Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread Round 3***

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Be the jumpin' jaysus in a potato sack race.... HE LIVES!!!!!!! :D

He'll come back next week to respond to that ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Anyone else watching the new wheeler dealers?
    The motor racing this week as epic an he's off to Japan next week!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

CianRyan wrote: »
    Anyone else watching the new wheeler dealers?
    The motor racing this week as epic an he's off to Japan next week!! :D

What channel is that on Cian?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Saw the skyline ep last night actually, was thinking of ShadowHeath the whole time :D

What channel is that on Cian?

On Discovery on Tuesday and repeated again during the week.
    Saw the skyline ep last night actually, was thinking of ShadowHeath the whole time :D

Aargh, they killed that car. :(
    The big ugly wing, getting rid if the Advans for a set of Rotas and they didn't even take out the Super HICAS.

Ah but twas a 'drift' car biy :pac:

I would also like to point out that I havent a foggiest of what a super hicas is

HICAS is Nissan's rear wheel steering system, so as you'd imagine the rear wheels turning 10 degrees on full lock isn't great for drifting.
    HICAS is the original hydraulic system and Super HICAS is the later, lighter electronic system.
    Great for grip, ****e for drift.

I bloody hate those wings, it's very rare that they can look alright. Haha

Thank you Sir Ryan :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

pred racer wrote: »
    Hmmmmmm, I've a black alfa thats in dire need of a polish, wonder where I could send it?:D

If you're ever in the big schmoke and not on your way to cheeseland drop us a PM, t'would be nice to see it and let it hang with it's father and brother and sister....:D

Is the scratches that bad? I have me some very decent polish here!

@dgt, I thought the fogs on ould Laim were already yellow? You tinting them again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

166man wrote: »
    @dgt, I thought the fogs on ould Laim were already yellow? You tinting them again?

Flaking off! On the van I painted the inside the lens, the instructions are to paint outside.

I may resort to this if no-one can point me towards a decent tint....!

Lower the 406, decent alloys and a good polish would turn it up really well. I think a nice tint would suit it well too. Tempted to lightly tint the 156...

In other news I found this wayy too funny...

563234_498029616919485_1999039843_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

CianRyan wrote: »
    Aargh, they killed that car.
    The big ugly wing, getting rid if the Advans for a set of Rotas and they didn't even take out the Super HICAS.

The messed it up alright, They had no clue what they were doing, even the guy that sold him the car tried to tell him the alloys that were on the car were much better but he was not having any of it, they should have just restored it and given it a nice new paint job, they should respect it more IMO.

fair ****s to this guy! all with a sharpie paint marker

3389932071_61a117ccd3_o.jpg
    3389959229_08a303c66e_o.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

lads ive concern about a car and i would really appreciate if someone could give me a detailed explanation and also a basic explanation please.

a car has an emissions test in jan (result 1) and then again in april (result 2) of this year

Result 1: engine oil temp (87 degrees Celsius)
    750rpm (low idle) CO. 0.09%vol HC43ppm

2,920 (high idle) lambda 1.00 CO 0.20%vol HC54ppm

Result 2: engine oil temp (70 degrees Celsius)
    700rpm (low idle) CO 0.25%vol HC210ppm

2,840 (high idle) Lambda 1.01 co 0.20%vol HC 86ppm

would the above result mean engine problems ? car being bet around ? a car to avoid if buying ?

also this

front brake total imbanlance going from 2% to 26% in that space
    rear brake total imbalance 23% down to 16%

what would cause these and is it a car to avoid if buying ?

just what these results mean from a garage ?

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭kilianmanning

dgt wrote: »
    Killianmanning did I see you at the fire station in Navan around 16:30 ish? Twas in the Daily this time!

No dgt, I wasn't in navan Saturday. Was busy at home in the shed rooting at the golf :D

Ahhhh perfect, that's that assignment done..... Sort of :)

Now for a well earned rest before I'm in at 11 :)

Oh wait..... :(

Bliss driving through the city at this time :)

Unlike for the pedestrians walking to work being blinded and smoked out of it by the mighty D.....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Window replaced this morning. Can't drive till half 11 as the glue has to set. It was great though they drove out to me and done the car in the garage I didn't have to bring it anywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

x2,

Once you pass 07:30 starts to go seriously wrong though, I'm 30-40 minutes early for work every day for this very reason.

