Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's time to start running

• Registered Users Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

guinang wrote: »
    I have no idea where I am and it's pretty dark...

...I felt this session....alot. It was too warm. I'm not as fond of treadmills as I used to be. It was too warm. I was tired. Did I mention it was too warm. Ah I don't know. But I finished it....

...Although it's a different hotel, the location looks no more promising than this hotel. In the middle of an industrial estate - livin' the dream

:D:D:D This brought a smile to my face! Brilliant post! I can so relate to this as well!

Great going to get a run in with the circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Reading all that back, my log looks like I should spend some time on the 'couch' with my local doctor!!!!
    Just because its too warm is no excuse for infidelity :p

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭guinang

Wednesday 13th Dec - 5.58 miles @ 8.29 min/mile

Ran around a hotel between the car park and the surrounding of the hotels. Each lap was probably around .8 mile. Didn't enjoy the treadmill yesterday, and there was a guy working with me today that fancied the idea of runnign outdoors. From an outsider perspective, it must have looked pretty insane.

My favourite part of the jog was running by the gym. Those on treadmills looking out on a dimly lit path wondering why I was running by them.....again.
    A couple of years ago, I remember driving past people and wondering why oh why would they be running so late/early/at all/so fast/etc. Rather bizarre when you are faced with being that crazy guy, but yet can't step back from breach.

Onwards & upwards :-)

Thurs, Fri, Sat - Rest

I was due to rest on Thurs & Sat this week anyway due to work and family commitments. Unfortunately, I didn't make it out of bed on Friday early enough, and had a crazy day with work so I never got a chance to run later in the day.

Sunday 16th Dec - 10.58 miles @ 8.36 min/mile

Cracking morning in the Phoenix Park. Met up with a couple of mates and done a nice saunter around the park on a usual 10k route of ours. One of the lads skipped off and we picked up the pace but only slightly for the next few miles. No problems. Wasn't feeling great to kick the run off (owed to lack of sleep lately) but settled in nicely and really started to enjoy it from half way through.

This week's training plan (thanks Meno)

Mon - 5.5 miles easy
    Tues - Rest
    Wednesday - Session @ 6.10 - 6.20 min/mile (1 mile warmup, 1 x 2 mile, 5 min recovery, 4 x 1 mile 3 min recovery, 1 mile cool down)
    Thurs - 5 miles recovery
    Friday - 5.5 miles @ 10 mile pace (7 mins/mile)
    Saturday - Rest
    Sunday - LSR (10 - 12 miles)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

Interesting on your plan for this week.

I've been doing a run for the last while - its a 7.3m loop of the Ph Park and part of me was wondering if I'll ever see value/enjoyment in running below 7m again. I know I'll need to run less than 7m in a 5k/10k specific training plan.
    But your '5.5m @ 10m pace' is inspired!

We can get caught up in our own little routines and suddenly these routines are hard to break and become normality.

I'll be going out later on for a 5m run at 10m pace.............

thanks - Great log. I'll be watching with interest! (myself, yourself and Blockic seem to have similar times - be interesting to see what our training brings into 2013 and what any differences are)

Thurs, Fri, Sat - Rest

You copying my training?! ;):D

Interesting on your plan for this week.

I've been doing a run for the last while - its a 7.3m loop of the Ph Park and part of me was wondering if I'll ever see value/enjoyment in running below 7m again. I know I'll need to run less than 7m in a 5k/10k specific training plan.
    But your '5.5m @ 10m pace' is inspired!

We can get caught up in our own little routines and suddenly these routines are hard to break and become normality.

I'll be going out later on for a 5m run at 10m pace.............

thanks - Great log. I'll be watching with interest! (myself, yourself and Blockic seem to have similar times - be interesting to see what our training brings into 2013 and what any differences are)

Oh dear. Please don't copy anything I do. I haven't one iota of a notion about what I'm doing. None of the approaches I take are even notionally based on anything scientific. I just go by my time available, my guess on where I am, inputs from other logs, and of course following pointers from Meno.

