Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Who Is Your Favourite GAA Personality From Outside Your Native County?

• 16-11-2012 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭

Well apart from Larry Tompkins and Shea Fahy mine would be Tom Ryan.Tom strikes me as a no bull**** straight talking kind of guy.The interviews with him in Unlimited Heartbreak were hilarious! :pac: Of course he was a tough player as well he wasn't known as timber tom for nothing!While the Waterford team of the last few years would be ranked as one of the best teams not to win an all ireland i think the Limerick team from the mid 90's would be up there with them.I think Tom would have landed an all ireland with Limerick eventually if he wasn't kicked out.He was the one Limerick manager that took no crap from the county board.

btw A book by either Tom Ryan or Richie Bennis would be best sellers!:pac:

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Andy Moran.. ahem.. does he count? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

The Sean Quinn rallies aside, Mickey Harte always comes across very well despite what has happened to him and his team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Petew Fitzpatwick

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭kapa

Dan Shanahan::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

in football, maurice fitz. in hurling, difficult one......brian lohan or ken mcgrath.....across all codes.....paul brady.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    in football, maurice fitz. in hurling, difficult one......brian lohan or ken mcgrath

the greatest player doesnt make for a great personality......Maurice Fitz, the mans as boring as dessie farrell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

the greatest player doesnt make for a great personality......Maurice Fitz, the mans as boring as dessie farrell

yeah fair point......

.....but some people do their talking on the pitch.....

.....if you mean favourite personality, then that really has nothing to with if they can play the game or not......still probably pick paul brady.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

Sean Boylan.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

+1 for Sean Boylan

Brolly, ORourke, Brady and Parkinson for the nonsense they come out with............Darragh OSe,

As a dub Anthony Daly and Whelan of course..........................Val Andrews is a nightmare......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Still after all these years nobody can match the wild eyes of Ger Loughnane:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Paddyontherun

Pat Spillane - A legend on and off the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Paul Galvin :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Joe Canning

I'd drive anywhere to see him play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Inventive User Name

Colm Cooper

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭68Murph68

Davey Fitz for his air of utter madness and lunacy.

Was impressed with this willingness to take the piss out of himself in the ad about coming up with the DNA of a star player.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 Alphonso

Has to be "Star", Galvin, Andriú OLoughlin, David "Bitter Begrudger" Brady, Wee Mairtín McHugh, Bernard "sliabhín eyes" Flynn and Paul McSatay, he's asian so well;)

On a serious note - Mícheal O'Muircheartaigh, Con Houlihan, Anto Daly, Jimmy-Barry Murphy (though I wish he'd make up his mind about his name), Cyril Farrell, Dan The Man and John Mullane. Davy Fitz and Ger Loughnane in controlled doses! I've met Anto and he's wired (in a manageable way, in real life, off the job. So I can only imagine what Davy & Loughnane are like!

As a dub Anthony Daly and Whelan of course..........................Val Andrews is a nightmare......

Whelan? Outside your county?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Teebor15

Davey Fitz for his air of utter madness and lunacy.

Was impressed with this willingness to take the piss out of himself in the ad about coming up with the DNA of a star player.

Dont think that was Davey himself. Think it was Richie Hayes who plays him in a musical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Colm o'rourke.

Pat spillane.

Eugen mcgee.

Paul galvin.

Micky harte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Alphonso wrote: »
    Has to be "Star", Galvin, Andriú OLoughlin, David "Bitter Begrudger" Brady, Wee Mairtín McHugh, Bernard "sliabhín eyes" Flynn and Paul McSatay, he's asian so well;)

On a serious note - Mícheal O'Muircheartaigh, Con Houlihan, Anto Daly, Jimmy-Barry Murphy (though I wish he'd make up his mind about his name), Cyril Farrell, Dan The Man and John Mullane. Davy Fitz and Ger Loughnane in controlled doses! I've met Anto and he's wired (in a manageable way, in real life, off the job. So I can only imagine what Davy & Loughnane are like!

