Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2012 Graduates - the next step

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭tomred1N

menoscemo wrote: »
    I totally agree with this btw; if you can increase your mileage and do 5-10k speedwork at the same time you will add both strength and speed and that would be the ideal.
    Problem is that most runners think 5-10k training = less miles; while doing ultra training can focus the athlete on doing more miles. It's difficult to add both miles and intensity at the same time so most people obviously look to do one first and then the other...

I think it is important for each individual runner to look at his/her strengths and weakness.

e.g in 2011 My HM time was 1:31 and My Mara time was 3:24. Strength at this time was obviously a weakness, and ultra training got my Mara time down to 3:10 while my HM time only dropped to 1:29.....

Now say if my HM time had been 1:36/1:37 with a Mara of 3:24, then clearly I would have benefitted from more speed rather than strength as I would have been already maximizing my pace over the distance...as I say Ultra training can be beneficial to you Marathon times if strength (endurance) is an issue....If it's not I would definitely recommend 5-10k training followed by endurance training.

Thanks for the examples meno think its making my mind up a bit.

My current times are as follows

10k 43.01
    Half 1.35.17
    Full 3.28.26

Have never ran a 5k

Gone from 4:15 in dcm 12, 3:43 cork 13 and 3:28 dcm 13. Have negative split all 3 so I think based on this if I have a strength its endurance but speed would be a definate weakness. That said in 17 months running I have had no injury. This is in part from taking advice here but could also be from not doing much short stuff which is probably more stress on hamstrings etc. Based on above though it prob looks like I, d benefit more at this stage from improving times from 5k up to half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

tomred1N wrote: »

10k 43.01
    Half 1.35.17
    Full 3.28.26

Have never ran a 5k

Gone from 4:15 in dcm 12, 3:43 cork 13 and 3:28 dcm 13. Have negative split all 3 so I think based on this if I have a strength its endurance but speed would be a definate weakness. That said in 17 months running I have had no injury. This is in part from taking advice here but could also be from not doing much short stuff which is probably more stress on hamstrings etc. Based on above though it prob looks like I, d benefit more at this stage from improving times from 5k up to half.

According to Mcmillan, your HM is slightly better than your 10k but your Marathon is quite weak (you should be 3:21). You could go either way :pac:

I am gonna go with the guys here and suggest you get your 10k down below 40 minutes though...that should enable you to get your half under 1:30 and then you can target a 3:10-3:15 marathon off that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

10k 43.01
    Half 1.35.17
    Full 3.28.26

Have never ran a 5k

Always try and work hardest at the things you're weak at- you'll see big improvements if you do!

Do some shorter intervals faster than LT pace and run a few hard 5ks and I bet you'll get the 10k down below 40 which from looking at your times now would be needed to progress to the next level (sub 3:15) or so

Edit: oops just saw your post meno ... Great minds and all that

DOCO12 wrote: »
    Tbh I'm all over the place at the moment trying to decide what to do over the winter. Flipping between 10k, half plans, 3.15 marathon plans and now the ultra. I defo want to do an ultra sometime but seeing what it could do to a weekend I'm not sure.

STOP tomred your putting ideas into my head :D Ha ha +1 on being all over the place with the what next ideas, these long dark evenings are giving me way too much thinking time, I don't know what to aim for.
    The consensus here does seem to be the more miles the better no matter what distance your aiming for. So say if one was just aiming to focus on 5-10k for the time being, what length long run should we be looking at?

Wife is back so I never mentioned the word ultra!! Dont even know what it is ....last time I heard of the word I was smoking one....silk cut ultra to be exact. I was trying to give up john player blue at the time!!.
    Ur a bit of a long run specialist Doco12. I remember ur logs on here and was wondering how u did those steady pace 20 milers. Come to think of it I fookin hate 20 milers on my own so adding a 30 prob is not a good idea. I'd also prob kill my labrador's and then I'd be buried with them !!

According to Mcmillan, your HM is slightly better than your 10k but your Marathon is quite weak (you should be 3:21). You could go either way :pac:

I am gonna go with the guys here and suggest you get your 10k down below 40 minutes though...that should enable you to get your half under 1:30 and then you can target a 3:10-3:15 marathon off that...

You could go either way .....

Jebus meno thats not the first time I've been told that and the last time it certainly wasn't to do with anything athletic !!!

