Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great Limerick Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Ps sorry for the typos , I'm a newbie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Thanks Dilbert , I must check the charter , oops!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Runchick wrote: »
    I hope Gavlor realises that first across the line gets the first round in :P

I think that's what was going through Blockic's mind also when he decided to play dead just before the finish line in Rotterdam...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,184 ✭✭✭✭event

Won't be staying over myself, coming down the night before, im from Louth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭Gavlor

belcarra wrote: »
    I think that's what was going through Blockic's mind also when he decided to play dead just before the finish line in Rotterdam...:p

Nniiiiiiice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Gavlor wrote: »
    Gavlor is doing his best to stay off the beer. Why do you people want to get me thinking about pubs??!

I'll get on it and revert back regarding venue on my log :)

Are many staying over??

I'm not - plan is to head to UL Arena for a swim and a shower and then head home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    I'm not - plan is to head to UL Arena for a swim and a shower and then head home.

A swim and a shower sounds very civilised Dilbert! I'm planning same as after DCM, food and a few Guinness to help me sleep on the long journey home ;)

Are we still having a wee meet up the night before?

You're obviously not driving yourself home!
    Are we still having a wee meet up the night before?

Yeah I'm still on for it. Didn't get many responses though - just yourself and Killian so far - so I was going to give another shout out this week. Anyone else interested in going pasta-hunting on the Saturday evening?

Good stuff..hopefully get a few more takers...wonder should we book a table somewhere??

That's what I'm thinking - pasta will be in big demand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Good stuff..hopefully get a few more takers...wonder should we book a table somewhere??
    Count me in too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

That's what I'm thinking - pasta will be in big demand!

There should be a big group of pacers looking for a place to eat on the saturday night!! Let us know what you book and I am sure 5 or 6 will join yee...

as for post race, we always meet in the Locke Bar for the post race party. I assume it is being held there again this year? They should announce soon enough where the part will be, that would be the best place to hit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

menoscemo wrote: »
    There should be a big group of pacers looking for a place to eat on the saturday night!! Let us know what you book and I am sure 5 or 6 will join yee...

as for post race, we always meet in the Locke Bar for the post race party. I assume it is being held there again this year? They should announce soon enough where the part will be, that would be the best place to hit...

I'll be having a steak and pints Meno....

digger2d2 wrote: »

+1 :cool:

You guys both pacing? What times?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭chinguetti

The Locke is always grand until about 8 o'clock and then its mobbed. Give me one of the old mans pubs around the place and i'll be happy. Then again, if Meno is paying for drinks.....

You guys both pacing? What times?

1:40 and 1:50 half...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

I'm on for this too guys.

Easy now boss, remind me to stay in front of you the morning after! :D

Did you not learn to avoid that type of pre race nutrition in Boston?!!! ;)

So:
    -Dilbert
    -Killian
    -Runchick
    -Career_Move
    -Blockic
    -Possibility of some pacers gatecrashing.

Anyone else? Have I missed anyone? Any +1's (or more)?

What time suits? Was thinking reasonably early - 6pm +/- . Any other thoughts? Don't know the restaurants of Limerick so I was thinking of the Italian mentioned earlier in this thread - can give then a call tomorrow.

So:
    -Dilbert
    -Killian
    -Runchick
    -Career_Move
    -Blockic

Anyone else? Have I missed anyone? Any +1's (or more)?

What time suits? Was thinking reasonably early - 6pm +/- . Any other thoughts? Don't know the restaurants of Limerick so I was thinking of the Italian mentioned earlier in this thread - can give then a call tomorrow.

I'm in also, providing I can convince my buddy that us Internet people are a decent sort of weirdo, not the scary type of weirdo :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Forgot this was next week, I'm one if the 4 hour pacers. Looking forward to it.

Good stuff. So:
    -Dilbert
    -Killian
    -Runchick
    -Career_Move
    -Blockic
    -Possibly Gavlor +1

Restaurant is http://www.bellaitalia.ie/

Times?

Good stuff. So:
    -Dilbert
    -Killian
    -Runchick
    -Career_Move
    -Blockic
    -Possibly Gavlor +1

Times?

6:30 or after would be best for me...but whatever suits the marathon runners' needs best!

I'll be bringing Mr Runchick and my crazy 2 year old...leaving 2 kids behind but no-one was brave enough to keep the wee one :eek: 6.30pm is perfect for me :)

So:
    -Dilbert
    -Killian
    -Runchick, Mr Runchick & Mad Runchick Jr
    -Career_Move
    -Blockic
    -Possibly Gavlor +1

6.30 suit everyone?

