Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you feed a dog cat food?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭DogsFirst

david75 wrote: »
    Our guy is shedding loads and even has flaky skin coming off him. He's a boxer and they've got notoriously sensitive stomachs. I'm told that the fish oils in cat food would put him right after a month or so but I've never seen this mentioned anywhere else.

I have him on red mills spot. I'm not sure it's the food for him at all but we're on a really tight budget and don't know how I can improve his dinners effectively but with an eye on budget.

Any ad ice appreciated.

Need to remove wheat from boxers diet. Due to sensitivities it blocks absorption of zinc, magnesium and essential proteins, all the stuff that keeps your dogs hair on. Cut the wheat, increase fresh meat, sardines in tomatoor fish oil caps, supplement with a high zinc food (half teaspoon of safflower) or give lots of fresh bones that she can chew and swallow which have all the above. Green beans are great for above (cook lightly).

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

ISDW wrote: »
    No, during the summer they are on lower protein.

Cheers for that. The reason I asked is that I'm thinking it's more likely that it's exercise that's causing your dogs' urine to become more concentrated, not their food. In other words, they're using up more water during work than they do when just doing normal doggy stuff in the summer. I'm pretty sure the same happens to athletes in training, unless they make a conscious decision to lash the water into themselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

DBB wrote: »
    Cheers for that. The reason I asked is that I'm thinking it's more likely that it's exercise that's causing your dogs' urine to become more concentrated, not their food. In other words, they're using up more water during work than they do when just doing normal doggy stuff in the summer. I'm pretty sure the same happens to athletes in training, unless they make a conscious decision to lash the water into themselves!

yeah, i was wondering if it was dehydration, but I always feed them with water, and they are baited well before running - I add something nice and smelly to their water (usually some fish) to ensure they take the water on board to keep them hydrated. There is lots of debate as to whether rehydration solutions are effective in working dogs, I've tried some, and can't really decide, there is scientific research on both sides:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

On kind of the same topic, for the last few years I've taken to soaking the dogs' food. It started when they were on Robbies, which is dehydrated. We got into the habit and it stuck. I was apprehensive at first because I thought the food would stick to their teeth and that it wasn't natural for a carnivore to eat mush instead of something they can get their teeth into!

I know everyone says it's bad for their teeth but I honestly can't see it. My oldie still has a great set of gnashers - no tartar and no gingivitis and she hasn't had a dental in about four years I'd say.

I don't think it's natural to feed a dog a dry food, any more than it would be natural for us to live on dry cereal and crackers. I know that's not very scientific, but it can't be nice for a dog to always have to slake their thirst after eating. I think this line the manufacturers push that dry food helps keep teeth clean because of its abrasive action is baloney, tbh. My lads get Plaque Off in their food daily and Dentisept on their gums once or twice a week and that does more for them than eating sackfuls of dry food, in my opinion! Plus they get dried tripe and things like that for some chewing therapy. :)

One boon with the soaked food is that it fills the dogs up better and makes them more satiated than if the food were dry. It also slows them down, so no regurgitating minutes later! Now it's cold out we've been using hot water to soak the food so it's reasonably warm when they eat it. Again, I can't say it's in any way therapeutic, but it feels like something nice to do for them. If we've cooked veggies or if I've cooked up some liver for them, I'll use the broth instead of water, for added flavour. I was at a Royal Canin talk once where the rep insisted that dogs don't have very discriminating taste buds and can eat the same dry food for a lifetime. This despite questions from the floor like "why do my dogs go mad for tripe, then?" I do think dogs enjoy a variety of flavours in their diet. Again, not scientific but it makes me feel good to provide that!

The amount of water added to the dry food wouldn't meet their daily fluid intake requirements, but they do drink a lot less from the bowl now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭planetX

boomerang wrote: »
    On kind of the same topic, for the last few years I've taken to soaking the dogs' food. It started when they were on Robbies, which is dehydrated. We got into the habit and it stuck. I was apprehensive at first because I thought the food would stick to their teeth and that it wasn't natural for a carnivore to eat mush instead of something they can get their teeth into!

I know everyone says it's bad for their teeth but I honestly can't see it. My oldie still has a great set of gnashers - no tartar and no gingivitis and she hasn't had a dental in about four years I'd say.

I don't think it's natural to feed a dog a dry food, any more than it would be natural for us to live on dry cereal and crackers. I know that's not very scientific, but it can't be nice for a dog to always have to slake their thirst after eating. I think this line the manufacturers push that dry food helps keep teeth clean because of its abrasive action is baloney, tbh. My lads get Plaque Off in their food daily and Dentisept on their gums once or twice a week and that does more for them than eating sackfuls of dry food, in my opinion! Plus they get dried tripe and things like that for some chewing therapy. :)

One boon with the soaked food is that it fills the dogs up better and makes them more satiated than if the food were dry. It also slows them down, so no regurgitating minutes later! Now it's cold out we've been using hot water to soak the food so it's reasonably warm when they eat it. Again, I can't say it's in any way therapeutic, but it feels like something nice to do for them. If we've cooked veggies or if I've cooked up some liver for them, I'll use the broth instead of water, for added flavour. I was at a Royal Canin talk once where the rep insisted that dogs don't have very discriminating taste buds and can eat the same dry food for a lifetime. This despite questions from the floor like "why do my dogs go mad for tripe, then?" I do think dogs enjoy a variety of flavours in their diet. Again, not scientific but it makes me feel good to provide that!

The amount of water added to the dry food wouldn't meet their daily fluid intake requirements, but they do drink a lot less from the bowl now.

anytime I feed dry I do the same now. I believe its a myth about dry food being good for teeth - I've watched my dog and cats eating dry food, they crunch once at most before swallowing. And if you've ever had a dog throw up its dinner, you find lots and lots of intact pellets.
    I don't feed much dry food now, but when I do I soak it in warm water and add an egg or something.

planetX wrote: »
    anytime I feed dry I do the same now. I believe its a myth about dry food being good for teeth - I've watched my dog and cats eating dry food, they crunch once at most before swallowing. And if you've ever had a dog throw up its dinner, you find lots and lots of intact pellets.
    I don't feed much dry food now, but when I do I soak it in warm water and add an egg or something.

Fresh bones are the answer to all this, get 'em in there!

And nobody, absolutely nobody, claims dry food is good for dogs teeth, only manufacturers and those selling their info. 4 out of 5 dogs have gum disease by 3, like it's natural for a carnivore!

Its gas when they bring out a new food claiming "this ones great for teeth!!" But that means all their others aren't and the vet should take them down, following the oath "do no harm". This ones great for kidneys, so what about all the rest with high salt and potential food antigen and chemical content? Hmmm, maybe a thick shiny coat this month and reduce his pancreatitis next month, boost his immune system for christmas and some joint support for the new year.....what an absolute dupe!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Had a JR who would only eat cat food for about 4 years - she turned her nose up at everything else and would prefer to go hungry. During that 4 year period we were getting her a pet passport so we could bring her home from Australia. The Aussie's are very strict and she had to be checked out (including blood tests) by a vet 24 hours prior to to travel. Any health issues would have meant she wouldn't be allowed to travel. Vet rang us just to tell us she was the healthiest dog he had ever seen.
    She died in September having reached the grand age of 16 1/2.

Our current two JR's (one of whom was a rescue on the verge of starvation, with serious infections, dull coat where handfuls of hair would come off when we rubbed her and it was touch and go as to whether she would survive) now get a tin of sardines each once a week (less then 50c each in Aldi) and they both hoover it up,the rescue dog in particular - after just a month she is a glossy coated, bright eyed bundle of energy.

I am not a fan of dried food. We do provide a small bowl of Burns for them and one of dogs will have one or two (other has no interest) but tbh we throw out more then she eats as that particular bowl seems to be a slug magnet.

DogsFirst wrote: »
    Fresh bones are the answer to all this, get 'em in there!

And nobody, absolutely nobody, claims dry food is good for dogs teeth, only manufacturers and those selling their info.

but this is the problem, vets do - especially where cats are concerned they push the dry food all the way. Many also advise no bones. It's very hard to know who to trust.

Trust the British and Australian Veterinary Dental Associations over your vet.

Also trust the American Veterinary Medical Association when it enthuses that boosters should only be given every three years max. It used to be yearly (as this was how long ruthless drug manufacturers would test for, despite constant pressure. Further tests would reduce product usage. Vets thus boosted every year. As a result from massive pressure from immunloigcal experts such as Shultz as to the negative effects of such a program, they now test for three years. This is, in every experts opinion, still far too little. Still vets advise every year. Like an MMR every year for your kid.

