Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening Bus Windows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

delricyo wrote: »
    Not a fan of the window opening myself. Usually only open in "summer".

I dont mind when they are opened - unless it is feckin freezing out ! But to the people who want to get the benefit of opening a window, can you make sure to open the proper window ? No point opening the window right beside where you are sitting. The person 3 seats behind you gets blasted in the face. Usually, you can see the person sitting there confused as to why they arent being refreshed - while the person sitting behind is getting frozen with that lovely November mist/rain

Also, a shout out goes to the woman on the 66x in the morning. She gets on in Leixlip, opens a window and then usually goes upstairs :confused: Leaves a lot of people looking confused and/or laughing at her !

double post really needed?

Because sitting on a bus where everyone is breathing out their cold-germs, where the windows are clouded with condensation of people's breath, is gross. Especially if someone starts fcuking eating something stinky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I remember years ago, I was about 6/7 months pregnant, and I opened the window because I was convinced I was going to faint.
    Some self important oul b1tch got up immediately and closed it.
    So I got up again and opened it.
    She got up and closed it, turned to me and said "you're very rude you know, you should ask others if they mind if you open the window".
    I just said to her that I was pregnant and felt like fainting.
    She immediately looked embarrassed and muttered something and sat down and left the window open the rest of the journey.
    This is a completely pointless story, I'm not sure I had a point to begin with, but I'm going to just post it anyway for no other reason than I spent the past two minutes typing it :)

I was getting the bus from Blanchardstown one morning, it's a good 45 minute journey and I like to put my headphones on, put my head against the window and snooze if I can. But I can't snooze if I'm cold, and people were ALWAYS opening the windows on that bus in the morning, it wrecked my head.

One morning I got on, and I took the only double seat that was free. The window above me and the one in front of me were open. I closed the window above me but left the one open in front of me as there was a woman sitting there. She turned around immediately and gave me a dirty look but I kept it closed. The whole way into town she was sighing loudly and fanning herself and holding her water bottle to the back of her neck, I was like WTF is with this dramatic bitch?? It was the middle of February and bloody cold out!

When we were on O'Connell Street she turned around and opened the window again. I was getting off in a few minutes so didn't bother saying anything, just tutted and rolled my eyes. Then she stood up to get off at the next stop as me and I noticed she'd a big massive pregnant belly on her :o Oops! I felt bad! But she could have just said it to me instead of being so passive aggressive about it!

To answer the OP's question, I do hate when people have the windows open when it's freezing cold out. But then on the mornings when I'm running for the bus and I'm sweating by the time I get there I'm one of those assholes who opens the window cos I need to cool down :o

Edit: Oh and the worst people are the ones who get on and open the window directly above them. All that's doing is making the person BEHIND them cold. If they want cold air they should be opening the window in front of them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

First world Problems :rolleyes:

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

uch wrote: »
    First world Problems :rolleyes:

I dunno, transmission of disease and poor air quality are hardly first world issues :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

on the whole i'm not a fan of the open window unless its really hot or smelly. I have noticed women doing it on the Dart in the evening time. They
    invariably have a bold face on them and not pregnant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

So he was warm and opened the window, you were cold so you closed the window, now you give out about him for opening the window, do you think he is somewhere giving out about you for closing the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

People fee temperature differently.

I find women are constantly cold.

People fee temperature differently.

I find women are constantly cold.

I agree people do feel temperature differently, I for one am very warm, yet cant open the window when in work cause the two women beside me are always cold.

I wear a tshirt or shirt to work all year round because if I wear more than 1 layer I roast as a result of the cold people beside me, yet they wear one or two light layers themselves, and then continue to moan about the cold all year round, why the fúck dont you wear heavier warmer clothes if you are so cold then!!!!!!!!!! Fúckin office fashion show my balls wrap up and you wont be cold pretty simple idea when you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

delricyo wrote: »
    I dont mind when they are opened - unless it is feckin freezing out ! But to the people who want to get the benefit of opening a window, can you make sure to open the proper window ? No point opening the window right beside where you are sitting. The person 3 seats behind you gets blasted in the face. Usually, you can see the person sitting there confused as to why they arent being refreshed - while the person sitting behind is getting frozen with that lovely November mist/rain
    Edit: Oh and the worst people are the ones who get on and open the window directly above them. All that's doing is making the person BEHIND them cold. If they want cold air they should be opening the window in front of them!!

That's exactly what this bloke did. He hopped on a fairly empty bus, with no smells or steamed up windows, and immediately opened a window and sat under it leaving everybody else shivering from the cold breeze blasting in from it.

If it was a jammed packed morning bus with people coughing and sneezing then yes, open every available window, I've no problem with that, but why should I move seat because of somebody else's personal preference? He opened it out of sheer ignorance, plain and simple.

Oh and on the tattoo thing, I've no issues with people having tattoos, but only a certain type of individual gets those nasty blue coloured prison looking tattoos covering both of their hands. I wonder what he does in job interviews? Wear gloves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Phat Cat wrote: »
    That's exactly what this bloke did. He hopped on a fairly empty bus, with no smells or steamed up windows, and immediately opened a window and sat under it leaving everybody else shivering from the cold breeze blasting in from it.

If it was a jammed packed morning bus with people coughing and sneezing then yes, open every available window, I've no problem with that, but why should I move seat because of somebody else's personal preference? He opened it out of sheer ignorance, plain and simple.

Oh and on the tattoo thing, I've no issues with people having tattoos, but only a certain type of individual gets those nasty blue coloured prison looking tattoos covering both of their hands. I wonder what he does in job interviews? Wear gloves?

sounds like a screaming Mary

Why should he sit there boiling because of somebody else's personal preference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

You should have shut the window again and said if he was hot he could walk home.

The lack of consideration from some people on buses is incredible. Rule of thumb is if its freezing outside leave the window shut. If you do open a window beware that it is the people behind you who will have to sit in the draft.

Its just ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

I lived in a much colder country than this, and at first I thought it was strange that people would open windows on the buses, trains, in their homes to air the place. It was common practice and never met resistance.

It makes sense, I can't stand getting on the buses or DARTS here when you can't see out the windows and no fresh air circulating. I just want to breathe ff's sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Wear a jacket or something m8.

Arseholes, take off some layers, I can't afford a jacket...

pull your woollyred hat into a body suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Chinasea wrote: »
    pull your woollyred hat into a body suit.

It's protecting my brain, that's dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Mensch Maschine

Wear a jacket or something m8.
    Well done mate. Where was he gonna pull a jacket from? Out of his arse? If the guy was too hot he could have taken off his coat. But...if people are too cold are they expected to magically pull out clothes they don't have?

It's hardly sub zero on the bus, DART. It's just a matter of letting some fresh air in and some carbon monoxide out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

I'd prefer to inhale the bus diesel fumes than the cough's and spluttering's of bus ****...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

No bus threads for ages then two come along together...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Typical ain't it ;).

The point isn't "preference of people that are too warm" vs. "preference of people that are too cold".

It's "preference of people who aren't dressed for the weather" vs. "preference of people who are being obliged to inhale and ingest perfume, deodorant, germs, BO and other people's morning breath, which quite often includes the fumes from last night's drinking".

The window openers aren't just a bit warm, they're in an enclosed environment with saturated air that they find repellent. It's hardly the same thing as feeling a bit chilly.

If the windows are opened, the cold people have choices they can make in order to not feel cold. But if the windows are closed, the people who want fresh air have no choice but to endure it, unless they go to work in SCUBA gear every morning.