Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

UFC 154: GSP vs. Condit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

I've got Condit to win by TKO/KO in Round 2 on my fantasy, i think he knows the longer the fight goes on the less chance he has, so will be looking to land a bomb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,847 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Can't believe how may people are picking Condit over GSP here.

GSP wins it.

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭SevereMMA

I put money on GSP by decision but i wouldnt be at all surprised if Condit finished him with strikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,931 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

PauloConn wrote: »
    Yeah, big fan of Kampmann too and hoping he gets his shot at the belt after, especially if Condit wins and he has a decision over him. Would be class.
    Hendricks is no slouch though but as alot of commentators are saying, it's only a matter of time before Martin's "flukes" are recognized as skill.
    Hopefully its a good fight and defo has the potential for FOTN....

great point, mate of mine is mad about kamp and a big fan
    it took me a while to realise how good kamp actually is
    he was a huge price v ellenb and I had to take it
    a few quid on him tonite to win at 7/2 by dec
    he's a far more talented fighter overall than hendr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Be like Nutella

deffo FOTN chance

I like Kampmann, got skills everywhere, his sneakyness is definitely underestimated... but Hendricks is so damn tough to beat down... he's got 8 wins already in the UFC... that's pretty damn amazing... and he finished Fitch! ... if Hendricks can keep his hands high and stay in the pocket and anticipate Kampmanns kicks/knees he'll win late in the fight from pure heart... Kampmann at 7/2 for a dec is great odds though and well worth a punt. Don't care who wins this one - either guy will be a great match for a unified title regaining reborn and reinvigorated GSP 2.0 !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,931 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

I can't call this and i dont see condit as such an underdog especially
    if he can keep it standing
    I would pick gsp to win on points though
    these guys trained together and everything about each other
    that must count for something
    Im thinking gsp will try to put carlos on his back for most of it.
    If gsp can beat condit like he beat kosh first time then it would be
    some performance...beating him at his own game
    i dont see gsp standing with condit but many didnt see
    gsp outwrestling kosh in their first fight
    cant wait to see what the plan is tonight

Personally..im dying to see gsp v diaz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Hope the rest of the card is as good as this fight. Fantastic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

What's the start time ?

I'm guessing 3AM

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭babymanval

Re: Menjivar/Gashimov fight aftermath:

Ugh, somethin's very wrong when a dude is looking visibly stressed about futily trying to pull his sponsor's t-shirt on with an at the very least badly dislocated - if not broken - arm.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

blobby360 wrote: »
    What's the start time ?

I'm guessing 3AM

3AM yep. Prelims start at 1 (I believe).

2 very good Facebook prelims there. Delighted for Elkins, definitely deserved it, both put up a great fight. Very good submission there by Ivan, the look on the opponents face was crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭threeball

PauloConn wrote: »
    It wasnt that Hardy wouldn't tap, if he had the submission in correctly Hardy would have been out but he did have him in position for a number of submission attempts during the 25 minutes that he dominated him.
    Then if you look at the Condit v Hardy, well there's no comparison really. That KO was sweet as a nut

You also have to take into account that Hardy was matching Condit before the knockout and was only milliseconds from putting Condit on his arse as they both pulled the trigger at the same time and Condit got there first, just.

Was really a flash of brilliance from Menjavar, the Russian was doing great before that and dominating things. Hopefully he gets another fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭chuckliddell

any links folks?

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭BidillyBo

first two fights aren't far off a high fiving competition before and after every round during a few times too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,460 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

WTF is happening on ESPN???

Technical error, then just dropped the lot and are showing footy stuff!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

They're blaming it on UFC on site problems. Hope whatever it is gets sorted before 3am. Was there another fight to come on the pre-lims?

Edit: back now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭tvercetti

Back of the head??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

agreed

Jeez Big Dan needs shot for that. Right in front of him too.

Is there any procedure for overturning that to a NC or is Cote getting screwed?

4 or 5 to the back of the head?

My arse Mike, I counted 8.

darced wrote: »

He screwed both fighters really.

Cote got a crappy win by DQ, and Sakara was denied the chance to get a win because stopping the fight and warning him would have let it continue.

I've seen difficult ones before where the fighter is turning his head etc or the shots are not clear but that was shocking. Cote was facing directly to the floor and Sakara was pounding hammer fists clearly on the back of his head.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭LaHaine

Any updates guys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

LaHaine wrote: »
    Any updates guys?

Dos Anjos dominating Mark Bocek, looks like he'll take it on points - 30-26.

...actually 30-27 on all three cards in the end. Totally dominated and had his way with Bocek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭CZ 453

Lawlor is some funny freak.

Sick of Joe Rogan going on about what people should do or should have done. He's turning into Jimmy Hill.

Don't mind him pointing out that Lawlor should have leaned forward, but when he does it repeatedly he just sounds like a whiny child.

Didn't think much or Carmont in this fight, no urgency, fighting as if he's ahead. Not the most exciting fight, Lawlor 30-28 for me.

Carmont 29-28, 29-28, 28-29. Don't understand that, he did hardly anything for the entire fight. Got taken down twice and had two reasonable submission attempts against him.
    The Canadian crowd booed the decision says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,257 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

.... and Hendricks switches Kampmann off with a big left hand.

If ever there was a KO designed for a highlight reel it's that one. Up there with Franklin v Quarry with regard to how both victims went down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Jaysus...

that's a pity, I was looking forward to that fight after what's been a dissappointing main card so far.

Fair play though, was a lovely KO and Hendricks seems like a nice fella too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

The way the back of his head hit the floor.... Ouch !!

Weirdly, I'm kind of rooting for GSP now because I want to see him get the same treatment by Hendricks.

"Rush" is one of the worst nicknames in all of sport!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

No rust from GSP. Very predictable from here on out.

GSP looking sharp!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

Holy moly. We have a fight.

Just as I was thinking "It's crazy how GSP can get in there against the best guys in the world and make them look ordinary".......... BAM!!!!!

I thought Condit was gonna finsih it!

Lyoto's moustache!

Tom Selleck must be sh*tting himself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

That Moustache on Machida is awful.

The GSP/Silva superfight is a certainty it looks like.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Anyone who thinks Condit comes anywhere near this fight is crazy!

GSP dominates to a 50-45 across the board decision win!......

I was only 1 point off! :P