Onwards and upwards as they say. That mcmillan thing has been accurate enough in predicting up to half times for me this year. I think though you need to be running for longer than I have to be able to match its marathon predictions.

That's true but you are matching up better than most at your stage which is probably why you are best going down the short sharp route ;)
    As DrQ says, plenty of intervals and 5k races (you'll be surprised how quickly your 5k time improves just by racing 5ks) and target a 10k in the new year.

If you are near Dublin you can make a parkrun part of your weekly schedule...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Only 300 places left for Dungarvan 10 at the end of January. So those interested get in before it sells out!

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭docjewel

Entered :):) it'll be my first race as an O/40 :P:P, where has the time gone :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Let me preface this mini report with the acknowledgment that I am well aware that the times on this are less than inspiring in the grand scheme of running and this forum here in particular. :) That said though I personally enjoy reading race reports from all ends of the spectrum. The race is for most runners against yourself and your own abilities and this for me makes most race reports equally interesting. Granted epic reports and position chasing races like claralaras recent DCM report and Blockys cross country debut stand out a bit ;) So on with the report which I am dropping here in the absence of a regular log on boards. (Plan is to return to logging properly early next year when a decent base / times to report will hopefully be supplied)

As most of you know from here I’m coming back from a long lay off and that itself coming after less than a years running since getting off the couch and out there from scratch. This would actually be my first race since DCM last year. Over the past few months I’ve dragged myself back up to running up to 8k on LSRs and 3-4k pace runs. Target here was for sub 30min – sneaky dream time under 29:04 which would be a PB. Knowing there was a cruel hill in the middle of this my strategy was to try and bank 30 seconds per km on the first 3k, hang on for the hill and then give it what I could for the last 1k.
    Lined up at the start and was very emotional. The whole idea of the race is to remember / run for loved ones lost and memories were with me of my nan in particular who raised me like a mother.

Start – 2k
    There were 4 start sections. Runners, Runners / Joggers, Joggers / Walkers and then Walkers themselves. I lined up at the top of the 3rd section Joggers / Walkers so in theory the faster joggers and runners would be ahead of me and all walkers behind me. Reality was I spent the first 2k weaving in and out of slower moving traffic including plenty of groups of walkers walking abreast blocking those behind. Should have expected it but was still a bit out of sorts trying to hit my time in the midst of it. Was reasonably comfortable though.

Watch splits:
    5:38
    5:33

Predominantly downhill section. I was trying to balance making up a decent time on this section with saving a bit of juice for the hill to come. As it was I ended up with a similar split time to the first 2k so I think I erred too much on the side of caution.

Whopper of a hill here. When you’re down in the furry glen before the 3k is up and you can see the road high up above you with runners from the race passing by you get an awful glimpse of the hill to come. A few people around me were thrown by this – a couple even blew up and stopped and this was before the hill even started. I knew it was coming though, had trained a bit on hills in the last few weeks and knew I had banked time. Just had to get up it without blowing up and ruining the 5th K. It was hard but not as hard as expected. Dedicated the effort to my Nan and powered up it. Total climb of 24 metres in this 1k with 18m of it in the first 400m though so very happy with the time.

6:07

Went through 4k and my watch had me at just over 23 minutes. Happy days ! – I had 7 min to get to the finish to hit goal A and 6 minutes or so to hit a PB. I thought I had enough in the legs to open it up and come home in a majestic sprint but although I thought I was my pace wasn’t any different than the first km. :) About 150m from the finish line my family were there and I grabbed my daughter to run over the finish line with me. Lost a few seconds but couldn’t care less. She wanted to remember her Papa (my wives father who has also sadly passed) Went over the finish line and felt like throwing up. Must have looked like it so as one of the stewards says to me that I will be grand when I get an apple into me. WTF ? :D

Chip time 28:38 – New PB

Delighted with that result. I’ve come a long way back but am under no illusions as to how far I still have to go. For the moment though I'm happy to be out there improving on a weekly basis, getting fitter and continuing to drop the excess weight. I'm back to where I was (on shorter distances anyway) pre DCM 12 and now I feel I am going forward newly improving rather than catching up on what was previously lost. Going to allow myself a celebration beer watching Love / Hate tonight as celebration.