My only comment in relation to your above post re distances would be to not make it all about distances. A good session can be had over a shorter timeframe, rather than always focusing on running a specific distance. At the moment, I want my easy runs to be around 45 mins so the 5.5 mile loop of the local area works well. I'm just incorporating a tempo session in to the same loop. As my speed improves my easy session may be 8mins/mile so I would look to do a 6 mile loop then. Or as I appraoch training for a race over a longer distance, I may also look to increase the miles.

blockic wrote: »
    You copying my training?! ;):D

I've gone further than that....I've hired some surveillance.

Every breath you take.....

Oh dear. Please don't copy anything I do. I haven't one iota of a notion about what I'm doing. None of the approaches I take are even notionally based on anything scientific. I just go by my time available, my guess on where I am, inputs from other logs, and of course following pointers from Meno.

QUOTE]

ha ha, dont worry.
    right now I'm in between training plans so I've not got a lot of variety in my running.
    Since end of DCM I've just been maintaining my fitness, with not much structure. I'm starting a new plan in Jan - be sorted then.

Monday 17th Dec - Rest

Work & family life strike again. Was too tired for the early start.

Tuesday 18th Dec - 5.51 miles @ 8.29 min/mile

Today was supposed to be a rest day, but couldn't get out yesterday so quick reshuffle and away I go. Not a bad run, but nothing worth continuing this log for........

Looking forward to the session tomorrow

(then when the session arrives, I'll hate it - then when the session's done I'll be looking forward to the next).

Wednesday 19th December - Calf strain....I think

Kids had me awake early this morning so was thinking of cancelling the run but since it was the session I really wanted to get out and give it a go. Went to put the garmin on but realised there was no battery. No idea how - it was 39% before i started my run yesterday. Decided I'd go tempo around the local loop without a watch.

Got out the front door and ran about 20 meters and had to pull up. I have a pain that feels like untreated cramp. I have gotten similar before when playing football in heavy ground. Tried running on it again but it was quite sore and I couldn't even do an easy run.

I'll try an easy 3 mile run tomorrow....maybe. Otherwise I might have to knock it on the head this week.

I'm off running for a week I'd say. The pain hasn't gone at all today. I can feel it even when I'm sitting at times but certainly quite a bit of discomfort in walking. I haven't really rested since dcm and since I had no consistency before it, so i might do well to listen to my body and rest up for a bit.

Balls....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

I'm off running for a week I'd say. The pain hasn't gone at all today. I can feel it even when I'm sitting at times but certainly quite a bit of discomfort in walking. I haven't really rested since dcm and since I had no consistency before it, so i might do well to listen to my body and rest up for a bit.

Balls....

Bad luck. Hopefully a few days rest will sort it out for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

RedRunner wrote: »
    Bad luck. Hopefully a few days rest will sort it out for you.

You timed it well anyway :D

so i might do well to listen to my body and rest up for a bit.

Balls....

The time off will do you a world of good, you will be back stronger in no time!

Any news on the calf?

It's almost there. Went out for a 3 mile run on Monday and there was a little tightness but felt ok. I'm going for a 6/8 mile run tomorrow so hopefully after that I can get back in to the training again.

Honestly, it couldn't have come at a better time. Obviously, my body needed a break but I don't think I would have been too motivated to get out over the last two weeks anyway.

Great result on your NYD 5k. Super running.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Trig1

Hi Guinag....
    I'm on the tri forum and was bored in work so just ventured over here for a read...read your log and your training looks to be going really well...Just reading about your calf injury and it seems to be similar to an injury i used get at the start of last year when i started running..every few days my calf would feel like its tearing or badly cramping, got a bit of advice and bought a foam roller- I now use the foam roller for around 10mins every night to loosen out the calves/i.t. bands/hamstrings and quads... best piece of kit I've ever got- calves have been injury free for last few months..I also wear compression socks when running and find them really good... just a few ideas to get you back on track..

Trig1 wrote: »
    Hi Guinag....
    I'm on the tri forum and was bored in work so just ventured over here for a read...read your log and your training looks to be going really well...Just reading about your calf injury and it seems to be similar to an injury i used get at the start of last year when i started running..every few days my calf would feel like its tearing or badly cramping, got a bit of advice and bought a foam roller- I now use the foam roller for around 10mins every night to loosen out the calves/i.t. bands/hamstrings and quads... best piece of kit I've ever got- calves have been injury free for last few months..I also wear compression socks when running and find them really good... just a few ideas to get you back on track..