Gives me time for tay & boards :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

lads ive concern about a car and i would really appreciate if someone could give me a detailed explanation and also a basic explanation please.

I would actually agree the result direction doesnt look encouraging. Hard to guess why, the original test could have been dosed with Dipetane or similar or the next test could have been after it was sitting for the 3mths.

Probably indicative of an O2 sensor or MAF sensor failing as opposed a mechanical engine failure however. Did test 2 pass? I think its 0.30% as a fail for recent'ish models.

Front brakes might be nearing end of service life too.

Matt Simis wrote: »
    I would actually agree the result direction doesnt look encouraging. Hard to guess why, the original test could have been dosed with Dipetane or similar or the next test could have been after it was sitting for the 3mths.

Probably indicative of an O2 sensor or MAF sensor failing as opposed a mechanical engine failure however. Did test 2 pass? I think its 0.30% as a fail for recent'ish models.

Front brakes might be nearing end of service life too.

I can actually vow cos I know this car (not mine) and I know It didn't have a period of time over the last year where it was sitting up unused. it is an everyday use car but recently driven a bit more rough than normal since jan.

I was surprised to see this much of a jump in 3 months for a car. but on those tests they were both passes for them alone.

its a car looking at buying for someone else and its had a good few bits replaced on it but dont want to be buying a shell to keep throwing parts into

Flaking off! On the van I painted the inside the lens, the instructions are to paint outside.

I may resort to this if no-one can point me towards a decent tint....!

If I were you, I would go for the ebay stuff, it's probly not best the tint film out there, but what I'd do is once it starts to peel off. I'd just apply more. A good selection >>>here<<<...

If I wanted good quality, I would go here.

But, I never used it so it's hard to say. Hope this helps anyway. :)

...........Result 1: engine oil temp (87 degrees Celsius)
    750rpm (low idle) CO. 0.09%vol HC43ppm

2,920 (high idle) lambda 1.00 CO 0.20%vol HC54ppm

Result 2: engine oil temp (70 degrees Celsius)
    700rpm (low idle) CO 0.25%vol HC210ppm

2,840 (high idle) Lambda 1.01 co 0.20%vol HC 86ppm

also this

front brake total imbanlance going from 2% to 26% in that space
    rear brake total imbalance 23% down to 16%........

Looks to be burning oil and getting worse tbh, high HCs.

Brake imbalance isn't a biggy in so far as it's often easily fixed with new pads, brake hoses etc etc as required.

I wouldn't buy a car with HC readings like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

If I were you, I would go for the ebay stuff, it's probly not best the tint film out there, but what I'd do is once it starts to peel off. I'd just apply more. A good selection >>>here<<<...

If I wanted good quality, I would go here.

But, I never used it so it's hard to say. Hope this helps anyway. :)

How do you know it's good quality if you've never used it :confused:
    RoverJames wrote: »

Terraclean...be grand :D

How do you know it's good quality if you've never used it :confused:

Well, FKproformance sell it, there stuff is usually good quality. :)

RoverJames wrote: »
    Looks to be burning oil and getting worse tbh, high HCs.

Brake imbalance isn't a biggy in so far as it's often easily fixed with new pads, brake hoses etc etc as required.

brake lines were bulging recently but were fixed.

I dont know anything about hc myself, maybe a quick explanation please ?

really appreciate your time out for this !

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Well, FKproformance sell it, there stuff is usually good quality. :)

The place I get the high-end detailing products I use also sells turtle wax crap...

High HC, unburnt fuel being detected or the car is burning oil :)
    I'd be slow to take the risk it's a fuel issue (easy to fix relative to an oil burning issue).

The place I get the high-end detailing products I use also sells turtle wax crap...

What has "turtle wax" got to do with headlight tint film?? :confused: