Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Derry City v St Pat's, FAI Cup Final; Lansdowne Road, 3.30pm Sunday 4/11/12

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Get out of here, trying to get the political dig in.

He has been a Derry city fan all his life and goes too a good few games.

Same goes for Varadkar too...

He opposed Bohs moving out to his constituency rather strenuously based on no real facts and goes to this match to show his face.

If McGuinness is a fan well then fair enough. No conspiracy theory here just didn't know he was a fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

dfx- wrote: »
    Jaysus, poor Pats. Just when it opened up for them - they got a bye, Sligo had gone out, Rovers out, Shels out, Drogs out...
    Pats beat Drogs in the quarter final

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Where did the 3 and a half mins of injury time come from at the end? That is like playing over 10 mins at the end of a 45m half, there were no subs and the restart after the disallowed goal was far quicker than most goalkicks usually are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

How in the name of jaysus in that Clarke fella playing at LOI level he is absolutely atrocious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

That was a nice double whammy! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭Leejo

Leejo wrote: »
    Did someone take offence to my post about feeling sorry for people watching 2 teams from England play each other in the league over a cracking game their national cup final? Seems to have disappeared. Strange that.

Get in Patterson you beauty!!! 3-2. Unreal.

Like I said in my post that got deleted. I love FAI cup final day

Mystery solved. Got a warning about the post from a Mod who, looking through his posts is a Liverpool fan.

Embarrassing :rolleyes:

Feel sorry for Forrester and to a lesser extent Fagan, but delighted there'll be no Rovers in Europe next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Vince Vega - "shoulda ****in' better known better"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Well done Derry. Just came in for 2nd half and looked like I came in at perfect time.

Really enjoyed that match. Had bit of everything.

Does anyone know the attendance?(Im guessing around 12-14,000).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Does anyone know the attendance?(Im guessing around 12-14,000).

About 16k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,379 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Leejo wrote: »
    Mystery solved. Got a warning about the post from a Mod who, looking through his posts is a Liverpool fan.

Embarrassing :rolleyes:

That's sad. Nothing wrong with what you said!

Hope that yellow doesn't come back to bite you sometime in the next 12 months.

(Do they still use the yellow card stuff in here?)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    (Do they still use the yellow card stuff in here?)

Yes. The discussion on thread of the deleted post there ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

A64EZ4PCYAAgc5n.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,500 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Where did the 3 and a half mins of injury time come from at the end? That is like playing over 10 mins at the end of a 45m half, there were no subs and the restart after the disallowed goal was far quicker than most goalkicks usually are!

Well goalkeeper couldve been booked 4/5 times for the ldngth he took on goal kicks.

Good game, nice football played. Pats denied a stonewaller, but may not have affected final result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Delighted I went to that game, really enjoyable 2nd half and extra time.

Absolutely embarrassing to see just 120 posts in this thread and 560 in a thread about a game overseas.

Embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Madworld

BOHtox wrote: »
    Same goes for Varadkar too...

He opposed Bohs moving out to his constituency rather strenuously based on no real facts and goes to this match to show his face.

If McGuinness is a fan well then fair enough. No conspiracy theory here just didn't know he was a fan.

Has Varadkar ever been to a Bohs match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Madworld wrote: »
    Has Varadkar ever been to a Bohs match?

I doubt he's ever been to any league game

Also,

Hard luck Pats on their 51st year without the trophy :D

Congratulations Derry on their 1st FAI Cup win.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

Absolutly gutted, really thought we were going to win it this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

BOHtox wrote: »
    Really? I knew Hume was a fan and involved in some way in the club but never thought there was any real substance to McGuinness' support other than just to show face...
    Wasn't there an incident a few years back when he got a bomb defused so a match could go ahead in Derry?

EDIT: looked it up: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1315760/McGuinness-foiled-IRA-bombers.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

SantryRed wrote: »
    Delighted I went to that game, really enjoyable 2nd half and extra time.

Absolutely embarrassing to see just 120 posts in this thread and 560 in a thread about a game overseas.

Embarrassing.

I post a lot aon boards but if I want to post on football I tend to post on the Cork City site as I am a Cork City fan. I doubt if many LOI fans actually visit the "soccer" section here.

Funny I was walking in Cork on Saturday and a few lads came out of a oub after a match and they were singing about the match but putting on english accents!! How bloody wierd is that.

Great match though. Well done Derry although I always have a soft side for Pats for some unknown reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I post a lot aon boards but if I want to post on football I tend to post on the Cork City site as I am a Cork City fan. I doubt if many LOI fans actually visit the "soccer" section here.

There's a fair few, a lot of us don't like fool.ie and there's generally decent discussion on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

Absolutely embarrassing to see just 120 posts in this thread and 560 in a thread about a game overseas.Embarrassing.
    I doubt if any Pats/Derry fans were posting on here today, nor other LOI fans, like yourself, who were at the match.
    For a game in England, the vast majority of boards.ie fans will have been sitting on a barstool, or in their sitting room.

Its actually quite a positive, in a weird way, that there are so few posts.

But I do get your point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

'twas my first match in the new Lansdowne Road today and I really enjoyed it. I was right at the half-way line in the East Stand, so in the middle of Pats and Derry fans - it added to the tensions and made for a good atmosphere and banter.

There were only 16,000 at it, but credit to both sets of fans, they made some amount of noise and had some good displays. I've been an plenty of All-Ireland matches before, including a final a few years ago, but a crowd of 80,000 at Croke Park wouldn't come close to creating a similar atmosphere that was there today. There's a lot of things that you can criticise the League of Ireland about, but atmosphere and passion isn't one of them.

Those who went there today got their value for money. They were advertising tickets for the Ireland v Greece match over the PA (tickets are twice the price as the Final), but the entertainment won't be half as good as what was on show today. Five goals, a disallowed goal, a plethora of chances, some fantastic saves, heated tackles and great displays by both sets of fans. What more can you ask for? Pats' first goal from the free, although suspect defending and goalkeeping, was a very good finish. You can guarantee that Sky and BBC would be raving about how it was one of the best goals ever scored had it been the English Cup Final, and there'd be plenty on here saying how you can't get those type of goals in Irish football. It's a shame that even an FAI Cup Final can't seem to catch the imagination of the Irish sporting public. If 16,000 created an atmosphere as good as today, imagine what 50,000 could do.

All in all, though, a fantastic day out, and a great match to watch as a neutral. Hard luck Pats, but congratulations to Derry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Mars Bar wrote: »
    A bus with Galway United fans went from Galway this morning too

Can't see the flags they were bringing though

Both flags were just above the Pats singing section hanging over the Premium seats adverts, one was taken down by a steward because it covered "Aviva" so they moved it around to the East Stand.
    Where did the 3 and a half mins of injury time come from at the end?

Didn't understand this myself, Doherty was milking the kicks but 3 mins was a joke.
    Also,

Hard luck Pats on their 51st year without the trophy :D

Congratulations Derry on their 1st FAI Cup win.

:p

Wait you were saying 52 years at the match? :D

Hasn't been posted here as far as I can see but fairplay to Doherty:
    "It was a particularly poignant afternoon for Derry goalkeeper Gerard Doherty who attended his grandfather Jim McDaid's funeral on the morning of the match before dashing to Dublin."

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Congrats to Derry.
    And to think we left the cup game against them behind us this season :(

527400_524101690952110_1199145575_n.jpg

IMO that was best match so far at the New Lansdowne. Club Country or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,844 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

IMO that was best match so far at the New Lansdowne. Club Country or whatever.

Still wasn't a great game IMO. Was at it... terrible first half, okay second half.

Trilla wrote: »
    Still wasn't a great game IMO. Was at it... terrible first half, okay second half.

Did not see first half I will admit.

Better then any Ireland Match I have seen so far at Lansdowne anyway. Was best of 3 cup finals too if honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

dfx- wrote: »
    Jaysus, poor Pats. Just when it opened up for them - they got a bye, Sligo had gone out, Rovers out, Shels out, Drogs out...
    Pats are just much better than most at not winning cups. Although the years are ticking by since the 'specialists' won one too.

