Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2012 Graduates - the next step

• Registered Users Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

User|Marathon PB|DCM Goal|Comments
    murphd77|4:02:26|3:45:00|Wish there was a 3:45 pacer. smile.png|
    overpronator|3.36.xx Limerick 2013|3.29.xx|Have no idea how this is gonna go
    AlanM|3:44|3:29|Confidence back up a bit
    Runchick|4:27:38|3:59:59|May have missed too much training to pull it off rolleyes.png
    Tenreds|3:43|3:29:59|Happy with my training|
    Deedee2012|4.56|4.30|
    Willie42|4:29|3:59|really happy with training just not sure!|
    docjewel|3:43|3:39:59|After the disaster of Cork earlier this year,only looking for a modest gainwink.png & an enjoyable day out|
    RedRunner|4:27:10|3:59:59|In the same boat as Runchick, but sure better to fail trying than fail to try|
    dechol| 4:57:xx |4:30:00||
    Doco12|3.34| 3:29:xx| Very happy with training, hope goes to plan on day
    tomred1N|3:43:xx|3:29:59|There, I've said it, albeit after a few pints of Guinness!

Anymore updates on this guys besides the unfortunate withdrawal of RR and Runchick! :(

Hope the rest of ye are all set for the big day!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Just want to wish everyone all the very best on Monday. You've all worked so hard, now just go out and enjoy the day and the reward for all that training. Looks like the weather is going to be absolutely perfect, so hopefully that's a good omen! Looking forward to tales of PB's aplenty on Monday night!

ncmc wrote: »
    Looks like the weather is going to be absolutely perfect

What forecast are you looking at? :confused: Tell the rest of the other weather guys will ya! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭tenreds

Just a few questions blockic as I think you are pacing the 3:30 group,will you go out at 8 min pace or do you ease into it (8:15,8:10,8:05).Do you run a a negative spilt,on any hill's do you go up easy and make the time up the other side or keep an even pace,oh and well done on sub 3

• Registered Users Posts: 10,458 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Runchick|4:27:38|3:59:59|May have missed too much training to pull it off rolleyes.png
    Deedee2012|4.56|4.30|
    docjewel|3:43|3:39:59|After the disaster of Cork earlier this year,only looking for a modest gainwink.png & an enjoyable day out|
    RedRunner|4:27:10|3:59:59|In the same boat as Runchick, but sure better to fail trying than fail to try|
    tomred1N|3:43:xx|3:29:59|There, I've said it, albeit after a few pints of Guinness!

dechol dropped out a while ago too. :(

tenreds wrote: »
    Just a few questions blockic as I think you are pacing the 3:30 group,will you go out at 8 min pace or do you ease into it (8:15,8:10,8:05).Do you run a a negative spilt,on any hill's do you go up easy and make the time up the other side or keep an even pace,oh and well done on sub 3

No worries:

So it will be pretty much even splits all the way, no easing into it for us. Will be pacing by stopwatch and mile markers. This will probably work out at around 7:56 pace per the Garmin due to the weaving etc will make the garmin read around 26.5 miles by the finish if not a tad more.

In regard to the hills, we may ease off by couple of seconds on the odd hill but this will be unnoticeable in the overall jist of things in terms of pace on the watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

blockic wrote: »
    What forecast are you looking at? :confused: Tell the rest of the other weather guys will ya! :D

Weather.com, 12 degrees, partly cloudy, 20% chance of precipitation. I normally find weather.com quite accurate, but it's probably a bit early to be very accurate, but fingers crossed!

ncmc wrote: »
    Weather.com, 12 degrees, partly cloudy, 20% chance of precipitation. I normally find weather.com quite accurate, but it's probably a bit early to be very accurate, but fingers crossed!

Ah you see you forgot the wind! ;)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=87163641&postcount=63

Looks like we might miss the worst of it now though hopefully...

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭tomred1N

Ah you see you forgot the wind! ;)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=87163641&postcount=63

Looks like we might miss the worst of it now though hopefully...

I'm not playing if its windy.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

tomred1N wrote: »
    I'm not playing if its windy.

+1 tomred, the worst possible weather for me is windy Im just useless in it. A few child of pragues will have to be put out sun night. I'm going to start praying. Anyone ever run with the 3.30 group before? I'm bit anxious about how congested it's going to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,181 ✭✭✭Gavlor

DOCO12 wrote: »
    +1 tomred, the worst possible weather for me is windy Im just useless in it. A few child of pragues will have to be put out sun night. I'm going to start praying. Anyone ever run with the 3.30 group before? I'm bit anxious about how congested it's going to be.

A buddy of mine ran with them last year. Absolute chaos going thru the park and at the first few waterstops.

