Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread Round 3***

• Registered Users Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    That`s what I am thinking, its a grand car bodywork and interior is excellent but for what its worth. Shame that I will probably have to scrap it in Jan. Be prepared to throw some ideas into "What should I buy next" thread that I will be creating.

Id be interested in your car if youre letting it go for scrap value. I can get a lovely sw for nowt, (engine is cooked though)

I might try a little Dgt action 'country style'

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

MugMugs wrote: »
    A certain large motor shop with outlets all over the country has a wee booklet telling you what bulb sizes fit your motor.

Mugs was in a rush, dashed in to get some taillight bulbs before a long trip today.

Guide said 380..... There starts me trying to fit a 380 bulb into a hole where it just doesn't want to fit. I put the old bulb in to see if she sat the whole way into the lens and to clarify that I wasn't actually losing the plot when it fell inside the fecking lens.....

Turns out the guide was wrong and I needed 270..... Bog all sleep + me in a rush = a blown bulb rattling around in the tail light lens and me two 380 bulbs up with no need for them. (welcome to anybody at the next meet) :D

/rant

is a 270 not an 18w festoon?

What car you driving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

The current model with the LED's? They're noticeable but there's worse out there IMO...

Yep that's the one :)

But was at a computer the whole morning without a break, building a webpage in the afternoon. Coupled with approx 5 hrs sleep it seemed a lot brighter than normal

Ok forget the manual labour part, just have a listen and see what you think? :)

You parking up at 8 ?

pred racer wrote: »
    Id be interested in your car if youre letting it go for scrap value. I can get a lovely sw for nowt, (engine is cooked though)

I might try a little Dgt action 'country style'

I'm after a TS engine myself.... Along with the rest of the car :pac:

Frankensteining ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Spook_ie wrote: »
    is a 270 not an 18w festoon?

What car you driving?

Beg your pardon. Complete typo by me.

207...... She's an Avensis Liftback. :)

dgt wrote: »
    I'm after a TS engine myself.... Along with the rest of the car :pac:

Frankensteining ;)

I'm thinking of a 156 pickup:D that my son and I can do a bit rallying in ( around my back field) 156 vs polaris predator anyone:p

Or, I havent owned a petrol car in years, if I dont make a bollix of the engine transfer, it could be fun.

I have never removed the engine from a car before...........
    Sure how hard can it be :cool:

I'm thinking of a 156 pickup:D that my son and I can do a bit rallying in ( around my back field) 156 vs polaris predator anyone:p

Or, I havent owned a petrol car in years, if I dont make a bollix of the engine transfer, it could be fun.

I have never removed the engine from a car before...........
    Sure how hard can it be :cool:

Tractor!!! :D was thinking all sorts of stupid stuff for the 106... 5.0 V8, DHX D-Turbo, 2.8IDTD... :D just need the time ;)

How hard can it be....

:pac::pac::pac:

Tractor!!! :D was thinking all sorts of stupid stuff for the 106... 5.0 V8, DHX D-Turbo, 2.8IDTD... :D just need the time ;)

How hard can it be....

Soooooooo..... wanna meet up this weekend and see how that goes with the Pug? I REALLY want to try that !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

All this talk of 156's being worthless is kind of making me regret agreeing to pay almost 1600 for one! Ah well.. picking it up Friday anyway assuming it passes the NCT!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

RoverJames wrote: »
    You parking up at 8 ?

should be yeah, unless i choose to study at home tomorrow :) but i guarantee it wont make any noise tomorrow when you see it!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Redisle wrote: »
    All this talk of 156's being worthless is kind of making me regret agreeing to pay almost 1600 for one! Ah well.. picking it up Friday anyway assuming it passes the NCT!

bah, id been looking out for it all last week! :pac:

Soooooooo..... wanna meet up this weekend and see how that goes with the Pug? I REALLY want to try that !

The 106 is my French parts store :) and where I test radios :pac:

Someday, I will get another shredder and try that :D

I'm just ripping I didn't do that with the Corsa or the Escort.... Although it probably wouldn't have had the power to go backwards fast enough :pac::pac::pac:

How hard can it be

Fook me, i nearly fell off the couch :D:):pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

The way I see it, a car will act the way its been maintained. Best of luck with the test as well. :)

It's like my birthday and Christmas rolled into one :D

A brand new engine for a 159 jtdm! I could have that for when mine blows up:D

That'd go into a Bravo if I got my hands on that :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,298 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Just finished 13 days straight at work this evening.

Only have the one day off, but i can honestly say i have never ever felt this bone weary, gonna get my 1-2 things i need to do done earlyish tomorrow and then veg out for the day with the dog watching sci-fi re runs, thank god for a day off :)

That'd go into a Bravo if I got my hands on that :pac:

I think we should shoe-horn it into stheno's car when she's not lookin:pac:

Edit: or MM's :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

not sure if anyone has seen this.. could be an interesting car (maybe for dgt!).

Stilo Abarth
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4202046

I noticed it last week when I was randomly browsing. Not a clue why it's listed in vintage cars though! Again shame about the vrt/tax.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Boomerangs..... Bar was Buskers.

Ah Buskers, I remember the days :) Once dressed as Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman for Halloween there :D
    CianRyan wrote: »
    Pfft, I can count the amount of times I've drank in Temple Bar on one hand.
    I'm more of a local dweller.
    €25 a trip in a taxi? You can feck off!

Vomit comet?
    Just finished 13 days straight at work this evening.

Only have the one day off, but i can honestly say i have never ever felt this bone weary, gonna get my 1-2 things i need to do done earlyish tomorrow and then veg out for the day with the dog watching sci-fi re runs, thank god for a day off :)

Mind yourself man, take a decent rest tomorrow, no point working yourself into the ground :)
    I think we should shoe-horn it into stheno's car when she's not lookin:pac:

Edit: or MM's :)

Hey? What have I done? Has already been done with a gtv in the UK, someone put a diesel into one, I remember reading about it.

Why would you be doing that to my poor car?

not sure if anyone has seen this.. could be an interesting car (maybe for dgt!).

Stilo Abarth
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4202046

I noticed it last week when I was randomly browsing. Not a clue why it's listed in vintage cars though! Again shame about the vrt/tax.

Thats lovely!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Thats lovely!

It is lovely looking, seems relatively good value too even including the VRT

Thats lovely!

A fierce damp problem in that house ! :eek:

Stheno wrote: »

Hey? What have I done? Has already been done with a gtv in the UK, someone put a diesel into one, I remember reading about it.

Why would you be doing that to my poor car?

Just to see the look on your face when you started it:D

And it sounded like a rattly tractor?

I'd that last year when I first got my car and the timing belt was almost dead.

I gave up bringing into work due to the amount of feedback I got from my colleagues about how sick it sounded :D

Stheno wrote: »
    And it sounded like a rattly tractor?

I'd that last year when I first got my car and the timing belt was almost dead.

I gave up bringing into work due to the amount of feedback I got from my colleagues about how sick it sounded :D

You callin my car a rattley tractor........:eek:

Did you get your spray job yet?

You callin my car a rattley tractor........:eek:

Did you get your spray job yet?

Well compared to the smooth purr of mine? YES :D

Nah, have to replace the ball joint on the drivers side, finish the NCT and then it's off for the spray job in January or February, depends on my work and home schedule, been a bit hectic recently tbh.