Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

I trane UFC.....any muppets say that on nights out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Why so? Enlighten us :rolleyes:

I just find conversations about UFC utterly boring, inane. There's something cheap about the whole sport.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

I just find conversations about UFC utterly boring, inane. There's something cheap about the whole sport.

Jaysus you must hate the GAA so.

I love how so many people hate the sport yet don't know why. Usually because they've never watched a fight and have no interest in it at all...yet they still hate it. Daily Mail readers the lot of them i bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

Then why would you click into a thread about UFC, just to post about finding it boring people discussing UFC... :confused:

UFC isn't a sport btw, it's an organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Funny enuff a lad said this to Me Last night
    He pulled out of My costume so I took it off and said you got a fcukin problem
    And he backed off and his mate said ah I wouldn't mess with him he does UFC
    I said if he does UFC then why the **** did he back down like a little bitch
    At this point was pretty drunk and couldn't care who he was
    Was actually funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Cill94

woodoo wrote: »
    I watched back the Lesner v Overreem fight. It was Brocks first fight back in 18 months after having trouble with diverticulitis, i think he may even have had part of his colon removed. And what did Overeem do in that fight.. he went straight for his abdominal area, knees kicks constantly targeting his intestines. That is hardly sport.

Brock left his midsection exposed and Overeem capitalised on it. If his colon was still vulnerable then he shouldn't have fought in the first place.

For ****'s sake. The sport is not UFC, it's MMA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Why so? Enlighten us :rolleyes:

I want to put my head through a window when people hate something they know nothing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

T-K-O wrote: »

I want to put my head through a window when people hate something they know nothing about.

What if it's perspex? Or even a glass block wall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Red Hand wrote: »
    What if it's perspex? Or even a glass block wall?

I live in a tent

• Registered Users Posts: 11,973 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

In relation to OP question. Just cause you wear a GAA, Football or Rugby Jersey does that make you good at those respective Sports? No it does not.

Well shit, there go my plans of buying a Red Bull Racing jacket. :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Btw most lads who are serious about their training cringe at the idea of wearing Tapout, Affliction, Bad Boy etc... Most fan boys love the sh*t.

I don't think that's a fair statement. They make nice clothes. In fact, I'm wearing a tapout t shirt right now and I practiced karate and wing tsun (yea it's not mma but its martial arts).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭CZ 453

I have a black belt in karaoke.Don't mess with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

shezer wrote: »
    I have a black belt in karaoke.Don't mess with me

I challenge you to Sweet Child O' Mine! Let the games begin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I'm highly trained to run away very fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

kowloon wrote: »

I challenge you to Sweet Child O' Mine! Let the games begin.
    'Mortal combat theme starts'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

do u even lift?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭CZ 453

I challenge you to a duel at Hungry Hippos

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Baftycrastard

If you really want to sound hard, say you're a rugby player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Tbf people who do UFC, MMA?, could explain why it's not such a brutal, pain glorifying sport and how it's a tactical sport that, if your skilled, is as safe as any other.

I'm not being snarky. It's just an actor I like, not going to mention his name because I will sound like a douche, said how Kickboxing should be made Olympic, but people who didn't practice wouldn't see the skill and tactics. So, if there's a case it should hold up:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

I like the fact that fans wear clothing of their favorite sports. Not necessarily UFC as they make enough money to look after themselves but I'd buy and wear an 'official' Katie Taylor t-shirt as you can be fairly sure some of the money would go towards letting her continue to train and represent Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

Peetrik wrote: »
    I like the fact that fans wear clothing of their favorite sports. Not necessarily UFC as they make enough money to look after themselves but I'd buy and wear an 'official' Katie Taylor t-shirt as you can be fairly sure some of the money would go towards letting her continue to train and represent Ireland.
    But she's doing that anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

shezer wrote: »
    I challenge you to a duel at Hungry Hippos

Buckaroo is the choice of real men.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

kowloon wrote: »
    Buckaroo is the choice of real men.
    Buckaroo the sport of kings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Obviously never played perfection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Cill94 wrote: »
    For ****'s sake. The sport is not UFC, it's MMA!

The people posting that hoover their sitting room listening to their I pod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Mma can be great to watch, can also be dull as fook but to claim it's not brutal and animalistic is just silly. If they removed the striking on the ground it would probably look a lot more civilised but then they'd lose a lot of their bloodlusting fan base.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

MadsL wrote: »
    Hate to say it lads, but watching it on TV, it seems like aggressive cuddling to me.
    To me mma is to gay porn to what those late night movies on the old bravo channel is to regular porn. I don't get the appeal at all. I would put regular wrestling above it. And anyone who disagrees is wrong

I'm sorry you owe me a new PC screen, I'm after spitting my cereal out at that post.

MMA is gay porn but wrestling is above it, dear me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

anything that involves two grown ass men rolling around the ground and sweating all over each other cant really be classed as an 'art of fighting' in fairness.especially the ones that roar outside a nightclub that 'gays are f*gs' and such sh!te.ive nothing against gays but that ****s just hypocritical!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

People saying it's gay wrestling etc... Have you actually been in or seen any fights? Wrestling is what fighting looks like, sure even boxers wrestle with each other during boxing matches!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ush1 wrote: »
    People saying it's gay wrestling etc... Have you actually been in or seen any fights? Wrestling is what fighting looks like, sure even boxers wrestle with each other during boxing matches!

...wasting your breath here, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

WTF is UFC? But to be on the safe side I think I trane as well :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Dean09 wrote: »
    Yet again, another ignorant, uneducated post.
    I'm not telling you to sign the kids up. Do whatever you want. But maybe you should do a bit of research into what's actually involved in the sport before you make some stupid accusations and bash the sport, based on probably the 2 minutes of it that you've actually watched and the countless hours you spend listening to Joe Duffy type idiots ramble on about something they know nothing about.
    There was a big thread on it in AH a few weeks back. Look it up and give it a read.

