Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€10,000 present... what now?!

Options
  • 01-11-2012 1:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭

My aunt recently gave me a cheque for €10,000. It was completely out of the blue, and whether it was a temporary moment of insanity or she's decided to disperse her wealth in her latter years, I've no idea- but I'm going to be lodging it before she changes her mind!

Thing is, I've never had money like this before- my savings were €2,000 max. I'm in my final year of college and want to know what would be the best way of saving/ investing this kind of money long term? Where would be a safe institution to put it (if any?) I have an AIB and credit union account, but I'm hopeless when it comes to finances :S

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Siuin wrote: »
    My aunt recently gave me a cheque for €10,000. It was completely out of the blue, and whether it was a temporary moment of insanity or she's decided to disperse her wealth in her latter years, I've no idea- but I'm going to be lodging it before she changes her mind!

Thing is, I've never had money like this before- my savings were €2,000 max. I'm in my final year of college and want to know what would be the best way of saving/ investing this kind of money long term? Where would be a safe institution to put it (if any?) I have an AIB and credit union account, but I'm hopeless when it comes to finances :S

there will be tax to be paid first. Correct me if i'm wrong but its in around 3k per year you can receive as a gift tax free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin