Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anybody care to restore my faith in humanity?

• 07-11-2012 7:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭

Maybe i'm naive but I saw something today that turned my fcuking stomach.

A little runt, walking along on his flekky tracksuit, hands down his scabby pants, ON HIS OWN, leant over a street beggar and spat right into his cup, not on him but into the cup. Now, Im under no illusions about homeless individuals, I know more than most due to my job and have seen a lot but this is the worst ive seen in front of me in my many years working in Dublin.

Like , if he was with mates and trying to be the big man, thats an explanation (not an excuse). But it was the pure planned disregard for another that really got me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 558 ✭✭✭OurLadyofKnock

Civil servants are starting their public service training younger I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I offered a homeless person a donut yesterday, does that help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Beyond pathetic :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

yermandan wrote: »
    Maybe i'm naive but I saw something today that turned my fcuking stomach.

A little runt, walking along on his flekky tracksuit, hands down his scabby pants, ON HIS OWN, leant over a street beggar and spat right into his cup, not on him but into the cup. Now, Im under no illusions about homeless individuals, I know more than most due to my job and have seen a lot but this is the worst ive seen in front of me in my many years working in Dublin.

Like , if he was with mates and trying to be the big man, thats an explanation (not an excuse). But it was the pure planned disregard for another that really got me.

You havent lived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Killing the dirtbird would have been a satisfying equilibrium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Saw lads pissing on a homeless fella who was wrapped up in blankets and asleep in a doorway on Grafton Steet the last bank holiday weekend.Told three Gardai who I walked passed outside Stephens Green,not that they could do much.

Hopefully karma exists and it will come back to bite cúnts like these someday.Probably doesn't though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Sadly, this is not the worst thing you will see in Dublin city centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,471 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Well he didn't kick his head in..that's something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Why not restore your faith by realising that the vast majority of people who passed him by did NOT spit in his cup?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I hate everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Sadly, this is not the worst thing you will see in Dublin city centre

You'd be best advised to stay out so

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

That's Dublin City centre for you. If you don't like it, avoid it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Saw lads pissing on a homeless fella who was wrapped up in blankets and asleep in a doorway on Grafton Steet the last bank holiday weekend.Told three Gardai who I walked passed outside Stephens Green,not that they could do much.

Hopefully karma exists and it will come back to bite cúnts like these someday.Probably doesn't though.

Were you on the Joe Duffy show and are you a taxi driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,471 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

markesmith wrote: »

If you accept this your children will be next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

scum absolute scum! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,927 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Wimp.com

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

It's not humanity that's to blame, it's civilization.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

markesmith wrote: »

Spot on. Who needs the services available in the centre of a capital city?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

I think we need roaming gangs of vigilantes murdering these scummers. Yes it will be frowned upon and amnesty international will be pissing and whinging about it but surely the benefits of it for the rest of the decent members of society would outweigh the moral aspects and amnesty international's wagging finger. Hell even they bit their tongue on the murder of osama bin laden, so who are they to judge.

Lets just start eradicating these cúnts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I dont get that :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 4 SwissResidence

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭horsemaster

Its terrible what people can do and won't do. Humanity is a gift that humans possess but we don't use it as much as we should. It is sad what cruelty and 'evil' humans are capable of. It is even sadder to see these acts committed by the young ones. We tend to blame it on society and others for the faults of humans when we ourselves are to be blamed for almost all of them. When you point a finger at someone, look at your hand again and you will see three fingers pointing back at you. Parents blame others and society for their chicldren's bad behaviour. But I believe parents are to be blamed for their children's behaviour. I have no statistics to back this statement. It is from what I have observed. Be a good parent and I think half the battle is won. Lead by example instead of telling folks what is wrong. Go help the person who is in need of help instead of waiting for others to help them first. Don't feel shy. It is a good act to help. Don't worry about getting attention. Just help. By helping and dooing the deed, you will influence others. This is a great thread and just by reading the replies, I can see a lot of good people are here. This topic was started by a good person (OP) if not, sucj an act would not have affected him/her. With so many good people in this thread alone, I have faith in humanity. People like you inspire me everyday abd you are the real heroes in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Explain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Go on explain your big insight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I dont get that :confused:
    It means the unhappy person who said it has a weird obsession with and bitter resentment towards public servants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

There was a nice story on facebook the other day.

Single Mum takes her car to get two new tyres fitted. Guy in the store tells her she needs four tyres as all are dangerous. She can only afford two and says she will get the other two next month.

She leaves the car to be done and when she gets back, a total stranger has paid for the extra two tyres and just left a note saying it was the least he could do, but to try and help someone else if she can.

I'd love to be in a position to help someone like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭maiden

Im off on hols on sat and no sign of my sons passport, panic stations, passport office said it was sent out etc.

My mobile rang yesterday morning asking did I know ####, i said he was my son and this man on the phone tells me he has my sons passport (with all his original docs, i might add), it was sent to his home instead of mine last friday. I was sooooo happy!!

He said he would post it up and i told him i was going on hols and was so grateful, when he said, it might not get to you in time, I can drive from blarney tonight after work and maybe meet u in mallow.
    Im stunned that anyone would do this for a complete stranger, in the end we decided to do express post of which he paid for, and i rec'd the passport today. I dont know how he got my number but am so glad he did.

I asked him for his name so i could reimburse him and he said no need, just go and enjoy your hols

THANK YOU SOOOOOO MUCH MR CORKMAN!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Here ya go OP. The photo of the tourist giving his shoes to the homeless girl nearly set me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Thanks dudes, i fcukin love boards

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

that made me laugh actually :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

That video was awesome...

We need to be better people.... for the cats' sakes!! *tear*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Here ya go OP. The photo of the tourist giving his shoes to the homeless girl nearly set me off.

Best video ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,523 ✭✭✭✭Victor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭caste_in_exile

I've no respect for begging either but advocate sympathy sooner than rage, or such disregard only frustration of mine with em is why lower yourself like that; in public view I used to remonstrate with em. I'd sooner shoplift but could be drugs problem

Maybe you get help sooner that way. at least they're not brushing emselves under the carpet or something by hiding away in embarrassment.. but to address the bag relieving himself of excess scum he's just a scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

I was no beauty, but I was beautiful that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I wonder how can go about their lives like this without any conscience whatsoever!

There seems to be a striking similarity between scum like these and psychopaths...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

I was no beauty, but I was beautiful that day.
    was that yer one from the kerrygold ad? ...no, it was, someone else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Christina Aguilera?

Same person who taught a generation of 12yr old the virtues of being rubbed to get turned on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Any time I feel bad about the world, I watch this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I'm really liking this thread! So many positive postings and videos that I am sure the faith in humanity has been restored to more than a few people :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Heres a great article with true stories of humanity at its finest and most selfless:

http://www.cracked.com/blog/6-true-stories-that-will-restore-your-faith-in-humanity/

Though the highlight is probably this video:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

^^^ impossible not to smile at that video!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

Random quote from Teabag add. Barrys Tea I think :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

So sick of that stupid annoying overused cliche "restore my faith in humanity".
    Have to read it every day in Metro Herald, that some gimps faith in humanity was restored because someone handed in their lost wallet (or whatever) without robbing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

robbiezero wrote: »
    So sick of that stupid annoying overused cliche "restore my faith in humanity".
    Have to read it every day in Metro Herald, that some gimps faith in humanity was restored because someone handed in their lost wallet (or whatever) without robbing it.

This post restored my faith in humanity.

I too am sick of this, but I thought I was the only one!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Last week, while out for her daily walk, my elderly mother's dog vanished over the horizon. At home, an hour later, the phone rang and the caller informed my (now distressed) mother that Moppsie was in.....the local pub, being spoiled by the clientele. After asking for her address, three of the customers escorted Moppsie to my mother's house. Mother doesn't have crisps in the house because crisps make Moppsie burp; Moppsie burped for the rest of the day. Is there a CSI in North County Dublin?
    A few months ago, a phone caller advised my mother not to worry, "I've found your purse and I'll drop it around". The caller was a total stranger and all contents of the purse were intact. Mother hadn't even realised she had lost the purse.
    If human behavior could be charted, I think it would form a bell curve - mostly decent with a few stragglers at the edges representing the scumbag and genuinely decent elements. Perhaps, by concentrating on the disgusting, we might neglect the decent majority and completely miss the especially kind-hearted(?)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

oh god
    can feel another sucicide coming soon....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

BrensBenz wrote: »
    Last week, while out for her daily walk, my elderly mother's dog vanished over the horizon. At home, an hour later, the phone rang and the caller informed my (now distressed) mother that Moppsie was in.....the local pub, being spoiled by the clientele. After asking for her address, three of the customers escorted Moppsie to my mother's house. Mother doesn't have crisps in the house because crisps make Moppsie burp; Moppsie burped for the rest of the day. Is there a CSI in North County Dublin?
    A few months ago, a phone caller advised my mother not to worry, "I've found your purse and I'll drop it around". The caller was a total stranger and all contents of the purse were intact. Mother hadn't even realised she had lost the purse.
    If human behavior could be charted, I think it would form a bell curve - mostly decent with a few stragglers at the edges representing the scumbag and genuinely decent elements. Perhaps, by concentrating on the disgusting, we might neglect the decent majority and completely miss the especially kind-hearted(?)

Are things gone that bad, that we now think its a great thing when someone does not actually rob someone's purse that they found.
    Surely most normal people would hand it in, or call the person.
    Although maybe things are that bad, lost my wallet a few months ago in Athlone. Got call a few days later that someone had handed it in to the bank. Cards intact but all the cash -£60 taken.