Combine that with an alcoholic pacer and its a potential recipe for disaster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

I'd say it will be jammers. Sure the pin up boy from Chicago is one of the pacers ...... as well as bona fida runners you'll also have hoards of autograph hunters as well ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Gavlor wrote: »
    A buddy of mine ran with them last year. Absolute chaos going thru the park and at the first few waterstops.

The same alcoholic pacer ran with the group last year ;)

The only waterstation that is a problem is the first one at 3 miles: for some reason they only have a few tables at one side of the road and everyone wants water. For other stations there are many tables at both sides of the road. There is of course an easy solution: carry a small bottle of water from start and run straight through the first water station....(or just don't take on water for the first 6 miles).

menoscemo wrote: »

He'll be lucky to fit under the start gantry with that big head :D

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭dechol

murphd77 wrote: »
    Deedee2012|4.56|4.30|

dechol dropped out a while ago too. :(
    Thanks for that. Quite a few of us now.:'(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

I'd say it will be jammers. Sure the pin up boy from Chicago is one of the pacers ...... as well as bona fida runners you'll also have hoards of autograph hunters as well ;)

Surely his bodyguard will keep them at bay.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Willie42

Taper Madness - I wish:mad:

Woke up yesterday morning and could hardly put my foot to the floor and I thought now hold on a minute taper madness is really kicking in here so went on about my business and no I was definitely in pain. Once I put shoes on no problem - no pain. Had done mid week 5 miles night before - no problems thoroughly enjoyed it - really easy week 3 EASY miles Monday 5 Wed 3 @ MP 1w/u 1c/d usual stuff - nothing different! Did 2 easy at lunch time to see how things were and first one not great was going to stop but as the second mile went on pain eased off. Phoned Physio and he suggested ice last nite and see how things were today. Got up this morning and no paid yahoo, then as I was tipping around started again not underneath this time only from big toe up - again once got dressed and put shoes on no pain. Physio phoned me (bless him) and said to ice again tonight and Sat nite only - no running until Monday and light rub on calf tonite. Don't know how this happened can't think of any variation, no particular moment when I felt something - nothing. Bit tender at top of heel also. Have had no injuries this year - spent most of last years marathon training with physio! Only went last week for first time for rub! Rest Ice and keep fingers crossed for Monday:(

Have my fingers crossed for you too, Willie. Let's be optimistic for now - we don't need any more spectators. Best of luck with it. I'm wrapping myself up in cotton wool for the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Willie42, That sounds like Phantom Niggles, a definite symptom of taper madness. I have had many similar episodes before. The main thing is that it eases off when you put on your shoes; so hopefully (unless you plan on running barefoot) you'll be OK on Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

All the best for Monday guys. I'm expecting massive pb's from you all. The training you've all done has been amazing so all you have to do is go out on Monday and claim what's rightfully yours :D

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Willie42

Thats what I thought - physio panicked me. OH said same - rest and ice and lots of HTFU on Monday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

dechol wrote: »
    Thanks for that. Quite a few of us now.:'(
    Lads as usual I haven't a clue how to add myself to the table,so could someone please do it again for me.PB 3.21 limerick.Hoping for 3.18 on Monday.Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭overpronator

Deedee2012|4.56|4.30|
    kerrylad1|3:21.xx Limerick 2013|3:18:xx|

Sorted. How has training gone Kerrylad1? You been racing much? best of luck !

Good man, kerrylad, you have us back in double figures again. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭docjewel

Is Gavlor gonna add his name to the table & nail his colours to the mast or is he too busy over on the novices thread trying to wind up people:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭bigslice

You can add me to that table, been a regular lurker on this thread.

Third marathon, PB is last year in Dublin 3.40.15.

Looking at sub 3.30 this year. If weather settles maybe 3.24.59. Really dislike the wind after the Connemarathon this year!

New PB planned 3.29.59.

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭docjewel

Deedee2012|4.56|4.30|
    bigslice|3:40:15|3:29:59|I hate the wind

menoscemo wrote: »

The only waterstation that is a problem is the first one at 3 miles: for some reason they only have a few tables at one side of the road and everyone wants water. For other stations there are many tables at both sides of the road. There is of course an easy solution: carry a small bottle of water from start and run straight through the first water station....(or just don't take on water for the first 6 miles).
    He'll be lucky to fit under the start gantry with that big head :D

Haha, missed all the banter last night!! I'm here to entertain! :cool:

I did indeed run with them last year and found no issues at all..apart from first water station which I skipped.

Sure who needs water after 3 miles if you are hydrated well on the start line?

If anything it will benefit big time on Monday to run with a pace group if it's windy as forecast.

Deedee2012|4.56|4.30|
    Gavlor|3:01|2:58:08|I was really good this time and done proper miles that I was too stubborn to do last time

Deedee2012|4.56|4.30|
    Gavlor|3:01|2:58:08|I was really good this time and done proper miles that I was too stubborn to do last time

Hahah you forgot to add that I need to put a young running nerd back in his box ;)