Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weekend of 9th / 10th November - What to do?

• 05-11-2012 8:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭

Hey!

Going to Ballybofey on Friday for a weekend away with the girlfriend! Have never been up that side so any ideas on what to do within a 20 mile radius of there?

Any festivals or anything on, or must-see places around there?

Also, Ireland rugby game is on Saturday evening, where would you recommend to watch it in the town?

Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Firblog

You would have just enough time to make it from Ballyboffey to Derry for this on saturday night

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

Firblog wrote: »
    You would have just enough time to make it from Ballyboffey to Derry for this on saturday night

Wouldn't mind actually, wouldn't be opposed to going to Derry to watch the rugby too, but getting back to Ballybofey after the gig could be a bit of a problem as we'd both like to have a few drinks...

Edit: Just saw that Rory and the Island are playing in Ballybofey that night! Costs feck all and would probably be great craic so will probably go to that for the look... Even though I am a Mayo man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

the back bar in the Villa Rose hotel would be a good place to watch the rugby

• Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Firblog

Padkir wrote: »
    Just saw that Rory and the Island are playing in Ballybofey that night! Costs feck all and would probably be great craic so will probably go to that for the look... Even though I am a Mayo man!

He is good craic alright, usually will play till fairly late, where's he on?

Firblog wrote: »

He is good craic alright, usually will play till fairly late, where's he on?
    Is it the balor theatre or something like that?

• Registered Users Posts: 30 therandomguy

Why would anyone go to Ballybofey? Donegal Town, Letterkenny or Derry much less depressing!

Got one of those grabone deals ages ago for Jacksons Hotel! :D

To be honest I don't really care, will just be nice to get away and relax for a while!

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,121 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Ah, it's hardly that bad is it?

Sure there's McElhinneys to keep herself entertained, whilst you head for a few jars look around town... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 46,100 ✭✭✭✭muffler

might even bump into the muffler :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭harpstilidie

Don't be slagging Ballybofey now :p she is the spot.