There is nothing more annoying than people trying to justify this playground pikey nonsense as an actual sport. Boxing is an art, UFC fight nights are like some sort of scobe magnet (although the fact it has crossed to the mainstream in the last four or so years is a bit baffling). It is a woeful "sport" that until four odd years ago had little audience beyond burberry wearing little gyppo scrotes.

Ridiculous uneducated post.

Explain to us how it is not a sport.

MMA incorporates boxing so you're contradicting yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

If darts is a sport then mma is a sport.

On average 4 deaths a year in boxing from head tramua I think there was 1 death associated with unregulated mma.

The sport with the most deaths is cross country horse riding and we let kids do that!

Simply put theres nothing gay about someone trying to break your arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

People talking about big bouncers on doors of nightclubs are way off the mark.If you see an average sized or small guy on a door ,he is there coz he is able to handle himself.Big apes are usually there coz they "look the part". I am speaking from a lot of experience on the doors.Anyone talking about using an armbar in a streetfight is forgetting that it requires you to lie on the ground at which point your opponents mates will kick your head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

If someone squared up to me and told me their a professional fighter it would be one of the best things you could hear.

You can simply say that if they are in actual fact a professional fighter then they know that starting fights with the general public is considered assault with a deadly weapon and now that you know they are training somewhere within the area, if they do hit you you know where to go looking for them, even if it means checking every MMA and boxing club within a 50 mile radius. Then you'll see to it that not only do they get arrested and sent to jail but they're never allowed near a gym to train again. Something any genuine fighter would be aware of.

As they're bravado is fading I then take the opportunity to kick them in the balls, hit them a slap to the jaw and run away as fast as I can.

Cill94 wrote: »

MMA incorporates boxing so you're contradicting yourself.

To somewhat steal a recent Frankie Boyle joke, Chris Brown incorporates boxing in his conduct towards women. It does not make him an athlete. Just because UFC fights incorporate a certain amount of the art of boxing does not make it a good sport.

There are several rubbish sports that incorporate aspects of better sports. I just wish UFC would fcuk off from the mainstream and back to the Jeremy Kyle crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

To somewhat steal a recent Frankie Boyle joke, Chris Brown incorporates boxing in his conduct towards women. It does not make him an athlete. Just because UFC fights incorporate a certain amount of the art of boxing does not make it a good sport.

There are several rubbish sports that incorporate aspects of better sports. I just wish UFC would fcuk off from the mainstream and back to the Jeremy Kyle crowd.

What exactly is your issue with MMA there father?

Naos wrote: »
    What exactly is your issue with MMA there father?

That it is sh1te.

That it was originally aimed at squarely at braindead illiterate knackers, and that it annoys me that it has crossed from four or five years ago being solely watched by people who buy their wedding rings in Argos to starting to challenging boxing in terms of mainstream popularity.

As for anyone who said the whole thing of men wrestling in tight pants was a bit quirky, I dont normally follow celebrity z list news, but in all truth

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2225161/A-man-ended-relationship-Chantelle-reveals-real-reason-split-Alex.html

/thread.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

That it is sh1te.

That it was originally aimed at squarely at braindead illiterate knackers, and that it annoys me that it has crossed from four or five years ago being solely watched by people who buy their wedding rings in Argos to starting to challenging boxing in terms of mainstream popularity.

Generalise much??
    You seem to be taking this to heart or something.
    It's simple, if you don't like the sport, don't watch it.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭chickendinner

If you are in this thread you got time

to watch this short interview with frank mir

Generalise much??
    You seem to be taking this to heart or something.
    It's simple, if you don't like the sport, don't watch it.

I just think it would be a shame if the profile of a great sport like boxing was relegated to a fringe interest in 30 years due to the skyrocketing popularity of this nonsense, that is probably why I despise it so much.

But each to their own, as long as it just does not become overly prominent and erode the profile, and lets be honest, the money that boxing depends on, I could care less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I just think it would be a shame if the profile of a great sport like boxing was relegated to a fringe interest in 30 years due to the skyrocketing popularity of this nonsense, that is probably why I despise it so much.

But each to their own, as long as it just does not become overly prominent and erode the profile, and lets be honest, the money that boxing depends on, I could care less.
    Boxing has dug its own grave with corruption, division and constant fannying about from the best boxers in the world. Unless it gets its sh1t together it deserves to die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Jonah42

One of the greatest Middleweight boxers in history Bernard Hopkins on MMA:

Bernard Hopkins on MMA after he got educated about the sport:

I'd encourage all people to actually learn about MMA before they start calling for its ban.

Boxing has dug its own grave with corruption, division and constant fannying about from the best boxers in the world. Unless it gets its sh1t together it deserves to die.

Football, rubgy, cycling, horse racing, cricket, baseball, American football,NBA, pretty much all Olympic sports, all have had a minority of athletes, regulators, managers, promoters or fans involved in result fixing, corruption, performance enhancing drugs, arsehole ego athletes, wanker fans etc etc. By that logic every single sport on this planet deserves to die a death.

Hving said that I nearly died of boredom watching a half hour of baseball late night on Setanta once, so maybe exceptions should be made :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

Hving said that I nearly died of boredom watching a half hour of baseball late night on Setanta once, so maybe exceptions should be made :)
    Its american cricket what did you expect?:pac:

in general,just dont watch a sport you dont enjoy.simples.While I dont enjoy the ground game in MMA it is a sport that demands a very high skill level and to just deride it as a no holds barred thug fight is way off the mark.

Having said that real men fight standing up,Muay Thai FTW:pac:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

nadey wrote: »
    ....douchbags...

quack quck