C'mere biy.What are you talking about la?He's JBM 6 foot two and eyes wide blue Jimmy Barry Murphy we love you as the old chant from the city end went!

Anyway on a more serious note am i the only man that admires Tom Ryan and Richie Bennis?You could not find two more articulate and intellectual hurling men.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,969 ✭✭✭billyhead

Still after all these years nobody can match the wild eyes of Ger Loughnane:D

Davy Fitz for me. Not playing with the full deck at all:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Ger Lougnane
    Anthony Daly
    Babs for his redness alone
    Martin Storey

Alphonso wrote: »
    Whelan? Outside your county?

Tis Sack Big Al.......................anything goes ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

Mine off the top of my head would be Liam Griffin- I could listen to him talk all day. I'd love to hear him in the dressing room before a big game and see his passion, desire, determination etc in person. Without doubt, an inspirational leader and a fantastic man to give a speech. I always enjoy listening to him being interviewed and the speed at which he talks!

• Registered Users Posts: 618 ✭✭✭sheff the ref

Tom is dynamite.

I often put in the CD of my interview with him for Unlimited Heartbreak if I am going on a long journey somewhere. It is dynamite, toxic, whatever else you want to call it. The stuff that didnt make the book makes great listening.

One of these days I will crash the car listening to it!!!!!
    Well apart from Larry Tompkins and Shea Fahy mine would be Tom Ryan.Tom strikes me as a no bull**** straight talking kind of guy.The interviews with him in Unlimited Heartbreak were hilarious! :pac: Of course he was a tough player as well he wasn't known as timber tom for nothing!While the Waterford team of the last few years would be ranked as one of the best teams not to win an all ireland i think the Limerick team from the mid 90's would be up there with them.I think Tom would have landed an all ireland with Limerick eventually if he wasn't kicked out.He was the one Limerick manager that took no crap from the county board.

btw A book by either Tom Ryan or Richie Bennis would be best sellers!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

I loved watching Joe brolly as a player and as a pundit not as much but I still liked him. But after his recent selfless gesture to his friend, my opinion of the man has soared exponentially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Mick O Dwyer for me. Id say he's as cute as hell but love to see him interviewed. And to be still manager of a county at 76, he's some man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Anthony Daly. I love to hear his views on a game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Tony Griffin hands down for me. The man is just pure legend.

Quality hurler in his day, decided in 2006 that despite the financial difficulties he'd have that he was going to devote himself entirely to hurling for one year. You have to admire that love for the game.

His father died of cancer, so he decided to cycle across Canada to raise money. He details the training he had to do in his book, and the tortures of pulling of such a gruelling feat.

Heard him on the radio the other day, he's now involved in an organisation in Ireland helping young people which was inspired by Jim Stynes.

He spoke of Armstrong, and while I know Armstrong helped him a lot so obviously he's not going to turn on him completely, he spoke of him saying that while what he did was totally wrong and not condoneable in anyway, he did some good things too and that is very easy for us to pick heros and villains, but its not as clearcut as that.

One final thing that I thought was amazing about this man was his attitude to other teams. He said as he got older he realized you don't have to hate the team your playing against. That mindset is instilled in a lot of players these days by managers, and it's inspiring to me anyway that somebody can overcome that and still be a top player.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,442 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Over 30 posts and no mention of Effin Eddie Moroney yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Shane Curran, especially if there's any umpires around.
    281016_jpg_73552t.jpg

Outside of anything Galway-related that's my favourite GAA moment ever.

A guy i thought was well spoken on the Sunday Game is Declan Ruth from Wexford. Pity he is gone off it. I like Tom Ryan myself as he is a straight talker. Bit old school but he has the courage of his convictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭randd1

In the hurling Ken McGrath to talk about his great skill or Ger Loughnane because I reckon he'd have great stories and a bit of wit about him. Oisín McConville or Padraig Joyce in the football, just because they're both so class on the ball.

Least want to talk to? Paul Flynn in the hurling and Colm O'Rourke in the football. Both clowns in my opinion.

Tom is dynamite.

