Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Paddy appreciation thread.

• 25-10-2012 10:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭

What the hell is an MySQL update?

And who gets up at 7am on a Sunday morning?

Some questions may never be answered. What's yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Ah, ya know yer man, Paddy.. yeah him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Shorthand for "my squirrel" - the whole internet is run on squirrel power - every now and then they have to change the squirrel. Nuts, I know. Paddy is one of Irelands foremost squirrel wranglers, a legend in certain circles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Larianne wrote: »

Get back to your studying, girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Larianne wrote: »

Hes Daves mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

it's Saint Patrick ye disrespectful little bollox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Its all one big con to make us want to use the site at the precise moment they take it down just to piss us off. There's no such thing as a mysql, that aint even a word ffs. How dumb do they think we are ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

Paddy paddy who the fcuk is paddy? He lives next door to Alice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Paddy is one of the poor unfortunate fcukers that works to keep the boards hamsters alive. The update is to clean the cages out and change the hamsters wheels. Simples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Boards.ie: Danny

Ah come on, it's Paddy

Get back to your studying, girl.

I'm sick!! Hence why I'm hanging around AH. :pac:
    Hes Daves mate.

Paddy is always friends with Dave.

Ah come on, it's Paddy

I dont like the look of his friends. I think he's being led astray by a bad crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...what will paddy do when the update ****s up?

(a)Cry
    (b)Cry, **** himself and tear his hair out
    (c)Run, ditching his phone at the scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,195 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

My squeal. As in "squeal like a pig".

He just might be getting paid to get up at 7 a.m. on a Sunday morning (to ban you!).

What was before 'The Big Bang'?

MarkMc wrote: »
    Paddy is one of the poor unfortunate fcukers that works to keep the boards hamsters alive. The update is to clean the cages out and change the hamsters wheels. Simples
    Hamsters were too slow, Boards made the big switch to squirrels a year ago, feckin keep up.

Can someone there at Boards HQ take a pic of the veins in Paddy's head and the fear in his eyes around a half an hour after the site was supposed to be back up ?

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭breadmonster

Who the f*ck is Paddy?

Its a derogatory name for an irish person

MySQL is a database.
    SQL is a Structured query language
    MySQL update is a query run on a MYSQL database

People who were not out partying on a saturday night

Ah come on, it's Paddy

I reckon that bloke needs a holiday. According to his post history, the last 7 threads he started were:

"Test"
    "Ghffjh"
    "Blah"
    "sdfsdfsdf"
    "Test"
    "sdfsdfsdf"

and

"sdfsdfsdf"

Reminds me a bit of "The Shining".

Ah come on, it's Paddy

Eh, that's what I said!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

MarkMc wrote: »

I thought it was squirrels??
    Or do the hamsters have to update the squirrels to keep them alive?

MySQL is a database.

Wut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Pottler wrote: »
    Hamsters were too slow, Boards made the big switch to squirrels a year ago, feckin keep up.

Thats it, I quit. I'm sciurophobic, I can't deal with this sh*t. Nobody ever tells me anything :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Hi guys I'm Paddy!!!

And I'll fight any fcukin man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

No idea, its your SQL!

I do, when I'm starting work at 8am

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

SQL = Structured Query Language.

It's a database design system for storing information.

irish-stew wrote: »
    I do, when I'm starting work at 8am

:p

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

who gets up at 7am on a Sunday morning?

Not only does Paddy get up at 7am, but he's obviously a failed serial killer who hadn't the stomach for the job. Skulking in the shadows of the server room, he immersed himself in and found a love for the working innards of IT and programming. Cleaner and a lot less messy than a human cadaver, Paddy knew there was no going back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Boards.ie: Danny

MySQL is a database.

Oh no, it's a little bit more than that. This update is an actual server software update. Our 3 database servers are all running different versions of mySQL. So by the end of Sunday morning we're going to be running the same version on all our servers will be awesome.

Estimated downtime window is 1 hour from 7-8am. I suspect there won't be much alcohol consumed on Saturday night, it's not the thing you should do when hungover.

7am Sunday is just about when I'll be falling in the door looking like a zombie. I'll be in fancy dress aswell.

Bitta down time would prevent drunk posting. Keep up the good work paddy.

Oh no, it's a little bit more than that. This update is an actual server software update. Our 3 database servers are all running different versions of mySQL. So by the end of Sunday morning we're going to be running the same version on all our servers will be awesome.

I look like your avatar after reading that.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭breadmonster

Estimated downtime window is 1 hour from 7-8am. I suspect there won't be much alcohol consumed on Saturday night, it's not the thing you should do when hungover.

downtime:eek: Pretty bad setup your running there danny

Chinese?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

If you know the answers to that Ted, you're fücked. The second question is why most of boards doesn't give a shyte. Grateful, but let's face it, most of boards will be either sleeping off a hangover or in my case, fiddling with himself while he sleeps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Funny that - I look like Whoopsie's avatar at the moment.

Chinese?

Yes. I am in fact now a Chinese man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

I hope Paddy dosn't forget about the clock change, otherwise he will be an hour early

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Funny that - I look like Whoopsie's avatar at the moment.

Yellow and dressed in leather??
    Pics or....well you know the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Abi wrote: »
    If you know the answers to that Ted, you're fücked. The second question is why most of boards doesn't give a shyte. Grateful, but let's face it, most of boards will be either sleeping off a hangover or in my case, fiddling with himself while he sleeps.

Sounds a bit like my plan for this sunday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

We love you Paddy we do.
    Oh Paddy we love you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Insert Dinosaur meme:

Is a database update...

..a SQL?

What I really wanna know is how it takes a full hour to change a feckin squirrel. I've seen it done in ten minutes flat, out at Intel, but they did have some seriously tasty nibbles to tempt the old one out with. And leather gloves. I believe paddy still uses the bare-handed method.Pfffft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

Remmy wrote: »
    Hi guys I'm Paddy!!!

And I'll fight any fcukin man.

oh my god.my boyfriend drives me insane saying that in that stupid voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

We should get this thread stickied to show our appreciation for Paddy! ;)

such a nice sticky, full of love and togetherness and squirrels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

You see? I understand a mans needs, he just doesn't know it yet at 7am :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

You are fiddling with her man as well:eek:

phasers wrote: »
    such a nice sticky, full of love and togetherness and squirrels

After five years on Boards, 20,000 posts and over 300 threads, I finally get a sticky.

Is he hawt?

After five years on Boards, 20,000 posts and over 300 threads, I finally get a sticky.
    How does immortality feel?