Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread Round 3***

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Redisle wrote: »
    The stuff on howstuffworks.com is a great start imo. Spent ages on there a few years ago!

Nice summary of articles here:

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/car.htm

I'm a bit of a fossil, and like books/manuals, but I'll definitely have a look there.

I learned what a big end was due to howstuffworks and amused my mechanic with my correlation of it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

well i dunno about the rest of yee.

but i have a busy few days ahead..... aswell as being in work tonight until 10pm.... bastards.. so i wont be posting for a while but will still lurk around a bit.

but sure all be well this crimbo and have a good one ! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Back now after a tough weekend in derry, Im fooked;)
    Had some great fun on the drive up, played follow the leader with a very well driven Guilietta (the driver, she was tidy too):D
    I also passed a 520d that really didnt want to be passed;)

On the way back down I ended up stopped about 7 feet infront of a parked car on the hard shoulder on the wrong side of the road:eek: after the silver merc I was passing decided to pass the car in front aswell, nordy wanker! Good thing I had spare jocks with me, the look on the faces of the auld pair in the parked car was priceless:P

As I'm sure most here know Im not a big Bmw fan, but after seeing a couple of 6's over the weekend, they are really starting to grow on me! Hmmm maybe an idea for when the alfa explodes:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

right, just to get completely everyone pissed off and get a ban for derailing off topic chat:

postman came in and he brough my supercar from amazon and a bundle of parts i ordered from some fella in dublin!!! i am so happy! tomorrow is a big day! :D

IMG_1214_zps3debaa76.jpg

• Company Representative Posts: 62 Verified rep eFlow: Reps

I am only ever up in Dublin once in a blue moon so setting up an account is pointless for me.

Hi Our Man in Havana,

We have a video account that you can set up for free to cover your M50 trips, there are no admin fees with it, so it doesn't cost you anything to maintain and you get a discount on your tolls. If your a infrequent user it would be the best option for you. Here are some of the benefits of the video account.

Video Account

€0.50 discount
    No account fees
    Automatic Payment (Pre-pay or Bill Pay)
    No payment deadlines
    No Penalties
    M50 (Westlink) only
    Up to 6 vehicles on a private account
    Instant cover for M50
    On-line access to your account

Hope that Helps,
    Ciaran.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Hey eflow do you do group buys? say we get a boards reduction rate. Just cause like......christmas :D.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

Picked up 3 of these today in B&Q for a total of €9.80. (3 for 2).

Pretty good value considering they are 6euro + shipping here.

2012_12_24_15_23_32.jpg

On the bonnet for some scale!

2012_12_24_15_24_01.jpg

pred racer wrote: »
    Had some great fun on the drive up, played follow the leader with a very well driven Guilietta (the driver, she was tidy too):D
    I also passed a 520d that really didnt want to be passed;)................

Keep it up and you might find yourself on the most biased podium next year :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Stheno wrote: »
    I'm a bit of a fossil,

:D:D

I learned what a big end was

Late developer? :p

RoverJames wrote: »
    Keep it up and you might find yourself on the most biased podium next year :pac:

I'm trying, I think I have a way to go yet though!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Happy Christmas you petrol loving freaks! See ye on the flip side :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

MugMugs wrote: »

Same to you Mugs. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Merry Christmas lads and ladettes!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

pred racer wrote: »
    As I'm sure most here know Im not a big Bmw fan, but after seeing a couple of 6's over the weekend, they are really starting to grow on me! Hmmm maybe an idea for when the alfa explodes:cool:

The early 6's are now serious good value!

Have a great Christmas everyone :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

And I'm outta here, busy relaxin for the next few hours. Toodles!

tesco-value-christmas.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

MugMugs wrote: »
    And feck the daysul loving freaks? ;)

OSI wrote: »
    May all your Christmases be V8'y and New Year's Turbocharged!!

Haha, I like it! :p:D

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Happy Christmas Dudes! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Lads I have posted a thread over in the DIY section about the insignia. If any of you have any input it would be much appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

happy xmas fellow petrolheads.

Enjoy your Lego SH. :)

Hi Our Man in Havana,

We have a video account that you can set up for free to cover your M50 trips, there are no admin fees with it, so it doesn't cost you anything to maintain and you get a discount on your tolls. If your a infrequent user it would be the best option for you. Here are some of the benefits of the video account.

Video Account

€0.50 discount
    No account fees
    Automatic Payment (Pre-pay or Bill Pay)
    No payment deadlines
    No Penalties
    M50 (Westlink) only
    Up to 6 vehicles on a private account
    Instant cover for M50
    On-line access to your account

Hope that Helps,
    Ciaran.
    Can someone who is not the registered owner set up an account?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Can someone who is not the registered owner set up an account?
    Yeah, You don't have to be the owner to add cars to the video account. We've one account with all our cars on it.

Grand so. I shall set one up so.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Got two offers to buy my car in the last 24 hours from locals I never met but see the car all the time. And a third woman behind the till in my local Centra started babbling away to me how much her husband loves my car, never seen the woman before in my life! Nice all the same.

Happy Christmas all!

Seasonal greetings to all.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,298 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Yay for Duvel beer at christmas weeeee (i am going to wish i was dead tomorrow)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Happy Christmas to everyone. Hope you all have a good one.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,495 ✭✭✭Damien360

Kids are still awake in bed waiting for Santa. Santa is drinking a nice torres red wine and if the kids don't sleep soon, he could pass by/out.

Happy Christmas all

• Registered Users Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Happy Christmas Everyone!!! Dont drink and drive ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Merry Christmas all. :)