In all fairness, Pats beat themselves today.

Pats were clearly the better team. They went 1-0 up, instantly conceded an equalizer. You could see Derry were really wilting, then Pats gift them a goal. AT 2-1, Derry got a few chances but this is only because of the fact Pats were pushing forward. Pats get the equalizer.

Extra time, Pats again dominate. Derry are completely out on their feet. Yet once again, a stupid mistake and it's 3-2 and something for Derry to cling on to.

Fair play to Derry for capitilsing, but if Pats don't make the stupid mistakes, they win the cup today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,907 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Didn't see the game but by all accounts it sounds like a cracker which is exactly what the league needs for its showpiece. RTE site the best for extended highlights?

Have to say I did crack a smile when I saw the result and posts on FB with 52 years :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Pat D. Almighty

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Anybody know what the attendance is lads?

Also surprised Clarke got the nod in goal for Pats hes been at fault for quite a few goals this season for them

....Pity Bucko didn't read your post before handing in the team sheet.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Pats are just much better than most at not winning cups. Although the years are ticking by since the 'specialists' won one too.

Longford? Sligo?

....Pity Bucko didn't read your post before handing in the team sheet.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/st-pats-goalkeeper-to-miss-final-572969.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Pat D. Almighty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Enjoyed the match from the 2nd half onwards,very exciting last few minutes too.Nearly identical weather to the last cup final I was at in 2006,the weather gods must hate the FAI Cup!

The two lads I convinced to go with me enjoyed themselves,even if we did get soaked walking back into town!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Congrats to Derry :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,433 ✭✭✭secman

Gutted once again yesterday, played the better football, but 2 very costly mistakes and we lose yet again. Just goes to prove it again, best team does not always win the cup, but league table never lies. 49 years following Pats and still waiting for a cup win ...............agh.........aaaaaaaaaaaaaagh

Secman

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

The first half was poor but after that I thought it was a very good game. A great free kick from O'Connor who was very good I thought. I thought Pats were the better team but Derry are a big strong side who always looked dangerous. Fagan, O'Brien and Chambers had good games (would love to see them at rovers next season with Croly if the rumours are true!!). Graecan was excellent for Derry and is a great centre-half. Clarke is a shocking goalkeeper and was never any good, Murphy is a far superior keeper imo. Decent enough crowd considering the weather, but the FAI did **** all promotion of the game and if you wanted to buy a ticket yesterday it was very hard to find where to buy them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Sick :(

Dont know if it was a good game dont care, dont know if it was a good crowd dont care, dont know it was great for the league dont care.

Stupid cup tbh :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,078 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Over the moon with the win, had a great day out and a great stadium too.

Felt sorry for Pats, played much better football than us, and fair play to them did not resort to hoofball ever in the last few mins of extra time.

We got the breaks yesterday, but really happy for our manager who has taken a lot of stick this season, and who is passionate about the club.

I thought the 1st half was awful. But really thought the 2nd half was open and entertaining. We brought a good crowd down and so did Pats, but disappointed that there werer so few neutrals,which has really bumped up the atrendances in previous seasons. If you aren't interested in seeing a cup final in your national stadium for €10 then its hard to see how the LoI can compete with the barstoolers.

Looking forward to a favourable Europa League draw now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Genuinely sorry to see Pats lose the Final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

NIMAN wrote: »
    If you aren't interested in seeing a cup final in your national stadium for €10 then its hard to see how the LoI can compete with the barstoolers.
    People in this country would rather watch a dreary mid table clash from a foreign league than their own cup final. Best fans in the world :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭DL Saint

I'm still sick, really thought it was our year....poxy cup! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,296 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,168 ✭✭✭shanec1928

NIMAN wrote: »
    We brought a good crowd down and so did Pats, but disappointed that there werer so few neutrals,which has really bumped up the atrendances in previous seasons.
    Nah we should be in the final every year so that a big crowd will arrive:D