Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

best place to learn c++

Options
  • 26-10-2012 10:00pm
    Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭

hi folks,could anyone recommend a course provider in the midwest region for learning c++??i would also consider an online course but something with an award/cert would be better imo.bearing in mind i have no previous experience of programming,however i need same for a job that i have a very good chance of getting,any ideas??

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

bearing in mind i have no previous experience of programming[/QyUOTE]

I would say forget C++ then. It's a difficult language for most programmers. You really need to know what you are doing to get anywhere with it.

It's not really comparable to Java or C# programming.

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭daludo

what would be a good language to start with??

• Registered Users Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

daludo wrote: »
    what would be a good language to start with??

C#, Java, Vb.net

As previously mentioned c++ is a nightmare compared to the above.

What sort of development are you looking to get involved in? Web based, pc applications, mobile apps?

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭daludo

to be honest the job im a shoe in for is more engineering/manufacturing orientated and c++ is the language used there.i really just need to understand the basics as its not the most vital part of the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 898 ✭✭✭OREGATO

daludo wrote: »