Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feasibility of mobile app based on customer/product database

Options
  • 29-10-2012 2:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭

Folks

I'm an old programmer at heart, but I know little or nothing about mobile apps. I have a need for a mobile app that will allow a mobile user to review and update customer and product data, currently held in a central database. I've seen the tools for mobile apps that can create standalone apps, but I haven't seen anything that can use an existing database. My current data is in MS Access, though I'm not wedded to this by any means. I'm looking for some kind of toolkit that will allow me to do something similar to MS Access - queries, forms and reports - on a mobile 'distributed data' basis. I'd also like to be able to use some of the more advanced mobile facilities, liking picking up current GPS location and using that to find nearby customers, and taking a photo which is then logged to that customer. Does such a toolbox exist?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

I would imagine a more robust database would be the first step, such as MS SQL Server, MySQL or Oracle.

There are two steps that would then probably run in parallel - creating a web service that would the middle tier between the app and the DB, and creating the mobile app itself. The app would not store any data locally, everything would be sent up to the central database via the web service.

So you would essentially have your standard three-tier architecture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay