Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Renting my first apartment in Ireland... Are these acceptable?

Options
  • 04-11-2012 2:18pm
    Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭

Hello,

I've been renting an apartment in Dublin for 2 months. It is not expensive -700E and I live with my significant other-, and it is very well located, but:

- The windows are not isolated and the apartment is very windy and

- we have central heating and the landlord only heatsfor 6 hours a day (3 hours in the morning and 3 hours in the night).

- As a result, the apartment is very cold. Our bathroom is only 11°C (it is the coldest room, always damp because there is not heating at all in it). Our "hottest" room is out living room, and it is only 15.5°C. Our bedroom is at best 13°C.

- He installed a 2E coin-operated electricity meter and is re-selling the electricity at the rate of 30cts per kW. It is almost twice the standard rate of 17cts per kW I noticed when I looked at the price of electricity in Ireland in average.

- We have immersion, which is pretty common, but ours is not insulated at all. The water won't stay hot for more than 30 minutes