Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Classic Commentary Quotes

• 17-11-2012 4:02pm
    Registered Users Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭

Some of them are gems...

"Where do they get these magic sponges from eh Eddie?..........Eddie?? EDDIE??......Uhm, seems like my commentating partner has popped out for a quick tipple."

Never seen that before!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

"Scanlan homes in on the ball like a guided missile! He's away with the interception! He puts boot to ball immediately and now it's a wild chase downfield with Chaile and Yasui being chased down by at least four Bears cover defenders! Yasui scores in between the uprights and there's nothing that either Clune or Seward can do about it. Yasui has scored one of the greatest tries you will ever see."

Did i miss something in between!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭FewFew

Bill wrote:
    "Oh my word, O'Quinn kicked that one like it was three pounds of haggis!" The conversion never threatened the poles. "

Crikey

• Registered Users Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Dawes will take some cleaning up after that last tackle. He's a mess! Murray says................"Ahhh, just add some cheese and onions and come back in 20 minutes on this one!"

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭TheJims

The TMO seems to be taking an age to decide here and the ref has lost patience - he's awarded the try himself! The St Senan's Kilkee are pursuing the ref upfield like a gaggle of angry geese demanding a review of that decision! But it looks like it will stand, even though we can still hear the TMO voicing his doubts on the ref-mike!! That will certainly set a few knees knocking in the game's governing body! Lander has taken his team further ahead of St Senan's Kilkee as Revan RFC extend their lead to 9 points.

id love to see this in real life haha ... god sake TMO hurry up... feck it.. TRY!! :cool:

TheJims wrote: »
    id love to see this in real life haha ... god sake TMO hurry up... feck it.. TRY!! :cool:

Outrageous stuff going on here!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

Wow! 6ft tall, blonde, gorgeous, topless, doing a lap around the ground here. Even the guards are kind of intent on letting her run around a bit longer, but there, a guard has taken her down near the 22, best tackle of the match so far!

Highlight of this evenings cup match against North Cork RFC

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

Oh look, somebody has joined the players on the pitch. Eurgh! That is not a pretty sight. If you've got a body like that you should keep it covered up. I'm also obliged to remind everyone that such behaviour will result in a heavy fine and a ban from the ground. And the stewards have put us all out of our misery as they escort the unfortunate gentleman from the pitch.

Damn streakers!

Polar opposites there in streakerland, good to see the BR writers are giving a lil bit of something for everyone.

Fallon coasts in to the left of the posts and is immediately joined by a cluster of team-mates. They all leap up for a 'high five' above the crossbar... I don't think I've seen that one since the 'Fun Bunch' Murray!

Damn their mocking ways!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Israel_Dagg

. Griffiths rips the ball away from the prostrate of .....

Ohh, what happened there?!? Stringer made poor contact with the ball and it's scuttled, end over ender, underneath the crossbar. A member of the crowd stands up and mockingly shouts "GOAL", to the amusement of Curly Sue Death Squad fans. Wrong sport mate!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭mar-z

Fewcifur wrote: »
    Ohh, what happened there?!? Stringer made poor contact with the ball and it's scuttled, end over ender, underneath the crossbar. A member of the crowd stands up and mockingly shouts "GOAL", to the amusement of Curly Sue Death Squad fans. Wrong sport mate!

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭mar-z

Has anyone ever managed even a linebreak from the "famous Going brothers 'triple scissors' move!"?

Possibly the most overrated backs set play ever!

mar-z wrote: »
    Has anyone ever managed even a linebreak from the "famous Going brothers 'triple scissors' move!"?

Possibly the most overrated backs set play ever!

I'm nearly sure something must have happened after it. I always become terrified when they mention it, because it sounds like they're busting out the flying-V, but then... yeah... can't say I've seen it do much damage.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭cclampett

I've started to send pantherus some suggested updates for these lines, as tbh, i've seen them all a billion times by now, the one that identifies a certain wexford canuck as the flabby streaker will never be implemented, and i can accept that, but i've suggested a few new ones that might bring a (an) lol to clubrooms regulars and one today that may be the first of BR product placements within the commentary, which surely gets at least a snigger from those clubrooms dwellers with back pocket credit.

oh, and the triple scissors, love that line, in my experience it's a 50 - 50 for going blue in the next line

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭westman1

Crouch, touch, set!" The two front rows collide 6 metres from the line and down goes Moate Avalanche front row. Not totally unexpected...but look at that! Clan's Men pack literally lifted its counterpart in a massive effort and is now marching on!!! They march the scrum over Moate Avalanche try line like a phalanx of Middle Earth dwarves and Tehan coolly scoops up the ball to dot it down for a morale crushing try! Westmen are cantering away now with another 5 points to take their lead to 8.

i havent seen this before but nice coincedence i was at the hobbit last night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭bossa_nova

Just noticed this little line from tonights game
    Brilliant handling but Lea'aetoa has been pulled down by his shorts! A moment for the ladies in the crowd there, as Lea'aetoa reveals the true meaning of 'tackle'

Durty

• Registered Users Posts: 6,203 ✭✭✭crisco10

Tried the triple scissors twice in a row. didn't work either time!
    Hudson runs a few steps to the right before flipping the ball to Conlon heading back towards the left. He holds the ball out for Paul crossing back infield, who drops it off to Hudson coming back the other way again! The famous Going brothers 'triple scissors' move! Quite bewildering, but Reddogwonders guesswork is accurate and they haul Hudson down! The Men Who Stare At Goats set up one more ruck, the Mwstg ball-carrier reaches out to plant the ball immediately! Langmore runs a few steps to the right before flipping the ball to Gabriel heading back towards the left. He holds the ball out for Paul crossing back infield, who drops it off to Langmore coming back the other way again! The famous Going brothers 'triple scissors' move! Quite bewildering, but Reddogwonders guesswork is accurate and they haul Langmore down

crisco10 wrote: »
    Tried the triple scissors twice in a row. didn't work either time!

Large percentage of creative? :pac:

The ref beckons the offender over whilst rummaging in his pocket. It looks like Curly Sue Death Squad will be down to 14 men for ten minutes here... Oh what a tease! It's just a tissue to blow his nose!

Oh be still my beating heart.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

FewFew wrote: »
    Oh be still my beating heart.

Has anyone ever got a card of any kind? I don't think they are even in the game!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

Gelio wrote: »
    Has anyone ever got a card of any kind? I don't think they are even in the game!

Not til ME2

I was nearly sure I remember a player getting sin-binned... but as I can't exactly remember, hah, I assume I dreamt it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭seanand

FewFew wrote: »
    I was nearly sure I remember a player getting sin-binned... but as I can't exactly remember, hah, I assume I dreamt it :)
    do you have many br based dreams?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

Not til ME2

Ah so probably in the next week or two then ;)

seanand wrote: »
    do you have many br based dreams?

Constantly. It's all about the mind-games. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Oh, we have a streaker. Big, hairy and ugly. That one must have escaped from the zoo. OH!! Big hit by that security lady. He's not going to get up from that. There's great applause coming from the crowd as the guy is dragged off by his hair!

Which hair? :eek: