Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The scum in this city.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 809 ✭✭✭frankosw

Esel wrote: »
    ^ So, shouldn't your advice be to weed out the 'big man scumbag' and the 'little bastards' will fold?

[Good advice (generally, but not in this thread), if one can react quickly enough or pre-empt the obvious coming unavoidable attack by 'getting your retaliation in first'.]

How is your internet advice actually helpful to the OP anyway? Should their 14yo son (or one of the other guys with him) have somehow beaten the crap out of the leader of the gang who jumped them? If they actually had the ability to do this, they probably wouldn't have been picked out for attack in the first place, because they would not have been giving off the 'easy victim' vibe....

In the vast majority of scenarios, legging it at the first hint of impending attack is the best advice for the average Joe. Being streetwise enough to spot that is the thing though.

Nope i'm saying the community needs to deal with the problem..all of the community..these scumbags wont stand up to concerted resistance.

Had a problem family kicked out of my local area not so long ago..they had the neighbors terrorised but once they banded together with the help of dcc and sinn fein as well as the gardai they slunk off like beaten dogs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 809 ✭✭✭frankosw

Having said that i know this area quite well. The shop at the top of marrowbone lane is literally full of drunks and thier children night and day.

I was in the off licence section about 1pm and a woman reeking of alcohol was cramming cans of beer into a childs schoolbag whilst her drunken partner distracted the shop assistant in a sort of comedy sketch.

At the same time kids in school uniforms could be plainly seen rifling packets of biscuits and cans of soft drinks

That chipper Fortes regularly has drunks bribing children to get food for them because they themselves are barred..they stand outside drinking whilst kids demand food from the staff in barely comprehensable language.

The area has become a ghetto..feral kids and alcoholic adults with no moral compass whatsoever...who's fault is it? The welfare state?the Guards? the City Planners?

It seems that certain people are allowed to do whatever the hell they want and the taxpayer is the one funding it.:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 155 ✭✭jay92

Im in Limerick and It's no secret that we have terrible crime here too.. At this stage the only way forward is forming a big vigilante and going out and beating the **** out of all the scum in the city...so ****ing tempted with the amount of **** you see on a day to day basis

Sorry to hear about your kid too....

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭listenup

sorry about your child and his mates I hope these ****s that done it don't wake in the morning and are just disgusting corpses which go buried with nobody to remember them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

Piliger wrote: »
    Sadly there are scum in every city, and in every town, in every country.

We hear this everytime a scumbag story about Dublin is told. It doesn't wash with me anymore.

I've spent lots if time in various cities in Europe and have never ever seen the level of random scumbaggery that goes on in Dublin.

We should stop saying that it goes on in every city and just do something about it here in our own city.

The police and justice system in general in other cities are in my opinion much more effective at stamping this type of behaviour out.

Let's face it, what deterrents are in place when you read of 17 year olds with 50 previous convictions still up in front of a judge getting suspended sentences

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

If your a victim of a crime violent or otherwise, once you report it to the guards and receive medical attention (if needed), that's pretty much you looked after. There are support groups out there mostly staffed by volunteers (a lot of who where victims themselves). Basically you just have to live with or tough. The best you can hope for is they catch the scum that did it.

Then you the criminal who the bible bashing do gooders would have you believe are victims themselves.

Irish society provides everything they need - houses, welfare, medical card and so on.

If one is caught and goes to prison he is again provided with everything they need - medical care, food, tv and so on. After all they do have their rights. As far as I'm aware there is a prisoners right commission or there a outs that makes sure those poor prisoners rights are being adhered to.

Then your back to the victims whose only right is to suffer the trauma and stress caused by the poor hard done by criminal who is entertaining his mates in the joy with the story about how he suckered punched some random guy on the street and then danced on his head.

They should probably take a leaf out of Breviks book - mass murder aload of innocent kids and people and get 3 prison cells for his troubles. After all he does have his rights. The hundreds if not thousands of people he directly affected have the right to suffer.

There is a happy medium in my book. The punishment should fit the crime. Murder in cold blood - you forfeit your right to live.
    Violent repeat criminal - hard labour, with no luxuries.
    Rapist/child molesters - you damaged goods, the chair or nearest tree.
    Petty thieves - sent to work in a factory, no pay of course.
    The lad who keeps getting drunk and causing fights - you pay the other guys hospital bill after u get out of prison.
    There are a lot more crimes I've not mentioned, that's just an idea of what I'm talking about.

I could go on and on, but its late and I'm up early :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

We hear this everytime a scumbag story about Dublin is told. It doesn't wash with me anymore.

I've spent lots if time in various cities in Europe and have never ever seen the level of random scumbaggery that goes on in Dublin.

We should stop saying that it goes on in every city and just do something about it here in our own city.

The police and justice system in general in other cities are in my opinion much more effective at stamping this type of behaviour out.

Let's face it, what deterrents are in place when you read of 17 year olds with 50 previous convictions still up in front of a judge getting suspended sentences
    i agree. every city has some scum but in major cities in other countries, the cops don't take ****. here the scum are free to do as they please. they might get warnings, suspended sentences or minor fines. They wear them like badges of pride.

Even the major drug kingpins. we all know who they are, especially in limerick, but what's being done to take them down? CAB was a good start but we need to evolve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Didn't read the whole thread, but no point in starting a new topic.

I want to vent my well disgrace at what I seen in Swords last night. I am in no way a prude but my god, two lads at the bus stop in the Village openly doing keys of coke out of the heads. I mean jesus a bit of decency, is this the type of carry on we will see if we legalize weed?

Bit of respect for the area and the people of Dublin, doing keys of coke. Pure and utter dirt bags. Forgot to mention I noticed this while driving a car, I had to double back over my shoulder I though I was seeing things.

Just to add , I sooner march to rid of streets of these ****ing scum, them and the shower of ****ers sponging off the dole and my tax paying money than a march over the bailout.

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭eric hoone

We should make every T.D. have their constituency office in the roughest area of their constituency.
    That'd concentrate their minds on sorting out antisocial behaviour,
    hopefully by getting this underemployed generation back to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Advocation of violence is not acceptable in these forums. Any more such posts will result in an immediate & lengthy ban.

tHB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

msg11 wrote: »
    I want to vent my well disgrace at what I seen in Swords last night. I am in no way a prude but my god, two lads at the bus stop in the Village openly doing keys of coke out of the heads. I mean jesus a bit of decency, is this the type of carry on we will see if we legalize weed?
    Well its not legal now and you have still witnessed it!!

You saw them doing coke and yet you bring weed into it, not logical!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

For those here who are under the false impression that Vigilante works Isn't that what street gangs are all about? they don't like the law, they want to do it their own way because they think if there were no police, there would be peace.....vigilantes often carry out their own twisted ideas of "justice",In Northern Ireland its been a well tried out form of justice,and it hasn't worked, Today we know these were caused by ignorance, bigotry, and hatred, continuing to breed further bigotry, hatred, and ignorance with the wheel of violence just turning and turning and getting bigger and bigger,Unfortunately superman and Batman are just comic book heroes, there has to be a better way.

eric hoone wrote: »
    We should make every T.D. have their constituency office in the roughest area of their constituency.
    That'd concentrate their minds on sorting out antisocial behaviour,
    hopefully by getting this underemployed generation back to work.

There are many TD,s who have constituency offices in rough areas,One of the local one,s here a SF one had a petrol bomb thown in the hallway last month.I personally dont know all the answers but we have tried everything so something radically diferent has to be tried.

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=petrol%20bomb%20attack%20on%20sinn%20fein%20office&source=web&cd=3&cad=rja&sqi=2&ved=0CDYQFjAC&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thejournal.ie%2Fpetrol-bomb-sinn-fein-aengus-o-snodaigh-dublin-598510-Sep2012%2F&ei=zNCnUOHTDYaWhQeZlIGwDQ&usg=AFQjCNG8Xm4oXU1z14wH2_swqPdVJNpcPQ