Fair play lad. Thanks for the very helpful information. I haven't suffered with this in quite some time (since I played footie which alone is over 4 years ago) but if it becomes more common place then I'll defo sort out a foam roller - I've heard nothing but good reports on these. I believe I didn't rest enough after DCM in Oct, and since I had no consistency in training prior to post-DCM I think I was probably over cooking it a little. I was since reading other threads and many people are advocating 4 weeks rest after DCM but I didn't do this. While I didn't increase my mileage per week immediately after I certainly increased the no. of days training.

Saturday 6th Jan - 9.75 miles @ 8.20 m/m

My first decent run in quite some time, having been laid up with a calf strain. On the plus side, the calf felt good. On the negative side, my knee & the arch of my right foot gave me some problems.

I'm starting to think I'm in the wrong shoes as I seem to be having problems since I changed over to my Asics 3030s in September. Mostly just niggles, but now it appears they are causing bigger issues (or maybe there are other elements in play). It started with some bad blistering on both arches which I just put down to the new shoes back in Sept. I've also been experiencing considerable blistering at the top of my toes. My biggest concern though is that my right ankle hasn't felt right since just before DCM. It never really bothers me out running, but if I experience any uneven ground that forces my to adjust I typically experience pain in my right ankle. I've been checking out the asics website and it says my shoes are for 'late stage over pronantors'. While I know I over pronate, the guy in the store doing the gain analysis never differentiated and just told me to go with structured cushioning. Never had a problem in my previous Gel 1160s.

I received a gift voucher for Amphibian King (base to race) in Ballymount for Christmas so I'll be going there this week. I'm going to continue running this week, but all my runs will be easy, and I won't exceed an hour on the road. If I experience any niggles I'll stop immediately.

Plan

Monday: Rest
    Tues: 5.5 miles easy
    Wed: 7 miles easy
    Thurs: 5 miles easy
    Friday: 3 miles easy

It started with some bad blistering on both arches which I just put down to the new shoes back in Sept. I've also been experiencing considerable blistering at the top of my toes.

I had the exact same with my asics in regard to arches, I put it down to bedding them in when I first got them, but it never stopped. Had to get rid of them and bought Mizunos, never had a problem since. The arch on that shoe must be too high for your foot i suspect.

blockic wrote: »
    I had the exact same with my asics in regard to arches, I put it down to bedding them in when I first got them, but it never stopped. Had to get rid of them and bought Mizunos, never had a problem since. The arch on that shoe must be too high for your foot i suspect.

Hope so. If it's just a matter of changing shoes I'll be a happy camper. I honestly think that what it is though. I've never suffered from knee problems or ankle problems or at least not sinceI was 9/10 years old and even then it was put down to growing pains. All these problems in the space of a few short months are too coincidental.

If I find it is an issue with the shoes I'll be back in to Elverys requesting a refund. No one once mentioned that these shoes were for a very specific type of over pronator. When I spend a considerable amount of money on a pair of shoes I expect some wear out of them. These guys in Elverys & Lifestyle are out there selling their capability to provide gait analysis without actually then being in a position to advise correctly afterwards.

Jeez, I think I may need more time 'on the couch'. Rant over.

Wednesday 9th Jan - 4.22 miles @ 7.14 min/mile

I still felt a niggle yesterday in my knee after my Saturday run so I decided to skip yesterday. Injury really does mess things up.
    Got out for a run this morning with the intention of doing an easy jog. I haven't been doing much late due to a spate of problems so wasn't expecting much from this. I decided to wear my old 1160s instead of my newer 3030s because of recent problems.

As soon as I started I felt more comfortable in my stride. I felt more comfortable and stable as my foot landed. I guess I had assumed that the newer shoes just needed to be broken in initially and so I pushed on. I then became used to them and thought nothing of the discomfort. I'm now fully convinced these shoes are causing me issue.

Within the first 1/2 mile I had upped the pace to 640 min/mile and continued on at that pace until just over 3 miles. After this I slowed for the final mile since I hadn't been doing anything of late and didn't want to cause damage. I felt good for most of the run though I did tire towards the end of the quicker tempo. Will definitely visit Amphibian King this weekend.

I now have a race schedule for the first half of 2013. Happy days. I want to include another 10k in to the mix, perhaps around June. It's also likely that I'll do part of the Dublin Race Series (10mile, 1/2 & DCM)

24th March - Wicklow Gaol Break
    14th April - Spar Great Ireland 10k
    21st April - Wexford Half
    13th July - Clontarf half.

• Registered Users Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

What about the Dunboyne 4 miler on the 24th March?!?! Surely you won't miss that...

I'm back to the training myself this week finally, I went through 5 weeks with only one run (eesh), real life just got in the way. Back to the important things now and 4 runs a week or I'll be damned!

Fingers crossed new runners from AK will sort you out.

Mulberry.

Hey Mulberry,

Happy new year to you. Unfortunately I will miss Dunboyne because I'm already signed up for the Wicklow Gaol half. My wife signed up for the three half marathons as a b'day present. Rather strange explaining to friends about that b'day present but I thought it was genius.
    Nuts! Forgot all about Dunboyne. Jaysus, all the way to Wicklow when there's a race on my doorstep. And by all accounts (from a lad in AK this morning) Wicklow is hellish with lots of hills.

I had some free time this morning so I headed on over to Ballymount. Got fitted out for a pair of Nimbus (coincidentally these are the shoes I originally went to buy in Elverys before having my gait done, and being told I need structured cushioning). Delighted with them. I'll make up my mind properly in a couple of weeks but I could recognise a huge difference in them just running up and down the shop. Lad in the shop was great too. Had me in five different trainers before coming back to the first. A lesson to anyone that you've gotta go to the specialised shops if you're willing to take running even half seriously.

Best of luck with the running this year Mulberry. When can we expect to see a log from you? :) Would love to join up in Dunboyne AC. Really enjoyed that night down there and had already been speaking with a couple of lads so it was all very friendly. Unfortunately, as you'll see from my log, morning running is suiting me best because it's not interfering with work or family life. Once things cool down a little for me, I'd love to get back down.

Thurs 10th Jan - 7.9 miles @ 8.22 m/m

First run in the new trainers. So much better. They feel a little heavy. I could have gone with a lighter pair (Saucony something or other - I know feck all about this stuff) but went with the Nimbus because of how they felt on the foot. And after the headaches of the recent pair, I wanted to go with what felt comfortable

Nothing else to report, well except if fricking cold out, but I'm helped by my new long running pants - I can't get used to the fact that I'm running in tights or leggins :eek:

Thurs 10th Jan - 7.9 miles @ 8.22 m/m

I can't get used to the fact that I'm running in tights or leggins :eek:

NEVER call them tights - bad enough calling them leggings :p

My wife signed up for the three half marathons as a b'day present. Rather strange explaining to friends about that b'day present but I thought it was genius.
    thats a super present.......should get her talking to my wife!!

NEVER call them tights - bad enough calling them leggings :p

thats a super present.......should get her talking to my wife!!

I don't know which is worse to be honest. Have always associated leggins with 80s tv shows like 'Fame'. Thankfully, I haven't yet had to resort to the matching leg warmers.

Friday 11th January - 6.7 miles @ 7.07 m/m

Legs have been feeling good this week after the couple of weeks off. Decided to do a tempo session just so see how I'd fare running with a bit more speed in the new trainers. Did 5.5 miles (local loop) @ 6.55 m/m and then a warm down of 1.2. Goal pace for local loop was 7.00 m/m which is my planned HMP for my second half that I have planned in April. Hope to be sub 90 by the Clontarf half in July.

I'm starting to feel so much better running with pace. The niggles are all but gone. My only problem this morning was starting out too quick but I managed to maintain pace. Splits:

6.40 (.5 mile)

I have my lsr tomorrow after which I can finally get back to following meno's plan. Been a pain in the nads because I was looking for consistency before following it a few weeks ago. When I finally got consistency I got the injury.