would be champions" isnt helping but 1st season together only teams we didnt beat finished ahead of us so cant complain about that really.

plus we played some super football, most of the team plus some possibly better players want to sign for us. Looking forward to next season.

Oh and a poxy cup game next week :rolleyes::(:pac::D

Ya to me Cooke is manager of the year. Really felt you would struggle this season.

Impressive way to finish the season in Dalymount too.
    Said yesterday that with no players in the team of the season it has to be down to the manager and the workrate and commitment of the players.
    No prima donnas in the Drogs team, unlike in 2007.

"if we won those we would be champions"
    I still can't believe the match in Inchicore after you came back from Europe when your 2 goalkeepers gifted goals to the Drogs. We finished ahead of Pats because you didn't score 1 goal against us in the league.
    Oh - and a poxy flukey goal in the 89th minute of the cup replay:D

I still can't believe the match in Inchicore after you came back from Europe when your 2 goalkeepers gifted goals to the Drogs. We finished ahead of Pats because you didn't score 1 goal against us in the league.
    Oh - and a poxy flukey goal in the 89th minute of the cup replay:D

You finished ahead of us cos you are hard to beat, we missed a peno in Sligo in the last minute....missed penos all over the place....

We didnt beat Drogs in the league or Sligo....other than Sligo away 1st time dont think we deserved to win any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Not happy with 3rd. Our football deserved better. But if we win a trophy next week all will be forgiven :)

Will drag up the LOI prediction thread next week :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,276 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

P W D L F A Pts
    Sligo Rvrs 30 17 10 3 53 23 61
    Drogheda U 30 17 6 7 51 36 57
    St. Pat's 30 15 10 5 44 22 55
    Shamrock R 30 14 10 6 56 37 52
    Derry City 30 11 6 13 36 36 39
    Cork City 30 8 12 10 38 36 36
    Bohemian 30 9 9 12 35 38 36
    Shelbourne 30 9 8 13 35 43 35
    UCD 30 8 7 15 32 48 31
    Bray Wndrs 30 5 10 15 33 54 25
    Dundalk 30 4 8 18 23 63 20

So, we have a league table that's worth looking at.

Happy enough with that:D

Hopefully City will be a place or two higher next year

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Christ we were awful tonight, Drogs just had to kick the ball at our defence and it looked like going in, could have been an absolute mauling if not for some poor finishing from Drogs, including missing a wide open goal from 6 yards under no pressure :p

Happy with 7th place though :)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Christ we were awful tonight, Drogs just had to kick the ball at our defence and it looked like going in, could have been an absolute mauling if not for some poor finishing from Drogs, including missing a wide open goal from 6 yards under no pressure :p
    Happy with 7th place though :)
    Just be glad Gavin Brennan, Fabio and Peter Hynes weren't playing or it may have been.

At teh start of the season, that **** would be laughed at.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Should be a handy three points for the champions.

Hope the rest of the night goes more to plan