For you Nan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Congrats PM. Nice work :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Well done PM. Don't think you needed to preface your report though like that. I would read your report with equal interest as I would read krusty's or Blockic or CL or C_Ms to name but a few. We all have our level and potential for improvement and this forum helps us all improve.

Good to see you enjoying your running again.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭New runner

Let me preface this mini report with the acknowledgment that I am well aware that the times on this are less than inspiring in the grand scheme of running and this forum here in particular. :) That said though I personally enjoy reading race reports from all ends of the spectrum. The race is for most runners against yourself and your own abilities and this for me makes most race reports equally interesting. Granted epic reports and position chasing races like claralaras recent DCM report and Blockys cross country debut stand out a bit ;) So on with the report which I am dropping here in the absence of a regular log on boards. (Plan is to return to logging properly early next year when a decent base / times to report will hopefully be supplied)

As most of you know from here I’m coming back from a long lay off and that itself coming after less than a years running since getting off the couch and out there from scratch. This would actually be my first race since DCM last year. Over the past few months I’ve dragged myself back up to running up to 8k on LSRs and 3-4k pace runs. Target here was for sub 30min – sneaky dream time under 29:04 which would be a PB. Knowing there was a cruel hill in the middle of this my strategy was to try and bank 30 seconds per km on the first 3k, hang on for the hill and then give it what I could for the last 1k.
    Lined up at the start and was very emotional. The whole idea of the race is to remember / run for loved ones lost and memories were with me of my nan in particular who raised me like a mother.

Start – 2k
    There were 4 start sections. Runners, Runners / Joggers, Joggers / Walkers and then Walkers themselves. I lined up at the top of the 3rd section Joggers / Walkers so in theory the faster joggers and runners would be ahead of me and all walkers behind me. Reality was I spent the first 2k weaving in and out of slower moving traffic including plenty of groups of walkers walking abreast blocking those behind. Should have expected it but was still a bit out of sorts trying to hit my time in the midst of it. Was reasonably comfortable though.

Watch splits:

Predominantly downhill section. I was trying to balance making up a decent time on this section with saving a bit of juice for the hill to come. As it was I ended up with a similar split time to the first 2k so I think I erred too much on the side of caution.

Whopper of a hill here. When you’re down in the furry glen before the 3k is up and you can see the road high up above you with runners from the race passing by you get an awful glimpse of the hill to come. A few people around me were thrown by this – a couple even blew up and stopped and this was before the hill even started. I knew it was coming though, had trained a bit on hills in the last few weeks and knew I had banked time. Just had to get up it without blowing up and ruining the 5th K. It was hard but not as hard as expected. Dedicated the effort to my Nan and powered up it. Total climb of 24 metres in this 1k with 18m of it in the first 400m though so very happy with the time.

6:07

Went through 4k and my watch had me at just over 23 minutes. Happy days ! – I had 7 min to get to the finish to hit goal A and 6 minutes or so to hit a PB. I thought I had enough in the legs to open it up and come home in a majestic sprint but although I thought I was my pace wasn’t any different than the first km. :) About 150m from the finish line my family were there and I grabbed my daughter to run over the finish line with me. Lost a few seconds but couldn’t care less. She wanted to remember her Papa (my wives father who has also sadly passed) Went over the finish line and felt like throwing up. Must have looked like it so as one of the stewards says to me that I will be grand when I get an apple into me. WTF ? :D

Chip time 28:38 – New PB

Delighted with that result. I’ve come a long way back but am under no illusions as to how far I still have to go. For the moment though I'm happy to be out there improving on a weekly basis, getting fitter and continuing to drop the excess weight. I'm back to where I was (on shorter distances anyway) pre DCM 12 and now I feel I am going forward newly improving rather than catching up on what was previously lost. Going to allow myself a celebration beer watching Love / Hate tonight as celebration.

For you Nan.

Congrats PM , job well done! Great PB.

• Registered Users Posts: 615 ✭✭✭KillianByrne

Well done PM - nice to see a race report from someone after an injury layoff.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,458 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Yeah, well done PM - I know that circuit well and the hill is no gimme. You did your homework well. ;)

Great PB.

[edit - absolutely agree with RedRunner's comment. No need for the semi-apology. Nearly everyone here has come through a similar journey and most of us are "joggers" at the end of the day.]