These are the people you trust. Vets cannot be masters over so many issues, they cannot and do not test the drugs they recommend, they know little about the side effects except what is written on the side of the packet. They prove this daily by boosting dogs annually and recommending dry food for kidney patients, reduced protein food for seniors etc. Its simply not possible with their workloads, so they trust what they hear from manufacturers. If you want to know if the new BMW is any good, don't ring the BMW dealer!

Again, if you have a serious problem, you do not go to a GP. Vets are fabulous GP's, but not even close to being specialists without further studies, which the vast majority have no time for. If they do it'll be written on their door, properly so.

Thats why you have people like Boomerang, doing all the study him/herself, feeding a diet that contradicts the vast majority of advice of practicing vets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Mo60

I think this line the manufacturers push that dry food helps keep teeth clean because of its abrasive action is baloney, tbh.

I do not intend to criticise but am posting my experience.

Two years ago I rescued a Yorkshire Terrier from a dog pound and took him to my vet for a check-up. My vet could find nothing wrong with him, other than the fact his teeth were covered in tartar. He recommended that, rather than put the dog through having his teeth cleaned, to feed him on dried food and see the outcome. Within a short period the tartar disappeared and has not returned.

You see, there is research to show that dry food is better than tinned food at keeping teeth clean. It's all relative, I suppose, because although dry food is undoubtedly better than tinned, bones and appropriate chew toys are infinitely better than dry food, and therefore better than soft food.
    Anyway, that's a little bit beside the point. Chances are, in your case Mo60, that your wee Yorkie was perhaps fed crappy oul tinned food before you got him (let's face it, many of the little breeds are), and so feeding him dry food could only make things better for his teeth, if that makes sense?!:o

Chances are, in your case Mo60, that your wee Yorkie was perhaps fed crappy oul tinned food before you got him (let's face it, many of the little breeds are), and so feeding him dry food could only make things better for his teeth, if that makes sense?!:o

My vet said the same thing as you regarding tinned food probably causing the tartar. The Yorkie was quite happy on the dry food, so I kept him on it and the tartar has never returned.

No doubt some dry foods can keep the tartar away, especially the ones designed to do it. Its like saying smoking will kill you. Doesn't get everyone! Which is lucky for some of us......ahem........ahemahem...ahemAHEMahem...aaaaahhEEMMM aahhEEMMMM.....

Tinned food is guranteed tooth, gut, joint, brain rotting slop.

Theres a swedish product called Plaque Off which based on seaweed that clears the plaque on dogs teeth. They did a study of 6o beagles, cleaned all their teeth and divided them in half. Check it out here. To 30 they fed the brown seaweed with their food, the other 30 got nothing. Then fed them dry food for 88 days. The brown seaweed significantly kept tartar down, and halitosis (smelly breath) that results from gingivitis (bad breath is essentially the sulphur produced by anaerobic bacteria living in the gums.....bacteria farts I suppose). Aaannyway, point is, and something not touched on by the researchers, was that the other 30 dogs who didn't get the supplement did develop tartar, gingivitis and halitosis. 'course it wasn't the dry food that caused it, it must of been something else in the beagles sterile labratory cage....

Plaque Off rocks!

And nothing gets rid of tartar, except descaling. I never heard of tartar coming off on its own? If it did, I'd save a fortune on visits to the dental hygienist! Mo60, did you mean that the Yorkie had a lot of plaque and inflamed gums? That'd probably make more sense.

My greyhound had bad breath and some gingivitis when she came to us, and a bit of tartar build-up along the gumline. We've fed her soaked food and Plaque Off from the start and it all really improved. :) She had a dental last Friday at the same she was spayed, so her teeth are now gleaming It'll be interesting to see if that continues and how long it lasts.

Plaque Off rocks!

And nothing gets rid of tartar, except descaling. I never heard of tartar coming off on its own? If it did, I'd save a fortune on visits to the dental hygienist! Mo60, did you mean that the Yorkie had a lot of plaque and inflamed gums? That'd probably make more sense.

I can only describe the coating on the teeth as hard, whether it was plaque or tartar I cannot say . All I can say is that feeding my dog dried food worked in removing whatever was coating his teeth, and they have kept clean for the past two years.

The unique polysachharides in Ascophyllum (the brown seaweed I mentioned) are clinically proven to break down tartar / calculus in humans since 1954 and dogs since 2008 (the study and refs for both was included in the link in the previous post).

Chewing bones twice a week for a month removes tartar from tigers (REF available on request) within a month, and dogs and cats (Lonsdale 1991) within the same. It is why they're recommended by top vet dentists. My own personal experience is that teeth are cleaned within two weeks, three fresh crunchy bones a week. Recommend ribs, lamb carcass, whole chicken pieces etc.

There is absolutely no need for the horror and expense of descaling in all but the worst cases. Gingival bleeding will incresase initially in bad cases but this is normal as the teeth are wobbled. This will disappear within a few bones, teeth will be noticeably clearer by two weeks.

Plaque Off rocks!

My greyhound had bad breath and some gingivitis when she came to us, and a bit of tartar build-up along the gumline. We've fed her soaked food and Plaque Off from the start and it all really improved. :) She had a dental last Friday at the same she was spayed, so her teeth are now gleaming It'll be interesting to see if that continues and how long it lasts.

This proves how good Ascophyllum is. Soaking food gives dry fed dogs even less chew friction. Ascophyllum triumphed despite. Great stuff. Asco successfully prevents any new tartar from forming. But dogs with poor dentition need more chew, not less!

I can't feed bones any more, now that Boo's got kidney disease it's not fair to give them to one doglet and not the other. My crew always went nuts for raw meaty bones. I have to say, Boo did get slab fractures but I think that I was giving them the wrong kind of bones, initially - mostly beef shin bones. Started treating them to lamb shanks and they never had a bother after that. I'd take them off them once they'd picked the meat off and before they got down to shards. :) Dogs really do have a very strong need to chew, tear and gnaw - it's what they're built for. :)

Lamb shank - is that what you ask for at the butcher? I'd like to start giving my fellow the odd bone, has anyone a guide of which bones are safest? As a veggie for more than 20 yrs I don't have a clue what to ask for at the butchers. I keep standing at the meat section in the supermarket looking at chicken legs, oyster thighs, chicken wings - and I don't know what kind of bones are in them, and if any are safe, so my dog gets none:( what's a good bone that a large enthusiastic dog is unlikely to choke on???

planetX wrote: »
    Lamb shank - is that what you ask for at the butcher? I'd like to start giving my fellow the odd bone, has anyone a guide of which bones are safest? As a veggie for more than 20 yrs I don't have a clue what to ask for at the butchers. I keep standing at the meat section in the supermarket looking at chicken legs, oyster thighs, chicken wings - and I don't know what kind of bones are in them, and if any are safe, so my dog gets none:( what's a good bone that a large enthusiastic dog is unlikely to choke on???

I don't know if there's a "procedure" as such PlanetX, but I'll tell you what I did :)
    I got chicken wings, and held onto the thick end, allowing my GSD to chew on the wing-tip with her big carnassial teeth out of the side of her mouth. Now, I will warn you, I had to hold on for grim death, but I gradually allowed her to move on up the wing until I was sure she was really giving the bones a good old chew before swallowing. For a big dog, even if she didn't chew the wing brilliantly, it's small and soft enough to slide on down.
    Then I graduated her onto chicken legs, doing the same thing at first. She's a very skilful bone-eater now. My Westie, on the other hand, is an utter pig, and I have to cut the wings into sections, or hold on as above, because I've seen the daft bugger swallowing them whole, and whilst the GSD would be okay doing this, he's too small. Damn Westies :o.
    Tesco do big chicken legs which have a huge amount of meat on the top, they even have a wee bit of the spine still attached, usually in packs of 4, sometimes 5. They are much adored by Mrs. GSD, but I've also found a butcher who's doing turkey legs for a reasonably good price, so Mrs. GSD is in for a treat one of these days!

Boomerang, perhaps you can answer this: how would Boo get on with other natural chew products to "replace" bone in the chewing department.. the likes of cow's ears, dried tripe, pizzles, dried tracheas etc? Trachea has cartilage in it... is this a problem? Just curious as to what you've found out :)

planetX I think what's safe depends on the size of your dog. My guys are medium-sized (22kg and 28kg) so the lamb shanks are just about right. I wouldn't give them something like chicken breast on the bone without holding on to one end! And chicken wings would definitely be too small. Actually any raw chicken makes one of my guys barf, which is another reason I've stayed away from it. But lots of people feed raw chicken to their dogs, no problem.

The lamb shanks have to be a treat though - they are about €2.50 each!