I often put in the CD of my interview with him for Unlimited Heartbreak if I am going on a long journey somewhere. It is dynamite, toxic, whatever else you want to call it. The stuff that didnt make the book makes great listening.

One of these days I will crash the car listening to it!!!!!

Are you the man that wrote unlimited heartbreak?Limerick paid a heavy price for getting rid of Timber Tom although the sacking of Phil Bennis in the first place was very harsh.Eamonn Cregan just took a wrecking ball to the team Tom Ryan built but he was getting it right towards the end of his term but the county board just wouldn't let him do his job.Richie Bennis is another gas man i'd love to see either Richie or Tom get another shot at the Limerick job. Limerick and Waterford would be my favourite gaa counties outside of Cork.I'd love to see Liam come back to suirside and shannonside so long as it's not at Corks expense.:pac:

I should also mention Tony Browne for excelling over a long period of time and the service he gave to Waterford and John Mullane.In the 08 all ireland final John was the one Waterford player that performed.I actually think that the Waterford team from the past few years was just as good as the 03-06 Cork team and Kilkenny but a lack of mental strength and a lack of a decent full back proved to be very costly.Ciaran Carey was another favourite of mine and i like Limericks Mike O'Brien as well.He wasn't a stylish hurler but by god he was effective!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

that murphy lad from donegal (michael l think?), hes easy on the eye.

Oh thats me allright for my troubles.
    Are you the man that wrote unlimited heartbreak?Limerick paid a heavy price for getting rid of Timber Tom although the sacking of Phil Bennis in the first place was very harsh.Eamonn Cregan just took a wrecking ball to the team Tom Ryan built but he was getting it right towards the end of his term but the county board just wouldn't let him do his job.Richie Bennis is another gas man i'd love to see either Richie or Tom get another shot at the Limerick job. Limerick and Waterford would be my favourite gaa counties outside of Cork.I'd love to see Liam come back to suirside and shannonside so long as it's not at Corks expense.:pac:

I should also mention Tony Browne for excelling over a long period of time and the service he gave to Waterford and John Mullane.In the 08 all ireland final John was the one Waterford player that performed.I actually think that the Waterford team from the past few years was just as good as the 03-06 Cork team and Kilkenny but a lack of mental strength and a lack of a decent full back proved to be very costly.Ciaran Carey was another favourite of mine and i like Limericks Mike O'Brien as well.He wasn't a stylish hurler but by god he was effective!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

Cyril Farrell.

Tis Sack Big Al.......................anything goes ;)

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm;)

C'mere biy.What are you talking about la?He's JBM 6 foot two and eyes wide blue Jimmy Barry Murphy we love you as the old chant from the city end went!

Anyway on a more serious note am i the only man that admires Tom Ryan and Richie Bennis?You could not find two more articulate and intellectual hurling men.:pac:

Yeah, but jaysus he has a bleedin' woeful langer accent on him bud, wha?

Richie Bennis yes. Tom Ryan I haven't seen much of. Always liked Pete McGrath. Aaron Kernan good too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Are you the man that wrote unlimited heartbreak?
    Oh thats me allright for my troubles.

Oh that's cool, your Mackey book is a good read also; I like the story of the great man getting fluthered at Ring's funeral, ah those were the days...:pac:

A long day and a long night allright!!!
    Oh that's cool, your Mackey book is a good read also; I like the story of the great man getting fluthered at Ring's funeral, ah those were the days...:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Seámus Moynihan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Davy Fitz and Ger Loughnane for the pure lunacy, Mickey Harte is an absolute gentleman, and always liked Pat Gilroy too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

Colm Parkinson, lock the thread.

Sheff The Reff can i buy a copy of the Tom Ryan uncut audio cd!

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

John Maughan or Eamonn O'Hara - mainly for being able to remain so tanned during the wet Irish "summer"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

4 pages and no mention of John Mullane?

I already mentioned John Mullane.Im surprised that no ones mentioned Conor Counihan yet a man of the upmost decency and integrity Limericks Stephen McDonagh would also be a fella i have plenty of time for.