Thanks for the encouragement guys and gals :)

I really don't want to drag up old bull**** but said old bull**** is the reason I prefaced it. (Irony !) My old log turned into a bit of a battle zone about efforts made and whether or not previous progress should be applauded or not etc. Just don't want to get into it again so wanted to make sure there was no hint of me thinking I am better than I am (Which I never did of course but perceptions can be inaccurate) I genuinely don't care in the greater scheme of things but I do want to keep my head down, do my work etc and let boards be a place to hang out and discuss the sport I love and not a place where I'm arguing / defending a position. That's not what it should be about !

I know where I am at. I know the effort I've put in and I am very happy with myself and am proud of my progress. I'm not putting myself down in any way at all but I do appreciate the points being made and where they come from. :)

Thanks again folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Well done PM, always have a supporter here. Keep it going.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Willie42

Welcome back PM

On a separate note I was updating the spreadsheet and for some reason when I add mileage for Sat & Sun Wexford1996's mileage also increases! Don't know how that happened and don't know how to fix !

Willie42 wrote: »
    Welcome back PM

On a separate note I was updating the spreadsheet and for some reason when I add mileage for Sat & Sun Wexford1996's mileage also increases! Don't know how that happened and don't know how to fix !

Thanks !

Will be updating for this week later tonight. Will sort it out then - am on phone at moment so can't do it now.

Edit: Sorted now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Nice running PM- well done on nailing that PB!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Nice work PM - onwards and upwards.

You can nearly hear the pride in the report!

Nice work PM - onwards and upwards.

You can nearly hear the pride in the report!

Onwards and downwards ;) lots of wiggle room for more pbs next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

Congrats on the super run Pacing Mule, thoroughly enjoyed reading your race report. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭Deedee2012

Well done on the run PM great to be back out there.

Managed to pick up a bug last week which has kicked off my asthma. Started on a week of steroids today. Flippin fed up, only two easy runs done since DCM, and I am seriously missing my running.
    On a positive note, I had let myself be talked into the XC meet and train races (2 miles) The first is the coming weekend...maybe I'll still be sick and unable to run!

Deedee2012 wrote: »
    Well done on the run PM great to be back out there.

Managed to pick up a bug last week which has kicked off my asthma. Started on a week of steroids today. Flippin fed up, only two easy runs done since DCM, and I am seriously missing my running.
    On a positive note, I had let myself be talked into the XC meet and train races (2 miles) The first is the coming weekend...maybe I'll still be sick and unable to run!

Thank f..k I've my 4 XC races over, don't think it's my forte at all! Sorry to hear u not well hopefully u will mend up soon.

Whoohoo! Have signed up to do the Derry marathon on 1st June! Excited, nervous n scared stiff all in equal measures. Registration opened this morning n already a great number have entered. only allowing 1500 if anyone interested. £36 or €42 to enter.

Any of the northern contingent considering doing this?
    http://www.greencastle5.com/
    I do it myself every year when up home. Really testing course and a top quality field. Great for running off the Christmas excesses (though not 1 for PBs).

Any of the northern contingent considering doing this?
    http://www.greencastle5.com/
    I do it myself every year when up home. Really testing course and a top quality field. Great for running off the Christmas excesses (though not 1 for PBs).
    Too far away for me meno .
    U not tempted to give derry a shot?

New runner wrote: »
    Too far away for me meno .
    U not tempted to give derry a shot?

I have London and Boston in the spring, will be sick of marathons by then!!

Definitely will give it a shot some time heard it's a great race. One of my clubmates won the ladies race last year...

I have London and Boston in the spring, will be sick of marathons by then!!

Definitely will give it a shot some time heard it's a great race. One of my clubmates won the ladies race last year...
    That's def enuf! Fair play to u. London will b amazing. Some difference compared to 1500 runners in derry lol!
    Atmosphere was really good this yr. 1st time it on in ?25 yrs. esp with derry been city of culture this yr it was really good . Quite a lot of areas with no supporters tho but I didn't find that too bad .
    Only opened this morn and already 650 have entered so demand high enuf.

I love when this happens.

Was due a recovery / easy run tonight but really didn't fancy it. Windy, cold and rainy. You know when you tell yourself it will be grand once you get out but you suspect deep down that you are lying to yourself. But then you get out there and within 5 steps know this is a great run. The buzz is there, the rain is glorious, the wind is a challenge and everything feels good. Ended up staying out for double what I had originally intended to do and only went home because I was hungry :D