Boomerang, perhaps you can answer this: how would Boo get on with other natural chew products to "replace" bone in the chewing department.. the likes of cow's ears, dried tripe, pizzles, dried tracheas etc? Trachea has cartilage in it... is this a problem? Just curious as to what you've found out :)

Hey DBB :)

Dunno about the cartilage in the trachea or the ears! Great question! My problem is that there's so rarely any nutritional analysis on the packaging. I'd say the pizzle is a non-runner, on account of the os penis? I have no idea! :D Have to check that out! She has never had the slightest interest in Nylabones. Not a big fan of those anyways, myself. Or pigs' ears. Why are they so greasy? Heard they can be contaminated with some pathogens, too? She doesn't get excited over those dried sweet potato chews, either.

Tripe is fine because it's bone-free and it's got moderate phosphorus, so I give the girls both dried tripe treats and frozen tripe mince as often as I can get it! Only one supplier of Prize Choice left in Limerick now and they're always out of the feckin' stuff whenever I call in!

And chicken wings would definitely be too small.

I don't think it's the size of the dog that's so important, to be honest, I think the important factor is how good your own dog is at eating bones: some are super bone eaters, others need to learn a bit, others are just silly with them. I've no qualms whatsoever about feeding chicken wings to my 40kg GSD, because she is a careful, methodical bone eater who chews any bone she's eating down into swallow-able chunks, whether it's a chicken wing or a turkey leg.
    I've often thought about lamb shanks, but was always under the impression load bearing bones are not a good idea because they're too hard? Or is this just with beef bones?

Back in the good aul' days!

Boo-bone1.jpg

Amber-bone.jpg

I'd say the pizzle is a non-runner, on account of the os penis? I have no idea! :D Have to check that out!

Oops! I forgot about the os penis in bulls (I can see a few google searches being done after these posts are read :o). Think I'd have to stop short of going looking for horse penis instead :D
    Pig's ears, ick, never feed them, wayyyy too fatty.
    Don't zooplus do a range of dried animal chunks along the lines of dried tripe? Might be something in there to give Boo a change to beef tripe! Any of this type of stuff I've bought from zooplus has some nutritional analyes on the packaging, though I'm not sure is it detailed anough for your needs. But good point, the lack of analyses on a lot of these things is worrying... I will never, ever buy rawhide products unless it specifically says the species it comes from :eek:

Edited to add: Awww, look at the two of them with their bones :o They have that lovely look of intense concentration on their little faces that only a good chew can bring on :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭bluecherry74

I would have though lamb shanks would be a bit too hard? But if they're not... yay! They'd make a perfect occasional treat meal.

Regarding pigs ears being greasy - have you tried cows ears? They're much less fatty and greasy. Maxizoo and Zooplus both do natural ones with no additives. They last a lot longer than pigs ears too.

They take ages picking and pulling off the meat, bluecherry. I'd let them eat the cartilage off the joint and then take the remnants off them before they started crunching through the bare bone as the shards were sharp.

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭Aru

DogsFirst wrote: »

Also trust the American Veterinary Medical Association when it enthuses that boosters should only be given every three years max. It used to be yearly (as this was how long ruthless drug manufacturers would test for, despite constant pressure. Further tests would reduce product usage. Vets thus boosted every year. As a result from massive pressure from immunloigcal experts such as Shultz as to the negative effects of such a program, they now test for three years. This is, in every experts opinion, still far too little. Still vets advise every year. Like an MMR every year for your kid.

Not all of the vaccines can be given every 3 years!!! Lepto needs to be given yearly to have a reasonable titre and considering it is still not uncommon for dogs to get lepto in Ireland....I have seen at least 5 dogs with the bug in the last few years....only one had been vaccinated and had picked up an unusual strain, 4 of the others died despite interventions.Lepto is a risk particularly if flooding has occured locally ,as this moves rats nests and local populations,or if they are dogs that enjoy playing in/drinking stagnant water where rats may be located(ie most areas) it is not one I would drop. That and the fact that it is zoonotic and can be passed onto humans.

So be aware that,many good vets are doing this and just may not have mentioning the changeover so that when you look at your card you will discover different vaccines are being given at your yearly visit.

The americans run a somewhat system to us, with differences in strains in vaccines and drugs available in the region so when it comes to Veterinary care so be aware that the AVMA guidelines and treatment might not always be the best advise for an Irish/european situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

Oh dear, all this talk of penis's (peni?) and trachea makes a girl feel quite queasy....

All that aside, can anyone tell me where to get hold of Plaque Off please? My younger dog has some tarter on her teeth and slightly unpleasant breath, although the older has a great set of gnashers and only has bad breath when he licks his bum (come on, the tone was already lowered when DBB mentioned a horses penis), yet they eat exactly the same thing.