So:
    -Dilbert
    -Killian
    -Career_Move
    -Blockic
    -Possibly Gavlor +1

6.30 suit everyone?

Yup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

So:
    -Dilbert
    -Killian
    -Career_Move
    -Blockic
    -Possibly Gavlor +1

6.30 suit everyone?
    Perfect thanks :D

Thanks for organising dilbert :)

So:
    -Dilbert
    -Killian
    -Career_Move
    -Blockic
    -Possibly Gavlor +1

6.30 suit everyone?

I hope so, There is normally a pacers meeting we have to attend on saturday evening so hopefully will be able to confirm later when details of that meeeting come out.

Does anyone know if the drinks come in plastic glasses or bottles??

Something tells me it's crappy plastic glasses

Does anyone know if the drinks come in plastic glasses

Haha...classic!! :D

And are bottles not a good thing?

blockic wrote: »
    Haha...classic!! :D

And are bottles not a good thing?

Bottles would be wonderful! Those feckin plastic cups drive me bonkers

Edit: just realised my error now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭overpronator

Does anyone know if the drinks come in plastic glasses or bottles??

Something tells me it's crappy plastic glasses

Its bottles for sure, there was an email or something last week saying how many thousands of bottles of water, lucozade sport and gels were gonna be on the course.

Hopefully its small bottles though!

Last year's DCM novices had a Toenail Tuesday reminder from our great and wise mentor - trim the toenails early enough so that they will have recovered a little if you over-trim but late enough that the won't have grown back too much by race day. As GLR is on Sunday remember to do this on Monday...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    i tink doin 5hrs would be more benificial for u ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭bmacma

Oisin11178 wrote: »

I plan to be following the 4hr paces around in my 3rd attempt at doing a sub 4.

I wondered do you stick to 9min miles the whole way round or go out faster to have some leeway at the end?

I've done two marathons, first i was under 3hrs at 20 miles and then blew up taking 1hr20 to finish the last 6.2. Second marathon i got a stomach bug two days prior and had a torturous 4:43...

Hoping this can be the one where it all goes right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

even splits all the way,give or take a few seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭runwithme

Im doing the half Marathon. In prep for Dublin this year. Can I come along for food on the night..............Or maybe its just strictly Marathon gang.:D

runwithme wrote: »
    Im doing the half Marathon. In prep for Dublin this year. Can I come along for food on the night..............Or maybe its just strictly Marathon gang.:D

Everyone is welcome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭runwithme

Great I hope its not too late to add me to the table. Looking forward to meeting you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭overpronator

Does anyone know how many are running the full marathon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭shamcfc

I signed up for the half marathon, training was going good, but. Two weeks ago I had a family bereavement and have done no training since,

I would prefer now on Sunday just to do the 10k, I know officially I cant switch but would I have much hassle just turning up at the start line of the 10k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 fi78

Will not get to Limerick until late saturday doing the marathon is there any other way of collecting my number .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

shamcfc wrote: »
    I signed up for the half marathon, training was going good, but. Two weeks ago I had a family bereavement and have done no training since,

I would prefer now on Sunday just to do the 10k, I know officially I cant switch but would I have much hassle just turning up at the start line of the 10k

i imagine you won't get any sort of official timing, as they'll be expecting you to do the half, so your time will probably be voided, but apart from that they won;t even know you'll be on the 10k course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭shamcfc

mossym wrote: »
    i imagine you won't get any sort of official timing, as they'll be expecting you to do the half, so your time will probably be voided, but apart from that they won;t even know you'll be on the 10k course

Cheers might just do that and time it myself

How about contacting the organisers? I know some race organisers (but I'm not sure about GLR) will allow you to change at short notice because different timing mats are used for different distances, so they pick up what you've actually done.

I've sent a PM to the Saturday evening diners - please let me know in plenty of time if there's any change in your plans. It's only fair to the restaurant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Does anyone know how many are running the full marathon?
    Nearly 700 registerd for full marathon so far.Was at the 696 mark round 2pm today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Im looking at the route for the full and it seems that the route crosses itself twice around the sarsfield bridge. harveys quay onto horans quay is crossing people coming into the 26 mile mark and heading back out towards the 21 mile mark. does anyone kniw if this is right, hopefully im reading it wrong or I can see a major problem here with runners crossing each other. I dont know the area so maybe theres a flyover or something there