Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Credit where Credit is due

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭7upfree

I wouldnt be giving anybody credit for the mess on that quay, if anything it keeps me out of town, trying to get into town today the traffic on the quay was backed up as far back as the credit union and even further back. Nightmare. why would anybody think cutting traffic that was 2 lanes on both sides down to one lane?

Now, now………...;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭spankmemunkey

7upfree wrote: »
    Now, now………...;)

Ah for once you know I'm right!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

I would give credit to Debenhams City Square , who have taken on an extra 20 staff for the Christmas season .

They also have great prices , if you watch out for the 20-30% discounts on different days

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

I wouldnt be giving anybody credit for the mess on that quay, if anything it keeps me out of town, trying to get into town today the traffic on the quay was backed up as far back as the credit union and even further back. Nightmare. why would anybody think cutting traffic that was 2 lanes on both sides down to one lane?

We never really had two lanes, one was a parking bay.

Ah for once you know I'm right!:D

I'm not disagreeing…….;):)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Max Powers wrote: »

Fair play to her. A woman obviously in touch with her target audience.

passed by the mall this morning in car and looks like path and stuff by Aoifes cafe is done. looks great. will be great in summer to see a few seats an tourists out there, bring some more vibrancy down to the mall.

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭CuriousG

Not really business related, but I just wanted to point out there are some very kind people in Waterford.

A week or so ago I somehow (stupidly) lost a reasonable sum of money in the city centre, thought the worst and just accepted it was gone, was so angry at myself for losing it. Went back to one of the shops I had been in and a lady had found it and turned it in, they kept the full amount there and returned it.

I don't know if the lady will ever read here, but I appreciate it so much! Wish I knew who you were so I could thank you.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,739 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

CuriousG wrote: »
    Not really business related, but I just wanted to point out there are some very kind people in Waterford.

A week or so ago I somehow (stupidly) lost a reasonable sum of money in the city centre, thought the worst and just accepted it was gone, was so angry at myself for losing it. Went back to one of the shops I had been in and a lady had found it and turned it in, they kept the full amount there and returned it.

I don't know if the lady will ever read here, but I appreciate it so much! Wish I knew who you were so I could thank you.

It was me. Where can I collect my reward?

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭CuriousG

It was me. Where can I collect my reward?

Your reward is the good warm feeling of knowing you really helped someone? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 27 foobally

I have to say, every time I'm in town the people are lovely and do their very best to help out without rushing you (even when there's a queue), the shops I've dealt with in the last while were Bank of Ireland, Ulster Bank, An Post, Toners, Entertainment Exchange, Aldi.

The one I'll mention specially is a girl in Penny's, I went in to exchange something someone got for me, for a start she was lovely and helpful to me, suggesting what I could get for that amount, in the end I didn't use up the full amount, so she gave the rest to me in cash which her manager had earlier said she couldn't. So a big thanks to her for being so nice.

credit to Kelly Proper kicking ass in the indoor athletics and now Irish most titles holders.
    also,
    some chap called ....Gough who is the world over 60 world record champion in some running event. puts us all to shame

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭billywilly

Cabaal wrote: »
    Saw they knocked the building beside Reginald tower, about time, place will look alot better when finished

They should knock down Reginalds tower, its an ugly big kip of a yoke.

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭er1983

billywilly wrote: »

Are you serious???

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

Agree. That whole part of town looks too old. Rejuvenate the area with neon and drive-through fast food outlets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

old gregg wrote: »
    Agree. That whole part of town looks too old. Rejuvenate the area with neon and drive-through fast food outlets.

Agreed. A big Marks and Spencers down there and a nandos and 5 starbucks. That's what we need to change our fortunes down here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

Agreed. A big Marks and Spencers down there and a nandos and 5 starbucks. That's what we need to change our fortunes down here.

Agreed too. We've been banging our heads against a wall trying to preserve the place when what we really need is Vegas! While we're at it, get rid of the Waterford Crystal showroom and open a casino on site! Bring in employment. Create tourism opportunities. Cathedral square as a red light district. We'll be millionaires!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

old gregg wrote: »
    Agreed too. We've been banging our heads against a wall trying to preserve the place when what we really need is Vegas! While we're at it, get rid of the Waterford Crystal showroom and open a casino on site! Bring in employment. Create tourism opportunities. Cathedral square as a red light district. We'll be millionaires!

Agreed. The quay has been disgracefully under utilised and the potential for a red light district is there for all to see. A Viking triangle is one thing but a sex ring could be something else enttirely. The units that are currently empty could be used for dancing girls (in the windows). The gamblers that use our new casinos will inject new life into our ailing nightlife. And the 5 star casino centrepiece? The Ard Ri!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

Was in the Tower last night for a big family meal, kids included. Have to say, credit to the staff in the Restaurant, 3 guys in particular, who provided great service, were great with the kids even when they got a little out of hand. Food was great too. At times we were on edge as we were worried the kids might upset some of the other patrons, but the staff were reassuring and helped us get sorted for food/drinks at the right times. Parents of small kids will know what I'm talking about! Would definitely recommend them for a large family meal. :)

credit to spraoi organisers, council, all involved but especially to the countless young volunteers around helping, another fantastic Spraoi.

Credit to Niamh Briggs v USA, Irelands greatest rugby player, BOD who? :)

All credit to Maria O Grady for organising the glass march on Saturday last. One person making a difference, keeping the issue live in media etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

er1983 wrote: »
    Are you serious???

We're talking someone who's chosen "billywilly" as his (presumably not her) user name.

Of course he's serious! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭dzilla

Max Powers wrote: »
    All credit to Maria O Grady for organising the glass march on Saturday last. One person making a difference, keeping the issue live in media etc.

Did it make the news?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

dzilla wrote: »
    Did it make the news?

RTE showed something on it but because it happened in Waterford it didn't make any other news.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

O Riain wrote: »
    RTE showed something on it but because it happened in Waterford it didn't make any other news.

Might want to check that statement as it was covered by RTE, The Irish Times, the Irish Independent, theJournal, BreakingNews.ie, Evening Echo and many more.

A press release was sent out before and after the event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

Sully wrote: »
    Might want to check that statement as it was covered by RTE, The Irish Times, the Irish Independent, theJournal, BreakingNews.ie, Evening Echo and many more.

A press release was sent out before and after the event.

I went on and saw it nowhere. It may have been covered but it must have been buried deep!

O Riain wrote: »
    I went on and saw it nowhere. It may have been covered but it must have been buried deep!

It was still covered though. The Indo have been covering the Waterford Crystal story since the start and they covered other protests/sit-ins etc in Waterford.

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭crustybla

+1 for Maria O' Grady and all who were involved in the March. I wish I had half her spirit!

All credit to Stephen Molumphy and those other recent hurling retirements. The likes of Molumphy have given Waterford GAA massive service and taking into account these lads have families, jobs (in Molumphys case, often in a war zone), wives etc, for zero financial reward, they deserve a lot of credit. Fair play.