• Registered Users Posts: 926 ✭✭✭fall

Well after 15 years working directly with these families in the inner city of Dublin I can honestly say that unless the parents provide boundaries and teach respect at home there is very little we can do. We have all heard the saying you need a license for a dog! I see children who are born normal being destroyed by their environment. They think how they live, steal, attack etc. is normal because it is their normality. They are surrounded by drug taking, alcohol abuse and vicious behaviour from the moment they open their eyes. They learn to survive by mimicking their parents behaviour and to escape by getting out of their heads. The families who work for a living and put boundaries in place and teach morals produce good kids regardless of where they live. There has to be accountability put at the door of the people who bring these children into the world. They get supported (child benefit, numerous welfare payments) to be **** parents and we as a society suffer because of it.

fall wrote: »
    Well after 15 years working directly with these families in the inner city of Dublin I can honestly say that unless the parents provide boundaries and teach respect at home there is very little we can do. We have all heard the saying you need a license for a dog! I see children who are born normal being destroyed by their environment. They think how they live, steal, attack etc. is normal because it is their normality. They are surrounded by drug taking, alcohol abuse and vicious behaviour from the moment they open their eyes. They learn to survive by mimicking their parents behaviour and to escape by getting out of their heads. The families who work for a living and put boundaries in place and teach morals produce good kids regardless of where they live. There has to be accountability put at the door of the people who bring these children into the world. They get supported (child benefit, numerous welfare payments) to be **** parents and we as a society suffer because of it.

Yep I totally agree, It has to start at home but if the childrens parents dont know better because of there parents the merrySadgoaround goes on and on.

So true. What is worse is the money that is pumped into the area for all sorts of initiatives. The government don't seem to understand what the issue is. I really think that any pregnant woman that is identified as being obviously at risk should have to engage with a programme which re educates them and if the father is identified they should also also have to engage in this programme. The amount of pointless FAS courses that exist, there should easily be funding to support this. The change has to happen in the early years. Throwing money at schemes in primary and secondary school is all well and good but if the child isn't in school they haven't a hope. The cycle needs to be broken if we want a change in our society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

adamski8 wrote: »
    Well its not legal now and you have still witnessed it!!

You saw them doing coke and yet you bring weed into it, not logical!

Well in two states in America, eventually I can see it becoming legal in Europe but that's decades away, is this what we are to expect? Cocaine will be seen as a lesser evil so its ok to snort it in public.

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭Andrew H

OP have you had any luck identifying these scum bags and if so will they be prosecuted?

The system is clearly broken and only getting worse. The Family is were they learn this behaviour and if we cannot jail these little fcukers then we should dock the money going into their parents pockets.

IMO there should be drug and alcohol checks for Social Welfare payments. If you fail you dont get money, medical card, rent allowance or any of the other benefits that these families thrive on.

I was recently down on Talbot Street and witnessed open drug dealing while 2 Gardai on bikes were less then 100 feet away. There is also a lot of Junkies, Beggars and Scumbags hanging around on what is one of Ireland's main roots to O'Connell Street.

If I was a Tourist I would not come back to a City or Country that has so many obvious problems with Anti Social behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

There is a class out there that is permanent and self reproducing. They produce dysfunctional children and develop them into dysfunctional nasty adults who raise dysfunctional children and on and on.
    NOTHING will change until there is an intervention. That intervention must come in the form of some kind of education in how to raise and behave with their children so that they have SOME chance of escape. Political correctness must be abandoned.
    Welfare must be attached to compulsory parenting courses by professional nannies and child care specialists. It must attach continuing welfare to continuing monitoring. At least that way we might have SOME chance of rescuing future generations of children who have no chance from the moment they are born to these people.

Pilger wrote: »
    There is a class out there that is permanent and self reproducing. They produce dysfunctional children and develop them into dysfunctional nasty adults who raise dysfunctional children and on and on.
    NOTHING will change until there is an intervention. That intervention must come in the form of some kind of education in how to raise and behave with their children so that they have SOME chance of escape. Political correctness must be abandoned.
    Welfare must be attached to compulsory parenting courses by professional nannies and child care specialists. It must attach continuing welfare to continuing monitoring. At least that way we might have SOME chance of rescuing future generations of children who have no chance from the moment they are born to these people.

There has always been a class out there, In Ireland there has always been a divide long before any welfare payments existed,It was not until the 1960s that substantial progress was made in removing Dublin's tenements,which were some of the worst in Europe with thousands of Dublin's working class population being moved to suburban housing estates without any provision of shops, public transport or employment. As a result, a lot of these places became by-words for crime, drug abuse and unemployment.
    I also note that some posters seem to think its the welfare class that causes all the crime yet in todays news it shows there has been a substantial drop in the number of people convicted of white collar crime in the seven years up to 2010, in spite of an increase in the number of offences.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1118/white-collar-crime-figures.html

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,219 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

There used to be wars every so often, which cleared thousands of folk.

spurious wrote: »
    There used to be wars every so often, which cleared thousands of folk.

Still are still does :) Just not around these parts in a while.;)

Just another note :-)

I lived in Lagos Portugal for some years,Everyday near the main post office in the main tourist square the addicts congregate while waiting for the dealers to come and sell there heroin,There are always policemen nearby who ignore this carry on,The rule is once they don't antagonize or disrupt the tourists or local shops they are left well alone,But there there for everyone to see and it does cause quit a stir to the visitors.So its not just Dublin with dealers & addicts on open show.

I don't think anyone said they cause all the crime but this thread is about young people behaving in a vicious and violent way with no heed to society. I have family who live and were reared in one of those areas that was created to re house tenament dwellers. They are born, bred and reared Dublin people and would be considered the welfare class. However not one of them has been in trouble and every single one of them is educated and or working. Neighbours of theirs have horses in their gardens, drug addictions and their lives are full of chaos. What was the difference? My relatives mother was not in the pub every night and parented her children. They made their children go to school every day and disciplined their children when they did something wrong. The children have all moved away now and the parents are there having to put up with anti social behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

realies wrote: »
    There has always been a class out there, In Ireland there has always been a divide long before any welfare payments existed,

So that is a reason to do nothing ? :confused:

Pilger wrote: »
    So that is a reason to do nothing ? :confused:

I never said do nothing and reading your post again you make some valid points :):)

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭Andrew H

realies wrote: »
    Just another note :-)

I lived in Lagos Portugal for some years,Everyday near the main post office in the main tourist square the addicts congregate while waiting for the dealers to come and sell there heroin,There are always policemen nearby who ignore this carry on,The rule is once they don't antagonize or disrupt the tourists or local shops they are left well alone,But there there for everyone to see and it does cause quit a stir to the visitors.So its not just Dublin with dealers & addicts on open show.

The difference in Dublin is that the Junkies & Beggars are constantly harrassing people standing outside pubs having a cigarette, people sitting outside restaurants/coffee shops and people walking along the board walk and through the City centre.

Don't forget the local Scum too. One of my mates was walking up O'Connell Street when one of these Neanderthals deliberately walked into him. Said Scummer spat in his face beacause he dident get out of his way and told him he had Aids.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,219 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Andrew H wrote: »
    The difference in Dublin is that the Junkies & Beggars are constantly harrassing people standing outside pubs having a cigarette, people sitting outside restaurants/coffee shops and people walking along the board walk and through the City centre.

Don't forget the local Scum too. One of my mates was walking up O'Connell Street when one of these Neanderthals deliberately walked into him. Said Scummer spat in his face beacause he dident get out of his way and told him he had Aids.

The latter are the ones that really make me sick. The junkies seem to be in their own world and rarely bother me.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

I'm looking after this guy in a wheelchair, he lives in an apartment complex off Clanbrassil Street. Just back home from work last night (around 9:45), when he rang me. Some (insert name) kicked his front door in and legged it out.

The whole apartment complex in full of CCTV, electronic gates with codes and all that stuff, but what makes these (insert name) so desperate?

Am going back to him now, the Gardai will send a Crime Investigation Squad down to us, but I can say one thing: It's just highly annoying that these (insert name) can't even leave people in a wheelchair alone.

And that (insert name) can thank his lucky stars, that I was not around :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 24,510 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

85629-batman-bat-signal.jpg

Batman, Dublin needs you!!!